eBook Collections
-
Ebook Central
Ebook Central is the new platform for accessing the NSU Libraries EBL e-books and former MyiLibrary ebook collections. Subject content includes Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Health & Medicine. E-books are downloadable for offline reading in both PDF and EPUB or can be read online with the e-book viewer.
-
eBook Collection
Ebsco eBook Collection provides full-text e-books and e-audio books in all subject areas. Current collection includes over 50,000 titles. Find e-books and e-audio in all subject areas and over 90 percent of the titles are downloadable. Many titles in this collection are shared with other institutions and have single-use access. Need help downloading ebooks? Try this guide!
Database log in not working? Try accessing it from the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences database subject page.
-
cloudLibrary
Extensive collection of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for juvenile, young adult, and adult readers. E-books are borrowed, downloaded, and read using a REQUIRED app for multiple devices, including smartphones, tablets, and desktop/notebook computers. The app is available for downloading from the Apple App Store, Google Play, Amazon Apps, Microsoft Windows App Store, Google Chrome Web Store, or the Barnes & Noble Nook/Samsung Apps on Google Play.
NSU users login to your cloudLibrary user account with Shark ID and password. NSU Alumni login into your cloudLibrary user account with N# as the Library Card ID and your last name as the Password/PIN. Alvin Sherman Library card holders login into your cloudLibrary user account with library card number as the Library Card ID and your last name as the Password/PIN.
Downloading eBooks
What do you need to download an entire ebook using the NSU databases?
1. A device that supports Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader. Ebooks can be downloaded to iPads, PCs and several types of ereaders including a NOOK and Sony ereader. (Not sure if your device supports these applications? Check here.)
2. An Alvin Sherman Library library card or Sharklink ID to use the NSU databases.
3. Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader. Adobe Digital Editions is a free program that allows you to load the entire ebook for viewing and transfer it to a device. If you want to download to an ipad (or Apple device) you will want to download the Bluefire Reader application or the database specific application.
4. Create a free account with the ebook database(s). Both eBook Central and EBSCO ebooks allow you to download ebooks. You will need to create a free account for each database to be able to send the ebook to Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire. Instructions to create an account are located in the box below.
If you have questions about downloading eBooks, explore the library guide dedicated specifically to eBooks, e.g. watch short Video Tutorials.
Contact the Reference Desk if you need more help: refdesk@nova.edu, 954 262 4613
Selected Adult and Older Adult Development eBooks
-
Treatment of Late-Life Depression, Anxiety, Trauma, and Substance Abuse
by
ISBN: 9781433818394Publication Date: 2014-11-01In coming years, mental health providers may find they have little experience in the latest methods for working with a rapidly growing population-older adults. This collection of best practices in geropsychology addresses the competencies therapists need. It draws from the most recent research in treating depression, anxiety disorders, trauma, and substance use disorders in late life. The detailed case examples in each chapter demonstrate the disabling and costly realities of mental disorders in older adults, but they also highlight the features that make working with older adults an enriching experience. Book jacket. -
Making Evidence-Based Psychological Treatments Work with Older Adults
by
ISBN: 9781433811579Publication Date: 2012-06-15In this new release by geropsychology scholars Forrest Scogin and Avani Shah, researchers and clinicians come together in each chapter to discuss the prevalent psychological disorders that afflict this burgeoning population. Each chapter focuses on one of the major presenting problems -- anxiety, insomnia, depression, memory function, and behavioral disturbances -- with researchers identifying successful evidence- based treatments (EBTs), and clinicians discussing how their specific expertise and flexibility maximized EBT fidelity while tailoring the EBT to the special needs and conditions of their older clients. Written for clinicians who specialize in psychotherapy and counseling with older adults, this timely book will also appeal to practitioners who work with elders in assisted-living facilities or in home settings. The final chapter of the book is devoted to family caregivers who also experience psychological symptoms in caring for an older parent or other relative. -
The Development of Giftedness and Talent Across the Life Span
by
ISBN: 9781433804144Publication Date: 2009-01-15In this volume, renowned developmental psychologists and experts in gifted education come together to explore giftedness from early childhood through the elder years. -
Clinician's Handbook of Adult Behavioral Assessment
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780123430137Publication Date: 2005-11-17Given the vast amount of research related to behavioral assessment, it is difficult for clinicians to keep abreast of new developments. In recent years, there have been advances in assessment, case conceptualization, treatment planning, treatment strategies for specific disorders, and considerations of new ethical and legal issues. Keeping track of advances requires monitoring diverse resources limited to specific disorders, many of which are theoretical rather than practical, or that offer clinical advice without providing the evidence base for treatment recommendations. This handbook was created to fill this gap, summarizing critical information for adult behavioral assessment. The Clinician's Handbook of Adult Behavioral Assessment provides a single source for understanding new developments in this field, cutting across strategies, techniques, and disorders. Assessment strategies are presented in context with the research behind those strategies, along with discussions of clinical utility, and how assessment and conceptualization fit in with treatment planning. The volume is organized in three sections, beginning with general issues, followed by evaluations of specific disorders and problems, and closing with special issues. -
The Psychology of Ageing
by
ISBN: 9780230337213Publication Date: 2013-12-02We live in an ageing society. From dementia and depression, to the everyday changes that affect our capacity to make decisions, psychologists are tackling the daily challenges faced by individuals and society as a whole. What types of questions are being investigated by psychologists today? What are the emerging areas that will be explored by researchers tomorrow? The Psychology of Ageing - Guides you through the latest theories and research in ageing, covering both biological and cognitive changes - Discusses neuropsychological assessment - Provides a detailed account of neurodevelopmental disorders - Considers the role psychological research can play in attempting to address cognitive decline - Features topical issues and examples which apply theory to real life Providing an authoritative account of how age influences the way we think and behave as we grow older, this is essential reading for all those studying lifespan development, cognitive psychology and health psychology.
