Skip to Main Content

Digital Humanities

Student Resources

The following is a brief guide to Digital Humanities resources for students, including 
helpful articles, web  resources, and books for getting started on a project.

Digital Humanities: Getting Started

Intro to Digital Humanities

This online coursebook is based on the Introduction to Digital Humanities (DH101) course at UCLA and is a collection of resources, tools, lessons, and tutorials relevant to digital humanities.

Digital Scholarship

This guide from the Library of Congress is an introduction to digital scholarship. It provides resources for understanding the digital humanities and getting started on a project.

NSU Office of Copyright

The NSU Office of Copyright provides resources, policies, and useful links related to the proper use of copyrighted materials.

Preparing for Publication
Guides students through the steps of preparing to publish, including places to publish.

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers thousands of free eBooks, including famous works of literature. The U.S. Copyright has expired so the books are available for downloading or incorporating into a digital humanities project.

Style Us Conference
Explore questions and answers about professional conference conventions and etiquette.

Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research

This guide from the Society of American Archivists is designed to help both first-time archives users and advanced scholars on how archives function, how to identify appropriate archives for your research, and how to access historical material and resources.

Digital Humanities Books

Databases

Student Project Examples

Digital Humanities Projects at the Penn Libraries

This library guide features current and past projects completed by students, faculty, and librarians at the University of Pennsylvania. The projects are organized by the web-publishing platform used to host the project.

Digital Humanities Projects at Stanford

This website features a variety of digital humanities projects completed by students at Stanford University. 

Salem Witch Trials Web Portal

Curated resources about the Salem Witch Trials designed by an undergraduate student at Reynolds Community College using the free website creation tool Strinkingly.

Visualizing Cultural Collections, University of Applied Sciences Potsdam

Cross-disciplinary research theme that started with the research project VIKUS (Visualisierung kultureller Sammlungen) in 2014-2017. The aim of this research has been to study new forms of graphical user interfaces to support the exploration of digital cultural heritage. Researchers and students from various fields such as interface design, informatics, media studies and cultural management have been conceiving, prototyping and evaluating novel visualization techniques that are aimed at enabling interactive examination of cultural objects.