Skip to Main Content

Digital Humanities

Resources for Faculty

The following is a brief guide to Digital Humanities resources for faculty, including specific information regarding pedagogy, library resources for DH scholarship, and other helpful information.

Digital Humanities Pedagogy: Books and eBooks

Digital Humanities Pedagogy: Sample Journal Articles

Barber, J. F. (2016). Digital storytelling: New opportunities for humanities scholarship and pedagogy. Cogent Arts & Humanities, 3(1).

DeSpain, J. (2016). A feminist digital humanities pedagogy beyond the classroom. Transformations: The Journal of Inclusive Scholarship & Pedagogy, 26(1), 64–73.

Iantorno, L. A. (2014). Introducing digital humanities pedagogy. College English Association.CEA Critic, 76(2), 140-146,225-226.

McCarthy, S. & Witmer, A. (2016). Notes towards a values driven frameworkHybrid Pedagogy. Retrieved from http://hybridpedagogy.org/values-driven-framework-digital-humanities-pedagogy/

Warren, M. J. C. (2016). Teaching with technology: Using digital humanities to engage student learning. Teaching Theology and Religion, 19(3), 309-319.

Digital Humanities Pedagogy: Websites

American Historical Association's Teaching with #DigHist    This site includes sources on getting started with digital humanities in the classroom; resources for getting started in digital history; a link to AHA’s DH Working Group for evaluation of digital scholarship in history; a submission form for admission to the AHA’s archive of digital primary sources; and information AHA digital humanities programming

Ryan Cordell, How Not to Teach Digital Humanities, February 2015 

Creating a DH/DS assignment for students   Brief, simple overview of the steps in creating DH assignments

Brian Croxhall, Building Digital Humanities in the Undergraduate Classroom (Note the assignments listed)

Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities: Concepts, Models, and Experiments (MLA Commons)  A curated collection of reusable and remixable pedagogical artifacts for humanities scholars in development by the Modern Language Association

Getting Started with Digital Humanities in the Classroom  Hannah Jacobs' site includes helpful information on designing DH assignments

OER Commons  OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources

Jeffrey Schnapp, Short Guide to the Digital Humanities   Brief overview with Q&As concerning the core competencies and learning outcomes of Digital Humanities scholarship and pedagogy

Lisa Spiro’s Shaping (Digital) Scholars:  Design Principles for Digital Pedagogy, August 2014

Universal Design for Learning in Higher Education  A collection of resources geared towards multiple stakeholders within postsecondary institutions. The purpose of the site is to offer an understanding of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) in higher education.  Each section provides resources about learner variability at the postsecondary level in an effort to improve learning opportunities, retention, and outcomes

Digital Humanities Scholarship: Books and eBooks

Digital Humanities Scholarship: Research Databases

Digital Humanities Communities, Organizations, and Groups

Association for Computers and Humanities  Professional society for the digital humanities

centerNet  International network of digital humanities centers

DH Commons Renaissance Knowledge Network’s online hub designed to match projects with scholars

Digital Humanities Now  Aggregates DH projects from the open web.

Digital Humanities Summer Institute Hub for coursework, seminars, and lectures

Digital Library Federation Community Calendar Calendar of events and scholarly opportunities

HASTAC   (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Collaboratory) is an interdisciplinary community of humanists, artists, social scientists, scientists, and technologists who share ideas, news, tools, research, insights, pedagogy, methods, and projects

Humanist Discussion Group  Forum for intellectual, scholarly, pedagogical, and social issues and for exchange of information among participants.  Allied with the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations

Humanities Commons Network for people working in the humanities, with a CORE Repository.  Includes Digital Pedagogy discussion group at https://hcommons.org/groups/digital-pedagogy-330073470/

MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is an online repository and international consortium devoted to identifying, peer reviewing, organizing and making available existing online learning resources for use by higher education faculty and students.

ProfHacker Website providing "tips, tutorials, and commentary on pedagogy, productivity, and technology in higher education"

Share  NEH sponsored community open-source initiative developing tools and services to connect related, yet distributed, research outputs, enabling new kinds of scholarly discovery.