Chemistry: Find Online Resources

A product of the University of Indiana Bloomington, the Chymistry of Isaac Newton project aims to produce a scholarly online edition of Newton's alchemical manuscripts integrated with new research on Newton's chymistry. The texts, encoded in TEI/XML, can be viewed in diplomatic or normalized versions, and Latin and other non-English texts are accompanied by translations into English. Where possible, transcriptions are accompanied by page images of the original manuscripts. An additional effort is the development and incorporation of scholarly analysis tools. The combination of a more accessible, digital edition of these works and advanced scholarly analysis tools, will, we hope, lead to further investigation of these important writings and continued revaluation of their place in Newton's overall scientific and creative enterprise.

Disclosing chemical ingredients in products provides essential information throughout the supply chain from raw material supplier to consumers. Infor­mation about the ingredients of products and their health effects allow con­sumers to make better informed choices.The development of this database was initiated in 1994 by DeLima Associates of McLean, Virginia, USA in response to a need for a database (identified by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention), that related household product types, brand names, chemical constituents, health-related information (acute and chronic effects and target organs), and exposure minimization techniques. This database is currently supported by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, Department of Health & Human Services.

The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) informs workers, employers, and occupational health professionals about workplace chemicals and their hazards. The NPG gives general industrial hygiene information for hundreds of chemicals/classes. The NPG clearly presents key data for chemicals or substance groupings (such as cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in workplaces. The guide offers key facts, but does not give all relevant data. The NPG helps users recognize and control workplace chemical hazards.

PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

ThermoDex contains annotated bibliographic records that describe compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances. Most are printed books; a few are freely available Web-based databases. ThermoDex is a "finding aid" designed to save you time in searching through numerous handbooks you might have in your library or lab. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and it returns a list of handbooks that might contain these data.

Indexes include general sites, government agencies, chemical manufacturers, and links to pesticide information.

Alpha Chi Sigma is one of a kind. Following the original concept for a fraternity as an academic organization, Alpha Chi Sigma is the only professional chemistry fraternity. More than 100 years old with more than 70,000 members, Alpha Chi Sigma brings together men and women pursuing a wide variety of chemistry-related careers.

The ACS is the principal chemistry society in the United States and one of the most important in the world. The website provides access to extensive sources of chemical information, especially ACS publications.

The ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry's mission is to shape the future through advancing the science of chemical characterization and measurement. It also seeks to promote the science of analytical chemistry and the careers of its practitioners by providing enhanced professional opportunities, educating members and society, and building bridges between scientific fields.

The premier American society that supports, educates, networks, and advocates for inorganic chemists.

The premier American society that supports, educates, networks, and advocates for organic chemists.

The AIC engages in a broad range of programs for professional enhancement through the prestigious Fellow membership category, awards program, certification programs, meetings, publications and public relations activities.

The American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS) was formed in 1969 to promote and disseminate knowledge of mass spectrometry and allied topics. Membership includes over 8,500 scientists involved in research and development. Members come from academic, industrial and governmental laboratories. Their interests include advancement of techniques and instrumentation in mass spectrometry, as well as fundamental research in chemistry, geology, forensics, biological sciences and physics.

Chemists Without Borders solves humanitarian problems by mobilizing the resources and expertise of the global chemistry community and its networks.

The International Mass Spectrometry Foundation (IMSF) is a non-profit scientific organization in the field of mass spectrometry. The Foundation operates the International Mass Spectrometry Society, which consists of 41 member societies and sponsors the International Mass Spectrometry Conference (IMSC) that was held once every three years from 1958-2012, but is now held every two years. Begining in 2013, IMSF also operates the International Mass Spectrometry Schools, which are held every second year.

The MERLOT website collects online tutorials, tests, class presentations, and other types of educational material. In the Chemistry Portal materials are arranged by type of materials and chemistry field.

The RSC is the largest chemical research society in Europe. It supports an extensive research publication program. The website allows you to search the Society's library, and it includes links to a number of web resources.

The aim of this working group is to promote the application of chemical principles and techniques to solve biological problems.

The aim of this working group is to promote heterocyclic chemistry of all types through the organisation of scientific meetings.

Organic Division currently has 8,700 members based in industry and education. Its main objective is to encourage and promote advances in the field of organic chemistry, interpreted in its broadest sense. In particular, the Division stimulates and supports many local, national and international meetings, symposia and conferences on topics of interest to organic chemists. The Division embraces the interdisciplinary nature of science and works with other RSC Divisions and Forms to encourage the development of new and emerging areas of science.

We seek to enhance the inorganic chemistry classroom and laboratory experience for students and faculty members through the development and growth of IONiC (Interactive Online Network of Inorganic Chemists), a vibrant virtual 'community of practice.’ The community’s foundation will be a cyber-interface that facilitates collaborative development of learning materials and their dissemination to the wider inorganic community. This website, VIPEr (Virtual Inorganic Pedagogical Electronic Resource), will serve both as a repository and as a user-friendly platform for social networking tools that facilitate virtual collaboration and community building. Using VIPEr, we will develop and disseminate best practices for teaching inorganic chemistry.

As part of its mandate to protect the environment, the EPA makes extensive use of chemical information and conducts significant research to create such information.

Green chemistry is the design of chemical products and processes that reduce or eliminate the generation of hazardous substances. EPA's efforts to speed the adoption of this revolutionary and diverse discipline have led to significant environmental benefits, innovation and a strengthened economy.

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is the world authority on chemical nomenclature and terminology, including the naming of new elements in the periodic table; on standardized methods for measurement; and on atomic weights, and many other critically-evaluated data.

NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.

The NSF Division of Chemistry (CHE) supports innovative research in chemical sciences, integrated with education, through strategic investment in developing a globally engaged U.S. chemistry workforce reflecting the diversity of America.

Chemistry was the most important science for Alfred Nobel’s own work. The development of his inventions as well as the industrial processes he employed were based upon chemical knowledge. Chemistry was the second prize area that Nobel mentioned in his will. The Nobel Prize in Chemistry is awarded by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.