General Chemistry
CHEM 1300, 1310
Fall 2025
This course and the related lab is the first part of a two-semester sequence that studies the laws, principles and theories of atomic structure, molecular structure and bonding, stoichiometry, states of matter/solutions, energetics, oxidation reduction, and laboratory chemistry, including their applications.
This course and the related lab is the second part of a two-semester sequence that studies atomic structure, molecular structure and bonding, states of matter/solutions, dynamics (kinetics and thermodynamics), equilibrium, electrochemistry, and laboratory chemistry including their applications.
Required Textbooks for General Chemistry I (CHEM 1300):
-
Principles of Chemistry: A Molecular Approach - Modified Mastering Chemistry
by
For two-semester courses in General Chemistry
This ISBN is for the Modified Mastering access card. Pearson eText is included.
Actively engage students to become expert problem solvers and critical thinkers, using a streamlined approach
Principles of Chemistry: A Molecular Approachpresents core concepts without sacrificing rigor, enabling students to make connections between chemistry and their lives or future careers. Drawing upon his classroom experience as an award-winning educator, Professor Tro extends chemistry to the student’s world by capturing student attention with examples of everyday processes and a captivating writing style. Throughout this student-friendly text, chemistry is presented visually through multi-level images that help students see the connections between the world around them (macroscopic), the atoms and molecules that compose the world (molecular), and the formulas they write down on paper (symbolic).
The 4th Edition pairs digital, pedagogical innovation with insights from learning design and educational research to create an active, integrated, and easy-to-use framework. The new edition introduces a fully integrated book and media package that streamlines course set up, actively engages students in becoming expert problem solvers, and makes it possible for professors to teach the general chemistry course easily and effectively.
The fully integrated book and media package streamlines course set up, actively engages students in becoming expert problem solvers, and makes it possible for professors to teach the general chemistry course easily and effectively.
Reach every student by pairing this text with Modified Mastering Chemistry
Mastering™ is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools developed to engage students and emulate the office-hour experience, Mastering personalizes learning and improves results for each student. The fully integrated and complete media package allows instructors to engage students before they come to class, hold them accountable for learning during class, and then confirm that learning after class. Learn more about Mastering Chemistry.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 8220117010743Publication Date: 2019 -
Principles of General Chemistry - Laboratory Manual
by
Laboratory Manual for Principles of General Chemistry, 11e WileyPLUS Multi-Term covers two semesters of a general chemistry laboratory program. The material focuses on the lab experiences that reinforce the concepts that not all experimental conclusions are the same and depend on identifying an appropriate experimental procedure, selecting the proper apparatus, employing the proper techniques, systematically analyzing and interpreting the data, and minimizing inherent variables. As a result of "good" data, a scientific and analytical conclusion is made which may or may not "be right," but is certainly consistent with the data. Experiments write textbooks, textbooks don't write experiments. A student's scientific literacy grows when experiences and observations associated with the scientific method are encountered. Further experimentation provides additional "cause & effect" observations leading to an even better understanding of the experiment. The 11th edition's experiments are informative and challenging while offering a solid foundation for technique, safety, and experimental procedure. The reporting and analysis of the data and the pre- and post-lab questions focus on the intuitiveness of the experiment. The experiments may accompany any general chemistry textbook and are compiled at the beginning of each curricular unit. An "Additional Notes" column is included in each experiment's Report Sheet to provide a space for recording observations and data during the experiment. Continued emphasis on handling data is supported by the "Data Analysis" section.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781119577690
Recommended Textbooks for General Chemistry I (CHEM 1300):
-
Preparing for Your ACS Examination in General Chemistry - Guide
by
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781732776401
Required Textbooks for General Chemistry II (CHEM 1310):
-
Chemistry 2e
by
Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781947172616Publication Date: 2019 -
Principles of General Chemistry - Laboratory Manual
by
Laboratory Manual for Principles of General Chemistry, 11e WileyPLUS Multi-Term covers two semesters of a general chemistry laboratory program. The material focuses on the lab experiences that reinforce the concepts that not all experimental conclusions are the same and depend on identifying an appropriate experimental procedure, selecting the proper apparatus, employing the proper techniques, systematically analyzing and interpreting the data, and minimizing inherent variables. As a result of "good" data, a scientific and analytical conclusion is made which may or may not "be right," but is certainly consistent with the data. Experiments write textbooks, textbooks don't write experiments. A student's scientific literacy grows when experiences and observations associated with the scientific method are encountered. Further experimentation provides additional "cause & effect" observations leading to an even better understanding of the experiment. The 11th edition's experiments are informative and challenging while offering a solid foundation for technique, safety, and experimental procedure. The reporting and analysis of the data and the pre- and post-lab questions focus on the intuitiveness of the experiment. The experiments may accompany any general chemistry textbook and are compiled at the beginning of each curricular unit. An "Additional Notes" column is included in each experiment's Report Sheet to provide a space for recording observations and data during the experiment. Continued emphasis on handling data is supported by the "Data Analysis" section.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781119577690
Recommended Textbooks for General Chemistry II (CHEM 1310):
-
Preparing for Your ACS Examination in General Chemistry - Guide
by
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781732776401
- Describe the atomic structure, molecular structure and bonding.
- Describe stoichiometry, states of matter/solutions, energetics, and oxidation reduction.
- Demonstrate competent and prudent testing practices of chemical principles in the laboratory and describe how data collected in the laboratory is interpreted scientifically.
- Describe the atomic structure, molecular structure and bonding.
- Describe the states of matter/solutions, dynamics (kinetics and thermodynamics), equilibrium, and electrochemistry.
- Demonstrate competent and prudent testing practices of chemical principles in the laboratory and describe how data collected in the laboratory is interpreted scientifically.
Library Quick Search
Search our library resources by selecting an option below:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries