Textbooks from Previous Years
Principles of Chemistry by
A relevant, problem-solving approach to chemistry The Third Edition of Principles of Chemistry: A Molecular Approach presents core concepts without sacrificing rigor, enabling students to make connections between chemistry and their lives or intended careers. Drawing upon his classroom experience as an award-winning educator, Professor Tro extends chemistry to the student's world by capturing student attention with examples of everyday processes and a captivating writing style. Throughout this student-friendly text, chemistry is presented visually through multi-level images that help students see the connections between the world around them (macroscopic), the atoms and molecules that compose the world (molecular), and the formulas they write down on paper (symbolic). The Third Edition improves upon the hallmark features of the text and adds new assets--Self Assessment Quizzes, Interactive Worked Examples, and Key Concept Videos--creating the best learning resource available for general chemistry students.
Call Number: QD453.3 .T76 2016ISBN: 9780321971944Publication Date: 2014-12-24
Principles of Chemistry by
Great chemistry comes in small packages—and this brief new volume helps readers discover the excitement and relevance of chemistry.In this innovative book, acclaimed author Niva Trofocuses exclusively on the core concepts of general chemistry without sacrificing depth or relevance. A unique integration of macroscopic, molecular, and symbolic illustrations help readers visualize the various dimensions of chemistry; and Tro’s engaging writing style captures the reader's attention with relevant applications. MasteringChemistry walks readers through problem solving, while promoting understanding of chemistry concepts in the world around us. Matter, Measurement, and Problem Solving; Atoms and Elements; Molecules, Compounds, and Chemical Equations; Chemical Quantities and Aqueous Reactions; Gases; Thermochemistry; The Quantum-Mechanical Model of the Atom; Periodic Properties of the Elements; Chemical Bonding I: Lewis Theory; Chemical Bonding II: Molecular Shapes, Valence Bond Theory, and Molecular Orbital Theory; Liquids, Solids, and Intermolecular Forces; Solutions; Chemical Kinetics; Chemical Equilibrium; Acids and Bases; Aqueous Ionic Equilibrium; Free Energy and Thermodynamics; Electrochemistry; Radioactivity and Nuclear Chemistry; Organic Chemistry. A useful reference for anyone who needs to increase his or her knowledge of general chemistry.
Call Number: QD453.3 .T76 2010ISBN: 9780321560049Publication Date: 2009-01-05
Chemistry Books & E-Books
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
High Quality Science requires High Quality Data! Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Every year, new reported data and new scientific areas are added, making the Handbook the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere. Handbook features include: All data reviewed and evaluated by subject matter experts Standardized chemical names, structures, property names, and property units Important information on subjects such as chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature Chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science Digital tools in our Online Edition to analyze, graph, process, and exploit our data content
Call Number: QD65 .C73 2023ISBN: 9781032425207Publication Date: 2023-06-15
The Chemistry Book by
Discover and understand the key ideas that underpin the core science of chemistry and learn about the great minds who uncovered them. The Chemistry Book is packed with short, pithy explanations of some of the most historic moments in science, from the birth of atomic theory to the discovery of polyethylene and the development of new vaccine technologies to combat COVID-19. Simple graphics, such as flowcharts and mind maps, support the text and make the explanation of key concepts easy to follow. Arranged in chronological order, the book covers key themes in the physical and natural sciences, such as geochemistry and the elements. Within each chapter, a series of articles traces the history of scientific thought and introduces the work of the scientists who have shaped the subject such as John Dalton, Marie Curie, Dmitri Mendeleev, Kathleen Lonsdale, and Stephanie Kwolek. Along the way, the book addresses some of the most fundamental questions in science, such as what is the universe made of, how is matter created, and what are the chemical bonds that make life possible? This informative book on chemistry further features: -Profiles more than 95 ideas and events key to the development of chemistry and natural sciences, with thought-provoking graphics throughout that demystify the central concepts behind each idea -Features insightful and inspiring quotes from leading chemists including Nobel Laureates Marie Curie, Linus Pauling, and Osamu Shimomura, as well as thinkers in other fields -Global in scope, covering discoveries and innovations from around the world throughout human history -Combines creative typography, graphics, and accessible text to explore the most famous and important ideas in chemistry and the people behind them -Includes a directory section for easy localization Whether you are new to chemistry, a student of the sciences, or just want to keep up with and understand the latest news and scientific debates, The Chemistry Book is a must-have volume for all thinkers, learners and avid readers out there. At DK, we believe in the power of discovery. So why stop there? If you like The Chemistry Book, then why not try The Biology Book, The Physics Book, and The Science Book, for a highly-engaging guide to all the sciences. Forming part of the highly-successful Big Ideas Range, whatever your preferred topic of interest, there's something for everyone to explore, learn and love!
Call Number: QD31.3 .C428 2022ISBN: 9780744056327Publication Date: 2022-08-09
General, Organic, and Biochemistry by
The tenth edition of General, Organic, and Biochemistry is designed to help undergraduate health-related majors understand key concepts and appreciate the significant connections between chemistry, health, disease and the treatment of disease. This text continues to strike a balance between theoretical and practical chemistry, while emphasising material that is unique to health-related studies. It has been written at a level intended for students whose professional goals do not include a mastery of chemistry, but for whom an understanding of the principles and practice of chemistry is a necessity. Designed for a one- or two-semester course, this text has an easy-to-follow problem-solving pedagogy, vivid illustrations and engaging applications.
Call Number: QU 4 D411g 2020ISBN: 9781260565881Publication Date: 2020
Chemistry by
Chemistry: A Molecular Approach, Third Edition is an innovative, pedagogically driven text that explains challenging concepts in a student-oriented manner. Nivaldo Tro creates a rigorous and accessible treatment of general chemistry in the context of relevance and the big picture. Chemistry is presented visually through multi-level images-macroscopic, molecular, and symbolic representations-helping students see the connections between the world they see around them (macroscopic), the atoms and molecules that compose the world (molecular), and the formulas they write down on paper (symbolic). The hallmarks of Dr. Tro's problem-solving approach are reinforced through interactive media that provide students with an office-hour type of environment built around worked examples and expanded coverage on the latest developments in chemistry. Pioneering features allow students to sketch their ideas through new problems, and much more.
Call Number: QD453.3 .T759 2014ISBN: 9780321809247Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Introductory Chemistry by
From its very origin, Introductory Chemistry: An Atoms First Approach by Julia Burdge and Michelle Driessen has been developed and written using an atoms‐first approach specific to introductory chemistry. It is not a pared down version of a general chemistry text, but carefully crafted with the introductory‐chemistry student in mind.
The ordering of topics facilitates the conceptual development of chemistry for the novice, rather than the historical development that has been used traditionally. Its language and style are student‐friendly and conversational; and the importance and wonder of chemistry in everyday life are emphasized at every opportunity. Continuing in the Burdge tradition, this text employs an outstanding art program, a consistent problem-solving approach, interesting applications woven throughout the chapters, and a wide range of end-of-chapter problems.
Call Number: QD 33.2 B951i 2018ISBN: 9781260148916Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Chemistry Workbook for Dummies® by
Hundreds of practice problems to help you conquer chemistry Are you confounded by chemistry? Subject by subject, problem by problem, Chemistry Workbook For Dummies lends a helping hand so you can make sense of this often-intimidating subject. Packed with hundreds of practice problems that cover the gamut of everything you'll encounter in your introductory chemistry course, this hands-on guide will have you working your way through basic chemistry in no time. You can pick and choose the chapters and types of problems that challenge you the most, or you can work from cover to cover. With plenty of practice problems on everything from matter and molecules to moles and measurements, Chemistry Workbook For Dummies has everything you need to score higher in chemistry. Practice on hundreds of beginning-to-advanced chemistry problems Review key chemistry concepts Get complete answer explanations for all problems Focus on the exact topics of a typical introductory chemistry course If you're a chemistry student who gets lost halfway through a problem or, worse yet, doesn't know where to begin, Chemistry Workbook For Dummies is packed with chemistry practice problems that will have you conquering chemistry in a flash!
Call Number: QD33.2 .C49 2015ISBN: 9781118940044Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Chemistry by
All general chemistry students face similar challenges, but they use their textbook differently to meet those challenges. Some read chapters from beginning to end, some consult the book as a reference, and some look to the book for problem-solving help. Chemistry, Fourth Edition supports all kind of learners, regardless of how they use the book, by helping them connect chemistry to their world, see that world from a molecular point of view, and become expert problem solvers.
Call Number: QD33.2 .G55 2014ISBN: 9780393919370Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Understanding Physical Chemistry by
Understanding Physical Chemistry takes an innovative approach to teaching this fundamentally important subject, by stressing core ideas such as the entropic forces that drive all chemical processes and the quantum states that dictate the structures and colors of atoms and molecules. This elegant and streamlined textbook (of under 400 pages) aims to instill a deep understanding of physical chemistry by focusing exclusively on those ideas that are deemed to be either too important or too interesting to exclude. These core ideas are demystified by explaining where they come from, why they make sense, and how they may be applied to understanding topics ranging from molecular spectroscopy and chemical reactivity to biological self-assembly and liquid computer simulation strategies. Another unique feature of this groundbreaking textbook is the insight it provides into the scientific discovery process by highlighting the personal perspectives and conceptual struggles of people such as Gibbs, Einstein, and Schrödinger, who pioneered this interesting and practically important field.
Call Number: QD453.3 .B46 2014ISBN: 9781118298152Publication Date: 2013-05-06
Basic Chemistry by
Maintaining the clear, approachable writing style characteristic of author Karen Timberlake, Basic Chemistry , Fourth Edition, adds to its suite of problem-solving tools and techniques necessary for success in chemistry. Engaging new features such as end-of-section Math Practice problems, video tutorials and Math Review Modules allow readers to practice and master quantitative skills. Popular features, including "Combining Ideas" sections and end-of-chapter questions, have also been strengthened and expanded. Modern real-world applications help students connect chemical principles to events in their world, while stories involving careers illustrate the importance of chemistry in future careers.
Call Number: QD31.3 .T54 2014ISBN: 9780321809285Publication Date: 2012-12-31
Chemistry II for Dummies by
The tools you need to ace your Chemisty II course College success for virtually all science, computing, engineering, and premedical majors depends in part on passing chemistry. The skills learned in chemistry courses are applicable to a number of fields, and chemistry courses are essential to students who are studying to become nurses, doctors, pharmacists, clinical technicians, engineers, and many more among the fastest-growing professions. But if you're like a lot of students who are confused by chemistry, it can seem like a daunting task to tackle the subject. That's where Chemistry II For Dummies can help! Here, you'll get plain-English, easy-to-understand explanations of everything you'll encounter in your Chemistry II class. Whether chemistry is your chosen area of study, a degree requirement, or an elective, you'll get the skills and confidence to score high and enhance your understanding of this often-intimidating subject. So what are you waiting for? Presents straightforward information on complex concepts Tracks to a typical Chemistry II course Serves as an excellent supplement to classroom learning Helps you understand difficult subject matter with confidence and ease Packed with approachable information and plenty of practice opportunities, Chemistry II For Dummies is just what you need to make the grade.
Call Number: QD37 .M66 2012ISBN: 9781118164907Publication Date: 2012-07-03
Safety-Scale Laboratory Experiments for Chemistry for Today by
Succeed in your course using this lab manual's unique blend of laboratory skills and exercises that effectively illustrate concepts from the main text, CHEMISTRY FOR TODAY: GENERAL, ORGANIC, AND BIOCHEMISTRY, 7e. The book's 15 general chemistry and 20 organic/biochemistry safety-scale laboratory experiments use small quantities of chemicals and emphasize safety and proper disposal of materials. "Safety-scale' is the authors' own term for describing the amount of chemicals each lab experiment requires--less than macroscale quantities, which are expensive and hazardous, and more than microscale quantities, which are difficult to work with and require special equipment.
Call Number: QD31.3 .S43 2014ISBN: 9780538734547Publication Date: 2010-06-09
Chemistry by
Designed for the two-semester general chemistry course, Chang's bestselling textbook continues to take a traditional approach and is often considered a student and teacher favorite. This 10th edition features a straightforward, clear writing style and proven problem-solving strategies and provides a firm foundation in chemical concepts and principles.
Call Number: QD31.3 .C38 2010ISBN: 9780077274313Publication Date: 2009-01-13
Chemical Thermodynamics and Statistical Aspects by
Chemical Thermodynamics and Statistical Aspects: Questions to Ask in Fundamentals and Principles covers a full range of topics in macroscopic and statistical thermodynamics. Every step in the book is compiled with sharp and precise attention to detail. Derivations cover fundamental relationships and reinforce and extend the knowledge gained form an earlier exposure to thermodynamics. The book is filled with all kinds of physics processes, a variety of quantum mechanics, and calculus problems involving timely mathematical functions. Special emphases is given to fundamental concepts and their chemical interpretations, which are essential to understanding molecular formation and reaction mechanism. This book will be a useful reference source for undergraduates and postgraduates taking courses in chemistry, students in chemical engineering, and those in the materials sciences. It will also be of value to research workers who would like an introduction to the essential principles of physical chemistry. Includes detailed solutions with the necessary mathematical techniques provided for every problem Addresses problems incorporating a variety of types of chemical and physical data to illustrate the interdependence of issues Includes a "Questions and Answers" feature which differentiates this book from competing books in the field
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780443152962Publication Date: 2023-06-27
Fundamental and Biomedical Aspects of Redox Processes by
Redox processes represent a major advancement in water treatment technology and have other applications across environmental and technological contexts. Redox processes must be studied further to ensure they are utilized appropriately. Fundamental and Biomedical Aspects of Redox Processes accumulates new knowledge regarding the essence of the oxidation-reduction processes, the justification of key mechanisms, and the discovery of new aspects of methods of controlling redox reactions. Covering key topics such as wastewater treatment, soil, natural waters, and chemistry, this reference work is ideal for industry professionals, scientists, researchers, academicians, scholars, practitioners, instructors, and students.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781668472019Publication Date: 2023-06-01
Oxygen Reduction Reaction by
Oxygen Reduction Reaction: Fundamentals, Materials and Applications covers the design, synthesis and performance efficacies of the entire spectrum of oxygen reduction catalysts, extrapolating down to their applications in practical, alternative, renewable energy devices. Catalysts covered include heme inspired iron-based, heme inspired non-iron-based, non-heme-based, noble metal-based, non-noble metal-based and metal-free homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts. The book contains critical analyses and opinions from experts around the world, making it of interest to scientists, engineers, industrialists, entrepreneurs and students. Discusses the fundamental aspects of oxygen reduction reactions Offers a comprehensive analysis of the choice and development of catalyst materials for oxygen reduction reaction Reviews emerging catalyst systems for oxygen reduction reaction Includes analyses of catalytic performance parameters to evaluate their efficacy in oxygen reduction reactions under varied operating conditions Covers the importance of oxygen reduction reaction catalysts and processes in real-life applications
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323907200Publication Date: 2022-06-14
Redox Chemistry and Biology of Thiols by
Redox Chemistry and Biology of Thiols offers an applied, comprehensive overview of redox chemistry and biology of thiol-dependent processes. Running from basic biology and chemistry of redox phenomena to research methods and highlighting recently identified roles of thiols across cellular and bodily systems, this book draws upon a range of disciplines to illuminate new research directions, new applications of thiol studies, and clinical translation. Sections cover thiol oxidizing species, thiol reactivity and modifications, thioredoxin, glutaredoxin, glutathione, peroxidases, thiol repair enzymes, thiol oxidative signaling, disulfide bond formation, thiol-based redox biosensors, cysteine and hydrogen sulfide metabolism, iron-sulfur cluster biogenesis, thiols in chloroplasts, blood thiols, sugar and polyamine thiols in pathogenic organisms, redox medicine (therapeutic applications of thiols and drug development), as well as methods and bioinformatics tools. Runs from basic thiol biology and chemistry to applications and clinical translation Provides methods and protocols that will power new research across biomedicine, cell biology, plant biology, drug development, and protein folding and modulation Includes chapter contributions from international leaders in the field
ISBN: 9780323915663Publication Date: 2022-05-25
Thermodynamics by
Thermodynamics: Principles Characterizing Physical and Chemical Processes, Fifth Edition is an authoritative guide on the physical and chemical processes based on classical thermodynamic principles. Emphasis is placed on fundamental principles, with a combination of theory and practice that demonstrates their applications in a variety of disciplines. Revised and updated to include new material and novel formulations, this edition features a new chapter on algebraic power laws and Fisher information theory, along with detailed updates on irreversible phenomena, Landau theory, self-assembly, Caratheodory's theorem, and the effects of externally applied fields. Drawing on the experience of its expert author, this book is a useful tool for both graduate students, professional chemists, and physicists who wish to acquire a more sophisticated overview of thermodynamics and related subject matter. Updated to reflect the latest developments in the field, including a new chapter on algebraic power laws and Fisher information theory Includes clear explanations of abstract theoretical concepts Provides exhaustive coverage of graphical, numerical and analytical computational techniques
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128233696Publication Date: 2020-11-07
Chemistry by
A practical, complete, and easy-to-use guide for understanding major chemistry concepts and terms Master the fundamentals of chemistry with this fast and easy guide. Chemistry is a fundamental science that touches all other sciences, including biology, physics, electronics, environmental studies, astronomy, and more. Thousands of students have successfully used the previous editions of Chemistry: Concepts and Problems, A Self-Teaching Guide to learn chemistry, either independently, as a refresher, or in parallel with a college chemistry course. This newly revised edition includes updates and additions to improve your success in learning chemistry. This book uses an interactive, self-teaching method including frequent questions and study problems, increasing both the speed of learning and retention. Monitor your progress with self-tests, and master chemistry quickly. This revised Third Edition provides a fresh, step-by-step approach to learning that requires no prerequisites, lets you work at your own pace, and reinforces what you learn, ensuring lifelong mastery. Master the science of basic chemistry with this innovative, self-paced study guide Teach yourself chemistry, refresh your knowledge in preparation for medical studies or other coursework, or enhance your college chemistry course Use self-study features including review questions and quizzes to ensure that you're really learning the material Prepare for a career in the sciences, medicine, or engineering with the core content in this user-friendly guide Authored by expert postsecondary educators, this unique book gently leads students to deeper levels and concepts with practice, critical thinking, problem solving, and self-assessment at every stage.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119632658Publication Date: 2020-08-17
Physical Chemistry by
Much of chemistry is motivated by asking 'How'? How do I make a primary alcohol? React a Grignard reagent with formaldehyde. Physical chemistry is motivated by asking 'Why'? The Grignard reagent and formaldehyde follow a molecular dance known as a reaction mechanism in which stronger bonds are made at the expense of weaker bonds. If you are interested in asking 'why' and not just 'how', then you need to understand physical chemistry. Physical Chemistry: How Chemistry Works takes a fresh approach to teaching in physical chemistry. This modern textbook is designed to excite and engage undergraduate chemistry students and prepare them for how they will employ physical chemistry in real life. The student-friendly approach and practical, contemporary examples facilitate an understanding of the physical chemical aspects of any system, allowing students of inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and biochemistry to be fluent in the essentials of physical chemistry in order to understand synthesis, intermolecular interactions and materials properties. For students who are deeply interested in the subject of physical chemistry, the textbook facilitates further study by connecting them to the frontiers of research. Provides students with the physical and mathematical machinery to understand the physical chemical aspects of any system. Integrates regular examples drawn from the literature, from contemporary issues and research, to engage students with relevant and illustrative details. Important topics are introduced and returned to in later chapters: key concepts are reinforced and discussed in more depth as students acquire more tools. Chapters begin with a preview of important concepts and conclude with a summary of important equations. Each chapter includes worked examples and exercises: discussion questions, simple equation manipulation questions, and problem-solving exercises. Accompanied by supplementary online material: worked examples for students and a solutions manual for instructors. Written by an experienced instructor, researcher and author in physical chemistry, with a voice and perspective that is pedagogical and engaging.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118751121Publication Date: 2016-11-14
Principles of Chemistry by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781619255012Publication Date: 2016-03-09
Physical Chemistry for the Biological Sciences by
This book provides an introduction to physical chemistry that is directed toward applications to the biological sciences. Advanced mathematics is not required. This book can be used for either a one semester or two semester course, and as a reference volume by students and faculty in the biological sciences.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118859001Publication Date: 2015-04-20
Schaum's Outline of Beginning Chemistry by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 650 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 16 detailed videos featuring Chemistry instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 673 fully solved problems Hundreds of examples with explanations of chemistry concepts Support for all the major textbooks for beginning chemistry courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780071811347Publication Date: 2013-09-26
Chemistry for Dummies® by
See how chemistry works in everything from soaps to medicines to petroleum We're all natural born chemists. Every time we cook, clean, take a shower, drive a car, use a solvent (such as nail polish remover), or perform any of the countless everyday activities that involve complex chemical reactions we're doing chemistry! So why do so many of us desperately resist learning chemistry when we're young? Now there's a fun, easy way to learn basic chemistry. Whether you're studying chemistry in school and you're looking for a little help making sense of what's being taught in class, or you're just into learning new things, Chemistry For Dummies gets you rolling with all the basics of matter and energy, atoms and molecules, acids and bases, and much more! Tracks a typical chemistry course, giving you step-by-step lessons you can easily grasp Packed with basic chemistry principles and time-saving tips from chemistry professors Real-world examples provide everyday context for complicated topics Full of modern, relevant examples and updated to mirror current teaching methods and classroom protocols, Chemistry For Dummies puts you on the fast-track to mastering the basics of chemistry.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118007303Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Chemistry by
The Zumdahls' hallmark problem-solving approach and focus on conceptual development come to life in this new edition with interactive problems that promote active learning and visualization. Enhanced by a wealth of online support that is seamlessly integrated with the program, Chemistry's solid explanations, emphasis on modeling, and outstanding problem sets make both teaching and learning chemistry more meaningful and accessible than ever before. The authors emphasize a qualitative approach to chemistry in both the text and the technology program before quantitative problems are considered, helping to build comprehension. The emphasis on modeling throughout the narrative addresses the problem of rote memorization by helping students to better understand and appreciate the process of scientific development. By stressing the limitations and uses of scientific models, the authors show students how chemists think and work.
Call Number: QD33.2 .Z86 2009ISBN: 9780547054056Publication Date: 2007-12-27
Chemistry for Changing Times by
For a one- or two-term Chemistry and Society course for non-science majors. The text that defined the liberal arts chemistry course, Hill/Kolb remains the most visually appealing and readable introduction on the market. All material is revised and updated to reflect the latest scientific developments in a fast-changing world - with substantial changes in areas such as energy costs, alternative energy, food and fitness guidelines, modern drugs, and more.
Call Number: QD33.2 .H54 2007ISBN: 0132280841Publication Date: 2006-07-05
Conceptual Chemistry by
Conceptual Chemistry, Third Edition features more applied material and an expanded quantitative approach to help non-science majors understand how chemistry is related to their everyday lives. Building on the clear, friendly writing style and superior art program that has made Conceptual Chemistry a market-leading text, the Third Edition links chemistry to the real world and ensures that students master the problem-solving skills they need to solve chemical equations. New Spotlight Essays at the end of the first 12 chapters focus on topics such as Nanotechnology and Extending the Human Lifespan that help students connect what they learn in the classroom to what they see in the world. More in-depth coverage of stoichiometry and gas laws, along with better identification of various end-of-chapter problem types and new collaborative problem sets, provide increased mathematical rigor for instructors who want to emphasize quantitative understanding in their course.The Third Edition also features the most comprehensive supplements package on the market: Each new copy of the book is packaged with the Conceptual Chemistry Alive DVD, an engaging, multimedia course that contains mini-lectures, demos, animations, and other interactive exercises. Two new supplements, an Activities Workbookand a Student Resource Guide give students more opportunity to practice the concepts they learn in lecture.
Call Number: QD33.2 .S83 2007ISBN: 9780805382211Publication Date: 2006-06-06
Fundamentals of Chemistry by
Designed for the one-semester preparatory chemistry course, the new, fifth edition of Fundamentals of Chemistry provides students with a solid foundation in problem solving for all the topic areas covered in a standard general chemistry course. The author not only provides a clear consistent methodology to help students develop conceptual and quantitative problem-solving skills, but also engages students by using analogies that relate chemistry to everyday life. Students who need help with mathematical manipulations, as well as reading and writing scientific material, will find Goldberg's text an excellent learning tool.
Call Number: QD33.2 .G65 2007ISBN: 9780072828504Publication Date: 2006-04-01
University Chemistry by
Award-winning educator Peter Siska brings years of research and teaching experience to University Chemistry, a new, distinctive honors general chemistry textbook that offers a logical framework of core ideas to give readers a solid understanding of chemistry. The book is built on the premise that mastery of a few central ideas will enable readers to comprehend and appreciate complex chemical processes. Physical Principles Underlying Chemistry; The Quantum Revolution: The Failure of Everyday Notions to Apply to Atoms; Wave Mechanics and the Hydrogen Atom: Quantum Numbers, Energy Levels, and Orbitals; Atoms with Many Electrons and the Periodic Table; Valence Electron Configurations, Periodicity, and Chemical Behavior; Orbitals and Chemical Bonding I: The Valence Bond Model and Molecular Geometry; Orbitals and Chemical Bonding II: The Molecular Orbital Model and Molecular Energy Levels; Molecular Motion and Spectroscopy; Properties of Gases and the Kinetic Molecular Theory; Energy Changes in Chemical Reactions; Spontaneity of Chemical Reactions; Free Energy and Chemical Equilibrium; Electrochemistry; States of Matter and Intermolecular Forces; Rates and Mechanisms of Chemical Reactions; The Nucleus; The Transition Metals; The Chemistry of Carbon. For all readers interested in the study of chemistry.
Call Number: QD31.3 .S57 2006ISBN: 9780805393491Publication Date: 2005-12-19
Chemistry and Chemical Reactivity by
CHEMISTRY AND CHEMICAL REACTIVITY has been revised to help students get to a higher level of understanding of General Chemistry-concepts. This revision includes General ChemistryNow, a new CD-ROM and web-based learning system that focuses on goals, connections, and complete integration with the text.
Call Number: QD31.3 .K68 2006ISBN: 9780534997663Publication Date: 2005-01-20
General Chemistry by
This book retains the relaxed, easy-to-read style of the previous edition to provide integrated coverage of organic and biochemistry, applications, and tools that foster problem-solving skills. More than any other, this text offers balance-in the topics presented, and in its presentation of the subject of chemistry.The authors focus on three mains areas to help readers master the core concepts of general chemistry and enhance their problem-solving skills: problem-solving support and active assessment, conceptual development, and visualization of the molecular behavior of matter.For anyone who wants a relaxed, easy-to-read book that emphasizes major topics in chemistry as well as problem-solving techniques.
Call Number: QD 33.2 G326 2005ISBN: 0131402838Publication Date: 2004-03-02
Chemistry by
The student-friendly style of the book makes the content accessible without sacrificing either breadth or depth of coverage. The text's informal writing style, emphasis on problem solving, and state-of-the-art media package make this book an ideal fit at schools with large class sizes and a wide range of student abilities and backgrounds. The authors' goal was to create a complete package (text + media + supplements) which would challenge the better-prepared students and provide support to the lesser prepared students, giving ALL students a chance to succeed. 4e welcomes a new co-author Fred Senese, Frostburg State University, the creator of the award-winning General Chemistry Online and Ask Antoine (the most hit general chem web resource in the world with over 15 million hits/year). In addition to creating the new Brady/Senese website, he has also worked with Jim Brady to do significant revisions in the text.
Call Number: QD33.2 .B73 2004ISBN: 0471215171Publication Date: 2004-02-04
The Basics of Chemistry by
Written for students beginning a formal study of chemistry, this volume encompasses many different topics in and approaches to introductory chemistry. Chapters are devoted to topics such as the atom, elements and the periodic table, bonding, equilibrium and kinetics, solutions, acids and bases, and chemical reactions. Several chapters discuss broad areas of chemistry including organic chemistry, biochemistry, environmental chemistry, and industrial chemistry. Illustrations and diagrams help the student understand chemical structures and reactions, and numerous tables present a wealth of reference information. The historical developments of chemical concepts are traced, and biographical information is provided on key individuals responsible for the development of modern chemistry. Appendices include an extensive bibliography, a glossary of over 400 chemical terms, an overview of Nobel laureates in chemistry, and an element reference table. This book will be of use not only to students, but also to anyone seeking an overview of the field. Teachers of all grades can use Basics of Chemistry as a practical general reference.
Call Number: QD33.2 .M94 2003ISBN: 0313316643Publication Date: 2003-06-30
General Chemistry by
This best-selling text, GENERAL CHEMISTRY by Whitten/Davis/Peck/Stanley, is best summarized by "classic text, modern presentation." This simple phrase underlies its strong emphasis is on fundamental skills and concepts. As in previous editions, clearly explained problem-solving strategies continue to be the strength of this student-friendly text. This revision builds on the highly praised style and applications to everyday life that have earned this text a reputation as the voice of authority in general chemistry. Whitten always has been viewed as one of the few truly "traditional" general chemistry texts. Examples of this are that the text covers Thermodynamics, normally a topic split into two parts and covered in two different semesters, in one chapter and begins the second half of the course. GENERAL CHEMISTRY, Seventh Edition also follows a standard narrative-example-problem format, has a solid traditional writing style, and promotes problem solving. However, the authors have added some new elements over the years to reflect changes in chemical education. These include adding in conceptual questions in the problem sets, adding features like the Chemistry In Use boxes to show how chemistry is used in daily life, and further promoting problem solving by including hints and checks for students.
Call Number: QD31.3 .W53 2004ISBN: 9780534408602Publication Date: 2003-04-18
Basic Concepts of Chemistry by
In photochemical reactions, such as photosynthesis, light energy initiates a chemical reaction. In the jellyfish we have just the opposite situation. That is, light energy is produced by a chemical reaction. The production of light energy by a chemical reaction is known as chemiluminescence. If it is produced by living organisms, such as the jellyfish, it is known as bioluminescence. This text emphasizes the relevance of chemistry to the world around us. Both within the text and in the essays entitled "Making It Real" you will find discussions of how the abstract subject of chemistry relates to the reality of our everyday lives. The Making It Real essay in Chapter 13 discusses bioluminescence that was first noticed in fireflies. Discover a fascinating, living science! From the mysteries of dark matter to the power of lightning, few subjects are more fascinating and relate more directly to everyday life than chemistry. Now redesigned and revised to promote visualization and enhance understanding, the new Seventh Edition of Leo Malone's Basic Concepts of Chemistry captures the excitement of this dynamic field, and presents it in a way that is easy to learn. Covering all the essential topics in a student-friendly style, this best-selling preparatory chemistry text provides students with all the help they need to master basic concepts, overcome common math difficulties, and develop strong problem-solving skills. Highlights of the Seventh Edition * NEW! Making It Real sections relate the subject at hand to high-interest topics that demonstrate applications and motivate learning. * NEW! Redesigned artwork enhances visualization of key topics and illustrates the molecular nature of chemistry. * NEW! The book's Web site includes a new bonus chapter on Biochemistry as well as the chapter on Organic Chemistry. * NEW! eGrade, Wiley's online quizzing and homework management program, allows students to do practice tests and email assignments directly to the instructor. * The author's student-friendly writing style is enhanced with easy-to-understand analogies and examples of current topics of interest. * Frequent testing through in-chapter Checking It Out sections, end-of-chapter problems (100 new to this edition!), and cumulative tests reinforces concepts and study skills on an ongoing basis. * Interactive Learning problems on the Web show how to set up and solve problems, and provide immediate feedback. * Extensive appendices help ease math anxieties and provide a quick and effective review of the mathematical concepts used in introductory chemistry.
Call Number: QD31.3 .M344 2004ISBN: 0471215228Publication Date: 2003-03-07
Basic Training in Chemistry by
This volume gathers into one source information that is usually widely dispersed. It can be used as a quick reference guide to the different disciplines of chemistry. The areas covered are general, inorganic, organic, and instrumental analysis. Although comprehensive in nature, the book is not meant to replace any standard textbook but rather to be a supplement or additional source of information, or even a comprehensive review guide. It should prove a useful addition to any academic or commercial laboratory setting where access to a wide variety of information is needed.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781280204944Publication Date: 2001-01-01
