Featured Resources
Letters from an Astrophysicist by
Astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson has attracted one of the world's largest online followings with his fascinating, widely accessible insights into science and our universe. Now, Tyson invites us to go behind the scenes of his public fame by revealing his correspondence with people across the globe who have sought him out in search of answers. In this hand-picked collection of 101 letters, Tyson draws upon cosmic perspectives to address a vast array of questions about science, faith, philosophy, life, and of course, Pluto. His succinct, opinionated, passionate, and often funny responses reflect his popularity and standing as a leading educator. Tyson's 2017 bestseller Astrophysics for People in a Hurry offered more than one million readers an insightful and accessible understanding of the universe. Tyson's most candid and heartfelt writing yet, Letters from an Astrophysicist introduces us to a newly personal dimension of Tyson's quest to explore our place in the cosmos.
Call Number: QB460.72.T97 A4 2019ISBN: 9781324003311Publication Date: 2019-10-08
The Meaning of Relativity by
The world would be a very different place if it were not for Albert Einstein. Like Newton and Galileo before him, this remarkable scientist changed forever mankind's understanding of the universe. In 1921, five years after proclaiming his general theory of relativity, Einstein was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in recognition of his remarkable achievements. In the same year he travelled to the United States to give four lectures that consolidated his theory and sought to explain its meaning to a new audience. These lectures were published the following year as The Meaning of Relativity, which he revised with each new edition until his death. It remains a key work for anyone wishing to discover at first hand the workings of one of the most inspiring minds of the twentieth century.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1843271133Publication Date: 2015-09-29
A Brief History of Time by
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Published more than two decades ago to great critical acclaim and commercial success, A Brief History of Time has become a landmark volume in science writing. Stephen Hawking, one of the great minds of our time, explores such profound questions as: How did the universe begin--and what made its start possible? Does time always flow forward? Is the universe unending--or are there boundaries? Are there other dimensions in space? What will happen when it all ends? Told in language we all can understand, A Brief History of Time plunges into the exotic realms of black holes and quarks, of antimatter and "arrows of time," of the big bang and a bigger God--where the possibilities are wondrous and unexpected. With exciting images and profound imagination, Stephen Hawking brings us closer to the ultimate secrets at the very heart of creation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780553109535Publication Date: 1998-09-01
Physics Books & E-Books
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
High Quality Science requires High Quality Data! Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Every year, new reported data and new scientific areas are added, making the Handbook the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere. Handbook features include: All data reviewed and evaluated by subject matter experts Standardized chemical names, structures, property names, and property units Important information on subjects such as chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature Chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science Digital tools in our Online Edition to analyze, graph, process, and exploit our data content
Call Number: QD65 .C73 2023ISBN: 9781032425207Publication Date: 2023-06-15
The Physics Book by
Learn about the Big Bang theory, astrophysics and gravity in The Physics Book. Part of the fascinating Big Ideas series, this book tackles tricky topics and themes in a simple and easy to follow format. Learn about Physics in this overview guide to the subject, great for beginners looking to learn and experts wishing to refresh their knowledge alike! The Physics Book brings a fresh and vibrant take on the topic through eye-catching graphics and diagrams to immerse yourself in. This captivating book will broaden your understanding of Physics, with: - More than 100 ground-breaking ideas in this field of science - Packed with facts, charts, timelines and graphs to help explain core concepts - A visual approach to big subjects with striking illustrations and graphics throughout - Easy to follow text makes topics accessible for people at any level of understanding The Physics Book is the perfect introduction to the science, aimed at adults with an interest in the subject and students wanting to gain more of an overview. Here you'll discover more than 90 of the most important laws and theories in the history of physics and the great minds behind them. If you've ever wondered exactly how physicists formulated and proved groundbreaking abstract concepts, this is the perfect book for you. Your Physics Questions, Simply Explained How do magnets generate electricity? What is antimatter? Is time travel possible? If you thought it was difficult to learn the many laws and concepts of physics, The Physics Book presents key information in a clear layout. Learn about Pythagoras's observations on music, Galileo's experiments with spheres and Isaac Newton's theories of gravity and laws of motion with superb mind maps and step-by-step summaries. The Big Ideas Series With millions of copies sold worldwide, The Physics Book is part of the award-winning Big Ideas series from DK. The series uses striking graphics along with engaging writing, making big topics easy to understand.
Call Number: QC24.5 .P593 2020ISBN: 9781465491022Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Thermodynamics by
The role of thermodynamics in modern physics is not just to provide an approximate treatment of large thermal systems, but, more importantly, to provide an organising set of ideas. Thermodynamics: A complete undergraduate course presents thermodynamics as a self-contained and elegant set ofideas and methods. It unfolds thermodynamics for undergraduate students of physics, chemistry or engineering, beginning at first year level. The book introduces the necessary mathematical methods, assuming almost no prior knowledge, and explains concepts such as entropy and free energy at length,with many examples. This book aims to convey the style and power of thermodynamic reasoning, along with applications such as Joule-Kelvin expansion, the gas turbine, magnetic cooling, solids at high pressure, chemical equilibrium, radiative heat exchange and global warming, to name a few. Itmentions but does not pursue statistical mechanics, in order to keep the logic clear.
Call Number: QC311 .S792 2017ISBN: 9780198788560Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Physics Lab Experiments by
This new book aims to guide both the experimentalist and theoretician through their compulsory laboratory courses forming part of an undergraduate physics degree. The rationale behind this book is to show students and interested readers the value and beauty within a carefully planned and executed experiment, and to help them to develop the skills to carry out experiments themselves.
Call Number: QC33 .F84 2017ISBN: 9781942270805Publication Date: 2016-09-23
Newtonian Mechanics by
Newtonian mechanics is taught as part of every physics program for several reasons: it is a towering intellectual achievement; it has diverse applications; and it provides a context for teaching modelling and problem solving. This text gives equal prominence to all three missions. It therefore includes some advanced material as well as the customary introductory topics and is designed to be studied over an extended time-frame. The problem-solving aspects are developed more fully than in many other texts; showing readers how problems are approached and bringing out the ways of going about constructing a model and solution. Features: * Includes some advanced material as well as the customary introductory topics * The problem-solving aspects are developed more fully than in many other texts; showing readers how problems are approached and bringing out the methods of going about constructing a model and solution
Call Number: QC127 .R35 2017ISBN: 9781942270782Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Physics and Mathematical Tools by
This book presents mathematical methods and tools which are useful for physicists and engineers: response functions, Kramers-Kronig relations, Green's functions, saddle point approximation. The derivations emphasize the underlying physical arguments and interpretations without any loss of rigor. General introductions describe the main features of the methods, while connections and analogies between a priori different problems are discussed. They are completed by detailed applications in many topics including electromagnetism, hydrodynamics, statistical physics, quantum mechanics, etc. Exercises are also proposed, and their solutions are sketched. A self-contained reading of the book is favored by avoiding too technical derivations, and by providing a short presentation of important tools in the appendices. It is addressed to undergraduate and graduate students in physics, but it can also be used by teachers, researchers and engineers.
Call Number: QC20 .A4313 2016ISBN: 9789814713238Publication Date: 2016-03-31
Advanced Modern Physics: Solutions To Problems by
Our understanding of the physical world was revolutionized in the twentieth century -- the era of 'modern physics'. Three texts presenting the foundations and frontiers of modern physics have been published by the second author. Many problems are included in these books. The current authors have published solutions manuals for two of the texts Introduction to Modern Physics: Theoretical Foundations and Topics in Modern Physics: Theoretical Foundations.The present book provides solutions to the over 180 problems in the remaining text Advanced Modern Physics: Theoretical Foundations. This is the most challenging material, ranging over advanced quantum mechanics, angular momentum, scattering theory, lagrangian field theory, symmetries, Feynman rules, quantum electrodynamics (QED), higher-order processes, path-integrals, and canonical transformations for quantum systems; several appendices supply important details.This solutions manual completes the modern physics series, whose goal is to provide a path through the principal areas of theoretical physics of the twentieth century in sufficient detail so that students can obtain an understanding and an elementary working knowledge of the field. While obtaining familiarity with what has gone before would seem to be a daunting task, these volumes should help the dedicated student to find that job less challenging, and even enjoyable.
Call Number: QC32 .A554 2015ISBN: 9814704512Publication Date: 2015-08-08
Physics by
Physics can be a complex and intimidating subject. Idiot's Guides: Physics breaks down the complex topics of physics and makes them easy to understand. Readers will learn from numerous examples and problems that teach all of the fundamentals -- Newton's Laws, thermodynamics, mass, energy and work, inertia, velocity and acceleration, and more!
Call Number: QC23.2 .P36 2015ISBN: 9781615647897Publication Date: 2015-07-07
A Student's Guide to Waves by
Waves are an important topic in the fields of mechanics, electromagnetism, and quantum theory, but many students struggle with the mathematical aspects. Written to complement course textbooks, this book focuses on the topics that students find most difficult. Retaining the highly popular approach used in Fleisch's other Student's Guides, the book uses plain language to explain fundamental ideas in a simple and clear way. Exercises and fully-worked examples help readers test their understanding of the concepts, making this an ideal book for undergraduates in physics and engineering trying to get to grips with this challenging subject. The book is supported by a suite of online resources available at www.cambridge.org/9781107643260. These include interactive solutions for every exercise and problem in the text and a series of video podcasts in which the authors explain the important concepts of every section of the book.
Call Number: QC157 .F54 2015ISBN: 9781107054868Publication Date: 2015-04-09
Introduction to General Relativity, Black Holes and Cosmology by
General Relativity is a beautiful geometric theory, simple in its mathematical formulation but leading to numerous consequences with striking physical interpretations: gravitational waves, black holes, cosmological models, and so on. This introductory textbook is written for mathematics students interested in physics and physics students interested in exact mathematical formulations (or for anyone with a scientific mind who is curious to know more of the world we live in), recent remarkable experimental and observational resultswhich confirm the theory are clearly described and no specialised physics knowledge is required. The mathematical level of Part A is aimed at undergraduate students and could be the basis for a course on General Relativity. Part B is more advanced, but still does not require sophisticatedmathematics. Based on Yvonne Choquet-Bruhat's more advanced text, General Relativity and the Einstein Equations, the aim of this book is to give with precision, but as simply as possible, the foundations and main consequences of General Relativity. The first five chapters from General Relativity and the EinsteinEquations have been updated with new sections and chapters on black holes, gravitational waves, singularities, and the Reissner-Nordstrom and interior Schwarzchild solutions. The rigour behind this book will provide readers with the perfect preparation to follow the great mathematical progress in the actual development, as well as the ability to model, the latest astrophysical and cosmological observations. The book presents basic General Relativity and provides a basisfor understanding and using the fundamental theory.
Call Number: QC173.6 .C46 2015ISBN: 9780199666454Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Physics by
Today's physics textbooks have become encyclopedic, offering students dry discussions, rote formulas, and exercises with little relation to the real world. Physics: The First Science takes a different approach by offering uniquely accessible, student-friendly explanations, historical and philosophical perspectives and mathematics in easy-to-comprehend dialogue. It emphasizes the unity of physics and its place as the basis for all science. Examples and worked solutions are scattered throughout the narrative to help increase understanding. Students are tested and challenged at the end of each chapter with questions ranging from a guided-review designed to mirror the examples, to problems, reasoning skill building exercises that encourage students to analyze unfamiliar situations, and interactive simulations developed at the University of Colorado. With their experience instructing both students and teachers of physics for decades, Peter Lindenfeld and Suzanne White Brahmia have developed an algebra-based physics book with features to help readers see the physics in their lives. Students will welcome the engaging style, condensed format, and economical price.
Call Number: QC23.2 .L55 2011ISBN: 9780813549378Publication Date: 2011-03-02
Fundamentals of Physics by
This book arms engineers with the tools to apply key physics concepts in the field. A number of the key figures in the new edition are revised to provide a more inviting and informative treatment. The figures are broken into component parts with supporting commentary so that they can more readily see the key ideas. Material from The Flying Circus is incorporated into the chapter opener puzzlers, sample problems, examples and end-of-chapter problems to make the subject more engaging. Checkpoints enable them to check their understanding of a question with some reasoning based on the narrative or sample problem they just read. Sample Problems also demonstrate how engineers can solve problems with reasoned solutions. INCLUDES PARTS 1-4 PART 5 IN FUNDAMENTALS OF PHYSICS, EXTENDED
Call Number: QC21.3 .H35 2011ISBN: 9780470469118Publication Date: 2010-03-16
Particle Physics by
This updated edition is designed as a brief introduction to the fundamental particles that make up the matter in our universe. Numerous examples, figures, and simple explanations enable general readers and physics students to understand complex concepts related to the universe. Selected topics include atoms, quarks, accelerators, detectors, colliders, string theory, and more. FEATURES Explores the fundamental particles that make up the matter in our universe Topics include atoms, quarks, accelerators, detectors, colliders, string theory, and more
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781683928768Publication Date: 2022-12-29
Fundamentals of Analysis in Physics by
Many beginners find physics to be a challenging subject to learn, and the difficulty extends to each branch of physics. It would be preferable for beginners to learn about different branches of physics as quickly as possible with a simplified understanding of the relevant mathematical relationships. After learning the position of each field in physics, it becomes easier to learn details of each field. In this book, special functions are not used to explain the solutions of equations. Fundamentals of Analysis In Physics summarizes the analytical methods in different fields of physics The book covers several known fields of physics and is a useful text for beginners in physics, college and university students, and working professionals who may not have a background in mathematics or physics. Key features: - Summarizes information about different fields in physics in 150 pages - Covers 7 different fields of physics (classical mechanics, electromagnetism, quantum mechanics, relativistic quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics and more) in 7 separate chapters -Contains simple explanations without the use of special functions
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789815049107Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Basic Physics by
Learn physics at your own pace without an instructor; Basic Physics: A Self-Teaching Guide, 3rd Edition, is the most practical and reader-friendly guide to understanding all basic physics concepts and terms. The expert authors take a flexible and interactive approach to physics based on new research-based methods about how people most effectively comprehend new material. The book takes complex concepts and breaks them down into practical, easy to digest terms. Subject matter covered includes: Newton's Laws; Energy; Electricity; Magnetism; Light; Sound; and more! There are also sections explaining the math behind each concept for those who would like further explanation and understanding. Each chapter features a list of objectives so that students know what they should be learning from each chapter, test questions, and exercises that inspire deeper learning about physics. High school students, college students, and those re-learning physics alike will greatly enhance their physics education with the help of this one-of-a-kind guide. The third edition of this book reflects and implements new, research-based methods regarding how people best learn new material. As a result, it contains a flexible and interactive approach to learning physics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119629917Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Thermodynamics by
Thermodynamics: Principles Characterizing Physical and Chemical Processes, Fifth Edition is an authoritative guide on the physical and chemical processes based on classical thermodynamic principles. Emphasis is placed on fundamental principles, with a combination of theory and practice that demonstrates their applications in a variety of disciplines. Revised and updated to include new material and novel formulations, this edition features a new chapter on algebraic power laws and Fisher information theory, along with detailed updates on irreversible phenomena, Landau theory, self-assembly, Caratheodory's theorem, and the effects of externally applied fields. Drawing on the experience of its expert author, this book is a useful tool for both graduate students, professional chemists, and physicists who wish to acquire a more sophisticated overview of thermodynamics and related subject matter. Updated to reflect the latest developments in the field, including a new chapter on algebraic power laws and Fisher information theory Includes clear explanations of abstract theoretical concepts Provides exhaustive coverage of graphical, numerical and analytical computational techniques
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128233696Publication Date: 2020-11-07
Fundamentals of Physics I by
A beloved introductory physics textbook, now including exercises and an answer key, explains the concepts essential for thorough scientific understanding In this concise book, R. Shankar, a well+'known physicist and contagiously enthusiastic educator, explains the essential concepts of Newtonian mechanics, special relativity, waves, fluids, thermodynamics, and statistical mechanics. Now in an expanded edition--complete with problem sets and answers for course use or self+'study--this work provides an ideal introduction for college+'level students of physics, chemistry, and engineering; for AP Physics students; and for general readers interested in advances in the sciences. The book begins at the simplest level, develops the basics, and reinforces fundamentals, ensuring a solid foundation in the principles and methods of physics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780300249583Publication Date: 2019-09-23
An Introduction to Fluid Mechanics by
This textbook provides a concise introduction to the mathematical theory of fluid motion with the underlying physics. Different branches of fluid mechanics are developed from general to specific topics. At the end of each chapter carefully designed problems are assigned as homework, for which selected fully worked-out solutions are provided. This book can be used for self-study, as well as in conjunction with a course in fluid mechanics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319918204Publication Date: 2019-01-14
Field Guide to Solid State Physics by
This Field Guide covers the essential topics of solid state physics, including crystal structures and dynamics, band structures, quantum structures, semiconductors, superconductors, and magnetism. Essential equations and simple diagrams convey the principles that form the core of this field.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781510622753Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Mathematical Physics with Partial Differential Equations by
Mathematical Physics with Partial Differential Equations, Second Edition, is designed for upper division undergraduate and beginning graduate students taking mathematical physics taught out by math departments. The new edition is based on the success of the first, with a continuing focus on clear presentation, detailed examples, mathematical rigor and a careful selection of topics. It presents the familiar classical topics and methods of mathematical physics with more extensive coverage of the three most important partial differential equations in the field of mathematical physics--the heat equation, the wave equation and Laplace's equation. The book presents the most common techniques of solving these equations, and their derivations are developed in detail for a deeper understanding of mathematical applications. Unlike many physics-leaning mathematical physics books on the market, this work is heavily rooted in math, making the book more appealing for students wanting to progress in mathematical physics, with particularly deep coverage of Green's functions, the Fourier transform, and the Laplace transform. A salient characteristic is the focus on fewer topics but at a far more rigorous level of detail than comparable undergraduate-facing textbooks. The depth of some of these topics, such as the Dirac-delta distribution, is not matched elsewhere. New features in this edition include: novel and illustrative examples from physics including the 1-dimensional quantum mechanical oscillator, the hydrogen atom and the rigid rotor model; chapter-length discussion of relevant functions, including the Hermite polynomials, Legendre polynomials, Laguerre polynomials and Bessel functions; and all-new focus on complex examples only solvable by multiple methods.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128147603Publication Date: 2018-02-26
Einstein's Mass-Energy Equation by
In volume one of Einstein's Mass-Energy Equation, we examine the history and philosophical significance of several demonstrations Einstein published for his mass-energy relation, which is often expressed by the iconic equation E = mc2. Our goal is to illustrate how these demonstrations display a clear shift away from a reliance on electromagnetic phenomena culminating in Einstein's 1934 purely dynamic demonstration. Philosophically, this trend signals the importance of recognizing special relativity as what Einstein called a principle theory. Volume two of this work examines the role that Einstein's mass-energy relation played in the development of quantum mechanics and general relativity. We also discuss the first empirical confirmation of E = mc2 and some contemporary debates concerning the philosophical interpretation of this important result.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781606508572Publication Date: 2017-10-11
The Wave Concept in Electromagnetism and Circuits by
The Wave Concept Iterative Procedure (WCIP) method has found an increasing number of users within electromagnetic theory and applications to planar circuits, antennas and diffraction problems. This book introduces in detail this new formulation of integral methods, based on the use of a wave concept with two bounded operators, and applications in a variety of domains in electromagnetics. This approach presents a number of benefits over other integral methods, including overcoming the problem of singularity, and reduced computing time. Through the presentation of mathematical equations to characterize studied structures and explanation of the curves obtained, via validated examples, the authors provide a thorough background to electromagnetism as well as a professional reference to students and researchers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781848219595Publication Date: 2016-08-29
Physics Lab Experiments by
This new book aims to guide both the experimentalist and theoretician through their compulsory laboratory courses forming part of an undergraduate physics degree. The rationale behind this book is to show students and interested readers the value and beauty within a carefully planned and executed experiment, and to help them to develop the skills to carry out experiments themselves.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781944534462Publication Date: 2016-08-17
A First Course in Mathematical Physics by
The book assumes next to no prior knowledge of the topic. The first part introduces the core mathematics, always in conjunction with the physical context. In the second part of the book, a series of examples showcases some of the more conceptually advanced areas of physics, the presentation of which draws on the developments in the first part. A large number of problems helps students to hone their skills in using the presented mathematical methods. Solutions to the problems are available to instructors on an associated password-protected website for lecturers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783527687138Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries