CHEM 3460 Quantitative Analysis

The ACS is the principal chemistry society in the United States and one of the most important in the world. The website provides access to extensive sources of chemical information, especially ACS publications.

The ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry's mission is to shape the future through advancing the science of chemical characterization and measurement. It also seeks to promote the science of analytical chemistry and the careers of its practitioners by providing enhanced professional opportunities, educating members and society, and building bridges between scientific fields.

The American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS) was formed in 1969 to promote and disseminate knowledge of mass spectrometry and allied topics. Membership includes over 8,500 scientists involved in research and development. Members come from academic, industrial and governmental laboratories. Their interests include advancement of techniques and instrumentation in mass spectrometry, as well as fundamental research in chemistry, geology, forensics, biological sciences and physics.

The goal of this on-line course is to provide the user with an introduction to some of the fundamental concepts and methods of analytical chemistry. The topics are arranged in the order in which they are typically presented in an undergraduate analytical chemistry course. Many of the reference documents that you will read contain links to remedial material and related topics. Use the remedial links when needed but skip the related topics since you will get to most of them eventually in the course.

This site allows users to search for basic physical data and chemical suppliers by registry number, molecular formula, chemical name, or synonyms in different languages.

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is the world authority on chemical nomenclature and terminology, including the naming of new elements in the periodic table; on standardized methods for measurement; and on atomic weights, and many other critically-evaluated data.

The periodic table contains NIST’s latest critically evaluated data for atomic properties of the elements. The PDF is suitable for high-resolution color printing for desk or wall-chart display.

A collection of several databases of physical data gathered and maintained by the National Institute of Science and Technology (NIST). It includes basic information on elements, spectroscopic data, and more.

nmrshiftdb2 is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Last not least, it features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users. The nmrshiftdb2 software is open source, the data is published under an open content license. Please consult the documentation for more detailed information. nmrshiftdb2 is the continuation of the NMRShiftDB project with additional data and bugfixes and changes in the software.

PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

The RSC is the largest chemical research society in Europe. It supports an extensive research publication program. The website allows you to search the Society's library, and it includes links to a number of web resources.