Getting started
This guide covers multiple aspects of human resources management including diversity, leadership development, recruitment and career management, compensation and benefits, performance management and organizational behavior.
Introduction to Human resources
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with human resources management related terms.
The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of human resource management by
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series is comprised of 11 stand-alone volumes, each covering a major subject area in the field. All of the volumes provide informative definitions and explanation of the key concepts in their area. For students, researchers, academics and practitioners they should act as a reference, bringing together specially-commissioned and edited entries from an international team of scholars and teachers.
ISBN: 155786943XPublication Date: 1997
Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management by
This dictionary offers over 6,000 key terms covering all aspects of human resources, including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations. Ideal for all professionals who work with personnel terminology, particularly those in HR departments, recruitment consultants and employment lawyers.
ISBN: 9781408102176Publication Date: 2006-01-01
A Dictionary of Human Resource Management by
The Dictionary of Human Resource Management is an authoritative source of precise and easy to understand definitions of words, terms, and phrases that are encountered in the fields of human resource management, personnel, and industrial relations. It has been compiled to demystify and makeaccessible the vast specialist language that has developed within the human resource discipline.The dictionary includes over 1,400 entries, with 1,250 full definitions. These cover the latest contemporary terms and management buzzwords; key theoretical terms and concepts from academics and consultants; jargon from the present and the past; technical terms used by practicing personnel/HRmanagers and trade unionists; major policies, practices, and institutions; and legal terms. The authors also provide a full list of abbreviations and acronyms and a thematic categorization of the main concepts.In compiling the dictionary the authors were aware that often there is no one agreed definition of a term, but instead various competing ideas or interpretations. To take this into account, the entries differ in length, and the various theoretical, political, and other viewpoints are fullyrepresented. There are also plenty of links to other terms, so that readers can explore related ideas and concepts.While aimed primarily at MBA and undergraduate students who need a book of clear, concise definitions to complement their core course textbook, the dictionary is also ideal for anyone studying for professional qualificiations in human resources/personnel management; busy human resource pratitionerswho need a quick reference source; trade unionists who need to cut through the management jargon; and students whose first language is not English.
ISBN: 0198296193Publication Date: 2001-09-27
The Human Resources Glossary by
The fast paced world of human resources (HR) management, development, and utilization requires HR professionals to fill many roles and speak many "languages." The Human Resources Glossary answers the demand for a single authoritative source that compiles and explains the vocabulary of HR practitioners. This glossary defines HR terms and explains their context, use, and managerial implications in 56 of the most important HR areas, including benefits, compensation, disability, discipline, employee services, health care, organization development, productivity, hiring practices, employee testing, training, travel management, meeting management, and work measurement.
ISBN: 1574443518Publication Date: 2003-12-29
Key Concepts in Human Resource Management by
Key Concepts in Human Resource Management is one of a range of comprehensive glossaries with entries arranged alphabetically for easy reference. All major concepts, terms, theories and theorists are incorporated and cross-referenced. Additional reading and Internet research opportunities are identified. More complex terminology is made clearer with numerous diagrams and illustrations. With over 500 key terms defined, the book represents a comprehensive must-have reference for anyone studying a business-related course or those simply wishing to understand what human resource management is all about. It will be especially useful as a revision aid.
ISBN: 1403915288Publication Date: 2004-02-27
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with human resources management related terms.
The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management, Volume 1 by
The three volumes in The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management offer a comprehensive review of the essential issues and most important information available on the topic. Each volume in the encyclopedia contains contributions from some of the most celebrated names in the field of human resource management (HRM) and addresses the myriad challenges faced by today's human resource professionals. Volume 1 puts the focus on the definition of terms and practices that are most relevant to today's human resource management (HRM) professionals. The contributors bring an up-to-date perspective of HRM definitions and practices and for ease of access, the terms are presented in alphabetical order. Each contributor includes the most recent research on a particular topic and summarizes a new and progressive definition of these important terms. The book begins with an enlightening discussion of the evolving practice of talent management and contains the following topics: Affirmative Action, Assessment, Business Ethics, Campus Recruitment, Career Development, Compensation, Drug Tests, Employee Relations, Flexible Benefits, Glass Ceiling, HR Metrics and Analytics, Mergers and Acquisitions, National Labor Relations Act, Quality Circles, Recruitment and Selection, Self-Directed Work Teams, Social Responsibility, Strategic Human Resource Management, Training Needs Analysis, Work Family Balance, and more. The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management gives human resource professionals the knowledge, information, and tools needed to implement the best practices in the field.
ISBN: 9780470257739Publication Date: 2012-04-24
Encyclopedia of Human Resources Information Systems by
Driven by significant internal and external forces, human resource management (HRM) has evolved from largely a maintenance function, to what many scholars and practitioners regard as a source of sustainable competitive advantage for organizations. In the information era, it is important for organizations to progressively incorporate technology into their processes.""The Encyclopedia of Human Resources Information Systems: Challenges in e-HRM"" rigorously analyzes key critical HR variables and defines previously undiscovered issues in the HR field. With approximately 150 articles from the world's leading experts on the state of HRM technology, this comprehensive reference source is essential to academic libraries and to practitioners and academics seeking to understand all dimensions related to managing people in the information society.
ISBN: 9781599048833Publication Date: 2008-09-30
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management by
The full scripts of award-winning Downton Abbey, season two including previously unseen commentary from Julian Fellowes Opening in 1916, as the First World War rages across Europe, Season Two is the next dramatic installment of the much-loved, award-winning drama. The Crawley family and their servants play their parts on the front line and back at home as their lives are intensified by the strains of war. The shooting scripts give a fascinating view of how Julian Fellowes weaves his storylines of love, loss, and betrayal to captivate the audience. With key insights into the research and creative processes, this will appeal to fans and students alike.
ISBN: 9781599049328Publication Date: 2010-07-31
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with human resources management related terms.
The Essential HR Handbook, 10th Anniversary Edition by
The Only HR Book You'll Ever Need! "Whether you're a small business owner, a manager in a business without an HR department, or even a seasoned HR professional, this book will help you handle any personnel problem--from on-boarding to outplacement--quickly and easily."--Solutions Review For more than a decade, busy managers by the tens of thousands have turned to this best-selling book as a handy guide to the ins and outs of human resources. And no wonder! Because whether you're a small business owner, a manager in a business without an HR department, or even a seasoned HR professional, The Essential HR Handbook will help you handle any personnel problem--from onboarding to outplacement--quickly and easily. This fully updated 10th anniversary edition is packed with information, tools, checklists, sample forms, and timely tips to guide you through the maze of personnel issues in today's complex business environment. In The Essential HR Handbook you'll find out how to: Attract talented staff through social media recruiting Identify legal pitfalls to avoid lawsuits and regulatory interference Train a diverse and inclusive multigenerational workforce Provide the compensation and benefits package that will make your organization an "employer of choice" Streamline your orientation and onboarding practices so new employees hit the ground running Whenever personnel problems arise, having The Essential HR Handbook on your bookshelf is like having a team of expert HR consultants at your beck and call!
ISBN: 9781632658685Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Handbook for Strategic HR by
Since the 1990s, a transformation has occurred within the role of human resources departments. HR professionals are being called upon to help determine priorities in running the business, craft organizational development strategies, and shape the culture within their company. From the renowned OD practitioner, the American Management Association, this forward-thinking book introduces readers to core organization development strategies and skills--providing creative approaches, practical tips, and proven methods to help them succeed.Through a compendium of the best thinking on the subject, you'll learn how to strategically identify where best to foster change in the organization, team up with consultants and senior-level staff in leading a change project, improve employee engagement, include others in the important work of the organization, and operate effectively in cross-cultural and virtual working situations.Comprehensive and practical, Handbook for Strategic HR includes 78 articles that will enable you see the big picture roles and responsibilities of human resource professionals today. Best of all, this book is approved for HRCI Recertification Credit--helping you to advance your career in numerous tangible ways. See the SHRM store website for details.
ISBN: 9780814432501Publication Date: 2012-11-28
Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods on Human Resource Management by
Human resource management as a field of research is a broad church, with a wide variety of research methods in use. This Handbook focuses on qualitative research methods and explores the opportunities and challenges of new technologies for innovating data collection and data analysis. The editors have brought together 18 chapters, written by some of the world's leading researchers in their field. They begin with the importance of good project design and then move on to reflect on innovations and developments in data sources, such as netnographical methods, legal research methods, the use of news media, and historical research. They go on to outline innovations in data collection methods with particular pertinence to key HRM topics. Finally, the contributors explore innovative data analysis, looking at the importance of computer-supported qualitative research, causal cognitive mapping and deriving behavioural role descriptions from the perspectives of job-holders.This Handbook is an invaluable tool for students, researchers and academics in the field of human resource management.
ISBN: 9781784711184Publication Date: 2016-08-26
Handbook of Research on e-Transformation and Human Resources Management Technologies by
Digital advancements and discoveries are now challenging traditional human resource management services within businesses.The Handbook of Research on E-Transformation and Human Resources Management Technologies: Organizational Outcomes and Challenges provides practical, situated, and unique knowledge on innovative e-HRM technologies that add competitive advantage to organizations. This Handbook of Research expands on theoretical conceptualizations of e-HRM useful to researchers, academicians, and human resource managers.
ISBN: 9781605663050Publication Date: 2009-04-30
Handbook of research on human resources strategies for the new millennial workforce by
The Handbook of Research on Human Resources Strategies for the New Millennial Workforce is an authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly research on theoretical frameworks and applications for the management of millennials entering the professional realm. Focusing on methods and practices to enhance organizational performance and culture, this book is ideally designed for managers, professionals, upper-level students, and researchers in the fields of human resource and strategic management.
ISBN: 9781522509493Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Research on Organizational Culture and Diversity in the Modern Workforce by
Optimal development of contemporary businesses is dependent on a number of factors. By creating novel frameworks for organizational behavior, effective competitive advantage can be achieved. The Handbook of Research on Organizational Culture and Diversity in the Modern Workforce is a comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly content on components and impacts on effecting culturally diverse workplace environments. Highlighting a range of pertinent topics such as emotional intelligence, human resources, and work-life balance, this publication is ideally designed for managers, professionals, researchers, students, and academics interested in emerging perspectives on organizational development.
ISBN: 9781522522515Publication Date: 2017-03-24
The human resources program-evaluation handbook by
The Human Resources Program-Evaluation Handbook is the first book to present state-of-the-art procedures for evaluating and improving human resources programs. Editors Jack E. Edwards, John C. Scott, and Nambury S. Raju provide a user-friendly yet scientifically rigorous "how to" guide to organizational program-evaluation.
ISBN: 9781412986199Publication Date: 2003
The SAGE handbook of human resource management by
Bringing together contributions f rom leading international scholars - and with brand new chapters on key emerging topics such as firm ownership, talent management, engagement and big data - the Handbook focuses on familiarising the reader with the fundamentals of applied human resource management, while contextualizing practice within wider theoretical considerations.
ISBN: 9781529714852Publication Date: 2019
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Classifications
Standard Occupational Classification - The 2018 Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system is a federal statistical standard used by federal agencies to classify workers into occupational categories for the purpose of collecting, calculating, or disseminating data. Major groups
International Standard Classification of Occupations (ISCO) - the current version is known as ISCO-08.
Required/recommended materials for selected HR courses
|
Course |
Required or recommended materials |
|
Graduate |
|
| MGT 5105 | Ivancevich. Organizational Behavior and Management. |
| HRM 5310 |
Noe, Raymond. Human Resource Management. |
| HRM 5320 |
Greenhaus, Jeffrey H. / Callanan, Gerard A. Career Management for Life. |
| HRM 5341 |
Bauer, Talya. Human Resource Management: People, Data, and Analytics. |
| HRM 5360 |
Werner, John M. Human Resource Development. |
| HRM 5365 | Phillips, Jean. Strategic Staffing. |
| HRM 5375 | Martocchio, Joseph J. Employee Benefits. (2018) |
| HRM 5380 | Budd, John W. Labor Relations: Striking a Balance. |
| HRM 5355 |
Mello, Jeffrey A. Strategic Human Resource Management. |
|
Undergraduate |
|
| HRM 4160 |
Noe, Raymond A. Fundamentals of Human Resource Management. |
| HRM 4300 |
Mujtaba, Bahaudin Ghulam. Workplace Diversity Management. (2010) |