NSU Libraries Online Resources

This guide highlights the research resources that are available remotely from the NSU Libraries.

Need an e-card?

People who live, work, or go to school in Broward County can sign up for an instant Alvin Sherman Library e-card here.

NSU students, faculty, and staff can continue using their SharkID and password to access our online resources.

Key for database access

Key

= those who have access on campus.
= those who have access off campus.
= recommended for younger students.

Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

There are several ways to get help from librarians when you can't visit our desk.

Call (954) 262-4613 (Toll-Free)

Email refdesk@nova.edu or use our form.

Chat with a Librarian

Appointment request form | En Español

Text (954) 372-3505 (Start your question with "NSU')

Please visit our "Virtual Services" Library Guide for more information.

Library Appointments

Do you need help with your research? Need a refresher on how to access databases? Unsure about the best keywords to use to get the sources you're looking for?

Make a one-on-one appointment with a librarian to learn how to use the library and its resources.

Request an appointment here.

Library Guides

Library Guides are resources put together by librarians about specific subjects, courses, and tools. They can help you navigate the library's vast resources so you can find what you need or get something done a bit quicker.

Download Library E-books
by Melissa Johnson Last Updated Jun 21, 2023 406669 views this year
Find Articles
by Jamie Segno Last Updated Mar 18, 2021 714 views this year
Genealogy
by Sarah Divine Last Updated Apr 17, 2023 396 views this year

LibraryLearn Videos

LibraryLearn Videos are short instructional videos by NSU Librarians about using library resources. Learn to use the library like a pro!

Continuing Remote Access to Library Collections for Research

NSU Libraries' vast online resources remain available remotely to students, faculty, and patrons. From e-books, streaming video, and research databases by discipline, the NSU Libraries continue to offer support to all of our patrons. For information about our virtual services, please visit our Virtual Services library guide and FAQ.

Databases

Academic Search Premier
more...less...
cademic Search Premier encompasses the expansive academic disciplines now being offered in colleges and universities. This resource provides an elaborate array of titles to cornerstone academia. Users accessing this resource will be provided with comprehensive content right at their fingertips, including PDF backfiles to 1975 or further for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,050 titles.
Nexis Uni
more...less...
Selected full-text articles, broadcast transcripts, speeches, biographies, laws, legal cases, SEC filings, company profiles, statistics, and other sources covering general news, business information, legal materials, medical and health information, and general reference information.
ProQuest Central
more...less...
Our largest full-text multidisciplinary database includes over 12,000 titles, with 9,000 available in full text. Content is provided in over 160 subject areas.
ProQuest One Academic
more...less...
Search four databases on one platform. ProQuest One Academic includes ProQuest Central (covering 160 subject areas), Academic Complete (a collection of 150,000 ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access), ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, and Academic Video Online (AVON), a collection of 67,000 academic videos across multiple subjects.
Web of Science
more...less...
Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities (1975 to present). Tools allow citation tracking, exporting of citations, saved searches, and other personalization. WOS includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can also be searched separately.

Academic E-Books

The Library offers thousands of e-books for your academic research. Browse through titles in these databases, and be sure to see the full list here.

Business Expert Press
more...less...
Business Expert Press is an ebook publisher that provides content in various business and entrepreneurial material. E-books available in PDF/EPUB format for downloadable reading (a Personal Account is REQUIRED for offline reading). Access the e-book content on the new interface portal, iGLibrary Plus.
Ebook Central
more...less...
Ebook Central is the new platform for access to the NSU Libraries EBL e-books. Subject content includes Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Health & Medicine. E-books are downloadable for offline reading in both PDF and EPUB or can be read online with the e-book viewer.
eBook Collection - EBSCOhost
more...less...
Ebsco eBook Collection provides full-text e-books and e-audio books in all subject areas. Current collection includes over 50,000 titles. Find e-books and e-audio in all subject areas and over 90 percent of the titles are downloadable. Many titles in this collection are shared with other institutions and have single-use access. Need help downloading ebooks? Try this guide!
O'Reilly for Higher Education
more...less...
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should instead select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
ProQuest One Academic
more...less...
Search four databases on one platform. ProQuest One Academic includes ProQuest Central (covering 160 subject areas), Academic Complete (a collection of 150,000 ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access), ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, and Academic Video Online (AVON), a collection of 67,000 academic videos across multiple subjects.
Taylor & Francis ebooks
more...less...
Full text ebooks on the following subjects: humanities, social science, behavioral science, law and science.

E-Book Collections

Tens of thousands of e-books, children's books, and audiobooks are available to download instantly. Find your next favorite book, learn about using e-reader apps on your device, and more.

If you prefer reading on a handheld device, both cloudLibrary and RBdigital have free apps available in your device's app store.

cloudLibrary
more...less...
Extensive collection of popular fiction and non-fiction e-books and audio books for juvenile, young adult, and adult readers. E-books are borrowed, downloaded, and read using a REQUIRED app for multiple devices, including smartphones, tablets, and desktop/notebook computers. The app is available for downloading from the Apple App Store, Google Play, Amazon Apps, Microsoft Windows App Store, Google Chrome Web Store, or the Barnes & Noble Nook/Samsung Apps on Google Play. NSU users login with Shark ID and password. Alvin Sherman Library card holders login with last name and library card number.
Ebook Central
more...less...
Ebook Central is the new platform for access to the NSU Libraries EBL e-books. Subject content includes Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Health & Medicine. E-books are downloadable for offline reading in both PDF and EPUB or can be read online with the e-book viewer.

E-Book Login Tips:

To log into cloudLibrary, NSU users login using your Shark ID and password. Alvin Sherman Library card holders login using your last name as the ID and your card number as the password.
To log into RBdigital, all users register for a free account and select "Nova Southeastern University" as your library.

Videos

Thousands of videos and other streaming content are available instantly through our video databases. Browse our collection for anything from documentaries to classical music performances to professional development.

A complete list of video databases is available here.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
more...less...
ProQuest has partnered with renowned provider FILM PLATFORM to add more than 500 high-demand, thought-provoking documentaries to AVON. FILM PLATFORM is known across the world for award-winning films curated for academic audiences.
Alexander Street Press Videos
more...less...
Search across multiple Alexander Street video collections.
Kanopy
more...less...
Kanopy is a video streaming database featuring more than 60,000 films. Subjects covered in our collection include the Arts, Business, Education, Global Studies & Language, Media & Communications, and the Social Sciences. Films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics and blockbuster movies. The library has unlimited access to films from our top 20 Suppliers: The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, PBS, The Representation Project, The Criterion Collection, Kantola Productions, First Run Features, Kino Lorber, Clearcut Productions, Pragda, New Day Films, Women Make Movies, Video Project, A24, Arthaus Musik, Magnolia Pictures, Jaye Bird Productions, Zeitgeist Films, Cohen Film Collection. Download the Kanopy app from the Apple App Store or Google Play store. Users must create an account to use as a login for the mobile app.
Linkedin Learning
more...less...
Lynda.com, part of LinkedIn, provides eLearning videos for flipped classroom learning, business, creative and technology skills, designed for desktop and mobile learning. This resource supports training, career and personal development, technology, hard and soft skills, and much more. There are currently 5762 courses taught by industry experts.

Newspapers, Magazines, and Current Events

Are you keeping up with current events and hitting a paywall on the websites of your favorite news sources? Would you like to browse the current issue of your favorite magazine? The library provides online access to local, national, and international newspapers and digital magazines.

A complete list of newspaper and magazine databases is available here.

Miami Herald
more...less...
Full-text content of Miami Herald newspaper from 1983 to present.
Sun-Sentinel
more...less...
Full-text content of Sun-Sentinel newspaper from 1986 to present.
Access World News
more...less...
Access World News supports all academic disciplines by providing unique primary sources not found in other resources and extensive news coverage at local, regional, national, and international levels. This product offers complete electronic editions of thousands of authoritative U.S. and global news sources. Includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs and it features a customizable, map-based interface and powerful search capabilities. Enables students to examine subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics, and compare perspectives.
Flipster
more...less...
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine distribution service where users can access their favorite magazines from a variety of publishers through their local libraries via a web browser or a custom app made specifically for the iPad, iPad mini, Android or Kindle Fire (3rd and 4thGeneration) and download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere.
New York Times, The (Online)
more...less...
Online version of The New York Times includes all articles, features, interviews, columns, obituaries, audio/video/images, and multimedia since site was launched in 1996 (no crosswords). Also includes some content from 1851 to the present and content from pre-1981 is growing. The New York Times is a critical source of journalism for politics, finance, health, science, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad. Mobile apps available for multiple devices, including Apple, Android, Kindle, Windows, and Blackberry. Personal registration is required for using this resource. For additional help with activating your account please see this video tutorial. For help using New York Times on mobile devices see this guide!

Note: Some user accounts are currently experiencing technical difficulties. If you have already created a user account for The New York Times, please access this resource by going to nytimes.com and using your associated credentials to log in. If you do not yet have an account, please go into the database first and create an account, and then go to nytimes.com and log in there to access. Please visit our guide for additional tips.

Graduate Test Preparation Materials

Studying for a graduate admissions test such as the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, or MCAT? Practicing for professional exams like the NCLEX for nursing or PRAXIS for teaching? LearningExpress-PrepSTEP includes free practice tests, tutorials, e-books, as well as a Scholarship Finder.

LearningExpress - PrepSTEP
more...less...
The LearningExpress suite of eLearning solutions provides interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development and more. These learning tools are available through multiple online platforms designed to help students and professionals achieve their educational and career goals. Registration required to create a personal account in order to save work in progress, store score reports, and revisit practice tests, tutorials, or e-books. Registration only requires a valid email address (username) and a password.

Language Learning

Would you like to learn a new language? Or brush up on your existing skills? The library offers learning resources for over 70 different languages.

Mango Languages
more...less...
Mango is a language learning resource with over 70 languages, combining quality content, intelligent technology and an adaptive algorithm that delivers practical phrases from real situations.