Personal Finance and Investing
Getting started
Financial literacy
This guide is a collection of resources related to financial literacy and basic aspects of investing. It is meant to be a helpful resource for anyone who would like to know more about money management. It can be used by the public looking to identify useful information on how to
- make and save money
- work with a budget
- get started with or manage investments
- pay for college
- educate their kids about money
- plan their retirement
- get out of debt.
- etc
For those looking for practical tips on making money from a side gig, a small business guide is also available.
Investing
On the investment side, if you are looking for resources you can use to do company research, please see our Company Information guide. You can use some of the sources listed there to get access to stock information, as well as analyst reports.
For industry financial information, such as ratios or valuation numbers, please consult our Industry Information guide. Some industry reports do include that type of information.
Introduction to personal finance and investing
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Encyclopedia of Money by
Developments and innovation in monetary systems represent more than a mere chronicle of financial history; they also convey the social, political, and economic upheavals that have taken place throughout history. This volume tells the international story of currency from the earliest barter commodities to the widely used credit cards of today. More than 300 entries describe the major changes, experiments, triumphs, and disasters in the development of a viable medium of exchange. Written for students, budding economists, historians, and general readers, this work explains the intricacies of one of the world's most fascinating subjects. Sample entries include the decimal system, gold standard, Lohn Law, labour notes, and wage and price controls.
ISBN: 0816046026Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Financial Aid Handbook, Revised Edition by
The Financial Aid Handbook is the only book families need to find the right college at the right price. This completely revised, up-to-date edition builds on the success of the original--the definitive, one-stop guide to the college selection and payment process, covering everything from basic timelines and tuition costs to predicting your scholarship award from colleges and taking ownership of student debt after graduation. Updated to reflect the most recent changes in federal processes and timelines and including new chapters for undocumented and homeless students, this revised edition is a must-have for high school students and their parents. The Financial Aid Handbook features straightforward language, engaging explanations, and hundreds of tips to maximize your financial aid--the scholarship funds that come from colleges themselves. No other book on the market teaches students and parents how to find real, four-year scholarships...and how to land them. It includes: The nine biggest myths about paying for college. A step-by-step guide to completing the FAFSA and PROFILE. The ultimate guide to federal, state, and private student loans. How to predict scholarship dollars with the Merit Aid Profile. How to negotiate with the Financial Aid office.
ISBN: 9781632650825Publication Date: 2017-05-15
Handbook of Research on Stock Market Investment Practices and Portfolio Management by
For the first time since the Great Depression, financial market issues threatened to derail global economic growth. This global financial crisis forced a reconsideration of systemic vulnerabilities with knowledge of numerous investment options and portfolio management strategies becoming more critical than ever before. A complete study of investment choices and portfolio management approaches in both the developing and developed worlds is required to achieve stability and sustainability. The Handbook of Research on Stock Market Investment Practices and Portfolio Management gives a thorough view on the recent developments in investment options and portfolio management strategies in global stock markets. Learning about the many investment options and portfolio management strategies available in the event of a worldwide catastrophe is critical. Covering topics such as AI-based technical analysis, marketing theory, and sharing economy, this major reference work is an excellent resource for investors, traders, economists, business leaders and executives, marketers, students and faculty of higher education, librarians, researchers, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781668455319Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
