Supply Chain Management and Logistics
Getting started
Supply chain or logistics?
Although the terms “supply chain” and “logistics” are often used interchangeably, they are not quite the same thing. Logistics is part of the supply chain and it deals with the transportation, storage and delivery of goods. Supply chains span from sourcing to delivery to end user.
Supply chains
Investopedia defines supply chains as networks of “companies and people that are involved in the production and delivery of a product or service”.
The supply chain in a nutshell: the components of a supply chain start with sourcing the raw materials which then go to producers; once goods are produced vendors distribute them to warehouses and distribution centers. They can be transported to these facilities or directly to retailers or end users.
Introduction to Supply Chain Management and Logistics
The Encyclopedia of Operations Management by
This is the perfect "field manual" for every supply chain or operations management practitioner and student. The field's only single-volume reference, it's uniquely convenient and uniquely affordable. With nearly 1,500 well-organized definitions, it can help students quickly map all areas of operations and supply chain management, and prepare for case discussions, exams, and job interviews. For instructors, it serves as an invaluable desk reference and teaching aid that goes far beyond typical dictionaries. For working managers, it offers a shared language, with insights for improving any process and supporting any training program. It thoroughly covers: accounting, customer service, distribution, e-business, economics, finance, forecasting, human resources, industrial engineering, industrial relations, inventory management, healthcare management, Lean Sigma/Six Sigma, lean thinking, logistics, maintenance engineering, management information systems, marketing/sales, new product development, operations research, organizational behavior/management, personal time management, production planning and control, purchasing, reliability engineering, quality management, service management, simulation, statistics, strategic management, systems engineering, supply and supply chain management, theory of constraints, transportation, and warehousing. Multiple figures, graphs, equations, Excel formulas, VBA scripts, and references support both learning and application.
ISBN: 9780132883702Publication Date: 2011-07-21
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Gower Handbook of Supply Chain Management by
The ability to build and also maintain a world class logistics and distribution network is an essential ingredient in the success of the world's leading businesses, but keeping pace with changes in your sector and in others is hard to do. With the Gower Handbook of Supply Chain Management you will need to look no further. Written by a team of leading consultants with contributions from leading academic experts, this book will help you to keep pace with the latest global developments in supply chain management and logistics, and plan for the future. This book has over thirty chapters with detailed accounts of key topics and the latest developments, from e-collaboration and CRM integration, to reverse logistics and strategic sourcing, and includes case studies from Asia, Europe and North America. It looks at all aspects of operational excellence in logistics and supply chain management. The Gower Handbook of Supply Chain Management will help managers to benchmark their operations against the best-of-breed supply chains across the world. It provides a unique single source of expert opinion and experience.
ISBN: 9781351932295Publication Date: 2017-03-02
Handbook of Global Supply Chain Management by
This state-of-the-art Handbook provides a comprehensive understanding and assessment of the field of global supply chain management (GSCM). Editors John T. Mentzer, Matthew B. Myers, and Theodore P. Stank bring together a distinguished group of contributors to describe and critically examine the key perspectives guiding GSCM, taking stock of what we know (and do not know) about them. Key Features: Identifies emerging developments and delineates their significance to the practice of GSCM Examines many methods and perspectives on GSCM that have emerged from logistics, operations, marketing, management, economics, sociology, personnel, information systems, and international relations Employs top flight international contributors from both academia and practice who share their unique perspectives and insights within the broad parameters of this volume Intended Audience: The Handbook is a valuable resource for graduate students, researchers, and parishioners alike, bringing clarity and comprehensive insight to the phenomenon of global supply chains and to their management.
ISBN: 9781412918053Publication Date: 2006-09-14
Handbook of Research on Global Supply Chain Management by
Supply Chain Management (SCM) has always been an important aspect of an enterpriseâe(tm)s business model and an effective supply chain network is essential to remaining competitive in a global environment. By properly managing the flow of goods and services, businesses can operate more efficiently while managing most of the workload behind-the-scenes. The Handbook of Research on Global Supply Chain Management is an in-depth reference source that covers emerging issues and relevant applications of information pertaining to supply chain management from an international perspective. Featuring coverage on topics such as the global importance of SCMs to strategies for producing an effective supply chain, this comprehensive publication is an essential resource for academics and business professionals alike interested in uncovering managerial insight and logistics solutions.
ISBN: 9781466696402Publication Date: 2015-11-12
Handbook of Research on Industrial Applications for Improved Supply Chain Performance by
In the industrial world, companies are always seeking competitive advantages to sustain themselves in the globalized market. A supply chain is one of these improvements that managers implement in order to stay ahead of the competition. However, certain methods of supply chains add risks such as the addition of costs, possible accidents, and economic losses. Because of this, companies are looking for techniques in which to progress their supply chain execution. The Handbook of Research on Industrial Applications for Improved Supply Chain Performance is a pivotal reference source that identifies techniques, tools, and methodologies that can improve supply chain performance and enable businesses to generate a competitive advantage in the globalized market. While highlighting topics such as material flow, route optimization, and green distribution, this publication is ideally designed for managers, executives, logistics engineers, production managers, warehouse operations managers, board directors, consultants, analysts, inventory control managers, researchers, academicians, industrial and managerial professionals, practitioners, and students looking to improve costs and quality of supply chains.
ISBN: 9781799802051Publication Date: 2019-10-18
Handbook of Research on Supply Chain Management for Sustainable Development by
The issue of sustainability has become a vital discussion in many industries within the public and private sectors. In the business realm, incorporating such practices allows organizations to redesign their operations more effectively. The Handbook of Research on Supply Chain Management for Sustainable Development is a critical scholarly resource that examines academic and corporate interest in sustainability in all facets of business management. Featuring coverage on a wide range of topics such as green supply chains, environmental standards, and production planning, this book is geared toward professionals, researchers, and managers seeking current and relevant research on optimizing supply chains to ensure fair labor practices, lower emissions, and a cleaner environment.
ISBN: 9781522557586Publication Date: 2018-05-11
The SAGE handbook of strategic supply management by
Making coherent analysis of supply systems from the perspective of purchasing and supply, operations management, logistics, supply chain management, service management, industrial or relationship mark eting, and inter-organization networks, this is a substantive, multidisciplinary academic work.
ISBN: 9781446269886Publication Date: 2013
Supply Chain Excellence by
To keep your sales, manufacturing, distribution, and inventory moving in perfect synchronization, you need a flawless, repeatable supply chain improvement approach that maximizes process efficiency, eliminates dysfunction, and aligns disparate organizations--globally. Supply Chain Excellence, ahead of the curve in its original edition, again breaks new ground with a highly compressed timeline for using the SCOR (Supply Chain Operations Reference) framework to plan and execute supply chain improvement. In addition to the value chain processes of DCOR and CCOR, the book is now adapted for use in an SAP environment, in global enterprises, and by small businesses. Featuring examples and experience from roughly 100 projects, the completely updated third edition refines the use of the scorecard for better process analysis; extends the approach to encompass implementation and strategy; and quantifies the financial value of supply chain improvement to demonstrate its importance in achieving lasting competitive advantage.
ISBN: 9780814417713Publication Date: 2011-12-11
Supply Chain Risk by
Risk is of fundamental importance in this era of the global economy. Supply chains must into account the uncertainty of demand. Moreover, the risk of uncertain demand can cut two ways: (1) there is the risk that unexpected demand will not be met on time, and the reverse problem (2) the risk that demand is over estimated and excessive inventory costs are incurred. There are other risks in unreliable vendors, delayed shipments, natural disasters, etc. In short, there are a host of strategic, tactical and operational risks to business supply chains. Supply Chain Risk: A Handbook of Assessment, Management, and Performance will focus on how to assess, evaluate, and control these various risks.
ISBN: 0387799346Publication Date: 2008-09-08
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Basics of Supply Chain Management by
The practice of supply chain management has become widespread in most industries. It is now included in the curriculum of many business schools in the United States and in many countries around the world. A number of professional associations, such as the American Production and Inventory Control Society and the Supply Chain Management Society, off
ISBN: 9781466589018Publication Date: 2015-10-16
Operations Management for Dummies by
The plain language guide to getting things running smoothly in the world of business Operations management is all about efficiency, and Operations Management For Dummies is all about efficiently teaching you what you need to know about this business hot topic. This book tracks typical operations management MBA courses, and it will help you un-muddle concepts like process mapping, bottlenecks, Lean Production, and supply chain management. Learn to step into a business, see what needs improving, and plug in the latest tools and ideas to shape things up in any industry. This latest edition covers, you guessed it, digital transformation. Technology is completely upending operations management, and Dummies walks you through the latest, so you can stay at the front of the pack. Other new stuff inside: supply chain traceability, ethical sourcing and carbon footprint, business resiliency, and modularizing the supply chain. It's all here! Optimize operations and increase revenue with strategies and ideas that make businesses run better and cheaper Get easy-to-understand explanations of complex topics and theories in operations management Learn how operations management is affected by digital transformation and sustainability concerns Evaluate, design, improve, and scale all sorts of processes, regardless of business size or area of operation Businesses can't operate successfully without effective operations and supply management. That makes Operations Management For Dummies a must--for MBA students and business professionals alike.
ISBN: 9781119843108Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Supply Chain Management For Dummies by
Supply Chain Management For Dummies, 2nd Edition guides you to an understanding of what a supply chain is and how to leverage this system effectively across your business, no matter its size or industry. This book helps you learn about the areas of business that make up a supply chain, from procurement to operations to distribution. And it explains the importance of supporting functions like sales, information technology, and human resources. You'll be prepared to align the parts of this system to meet the needs of customers, suppliers, and shareholders.
ISBN: 9781705254653Publication Date: 2021
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected Supply Chain Management courses
| SCM 5421 | Dittmann, J. Paul. Supply Chain Transformation: Building and Executing an Integrated Supply Chain Strategy. (2013) |
| PIM 5450 |
Sower, Victor E. Essentials of Quality with Cases and Experiential Exercises. |
| PIM 5455 | Meredith, Jack R. / Shafer, Scott M. / Mantel, Samuel J. Project Management in Practice. |
