How to Access Dissertations From Other Academic Institutions
Dissertations from NSU, Including Specific NSU Schools and Centers
To conduct a general search for NSU dissertations in digital format, start in the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database, pull down the search field menu, and select the School name/code field. Use the "Look up schools" link to the right of the search box to find Nova Southeastern University or, for older dissertations, Nova University.
To find additional works authored by NSU students, please refer to the information below, arranged by NSU School/Center:
Center for Psychological Studies (CPS)
- Find bound CPS dissertations in NovaCat. Click on the "Advanced" tab. Enter a "Subject" or "Keyword" for your topic. Scroll down to "Additional limiting options." From the "Material Type" menu, select "Dissertation." Then, click on the "Submit" button to view your results.
Bound CPS dissertations located on the 1st floor of the Alvin Sherman Library may be checked out by NSU local students, faculty, and staff. NSU distance students may check out these dissertations through Document Delivery.
Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SHSS)
- Find bound SHSS dissertations in NovaCat. Click on the "Advanced" tab. Enter a "Subject" or "Keyword" for your topic. Scroll down to "Additional limiting options." From the "Material Type" menu, select "Dissertation." Then, click on the "Submit" button to view your results.
Bound SHSS dissertations located on the 1st floor of the Alvin Sherman Library may be checked out by NSU local students, faculty, and staff. NSU distance students may check out these dissertations through Document Delivery.
Dissertations/Theses Web sites
In addition to the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database, there are numerous public Web sites that provide varying amounts of information on dissertations and theses from all over the world. The following Web sites may provide citations, abstracts and some full text. Some Web sites provide information on dissertations that are "in progress."
- Australasian Digital Theses ProgramProvides citations and full-text for a few thousand theses and dissertations published in Australia.
- The British Library EthOSProvides citations of theses from UK universities (most doctoral theses from the early 1970s onward) and select full text for a fee.
- Center for Research LibrariesCRL acquires about 5,000 non-U.S., non-Canadian doctoral dissertations a year to add to its 800,000+ collection of dissertations. Items can be ordered through ILLIAD by students, faculty, and staff.
- Electronic Theses and Dissertations at Virginia TechProvides citations and abstracts of over 17,000 theses and dissertations. Free full-text access is provided for over 8,000 of these items.
- PhdData: The Universal Index of Dissertations in ProgressProvides citations from several thousand dissertations "in progress" from various parts of the world.
Ordering Dissertations
For dissertations not available online, but indexed in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, there are a couple of options for obtaining a copy:
- For qualified NSU doctoral students only, the Document
Delivery
Department will purchase up to two dissertations at no
cost
to
the student. Orders for one or both free dissertations
MUST be
placed through Document Delivery, not the ProQuest
Dissertations and Theses database. To
proceed, log into the ILLIAD system and
indicate in
the form that you are requesting your free
dissertation(s).
- Distance students and non-NSU students may use interlibrary loan (ILL) through their local library. Local NSU students may use the NSU Interlibrary Loan Department. Local NSU students, please use the ILLIAD system and indicate that you are requesting a loan. Please note that less than half of all dissertations can be obtained through the interlibrary loan (ILL) system, and can take many months to obtain.