Check Your Knowledge
- True or False: To access the library’s history databases, go to the library’s homepage and click on “databases by subject.”• True
• False
To reveal the correct answer, click
General Databases
Search within these databases for information on events and people, or on topics that deal with multiple subjects.
Selected History Databases
Contact Us
Email refdesk@nova.edu
Phone 954-262-4613
On this page, you will learn how to:
- Use library databases to search for information on your research topic
What is a library database?
-
A library database is a collection of information (articles, ebooks, etc.) published electronically by a credible publisher.
-
Although you use a computer to search within databases, they are not the same as websites.
Tips for Choosing Which Library Database to Use:
Where can I use the databases?
-
You can use almost all of the library's databases when you come into the building and log in with your library card.
-
Some databases can also be used from home. For each database, look for the house icon with the word "Broward" to know if it can be used without having to come here.
-
Click here to view a list of all the databases that you can use remotely.
Example of house icon:
Videos:
Keywords and Boolean Operators
When using a library database, you need to search for articles using keywords that describe your topic and combine your keywords using Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT. What the videos below to learn how to find your keywords and use Boolean operators.