EDD 8200 Leadership, Communication, and Technology

eBook Databases

Some of our databases contain eBooks in addition to scholarly journals.  Check these databases out for fresh, relevant e-books on a variety of topics.

Relevant Databases

NSU Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases to cover all academic programs of study.  The best of these databases to use for this course for Education, business topics and psychology/behavioral health topics are:

For Education topics:

• ERIC
• Education Source

For Business and Leadership topics:

• ABI/INFORM Collection 
• Business Source Premier

For Psychology and Behavioral Science topics:

• APA PsycInfo
• Psychology Database (ProQuest)

Dissertation Databases

• NSUWorks
• ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
• MARPS (no longer being updated - dissertations after 2023 not included - see NSUWorks for current entries)

Databases with Tests and Measurement Instruments

• APA PsycTests
• HAPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments
• Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional
• Sage Research Methods - learn about methodology with books, journals, and videos

Newspapers and Trade Magazines

The news cycle turns so quickly that online access is the best way to get current news.  NSU Libraries give you access to news outlets around the world in real time.  When news articles are sourced through our databases there are no paywalls and citation is easy.  Find out more about accessing newspapers from around the world in Getting Started - Newspaper Resources - Library Guide.

Here are a few examples:

Trade magazines, while not a source of scholarly articles, can be a good source of information on trends in industry.  Here are a few examples, but search the Publication Finder and Flipster for more!

Statistics Resources

Databases and official government websites are excellent sources of statistics on many topics.  Some of the best statistics resources for your interests are found in the Statistics LibGuide.  Statistics for Business, Education, Government, and Health are explored.

Professional Development

Continue to grow your professional skillset using these valuable tools, available to NSU students, faculty, and staff.

• EBSCO Learning Express - Personal Success Skills Center
• LinkedIn Learning - Access this amazing resource through NSU Libraries, while linking the achievements to your LinkedIn account
• Sage Business Skills - Practice real-world and professional skills using multimedia content.

Leasure Library Materials through the Alvin Sherman Library

Your free NSU Alvin Sherman Library Card is a gateway to a vast collection of resources, catering to a diverse range of needs and interests. Your card provides access books, media such as movies and video games, and digital content including e-books, audiobooks, and online databases. These materials and more are all free to borrow or access online with your library card! The library's commitment to providing both popular and academic resources ensures that learners and researchers are well-equipped with the latest information and tools. Check out what's new!

BOOKS - physical and electronic items for checkout from the library -NovaCat catalog

EBOOKS & AUDIOBOOKS - featuring popular bestseller titles - cloudLibrary

MAGAZINES - Digital versions of your favorites - Flipster

VIDEO GAMES - Check them out through the NovaCat catalog

MOVIES - Streaming database - Kanopy

COMICS - full collections of your favorite comics and graphic novels - ComicsPlus

Open Access
Open access research is "research publicly available to everyone—free of charge and without most copyright and licensing restrictions." (Full Article)

Open Society Foundations. (2012). Scientists, foundations, libraries, universities, and advocates unite and issue new recommendations to make research freely available to all online [Press release]. Retrieved from http://www.opensocietyfoundations.org/press-releases/scientists-foundations-libraries-universities-and-advocates-unite-and-issue-new

Peer Reviewed/Refereed

"Peer review refers generally to the evaluation of professional performance or products by other professionals and, more specifically, to a set of procedures for evaluating grant proposals and manuscripts submitted for publication." (Full Article)

To determine if an article has been peer reviewed/refereed, use the Ulrichsweb Database to see if the journal uses peer review. Enter the name of the journal and look for the referee jersey icon.

Mark, M., & Chua, P. (2005). Peer review. In S. Mathison (Ed.), Encyclopedia of evaluation. (p. 301). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412950558.n404

Primary Sources
A primary source is "an original source of data; one that puts as few intermediaries as possible between the production and the study of data." (Full Article)

Primary source. (2005). In W. Paul Vogt (Ed.), Dictionary of statistics & methodology. (3^rd ed., p. 246). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412983907.n1496

Secondary Sources
A secondary source is "a source that provides non-original (“secondhand”) data or information." (Full Article)

Secondary source. (2005). In W. Paul Vogt (Ed.), Dictionary of statistics & methodology. (3^rd ed., p. 291). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412983907.n1769

Academic Writer is a web-based suite of integrated services and tools designed to help both develop and enhance research and writing skills as well as facilitate publication. Academic Writer is the official, authoritative online resource for instruction and reference related to the application and proper use of APA Style. 17 APA Reference Books are available for use in the RESEARCH tab. Academic Writer is optimized for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. Internet Explorer is not recommended. 

To find out more about how to use Academic Writer, visit our librarian-curated Lib Guide: Academic Writer (for APA 7th ed.) - Library Guide.

To go directly to Academic Writer, click here: Academic Writer.