Library Guides: Industry Research: Industry Codes

What are industry codes?

Industry codes are numerical systems used to classify companies, organizations and traders into groupings based on how they operate.

The most popular classifications used in North America are NAICS and SIC codes. Some publishers may also create their own classification. Please note that not all resources allow searching by industry codes.

NAICS codes

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

NAICS is a 2- through 6-digit hierarchical classification system. Each digit in the code is part of a series of progressively narrower categories. The first two digits designate the economic sector, the third digit designates the subsector, the fourth digit designates the industry group, the fifth digit designates the NAICS industry, and the sixth digit designates the national industry.

This standard is used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS is an industry classification system, not a product classification system.

US Census Bureau NAICS Codes & Understanding Industry Classification Systems

SIC codes

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)

SIC codes are four-digit numerical codes assigned by the U.S. government to business establishments to identify the primary business of the establishment.

US Department of Labor SIC Manual – includes short descriptions and examples of main products or services. SIC search – allows you to quickly identify relevant codes by performing keyword searches.

SIC is gradually being replaced by NAICS but many resources allow searching by both.

Key resources that allow searching by industry code

= Users listed next to this icon have access on campus. (This will often say ALL indicating all users have access on campus. There are a few exceptions.)
= Users listed next to this icon have access off campus.

ABI/Inform Dateline

Citations, abstracts and selected full-text for local and regional business news including company, marketing, finance, and industry news. Coverage: 1985 to current.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry

Citations, abstracts and selected full-text from business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Covers industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and more. Coverage: 1971 to current.

Business Insights: Essentials - Florida Electronic Library Resource

more... less...

Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, financial planners, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business Insights: Essentials features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools

Business Market Research Collection

Provides information on over 40,000 public and private companies, including small businesses. Includes detailed business reports and industry profiles with company locations, financial summaries, key officers, major competitors, and more.
Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, as well as business-oriented newspapers, magazines and even case studies. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is updated daily and is strong in the areas of management, accounting, finance and economics.
First Research

First Research provides unlimited access to an online library of profiles on over 600 industry segments. This powerful research tool features in-depth, up-to-date information and gives you the insight you need to provide greater value to students, professors, small business owners and job seekers. Profiles are comprehensive and include the following: industry overviews; the competitive landscape; products, operations and technology; finance and regulation; regional and international issues; human resources; and labor statistics.
IBISWorld

Whether your company requires a better understanding of market conditions and forecasts; whether you need a clearer picture of a supply chain, or whether you need to keep abreast of competitor activity in your industry, IBISWorld’s comprehensive reports will keep you informed. IBISWorld’s industry research reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. This resource allows a limited number of report downloads per day. If you receive a "daily download limit reached" message, please try again tomorrow. The download limit resets daily at 12:00am ET.
Key Business Ratios

Provides key business ratios arranged by Standard Industrial Classification(SIC).
Mergent Market Atlas (formerly Mergent Online)

Mergent Market Atlas offers tools for both interactive online research and easy predefined report access. These tools and reports are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country and Economic analysis. The Market Atlas database of corporate information covers over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.