Real Estate

This guide is a collection of resources that will help you with your research on real estate topics. It covers residential, industrial and commercial. The guide includes materials related to various phases of a real estate project: development, appraisal,

Key resources

Articles, reports and news can be found in the following databases in our library collection.

= Users listed next to this icon have access on campus. (This will often say ALL indicating all users have access on campus. There are a few exceptions.)
= Users listed next to this icon have access off campus.

For a complete list of business databases for NSU patrons click here.

ABI/Inform Collection

ABI/Inform Collection
more...less...
Business database with more than 3,840 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes all content from ABI/Inform Archive, Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry. Click here to browse Commodity Reports, Country Data Reports, SWOT, Market Research, and Industry Reports from EIU and BMI.

Search tips:

Type "Commercial Real Estate Investment" in the Publication title field + Plunkett in the Publication title field.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier
more...less...
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, as well as business-oriented newspapers, magazines and even case studies. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is updated daily and is strong in the areas of management, accounting, finance and economics.

Data Planet

Sage Data
more...less...
The Data-Planet repository of statistical content currently holds datasets presented in 2+ billion views of data (maps, trends, tables, rankings). The datasets are sourced from reputable public and private organizations and cover topics across 16 broad subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, trade, housing and construction, and much more.

Search tips:

From Datasets go to Housing and Construction to find data on population and housing, building permits and construction spending, house prices indexes, mortgage rates, sales and more from the US Census Bureau, Statistics Canada, China Data Institute, Australian Bureau of Statistics.
Zillow Real Estate Metrics is also available under Housing and Construction, please scroll down all the way down.
Information on mortgage rates can be found under Banking, Finance and Insurance.

First Research

First Research
more...less...
First Research provides unlimited access to an online library of profiles on over 600 industry segments. This powerful research tool features in-depth, up-to-date information and gives you the insight you need to provide greater value to students, professors, small business owners and job seekers. Profiles are comprehensive and include the following: industry overviews; the competitive landscape; products, operations and technology; finance and regulation; regional and international issues; human resources; and labor statistics. First Research profiles are prepared by analysts that hold advanced degrees in business and on average have more than 20 years of practical business experience. This translates to a clear and direct writing style that makes information easy to understand, remember and utilize.

Gale Business: Insights

Gale Business: Insights - Florida Electronic Library Resource
more...less...
Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, financial planners, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business: Insights features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.

Search tips:

In advanced search type "real estate" in the keyword field + Plunkett Research Ltd. in Publisher name. Results cover residential, and commercial. Results include reports on real estate management, appraisal, rental, development, investment and operations. Also available in ABI/Inform Collection and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.

IbisWorld

IBISWorld
more...less...
Whether your company requires a better understanding of market conditions and forecasts; whether you need a clearer picture of a supply chain, or whether you need to keep abreast of competitor activity in your industry, IBISWorld’s comprehensive reports will keep you informed. IBISWorld’s industry research reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. IBISWorld’s industry risk rating determines how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni
more...less...
Selected full-text articles, broadcast transcripts, speeches, biographies, laws, legal cases, SEC filings, company profiles, statistics, and other sources covering general news, business information, legal materials, medical and health information, and general reference information.

Statista

Go to Databases by name on the library home page and type Statista. Once logged in, go to Reports, then Industry & Market reports. Use the Industry filter and select Real estate. You can further filter by country if needed.