Books
Accounting for Business by
This book is written for those who may be responsible for, or are generally interested in, the activities of organizations but do not have the knowledge to interpret the financial information that is available. As an owner of a business or a manager, you will deal with numbers of various types. This book is written for those who may be responsible for, or are generally interested in, the activities of organizations but do not have the knowledge to interpret the financial information that is available. The book identifies the types of organizations that generate financial information and explains how you can use it for your benefit. The early chapters focus on the information that is publicly available for large companies and demonstrate how to select and analyze the figures for decision making. The later chapters concentrate on the detailed management accounting information that is available internally for managers so that they can make decisions, investigate problems, and set performance targets. The final chapter, explores emerging and very pertinent issues such as "Can the organization obtain the basic resources to stay in business?" and "Are its activities harmful to the environment?"
ISBN: 9781953349934Publication Date: 2021-01-25
Accounting in the Lean Enterprise by
Despite the obvious need for transparency, a company's Lean results can continue to hide behind the mask of traditional accounting and dilute the benefits of a Lean implementation. When your organization opts to go Lean, you must empower your accountants with Lean tools that serve the Lean mission.Winner of a Shingo Research and Professional Public
ISBN: 9781420088595Publication Date: 2017-07-27
Advances in Management Accounting by
Advances in Management Accounting (AIMA)is a publication of quality applied research in management accounting. The journal's purpose is to publish thought-provoking articles that advance knowledge in the management accounting discipline and are of interest to both academics and practitioners. As one of the premier management accounting research journals, AIMAis well poised to meet the needs of management accounting scholars. Featured in Volume 33 are chapters on: Continuous improvement; Lean manufacturing; TQM; Capacity management; Management control systems, Performance measurement; Financial value; Value stream costing; Collaborative relationships; Strategic performance measurement systems; Competitiveness; Strategy; Budgets; Entrepreneurship; CEO characteristics; Start-ups; Financial performance; Participative budgeting; Engagement; Distributive justice; Procedural justice; Budget satisfaction; Motivation; Organizational goals; Sustainability; Management accounting; Environmental activity management; Environmental sustainability strategy; Social sustainability strategy; Triple bottom line; Performance; Incentive compensation; Financial measures; Non-financial measures; Weights; Employment time horizon
ISBN: 9781800436282Publication Date: 2021-10-28
Financial Accounting for Managers by
Financial Accounting for Managers, 3e seeks to provide a comprehensive coverage of the basic principles of financial accounting, incorporating the latest accounting norms and standards. This book is primarily meant to be used in postgraduate programmes of various universities and institutions and can be used as an introductory course on accounting.
ISBN: 9789353067809Publication Date: 2018
Management Accounting Best Practices by
Praise for Management Accounting Best Practices "It doesn't matter where you start reading, even the most experienced accountant will find some useful ideas." --Alan H. Boycott, Chartered Accountant, Düsseldorf, Germany "This is one of the best books about new accounting practices in practical accounting. I highly recommend this book for accountants of all levels." --Andrei Ralko, Controller, International Center for Transitional Justice, New York, NY The only practices worth followingare the best practices... Destined to become an essential desktop tool in helping professionals make management decisions in accounting, Management Accounting Best Practices introduces over 100 best practices from accounting expert Steven Bragg for questions such as: How does the system of interlocking budgets work? What does a sample budget look like? What best practices can I apply to the budgeting process? How can I integrate the budget into the corporate control system? How do throughput concepts impact the budget? Now, when members of your management team come calling with questions, you'll have the answers at your fingertips, in Management Accounting Best Practices. It's the easy-to-use, daily reference manual for every accountant in a management position.
ISBN: 9780470175392Publication Date: 2007-08-13
Strategic Management Accounting by
This book critically analyzes the concept of strategic management accounting, the implications this emerging paradigm will have on the accounting profession, and the ramifications for businesses at large. This research examines current literature, and illustrates these concepts with current market examples. This manuscript approaches the topic in a way that is unique by linking the concept of SMA to the integrated reporting framework. In essence, strategic management accounting is a theory with broad-based support, but the IR framework and reporting structure provides a vehicle through which progress, costs, and benefits of a more strategic accounting function can be evaluated. Focusing on principles, primarily for internal management utilization, the following provides an outline and summary of concepts and techniques that can be used to elevate the role of the management accounting function. Whether you are a management expert, an accounting professional, or simply someone looking to keep up to date with emerging business trends, this text provides the content, and action-oriented steps to meet those expectations.
ISBN: 9781631576850Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Contemporary Issues in Public Sector Accounting and Auditing by
Despite their broad scope and importance, publications related to public sector accounting and auditing have a limited framework, and do not account for the significant variances in public sector accounting and auditing systems between countries and different subsectors of government. The editors of this book have filled this gap by compiling a collection that combines different aspects of public sector accounting and auditing within a single book. Pooling together existing public sector accounting and auditing practices between countries and preparing a comparative analysis of those practices, the authors analyze the role of the public sector accounting and auditing holistically, and provide a platform to enable financially sustainable policy making and proper assessment of the relevance of accounting frameworks across the globe. The chapters chronicle the strength and weakness of public sector accounting, auditing and systems, and also critically examine the approaches, recording methods, and international regulations which determine how they operate. Providing a comprehensive account which brings a wide range of countries to the forefront in terms of both comparability and accountability, this study shines a light on the differences in accounting systems between states, and provides timely and accurate information to equip readers to minimize those differences.
ISBN: 9781839095085Publication Date: 2021-01-18
Fundamentals of Governmental Accounting and Reporting by
Fundamentals of Governmental Accounting and Reporting features the foundational tenets of governmental accounting and reporting in today's environment. Featuring updated accounting for GASB Statement No. 84, and fiduciary activities, this work reviews underlying concepts and shows how they are applied through real-life examples of CAFR, financial statements and updates of recent GASB standards.Key areas covered include: The governmental environment and GAAP Fund accounting and the financial reporting model Budgeting MFBA Revenues and expenditures Governmental, proprietary, and fiduciary funds Government-wide financial statements CAFR Special purpose governments Deferred outflows of resources and deferred inflows of resources
ISBN: 1119736757Publication Date: 2020-06-23
Governmental Accounting and Auditing Update by
Be prepared for change by ensuring that you are current in accounting and auditing developments affecting government. Learn the latest accounting and auditing developments affecting governments by covering these hot topics: Risk assessment Documentation Leases Yellow Book Major program determination New GASB pronouncements
ISBN: 9781119747338Publication Date: 2020-06-23
Public Sector Accounting by
As change sweeps across the public sector, a huge range of accounting and financial management challenges are created. This textbook analyses the reforms that are being introduced to deal with these challenges and their global impact on the public sector. Readers are provided with an international overview of government accounting, reporting, management control, cost accounting, budgeting and auditing. In explaining how innovative financial management tools are utilized in the public sector, the authors address a number of emerging issues: Harmonization trends in public financial management and International Public Sector Accounting Standards (IPSASs) Financial reporting and consolidated financial statements in the public sector Public sector management accounting and control methods Financial and performance auditing in the public sector This concise and accessible textbook will be core reading for public sector accounting and financial management students and will also be required reading for students of public management and administration more generally. Managers, accountants, consultants and auditors working in the public sector will also find the book a useful reference.
ISBN: 9781315848389Publication Date: 2014-08-13
The research-practice gap on accounting in the public services by ISBN: 9783319994321Publication Date: 2018
Wiley GAAP for Governments 2019 by
The authoritative guide to governmental GAAP compliance, fully updated for 2019 Wiley GAAP for Governments 2019 is the definitive resource for accurate information on the latest pronouncements and guidelines applicable to state and local governments and entities. Designed as a practical application guide for professional users, this comprehensive resource provides expert coverage of all significant developments to governmental accounting principles over the previous year. Focusing on practical application, this essential guide provides detailed information on all relevant areas of GAAP including general and special revenue funds, capital project funds and debt service funds, derivative instruments, and many more. This book incorporates all of the pronouncements issued by the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) as well as proposed new statements or interpretations currently outstanding and relevant information on the GASB agenda for the upcoming year. Governmental accounting standards are continuously evolving, and practitioners must stay up to date with the latest changes if compliance is to be maintained. This invaluable guide offers in-depth guidance on GAAP standards, interpretation, applications, and procedures to help you: Keep pace with the latest accounting pronouncements Ensure compliance with all GAAP-required disclosure guidelines Understand how GAAP applies to school districts, public institutions, and individual pension plans Strengthen understanding of material with flowcharts, diagrams, and charts This efficiently organized guide enables users to locate, understand, and apply relevant information with ease. Wiley GAAP for Governments 2019 provides financial reporters with expert guidance and up-to-date information required to ensure compliance and lighten the workload. Highly regarded for its efficient and accurate coverage of material, this book is the definitive reference for financial professionals.
ISBN: 9781119511588Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Accounting Fraud, Second Edition by
Scandals relating to manipulation and fraud have dominated much of the history of business and the accounting profession in America since it's foundÂing. Crooks, corruption, scandals, and panics have been regular features of the business landscape, with regulations and the expansion of financial disÂclosure, auditing, and regulatory agencies following major debacles. Prior to the creation of the Securities and ExÂchange Commission (SEC) in the 1930s and the deÂvelopment of generally accepted accounting prinÂciples (GAAP), few accounting rules existed and it is difficult to identify ÒaccountingÓ scandals. Beginning with the New Deal of the 1930s, regulations of financial markets (including the SEC); the creation of generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) and organizations to improve and keep GAAP current (now in the hands of the Financial Accounting Standards Board); and auditing (currently under the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board) improved accounting and audit practices and financial disclosures. Despite these efforts, accounting frauds continue-many in new and innovative ways. This book brings to light the importance of incenÂtive structures of key players, consideration of economic and psychological perspectives on behavior, and the need for increasingly efÂfective regulation, which become more obvious by considering decades of abuse. Executive compensaÂtion, pensions, market values, special purpose entities, and derivaÂtives continue to be problematic accounting issues as they have for decades. Inside, you'll get exposure to financial disclosure issues and other accounting risks, plus additional knowledge of accounting fraud and risk areas.
ISBN: 9781947098756Publication Date: 2017-12-12
Contemporary Issues in Audit Management and Forensic Accounting by
Recently, financial crimes have increased exponentially in many regions of the world. Considering that these crimes are usually due to accounting fraud, more sensitive and effective approaches to accounting fraud and corruption have started developing. In this context, regulations have been put into practice in many countries for measures to be taken against fraud and corruption. It is not possible to take measures against and fight financial crimes by using old traditional methods. Instead, the field of Forensic Accounting has arisen to directly tackle these issues. In the 18 chapters in this volume of Contemporary Studies in Economic and Financial Analysis, expert contributors gather together to examine the extent and characteristics of forensic accounting, a field which has been practiced for many years, but is still not internationally regulated yet.
ISBN: 9781838676353Publication Date: 2020-02-10
Detecting Accounting Fraud Before It's Too Late by
Detect accounting fraud before it's too late Accounting fraud is the deliberate manipulation of accounting records in order to make a company's financial performance seem better or worse than it actually is. Accounting scandals often have catastrophic consequences for shareholders and employees. Thus, analysts and auditors must be equipped to detect accounting fraud. This book is a comprehensive guide to detecting accounting fraud for auditors investigating accounting fraud and analysts/managers seeking to prevent it. A wide variety of warning signs are described, as are several techniques for detecting and addressing fraud. Understand the motivations and warning signs behind accounting fraud Get to know how accounting fraud is done and how to detect it Avoid the losses that often come from accounting fraud Benefit from case studies throughout to that help illustrate the author's points It's unfortunate that managers, auditors, and analysts must be wary of accounting fraud--but this book equips you with the know-how to detect it before it's too late.
ISBN: 9781119566861Publication Date: 2019-04-08
Expert Witnessing in Forensic Accounting by
From opposing the local CPA to tackling the Big Five - Everything you need to know about accounting in the courtroom With the recent boom in litigation and malpractice charges concerning tax, accounting, financial litigation, and fraud disputes, more and more accounting professionals are being hired as expert witnesses. Yet, few lawyers have a full understanding of what accountants can contribute to their cases. And few accountants are familiar enough with the legal system to recognize everything they have to offer as an expert witness. In turn, many relevant issues are missed and financial disputes are often settled with unfavorable outcomes. Conceived and written in the trenches, Expert Witnessing in Forensic Accounting: A Handbook for Lawyers and Accountants candidly shows how to be successful in the courtroom through the hands-on experiences of both a certified public accountant and a trial attorney. Zeph Telpner and Michael Mostek guide you through the entire judicial process - revealing their own and others' mistakes and triumphs along the way and presenting guidelines for everything from choosing an accountant to analyzing the opposing expert's deposition. The law of civil procedure, evidence, expert opinions, trial procedure, and the presentation of expert testimony are a mystery to many accountants and even some lawyers. This straightforward book pulls together all the essential information on the topic. Providing numerous case studies, annotated court documents, expert witness reports, and an actual trial transcript of an expert's testimony, Expert Witnessing in Forensic Accounting: A Handbook for Lawyers and Accountants helps you discover the relevant issues and facts needed to win the dispute. LAWYERS: Know how and when to choose and work with the right forensic accountant Determine whether to hire your forensic accountant as a consultant or an expert witness Decide how early to bring the accounting expert in on the case Discover everything that forensic accountants can accomplish for you Match the accounting expert with the job to be done Help the accountant do a superior job in discovery Use the forensic accountant to the greatest benefit Ask the right questions during direct and cross-examination Build a successful working relationship with the forensic accountant ACCOUNTANTS: Learn how to best advise lawyers during discovery and litigation Discover the procedural and evidentiary rules that most often affect forensic accountant specialists Know how to respond and what to expect while you're on the witness stand Successfully rebut the opinions of the opposing expert accountant Perform superior services in discovery, accounting guidance, and writing expert reports Know how to write a job engagement letter and negotiate fees See how an expert supported the valuation of a particular business in accordance with judicial requirements Build a successful working relationship with the lawyer
ISBN: 0849308984Publication Date: 2002-06-26
Forensic Accounting by
For courses in Forensic Accounting An inside view into the practice of forensic accounting ¿ As a result of increased litigation and regulatory enforcement, the demand for forensic accountants has never been higher. This area of specialty is considered the top niche market in the accounting profession. The new Forensic Accounting is the first text of its kind to provide a comprehensive view of what forensic accountants actually do and how they do it. With experience as both practitioners and educators, authors Robert Rufus, Laura Miller, and William Hahn offer a unique perspective that bridges the gap between theory and practice. They present concepts in the context of a scientific approach, emphasizing critical thinking, reasoning, and problem solving-skills that are useful in a wide variety of academic and professional environments. And because its content is consistent with the AICPA curriculum for the Certified in Financial Forensics (CFF) credential, this text gives your students a head start on the path toward career advancement. Forensic Accounting facilitates an outstanding teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. It will help you to: * Introduce the requisite forensic accounting skills: The text identifies a three-layer skill set and provides students instruction in the key areas of forensic accounting expertise. * Offer an inside view into forensic accounting practice: Integrated case studies and sample documents give students a glimpse into the actual practice of forensic accounting. * Highlight the importance of a scientific approach: The authors explain the benefits of utilizing a scientific approach and provide opportunities for students to practice its application. * Foster thorough understanding via learning aids: Various tools, throughout the text and at the end of each chapter, support students as they learn and review.
ISBN: 9780133050479Publication Date: 2014-01-23
Forensic Accounting and Financial Statement Fraud, Volume I by
The existence and persistence of high profile alleged financial statement fraud (FSF) have negatively affected the safety and soundness of financial markets and investors confident in public financial information. Forensic accounting has advanced as an important and rewarding field of accounting to prevent, detect, and correct FSF. There has been significant demand for and interest in forensic accounting as well substantial growth in both investigation and litigation services. The first volume addresses the relevance and importance of forensic accounting and fraud examination as well as the framework and structure of forensic accounting practices. The author presents an introduction to forensic accounting and financial statement fraud examination and their relevance and importance to businesses, financial markets, economies and society. Also discussed is forensic accounting opportunities, skills, and services; forensic accounting profession; and professional responsibilities and codes of conduct for forensic accountants. Finally, forensic accounting best practices, education, and research are touched on.
ISBN: 9781631571480Publication Date: 2019-03-30
Forensic Accounting and Financial Statement Fraud, Volume II by
Forensic accounting is gaining considerable attention as a rewarding and exciting field of accounting. Forensic accountants perform both fraud and non-fraud services. The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) released its proposed new standards for its members who perform investigation and litigation forensic accounting services in December 2018. This second volume addresses fraud and non-fraud forensic accounting practice and performance. The author discusses forensic accounting roles and processes; forensic accounting techniques roles and responsibilities of corporate gatekeepers, including forensic accountants in creating a corporate culture of integrity and competency in preventing and discovering financial statement fraud. Also presented are challenges and opportunities in forensic accounting, and emerging issues in fraud investigation.
ISBN: 9781949991079Publication Date: 2019-03-30
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Accountability and Social Accounting for Social and Non-Profit Organizations by
Traditional economic and accounting theories focus on investor - owned enterprise which deal with the production of goods and services to maximise its economic value for shareholders. This book offers an alternative perspective. It focusses on non-profit organisations that produce goods and services with the intention of maximising social value for the broader community. Traditional accounting theories face limitations when dealing with these organisations as their bottom line is not based on the traditional model. Nonetheless, such entities have to consider economic and financial equilibrium as a requirement for long-term survival. Accordingly, this book presents research addressing three main subjects: the limitations of conventional accounting for nonprofit organisations, the meaning of accountability in relation to their broad scope remit; and the potential of social and environmental accounting for contributing to the accountability of social and non-profit organizations. After a description of different types of NPO organization, the authors analyse the performance measurement adopted by NPOs and propose the development of broader and multidirectional accountability models.
ISBN: 9781784410049Publication Date: 2014-12-03
Accounting and Reporting for Not-For-Profit Organizations by
This title provides the tools necessary to go beyond the theory and create value-added services for accountants' clients. In the not-for-profit arena. This book allows readers to examine, evaluate, and perform case studies, which will enhance their working knowledge of fundamental not-for-profit accounting and reporting, presentation requirements, note disclosures unique to not-for-profits, and options allowed under generally accepted accounting principles. Key topics include: Financial statement presentation, including FASB's financial reporting standard Statement of activities Statement of financial position and statement of cash flow Note disclosures Contribution concepts Functional expense and allocation of costs Endowments Operating versus non-operating Split interest agreements and beneficial trusts Agency transactions Programmatic investments Common financial statement mistakes
ISBN: 9781119744757Publication Date: 2020-06-23
Case Studies in Not-For-Profit Accounting and Auditing by
Gain hands-on experience with case studies designed to simulate real-world scenarios and common problems in today's not-for-profit environment. This book goes beyond the theory and will show you how to navigate the key issues that arise in not-for-profit accounting and auditing.
ISBN: 9781119511373Publication Date: 2018-02-14
Not-For-Profit Financial Reporting by
Through a combination of practical guidance and case studies, the author provides insight into what makes not-for-profits different. Updated for revenue recognition, grants and contracts, and financial reporting, this book offers guidance on FASB's new financial statement standard and revenue recognition standard which will have a major impact on financial reporting for not for profits. It helps answer the questions: Are you aware of how not-for-profit financial statements will change because of FASB's Financial Statement Standard? Do you know what makes not-for-profit accounting and financial reporting different? Key topics include: Grants and contracts Expense reporting NFP financial statement standard Revenue recognition Performance measures
ISBN: 9781119744122Publication Date: 2020-06-23
Real Frauds Found in Not-For-Profits by
Due to the nature of not-for-profits, fraud may be more common than it seems. This book shows how to recognize red flags of fraud, including cyber fraud. It offers a comprehensive learning approach using real-world examples, explanations of audit standards, and informative case studies that analyze several unique frauds which occurred in the not-for-profit industry. Key topics covered are: misappropriation of benefits, pledges and contributions, cyber fraud, and grant expense allocations.
ISBN: 9781119723288Publication Date: 2020-06-23
Wiley Not-For-Profit GAAP 2020 by
Ensure that your not-for-profit accounting is airtight for 2020 Not-for profit organizations have unique characteristics, so they must adhere to a specific set of generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). Wiley Not-For-Profit GAAP 2020 provides practical guidance on how to identify and apply the relevant standards. This guide is indispensable for professionals responsible for preparing and auditing not-for-profit accounts. You will learn how to interpret the relevant accounting principles and how to apply them, all while minimizing unnecessary effort and eliminating potentially costly errors. This comprehensive yet concise text thoroughly examines the latest standards for measurement, presentation, and disclosure related to not-for-profits. It covers the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Accounting Standards Codification, all relevant Accounting Standards Updates, and other guidance that applies to not-for-profit organizations, particularly that of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). With this unrivalled reference tool, your not-for-profit GAAP questions are answered. Easily understand the latest not-for-profit GAAP with visual aids, including flowcharts, diagrams, and illustrations Navigate complex requirements and ensure completeness of GAAP disclosures Stay current with all not-for-profit accounting pronouncements, including FASB, AICPA, and more Enjoy practical, user-friendly guidance on applying the relevant accounting standards in your not-for-profit organization With Wiley Not-For-Profit GAAP 2020, you can be assured you have the most current, comprehensive accounting information that applies to nonprofit organizations. Stay in compliance and ensure timely, accurate reporting with this authoritative volume.
ISBN: 9781119595984Publication Date: 2020-06-24
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Deduct It! by
Reduce your taxes Deduct It! shows you how to maximize your business deductions--quickly, easily, and legally. Whether your business is just starting or well established, this book is indispensable to your financial success. It covers deductions for: start-up and operating expenses travel and meals home offices medical expenses equipment and inventory and more. Learn about the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act and how it affects small business owners, including the new 20% pass-through deduction and changes to entertainment and other business deductions and credits. Easy to read and full of real-world examples, Deduct It! will pay for itself many times over. This edition is updated to cover changes under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act.
ISBN: 1413326811Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Home Business Tax Deductions by
Pay less to the IRS For any home business, claiming all the tax deductions you are entitled to is essential to your business's financial success. Don't miss out on the many valuable deductions you can claim.Here, you'll find out how to deduct: start-up costs home office expenses vehicles, meals, and travel expenses medical expenses, and retirement expenses. You'll also learn how to keep accurate, thorough records in case the IRS ever comes calling. Easy to read and full of real-life examples, this book can help you take advantage of all the valuable deductions you are entitled to. The 16th edition is updated to cover changes under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act.
ISBN: 9781413326857Publication Date: 2019-11-26
J. K. Lasser's Small Business Taxes 2022 by
A complete guide to taxes for small businesses, brought to you by the leading name in taxes The over 30 million small businesses in America are the essential backbone of the American marketplace. J.K. Lasser's Small Business Taxes 2022: Your Complete Guide to a Better Bottom Line helps owners save as much as possible on taxes. If you own a small business, this comprehensive guide provides a pathway to quickly determine your tax liability and what kind of tax relief is available to you, down to the nitty gritty--even going so far as to show where to claim deductions on the IRS forms. Barbara Weltman brings her expertise to this topic, as a nationally recognized specialist in taxation for small businesses. Filled with tax facts and planning strategies, this guidebook is the ideal tool to help small business owners make business decisions on a tax-advantaged basis. Small Business Taxes 2022 also provides readers with: A complete listing of the available business expense deductions and tax credits, plus what's needed to qualify for them The most up-to-date information on current tax law and procedures, including information on the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) and the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (CAA) A heads up on changes ahead to optimize tax planning Sample forms and checklists to help you get organized and prepare you to submit the most complete and proper filing Small Business Taxes 2022 uses concise and plain English to help provide small business owners and their advisers a detailed overview on the tax rules they need to know.
ISBN: 9781119838586Publication Date: 2021-12-02
J. K. Lasser's Taxes Made Easy for Your Home-Based Business by
* Completely updated for all the new tax laws * Capitalize on every deduction! * Sole proprietor, corporation, or partnership? The Ultimate Guide to Running a Tax-Efficient Home-Based Business The advantages of operating a home-based business are countless, but what many owners don't realize, and are often not prepared to handle, are the host of complex tax issues surrounding a home-based business. The completely updated Fifth Edition of J.K. Lasser's Taxes Made Easy for Your Home-Based Business clarifies the current tax environment with regard to home-based businesses, and shows you how to make the most of the new tax laws. This perennial guide answers home-based business owners' questions, with a special focus on the changing tax laws and deductions for the home office. Expert advice and in-depth insights will help you avoid costly mistakes and take advantage of opportunities you would otherwise miss. Critical coverage will help you: * Navigate the details of the new tax laws and IRS rules * Increase your knowledge of deductible expenses * Keep your records up to IRS standards * Organize and run a home-based business for maximum tax benefits * Make filing easy by utilizing sample tax forms
ISBN: 0471430935Publication Date: 2003-02-17
Tax Deductions for Professionals by
A tax deduction guide just for professionalsKeep your taxes under control!Architects, lawyers, dentists, chiropractors, doctors, and other licensed professionals are subject to special tax rules. With this book, learn how to pay less to the IRS at tax time by taking advantage of the many tax deductions available to professionals. Find out how to deduct: start-up expenses medical expenses retirement plan contributions continuing education costs vehicles, meals, and travel, and home office expenses. Tax Deductions for Professionals will also help you choose the best legal structure, with detailed information on limited liability companies, partnerships, and professional corporations. This new edition covers changes and updates to tax laws revised as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.
ISBN: 9781413329285Publication Date: 2022-01-25
Tax Savvy for Small Business by
Create a business tax strategy that will save you time, energy, and money Getting your tax matters on track will free up your time to do what really counts: run a profitable business. Tax Savvy for Small Business shows you how to: deduct operating expenses deduct travel, vehicle, and meal expenses take advantage of tax credits write off long-term assets compare business structures keep solid business records, and handle an IRS audit. This completely updated edition of Tax Savvy for Small Business covers new tax rules under the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act) and how those rules affect small business owners. Completely updated to cover the new Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act).
ISBN: 9781413328165Publication Date: 2021-01-26
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Advances in Taxation by
In volume 29 of Advances in Taxation, editor John Hasseldine includes studies from expert contributors exploring topics such as: implicit taxes in imperfect markets; repatriation of indefinitely reinvested earnings; tax compliance in multiple countries; innocent spouse tax relief decisions; and the pedagogical benefits of position paper assignments in tax education. Reporting peer-reviewed research contributions from North America, Africa, and Asia, Advances in Taxationis essential reading for those looking to keep abreast of the most recent research, including empirical studies using a variety of research methods from different institutional settings and contexts.
ISBN: 9781800716759Publication Date: 2021-10-19
The Tax Aspects of Acquiring a Business by
Tax considerations are seldom the determining factor in deciding whether to purchase a business. However, taxes often affect the price and form (e.g., purchase of stock or purchase of assets) the acquisition takes. This is true because the rationally determined price will be based on the expected present value of after-tax future cash flows. The tax component of the equation will depend on the form the acquisition takes. From the seller's perspective, tax considerations are extremely important. The tax implications of the purchase and sale of a business depend largely upon who is the buyer and who is the seller and what is being bought and sold. The business being purchased may be an unincorporated proprietorship, a single owner limited liability company (LLC), a partnership (or an LLC with more than one member), a C corporation, or an S corporation. The form of the sale (asset or stock) affects the character of the seller's gain (ordinary or capital) and the buyer's basis of the assets. Basis becomes the buyer's future tax deductions. Just as the price the buyer is willing to pay is based on projected present value of the after-tax proceeds, the price that is acceptable to the seller will depend upon his or her expected after-tax proceeds. Both parties must be aware of the other party's tax consequences to achieve a rational agreement.
ISBN: 9781631571251Publication Date: 2015-10-21
A World History of Tax Rebellions by
A World History of Tax Rebellions is an exhaustive reference source for over 4,300 years of riots, rebellions, protests, and war triggered by abusive taxation and tax collecting systems around the world. Each of the chronologically arranged entries focuses on a specific historical event, analyzing its roots, and socio-economic context.
ISBN: 0415924987Publication Date: 2003-11-17
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Special topics in accounting
Advances in Environmental Accounting and Management by
Vol 6 of Advances in Environmental Accounting & Management aims to advance knowledge of the governance and management of corporate environmental impacts and the accounting for these, including issues related to measurement, valuation, and disclosure. It is particularly relevant for accounting practitioners, investors and other stakeholders of the financial and social consequences of corporate environmental impacts.
ISBN: 9781786353757Publication Date: 2017-03-28- Environmental accounting, sustainability and accountability by
The book closely explores how organizations can embed care for the environment as fundamental to their functioning. It broadly covers traditional accounting as a measuring instrument, contemporary advances and unresolved problems, alternative perspectives and recent developments. The central idea proposed here is to evolve the environmental accounting framework and bring calculative aspects into sustainability thinking that businesses are responsible for.
ISBN: 9789353287719Publication Date: 2019
- Environmental taxation and the law by ISBN: 9781785362002
Green Accounting Initiatives and Strategies for Sustainable Development by
In today's society, environmental concerns are at the forefront of entrepreneurial decision-making and planning. With increased attention on an organization's environmental impact, researchers and business leaders strive to provide the best methodologies and strategies for effective environmental reporting and accountability. Green Accounting Initiatives and Strategies for Sustainable Development presents the latest scholarly research on the economic, social, and environmental objectives essential to the planning and support of future organizations and communities. This publication is an essential reference source for academicians, researchers, advanced level students, and professionals interested in designing business models and financial plans with consideration for environmental and social liabilities. This publication features timely, research based chapters on economic, social, and environmental policies including, but not limited to, green performance measurement, triple bottom line reporting, sustainable societies, environmental protection, and risk and adaptive management.
ISBN: 9781466687219Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Responsible Management Accounting and Controlling by
Sustainability is becoming a business megatrend. This book looks into why controlling departments are rarely involved in sustainability topics and do not contribute to corporate responsibility. The author postulates the following assertion: responsible controlling is indispensable in making an organization more responsible. Inside, you'll learn a specific course of action for the development of a responsible controlling framework toward decision making, which is based on an ethically driven, reflective fundament in order to make a company a responsible business. Through the development of a responsible controlling framework, the author gives recommendations for how controlling should be altered in terms of both tools and mindsets. A twelve-step responsible controlling roadmap is detailed, showing how controlling can contribute to foster a corporation's responsible behavior and how sustainability topics can be integrated in management decisions. The conclusion of Responsible Management Accounting and Controlling reiterates the main goal of this book: responsible controlling must first and foremost be understood as a mindset. Responsible controlling, therefore, is an uncommon but indispensable approach of making an organization more responsible.
ISBN: 9781606498231Publication Date: 2014-12-08
Sustainability Accounting by
Advances in Environmental Accounting & Managementaims to advance knowledge of the governance and management of corporate environmental impacts and the accounting for these, including issues related to measurement, valuation, and disclosure. It also aims to increase the awareness of management, accounting practitioners, investors and other stakeholders of the financial and social consequences of corporate environmental impacts, encouraging greater environmental accountability and responsibility. The first chapter in this volume (Dr Yousuf Kamal) is set in the context of the Bangladeshi garment industry, while the second chapter (Delphine Gibassier) explores the practice of water accounting. The remainder of this volume presents three chapters from the 3rd French Conference on Social and Environmental Accounting Research, guest edited by Sophie Giordano-Spring, Jonathan Maurice and Charles H. Cho. These chapters consider sustainability in Canadian CPA teaching programmes (Emilio Boulianne and S. Leanne Keddie); mandatory environmental reporting in France (Juliette Senn); and CSR reporting practices in Brazil and South Korea (Hyemi Shin and Adrián Zicari).
ISBN: 9781787548886Publication Date: 2018-04-06
Sustainability Accounting and Integrated Reporting by
Sustainability Accounting and Integrated Reporting deals with organizations' assessment, articulation and disclosure of their social and environmental impact on various groups in society. There is increasingly an understanding that financial information does not sufficiently discharge organizational accountability to members of society who are demanding an account of the social and environmental impacts of companies' and other organizations' activities. As a result, organizations report ever more social and environmental information, and there are simultaneous movements towards providing the information in an integrated fashion, showing how social and environmental activities influence each other, members of society and the financial aims of the organization. The book Sustainability Accounting and Integrated Reporting provides a broad and comprehensive review of the field, focusing on the interconnection between different elements of these topics, often dealt with in isolation. The book examines the accounting involved in the collection and analysis of data, control processes over the data, how information is reported to external parties, and the assurance of the information being reported. The book thereby provides an overview useful to practitioners (including sustainability managers, consultants, members of the accounting profession, and other assurance providers), academics, and students.
ISBN: 9781315108032Publication Date: 2017-11-03
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Accounting Disrupted by
Accounting Disrupted: How Digitalization is changing Finance delivers a powerful analysis of the new technological forces buffeting the accounting profession and identifies key pathways to responding to the challenges. Al Bhimani, distinguished accountant, academic, and author, shows readers how established business fundamentals are being eclipsed and that accounting has not been spared. You'll learn: How the new realities of digitalization, including big data and AI, are affecting audit work and financial management practices How learning fast about and from more diverse data sources is essential to the new accounting environment Why accounting information must start to speak to what will take place rather than about financial activities that have occurred What finance must do in a world of changing risks, data growth, fast digitization, and increased regulation The author makes a compelling case that accounting now faces a crunch: it needs to reshape itself from the core because conventional financial analysis is proving too cumbersome and slow for executives in digitalized organizations. In a straightforward and illustrated style packed with case studies and practical examples, he shows readers how big data, blockchain, robotic process automation, and artificial intelligence, can help accountants adapt to new realities. Perfect for finance leaders in both the private and public sectors, Accounting Disrupted also belongs on the bookshelves of accounting students who wish to better prepare for the technological and professional environment in which they'll shortly find themselves.
ISBN: 9781119720065Publication Date: 2021-03-03
Analytics and Big Data for Accountants by
Why is big data analytics one of the hottest business topics today? This book will help accountants and financial managers better understand big data and analytics, including its history and current trends. It dives into the platforms and operating tools that will help you measure program impacts and ROI, visualize data and business processes, and uncover the relationship between key performance indicators. Key topics covered include: Evidence-based techniques for finding or generating data, selecting key performance indicators, isolating program effects Relating data to return on investment, financial values, and executive decision making Data sources including surveys, interviews, customer satisfaction, engagement, and operational data Visualizing and presenting complex results
ISBN: 9781119784623Publication Date: 2020-12-03
Applications of Accounting Information Systems by
The revolutionary effects of using accounting information systems by displacing manual information systems in the private and public sectors cannot be overstated. The benefits of this substitution of set of processes include increased mathematical accuracy, predefined fields and coding tasks, and de-emphasis of manual clerical labor in favor of labor adept in data processing. Reporting can be significantly automated, facilitating managerial power and control at a distance and the proliferation of global enterprises. The potential detriments are rarely accurately, completely, and timely addressed as information system vendors, management consultants, and corporate procurement teams race toward the popularly conceived state of the art. Systems are ballyhooed as continually improving in processing speed, functionality, and capacity. Users of these automated systems may not consider big picture effects, and they may not intelligently consider the conduct risks to their own enterprises by concentrating such global reach and influence at high levels of senior management without dedicating adequate resources to verifying the accuracy, completeness, and timeliness of the information systems. This book considers these risks.
ISBN: 9781949991598Publication Date: 2019-12-06
Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation by
Strategically integrate AI into your organization to compete in the tech era The rise of artificial intelligence is nothing short of a technological revolution. AI is poised to completely transform accounting and auditing professions, yet its current application within these areas is limited and fragmented. Existing AI implementations tend to solve very narrow business issues, rather than serving as a powerful tech framework for next-generation accounting. Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation provides a strategic viewpoint on how AI can be comprehensively integrated within audit management, leading to better automated models, forensic accounting, and beyond. No other book on the market takes such a wide-ranging approach to using AI in audit and accounting. With this guide, you'll be able to build an innovative, automated accounting strategy, using artificial intelligence as the cornerstone and foundation. This is a must, because AI is quickly growing to be the single competitive factor for audit and accounting firms. With better AI comes better results. If you aren't integrating AI and automation in the strategic DNA of your business, you're at risk of being left behind. See how artificial intelligence can form the cornerstone of integrated, automated audit and accounting services Learn how to build AI into your organization to remain competitive in the era of automation Go beyond siloed AI implementations to modernize and deliver results across the organization Understand and overcome the governance and leadership challenges inherent in AI strategy Accounting and auditing firms need a comprehensive framework for intelligent, automation-centric modernization. Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation delivers just that--a plan to evolve legacy firms by building firmwide AI capabilities.
ISBN: 9781119601913Publication Date: 2020-07-24
ChatGPT And AI For Accountants by
Unlock the potential of AI to elevate your accounting skills by applying ChatGPT across audit, tax, consulting, and beyond Key Features Discover AI's role in modern accounting, from audits to corporate governance Use ChatGPT to streamline your accounting tasks with practical hands-on techniques Understand the impact of AI in accounting through in-depth chapters covering various domains, including ethical considerations and data analytics Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free PDF eBook Book Description In the fast-paced AI world, accounting professionals are increasingly challenged by the complexities of AI. Many struggle to integrate these advanced tools into their workflows, leading to a sense of overwhelm. ChatGPT for Accounting bridges this gap by not only simplifying AI concepts but also offering practical insights for its application in various accounting domains.This book takes you from the foundational principles of Generative Artificial Intelligence (GAI) to its practical applications in audits, tax planning, practice management, fraud examination, financial analysis, and beyond. Each chapter equips you with essential skills, showing you how AI can revolutionize internal control systems, enhance recruitment processes, streamline marketing plans, optimize tax strategies, and boost efficiency in audits. You'll then advance to exploring the role of AI in forensic accounting, financial analysis, managerial accounting, and corporate governance, while also addressing ethical and security implications.Concluding with a reflective outlook on the promises and challenges of AI, you'll gain a holistic view of the future of accounting. By the end of this book, you'll be equipped with the knowledge to harness the power of AI effectively and ethically, transforming your accounting practice and staying ahead in the ever-evolving landscape. What you will learn Understand the fundamentals of AI and its impact on the accounting sector Grasp how AI streamlines and enhances the auditing process for high accuracy Uncover the potential of AI in simplifying tax processes and ensuring compliance Get to grips with using AI to identify discrepancies and prevent financial fraud Master the art of AI-powered data analytics for informed decision-making Gain insights into seamlessly integrating AI tools within existing accounting systems Stay ahead in the evolving landscape of AI-led accounting tools and practices Who this book is for Whether you're a seasoned accounting professional, a C-suite executive, a business owner, an accounting educator, a student of accounting, or a technology enthusiast, this book provides the knowledge and insights you need to navigate the changing landscape in applying GAI technology to make a difference in all you do. An appreciation and understanding of the accounting process and concepts will be beneficial. ]]>
ISBN: 9781835466537Publication Date: 2024-06-28
Customer accounting : creating value with customer analytics by
This book is designed to meet the needs of CFOs, accounting and financial professionals interested in leveraging the power of data-driven customer insights in management accounting and financial reporting systems. While academic research in Marketing has developed increasingly sophisticated analytical tools, the role of customer analytics as a source of value creation from an Accounting and Finance perspective has received limited attention. The authors aim to fill this gap by blending interdisciplinary academic rigor with practical insights from real-world applications. Readers will find thorough coverage of advanced customer accounting concepts and techniques, including the calculation of customer lifetime value and customer equity for internal decision-making and for external financial reporting and valuation. Beyond a professional audience, the book will serve as ideal companion reading for students enrolled in undergraduate, graduate, or MBA courses.
ISBN: 9783030019716Publication Date: 2019
The Definitive Guide to Blockchain for Accounting and Business by
Blockchain: a disruptive technology, or a new chance for the business world? The answer is both. With potential to change how economic transactions are recorded, stored, and verified, blockchain is changing the very face of the accounting industry. Despite its ramifications, business students of today and the practicing accountants of tomorrow are not being adequately trained in this new technology, due to a lack of resources exploring it from an accountant and business expert's perspective. Through its discussion of real-world and 'use-cases' The Definitive Guide to Blockchain for Business and Accountingdistils an abstract technology into relatable experiences for business professionals. Including chapters from practicing professionals in the blockchain industry, The Definitive Guideshows readers how this innovative technology is changing the fundamentals of the business world. With international subject matter experts, this exciting new book includes perspectives from accountants, auditors, CEOs and CTOs on how blockchain is rewriting the future of the business and accounting world.
ISBN: 9781789738674Publication Date: 2020-09-30
The disruptive and transformative potential of new technologies for accounting, accountants and accountability by ISBN: 9781839098437Publication Date: 2019
Machine learning for auditors: Automating fraud investigations through artificial intelligence by
This is a practical book with implementation recipes that demystify AI, ML, and data science and their roles as applied to auditing.
ISBN: 9781484280515Publication Date: 2022
The Routledge Companion to Accounting Information Systems by
Information technology has permeated all walks of life in the past two decades. Accounting is no exception. Be it financial accounting, management accounting, or audit, information technology and systems have simplified daily tasks and routine work, simplified reporting, and changed how accounting is done. The Routledge Companion to Accounting Information Systems provides a prestige reference work which offers students and researchers an introduction to current and emerging scholarship in the discipline. Contributions from an international cast of authors provides a balanced view of both the technical underpinnings and organisational consequences of accounting information systems. With a focus on the business consequences of technology, this unique reference book will be a vital resource for students and researchers involved in accounting and information management.
ISBN: 1317297334Publication Date: 2017-12-22
Social Media, Mobile and Cloud Technology Use in Accounting by
The rapidly evolving nature of emerging technologies, and the transformative and disruptive tendencies offered by these are reshaping professional activities, operations and functions as well as value creation. Exploring the wide ranging implications of the use of multiple emerging technologies by professional accountants, Social Media and Cloud Technology Use in Accounting providing illuminating insights in an exploratory study that reviews emerging technologies within an developing economy. Femi Oladele and Timothy Oyewole present a robust analysis of the literature surrounding established concepts and constructs within Accounting and explore changes for training and the wider framework for all areas of Accounting practice.The results of an in-depth predictive and interpretive value-analyses of Accountants' Training Framework (ATF) and Perception (PCT) on professional accountants' use of SoMoClo technologies are presented. The book offers reviews of existing theories presented alongside a brand new theoretical framework, drawing on interdisciplinary approaches to define new conceptual understandings of this fast moving business area.
ISBN: 9781839821622Publication Date: 2020-05-29- Using data analytics and visualization in accounting and auditing at Toby Biotech Inc. by
The purpose of this case study on Toby Biotech Inc. (Toby), a fictitious publicly-held company with offices worldwide, is to allow accounting students the opportunity to apply a data analytics and visualization software tool to an audit of financial statements. In this particular situation, students are asked to focus on certain financial statement accounts for Toby-account receivables (AR), the contra accounts allowance for credit losses (ACL) and reserve for returns and allowances (RRA)-and revenue recognition, using the Tableau software to help identify anomalies, to pinpoint risks of material misstatement, to ask client's questions and to develop responsive audit procedures.
ISBN: 9781529795875Publication Date: 2021
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Advances in Accounting Education by
Advances in Accounting Educationis a high-quality publication of both empirical and non-empirical research that investigates vital matters within teaching, learning, and curriculum development. By focusing on these topics, this series works to support the improvement of accounting programs at colleges and universities, as well as fostering innovative discussion and significant contributions to faculty development. This 25th volume features 13 peer-reviewed papers surrounding four themes: curriculum and pedagogical innovations, faculty reflections on teaching accounting during the COVID-19 pandemic, research on passing professional exams in accounting, and historical underpinnings and the choice of taxation as an area of specialization. Faculty with an interest in accounting education as well as accounting program administrators should find all four themes to be highly informative and interesting. Some practitioners and regulators in the accounting profession may also find useful policy-related nuggets in Volume 25.
ISBN: 9781800717039Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Advances in Accounting Education by
All articles in this book explain how teaching methods or curricula/programs can be improved. Non-empirical papers are academically rigorous, and specifically discuss the institutional context of a course or program, as well as any relevant tradeoffs or policy issues. Empirical reports exhibit sound research design and execution, and develop a thorough motivation and literature review, including references from outside the accounting field, where appropriate. Volume 20 includes papers that examine topics: assisting students with career selection via personality assessments to enhance students' comprehension of the accounting cycle, incorporating exercises in an auditing course to help students better understand analytical procedures and developing journal lists to assist with departmental decisions. This also includes a special section that examines efforts to integrate accounting with other core business disciplines in the curriculum. This section includes two papers from instructors who have developed theme-based accounting ethics courses. In these cases the instructor focuses the course on developing wisdom in accounting decisions and development with a leadership focus.
ISBN: 9781787141803Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Communication in Accounting Education by
Accounting, often described as "the language of business", requires a diverse set of written, listening and oral communication skills if those who practise it are to be effective. Given the pace of change relating to, for example, the evolution of international accounting standards and the demands for greater transparency, accountants must be clear, responsive, and audience-focussed communicators. Employers of accountants consistently comment on the need for their new graduate recruits and trainees to have strong written, oral, and interpersonal communication skills. In this light, accounting educators face the challenge of designing and delivering programmes that reflect professional expectations on the part of employers and clients, and educating students on how to make informed communication choices in order to achieve desired results and to build good working relationships. The chapters in this book deal with such topics as accounting students' perceptions of oral communication skills; competence-based writing skills; and the development of listening skills. This book is derived from articles originally published in Accounting Education: an international journal.
ISBN: 1138829196Publication Date: 2014-11-26
How qualitative research can infuse teaching in accounting by ISBN: 9781839099175Publication Date: 2019
Reinventing Accounting and Finance Education by
There is a growing acknowledgement of the role played by finance theory and experts in the 2008 global banking crash, and their ongoing contributions to risks in the financial system. Some argue that finance theory is deeply ideological and the academy has been captured and corrupted by financial institutions and conservative journal editors and their unrealistic influence. Its language and terminology have been self-referential, enabling disciplinary closure but generating widening gaps with reality and lived experience. In particular, in spite of its deeply cultural and ethical nature, finance education has been stripped of any wider discussion of ethics and culture, and replaced by a particular neo-liberal greed and materialistic ethic. In an era of financialisation, some have called finance a 'curse on modernity'. The devastation this has caused and continues to cause is making the world highly unequal, risky and unsustainable. Serious and radical reforms are required in the teaching and research of finance. This book charts out the possible solutions for such reform.
ISBN: 9781315175003Publication Date: 2017-10-03
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
- Ethical Issues In Accounting A video from ECU's archive of documentaries and teaching films. Ethical Issues in Accounting are discussed by Don Munro of D.F. Munro and Associates, Dr Val Pervan, Chairman, Appeals Committee ASCPA, with Roger Debreceny and Ben Ryan. Producer: Phil PearsonPublication Date: 2015
Ethics in Accounting by
This book provides a comprehensive, authoritative, and thought-provoking examination of the ethical issues encountered by accountants working in the industry, public practice, nonprofit service, and government. Gordon Klein's, Ethics in Accounting: A Decision-Making Approach, helps students understand all topics commonly prescribed by state Boards of Accountancy regarding ethics literacy. Ethics in Accounting can be utilized in either a one-term or two-term course in Accounting Ethics. A contemporary focus immerses readers in real world ethical questions with recent trending topics such as celebrity privacy, basketball point-shaving, auditor inside trading, and online dating. Woven into chapters are tax-related issues that address fraud, cheating, confidentiality, contingent fees and auditor independence. Duties arising in more commonplace roles as internal auditors, external auditors, and tax practitioners are, of course, examined as well.
ISBN: 9781118928332Publication Date: 2015-07-07
Research on Professional Responsibility and Ethics in Accounting by
This edition of Research on Professional Responsibility and Ethics in Accountingincludes articles from a distinguished group of authors. The topics covered explore many aspects of professional responsibility and ethics in accounting, including Giving Voice to Values, Whistleblowing, Earnings Management, and Materiality.
ISBN: 9781800717596Publication Date: 2021-09-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Exam prep/practice tests
Becker Professional Education CPA Exam Review - Regulation V3. 0 Student Version Textbook by ISBN: 9781943628247Publication Date: 2017-01-17- CLEP financial accounting practice exam. 1.
"This first 75-question practice test will help prepare you for the CLEP® Financial Accounting exam. Use the instant scoring and detailed answer explanations to determine where you're strong, and what you can work on improving."
Publication Date: 2022
- CLEP financial accounting practice exam. 2.
"This second 75-question practice test will help prepare you for the CLEP® Financial Accounting exam. Use the instant scoring and detailed answer explanations to determine where you're strong, and what you can work on improving."
Publication Date: 2022
CPA Exam for Dummies with Online Practice by
Get started on the path to passing the CPA exam today Passing the CPA exam can be the first step to a long and rewarding career. With CPA Exam For Dummies, you'll get a full overview of the exam, information on how to register, the requirements for taking and passing the tests, as well as a review of the four sections. This comprehensive introductory study guide provides you with a wealth of information, including all the current AICPA content requirements in auditing and attestation, business environment and concepts, financial accounting and reporting, and accounting regulation. From start to finish, the text is designed to prepare you for each portion of this rigorous exam. Preparing for the CPA exam can be a daunting process. With the classic For Dummies approach, CPA Exam For Dummies offers an overview and steps on how to get started. Go at your own pace to master the various sections of the exam, and use the book as a reference on an ongoing basis as you prepare for the exam portions. Dive into the book to find: An overview of the CPA exam, featuring exam organization and information on scoring A content review, including practice questions and explanations of answers Online bonus practice exams to boost your knowledge and confidence An overview of the benefits of passing the CPA exam and becoming a certified public accountant For those seeking to pass the CPA exam and launch their accounting careers, CPA Exam For Dummies is the go-to resource for getting started!
ISBN: 9781118813621Publication Date: 2014-08-18
McGraw-Hill Education 500 Financial Accounting and Reporting Questions for the CPA Exam by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. 500 Ways to Achieve Your Highest Score We want you to succeed on the financial accounting and reporting portion of the CPA Exam. That's why we've selected these 500 questions to help you study more effectively, use your preparation time wisely, and get your best score. These questions are similar to the ones you'll find on the CPA Exam so you will know what to expect on test day. Each question includes a concise, easy-to-follow explanation in the answer key for your full understanding of the concepts. Whether you have been studying all year or are doing a last-minute review, McGraw-Hill: 500 Financial Accounting and Reporting Questions for the CPA Exam will help you achieve the high score you desire. Sharpen your subject knowledge, strengthen your thinking skills, and build your test-taking confidence with: 500 CPA Exam-style questions Full explanations for each question in the answer key A format parallel to that of the CPA Exam
ISBN: 9780071807074Publication Date: 2014-10-29
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Books by NSU faculty
Organizational Cynicism by
Abraham (business administration, Nova Southeastern U.) identifies cynicism as one of the principal causes of lass of organizational productivity and investigates the causes and consequences of cynicism within a theoretical construct that sees the phenomena as part of a process rather than an isolat
ISBN: 0773464573Publication Date: 2004-01-01
- Information Literacy by Design: Recalibrating Graduate Professional Asynchronous Online Programs.” In Teaching Information Literacy OnlineNew York: Neal-Schuman Publishers
2011 - Critical thinking supporting material for Financial Accounting: A User Perspectiveby Robert Hoskin
John Wiley & Sons
1994
Browse books by topic
To discover books on various topics related to accounting and taxation, please use one of the suggested subjects below