BEDI Resources

Definitions & Key Terms

LGBTQIA+: This “alphabet soup” allows younger people to self-identify their sexual orientation, gender performance, and body. It stands for the original lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ). At this point, older people might stop, but young, college-age people continue with intersex and allies (LGBTQIA), and with a second Q for questioning and A for asexual (LGBTQQIAA). Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements

Lesbian: The term lesbian refers to women who are sexually and emotionally attracted to other women. These women are usually born biologically female and identify as homosexual, meaning that they are either solely or primarily attracted to other women. Although a woman may participate in lesbian behavior, she is not considered a lesbian unless she self-identifies as a lesbian. Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice

Gay: This term refers to both males and females and was used by early same-sex sexual preference dissidents, first as a coded reference (gay means “pleasurable”), and later to distinguish between the Homophile Movement and the more medicalized homosexual. Gay did not catch on until after Stonewall and, thus, could be used in coded references like those used by Lisa Ben in her publication Vice Versa, “America's gayest magazine,” and using “gay gals.” Many women, however, feel the term erases females, and they prefer to call themselves “lesbians.” An equal number of women prefer “gay” since lesbian is a loaded term that has been used to silence women in the late 20th century patriarchy. Gay politically connects both male and female homosexuals and has been used as the generic term to refer to things associated with the homosexual subculture (i.e., gay books, gay media, and gay music). Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements

Bisexual: Bisexuality has been defined in many ways. Although a common assumption is that bisexuality denotes sexual or romantic interest in only two sexes (i.e., male and female), this is often not the case for individuals who identify as bisexual. Instead, a more inclusive definition of bisexuality is often more appropriate—namely, that bisexuality is the possibility for sexual and/or romantic attraction or desire for more than one sex or gender (Ebin, 2012). Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice

Transgender: Transgender implies someone whose gender identity does not align with the sex they were assigned at birth (e.g., a transgender man was assigned “female” at birth, but identifies as a man, whereas a transgender woman was assigned “male” at birth, but identifies as a woman) and encompasses a broad spectrum of gender identities that are considered non-normative. Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice

Queer: Queer can be an identity, theory, or practice. In the most general sense, queer can be thought of as heteronormativity's antithesis, a defiantly non-normative notion of human social relations that rejects sex and gender binaries, obfuscates essentialist identities, and celebrates the unwieldy and remarkable ways in which sex means much more than reproduction. Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice

Intersex: Intersex is an umbrella term that began to be widely utilized by Western medical and sexological practitioners in the mid-twentieth century. It is used to group together a variety of conditions resulting in anatomical, chromosomal, and hormonal deviations from what are considered male-typical and female-typical morphologies. Some of these deviations are apparent at birth, while others develop during puberty. Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History

Asexual: Commonly understood as not being sexually attracted to anyone, the very modes of defining asexuality are nuanced and contested. Asexuality, like any other sexual orientation, is widely varied in terms of experiences, intersecting identities, and expressions. It is thus no surprise that it has yielded various definitions tied to the stakes of the actors involved. Asexual activists and community members, as history makers of the asexuality movement, have provided online and offline languages, vocabularies, and symbologies around asexuality, arguing for inclusion in LGBTQ2+ spaces, bringing asexuality into visibility in unprecedented ways. Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History Cartoon “Asexuality Comes in a Lot of Flavors” illustrated spectrum of identities that fall under the umbrella term asexuality

Cartoon “Asexuality Comes in a Lot of Flavors”. As illustrated by this cartoon, there is a spectrum of identities that fall under the umbrella term asexuality, challenging the idea that there is only one way to be asexual and that a single definition of asexuality can function to explain people's unique engagements with asexuality across social contexts.

Pansexual: Pansexual refers to a person who is sexually, emotionally, romantically, or spiritually attracted to others, regardless of biological sex, gender expression (of masculine or feminine characteristics), or sexual orientation. Pansexuality may be distinguished from bisexuality in that it specifically rejects the “either/or” notion that people have to choose between male and female, or what is known as the gender binary, a spectrum of gender on which males are on one end and females on the opposite end. Pansexuality moves beyond the concept of “only two” genders and recognizes that there is flexibility and fluidity with respect to gender identity and expression; a person can fall anywhere on the gender spectrum at any time. The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality

Nonbinary: Nonbinary genders is a shorthand phrase to reference genders outside of the binary paradigm of man/male and woman/female. Nonbinary is a fairly contemporary umbrella term (with a white Western emphasis) that contains many diverse identities and embodiments. For example, some nonbinary identities are fluid or shift over time, while others are static; some nonbinary experiences are muted, some vivid. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies

Cisgender: Cisgender, or cis, is a term used to describe people who are non-transgender. That is, cis people are people whose gender identity and gendered sense of self is congruent with the sex/gender assigned to them at birth. This definition, however, has been critiqued by some who feel it imposes and/or maintains a rigid understanding of sex and gender. Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History

Homophobia: Homophobia is defined as the irrational fear and hatred of gay men and lesbians. It combines the words homosexual and phobia, hence the definition related to panic or fear of people who are sexually attracted to a person of the same sex. Many people contend that the word heterosexism is a more accurate concept because fear or panic is not the problem as much as the power and privileging of heterosexual people over gay men, lesbians, and bisexual people. Heterosexism assumes that all people are and should be heterosexual and asserts that heterosexuality is normal, natural, and right. Encyclopedia of Gender and Society

Transphobia: Transphobia is defined as an intense antipathy toward people who do not conform to normative gender roles or, more commonly, a fear and disgust of trans people. It is a system of beliefs, values, and psychological motivations for anti-trans discriminatory behavior and attitudes. Confusingly, it is not really a phobia (not an irrational fear); rather, it is a portmanteau word derived from homophobia. Transphobia is often understood to be a part of homophobia, and they often co-occur, but the former applies to anti-trans prejudice (more commonly, transprejudice), and the latter refers to anti- LGBQ discrimination. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies

LGBTQIA+ Resources

LGBTQ+ Resources

For an Interactive NSU campus map with the location of gender-neutral bathrooms: https://maps.nova.edu/

For More Info about NSU Gender Inclusive Housing and Roommate Matching Options: Contact housing@nova.edu

NSU Student Counseling and Medical Care Options

NSU Health Student Care
Student Counseling
NSU students receive up to 10 free sessions
Student Health Insurance

LGBTQ+ Scholarships and Awards

Aqua Foundation
Aqua scholarships are available to all LGBTQ+ women, transgender, intersex, and non-binary students who are pursuing a degree – associates, bachelors, masters, and doctorates. The scholarship helps pay for tuition and supports scholars in their leadership development. Each scholar is paired with a mentor. The scholars and mentors meet regularly, attend events together, and meet quarterly as a group.
NSU, A. Gordon Rose Scholarship (College of Psychology)
This scholarship is available to clinical psychology students who are committed to doing research and professional work aimed at increasing self-acceptance and community acceptance of gay and lesbian individuals. Students in good standing are eligible for nomination by a College of Psychology administrator or faculty member. Students may also apply independently. The dollar amount of this scholarship varies and is payable in the form of a tuition waiver.
NSU, DRI Law Student Diversity Scholarship (Shepard Broad College of Law)
DRI is the largest international membership organization of attorneys defending the interests of attorneys defending the interests of business and individuals in civil litigation. The goal of the scholarship program is to provide financial assistance to three worthy law students from ABA-accredited law schools to promote, in a tangible way, the DRI Diversity Statement of Principle.
Point Foundation
Point Foundation offers LGBTQ scholarships for students attending accredited colleges and universities in the U.S. Point scholarships support community college, undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students with additional scholarship opportunities for BIPOC students.

NSU Student Organizations

Ace by Angela Chen An engaging exploration of what it means to be asexual in a world that's obsessed with sexual attraction, and what the ace perspective can teach all of us about desire and identity. What exactly is sexual attraction and what is it like to go through life not experiencing it? What does asexuality reveal about gender roles, about romance and consent, and the pressures of society? This accessible examination of asexuality shows that the issues that aces face-confusion around sexual activity, the intersection of sexuality and identity, navigating different needs in relationships-are the same conflicts that nearly all of us will experience. Through a blend of reporting, cultural criticism, and memoir, Ace addresses the misconceptions around the "A" of LGBTQIA and invites everyone to rethink pleasure and intimacy. Journalist Angela Chen creates her path to understanding her own asexuality with the perspectives of a diverse group of asexual people. Vulnerable and honest, these stories include a woman who had blood tests done because she was convinced that "not wanting sex" was a sign of serious illness, and a man who grew up in a religious household and did everything "right," only to realize after marriage that his experience of sexuality had never been the same as that of others. Disabled aces, aces of color, gender-nonconforming aces, and aces who both do and don't want romantic relationships all share their experiences navigating a society in which a lack of sexual attraction is considered abnormal. Chen's careful cultural analysis explores how societal norms limit understanding of sex and relationships and celebrates the breadth of sexuality and queerness.
ISBN: 9780807013793
Publication Date: 2020-09-15
Becoming Two-Spirit by Brian Joseph Gilley The Two-Spirit man occupies a singular place in Native American culture, balancing the male and the female spirit even as he tries to blend gay and Native identity. The accompanying ambiguities of gender and culture come into vivid relief in the powerful and poignant Becoming Two-Spirit, the first book to take an in-depth look at contemporary American Indian gender diversity. Drawing on a wealth of observations from interviews, oral histories, and meetings and ceremonies, Brian Joseph Gilley provides an intimate view of how Two-Spirit men in Colorado and Oklahoma struggle to redefine themselves and their communities. The Two-Spirit men who appear in Gilley's book speak frankly of homophobia within their communities, a persistent prejudice that is largely misunderstood or misrepresented by outsiders. Gilley gives detailed accounts of the ways in which these men modify gay and Native identity as a means of dealing with their alienation from tribal communities and families. With these compromises, he suggests, they construct an identity that challenges their alienation while at the same time situating themselves within contemporary notions of American Indian identity. He also shows how their creativity is reflected in the communities they build with one another, the development of their own social practices, and a national network of individuals linked in their search for self and social acceptance.
ISBN: 9780803271265
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Bi by Ritch C. Savin-Williams What bisexual youth can tell us about today's gender and sexual identities Despite the increasing visibility of LGBTQ people in American culture, our understanding of bisexuality remains superficial, at best. Yet, five times as many people identify as bisexual than as gay or lesbian, and as much as 25 percent of the population is estimated to be bisexual. In Bi, noted scholar of youth sexuality, Ritch Savin-Williams, brings bisexuality to centerstage at a moment when Gen Z and millennial youth and young adults are increasingly rejecting traditional labels altogether. Drawing on interviews with bisexual youth from a range of racial, ethnic, and social class groups, he reveals to us how bisexuals define their own sexual orientation and experiences--in their own words. Savin-Williams shows how and why people might identify as bisexual as a result of their biology or upbringing; as a bridge or transition to something else; as a consequence of their curiosity; or for a range of other equally valid reasons. With an understanding that sexuality and romantic attachments are often influx, Savin-Williams offers us a way to think about bisexuality as part of a continuum. He shows that many of the young people who identify as bisexual often defy traditional views, dispute false notions, and reimagine sexuality with regard to both practice and identity. Broadly speaking, he shows that many young people experience a complex, nuanced existence with multiple sexual and romantic attractions as well as gender expressions, which are seldom static but fluctuate over their lives. Savin-Williams provides an important new understanding of bisexuality as an orientation, behavior, and identity. Bi shows us that bisexuality is seen and embraced as a valid sexual identity more than ever before, giving us timely and much-needed insight into the complex, fascinating experiences of bisexual youth themselves.
ISBN: 9781479811434
Publication Date: 2021-09-21
Bisexual and Pansexual Identities by Nikki Hayfield This book explores the invisibility and invalidation of bisexuality from the past to the present and is unique in extending the discussion to focus on contemporary and emerging identities. Nikki Hayfield draws on research from psychology and the social sciences to offer a detailed and in-depth exploration of the invisibility and invalidation of bisexuality, pansexuality, and asexuality. The book discusses how early sexologists' understood gender and sexuality within a binary model and how this provided the underpinnings of bisexual invisibility.　 The existing research on biphobia and bisexual marginalisation is synthesised to explore how bisexuality has often been invisible or invalidated. Hayfield then evidences clear examples of the invisibility and invalidation of bisexuality, pansexuality, and asexuality within education, employment, mainstream mass media, and the wider culture. Throughout the book there is consideration of the impact that this invisibility and invalidation has on people's sense of identity and on their health and wellbeing. It concludes with a discussion of how bisexuality, pansexuality, and asexuality have become somewhat more visible than in the past and the potential that visibility holds for recognition and representation. This is fascinating reading for students and academics interested in in bisexuality, pansexuality, and asexual spectrum identities and for those who have a personal interest in bisexuality, pansexuality, and asexuality.
ISBN: 9780429875410
Publication Date: 2020-05-12
Born Both by Hida Viloria From one of the world's foremost intersex activists, a candid, provocative, and eye-opening memoir of gender identity, self-acceptance, and love. My name is Hida Viloria. I was raised as a girl but discovered at a young age that my body looked different. Having endured an often turbulent home life as a kid, there were many times when I felt scared and alone, especially given my attraction to girls. But unlike most people in the first world who are born intersex--meaning they have genitals, reproductive organs, hormones, and/or chromosomal patterns that do not fit standard definitions of male or female--I grew up in the body I was born with because my parents did not have my sex characteristics surgically altered at birth. It wasn't until I was twenty-six and encountered the term intersex in a San Francisco newspaper that I finally had a name for my difference. That's when I began to explore what it means to live in the space between genders--to be both and neither. I tried living as a feminine woman, an androgynous person, and even for a brief period of time as a man. Good friends would not recognize me, and gay men would hit on me. My gender fluidity was exciting, and in many ways freeing--but it could also be isolating. I had to know if there were other intersex people like me, but when I finally found an intersex community to connect with I was shocked, and then deeply upset, to learn that most of the people I met had been scarred, both physically and psychologically, by infant surgeries and hormone treatments meant to "correct" their bodies. Realizing that the invisibility of intersex people in society facilitated these practices, I made it my mission to bring an end to it--and became one of the first people to voluntarily come out as intersex at a national and then international level. Born Both is the story of my lifelong journey toward finding love and embracing my authentic identity in a world that insists on categorizing people into either/or, and of my decades-long fight for human rights and equality for intersex people everywhere.
ISBN: 9780316347846
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Claiming the B in LGBT by Kate Harrad (Editor) Even as the broader LGBT community enjoys political and societal advances in North America, the bisexual community still today contends with decades of misinformation stereotyping them as innately indecisive, self-loathing, and untrustworthy. Claiming the B in LGBT strives to give bisexuals a seat at the table. This guidebook to the history and future of the bisexual movement fuses a chronology of bisexual organizing with essays, poems, and articles detailing the lived experiences of bisexual activities struggling against a dominant culture driven by norms of monosexual attraction, compulsory monogamy, and inflexible notions of gender expression and identity. Kate Harrad's anthology of a thriving identity yearning to realize itself provides a vision of bisexuality that is beyond gay and straight, rather than left to merely occupy the space between.
ISBN: 9781944934606
Publication Date: 2018-10-05
Coming Out by Kezia Endsley Coming Out: Insights and Tips for Teenagers offers compassionate insight into the hows and whys of coming out. Whether you are struggling with coming out yourself or wanting to help a friend or family member, this book seeks to provide answers to some of the questions you may have. Written from the perspective of the LGBTQIA+ community with firsthand accounts from fellow teenagers, this book addresses the issues and concerns of today that will resonate with anyone wishing to come out and live a happy, fulfilled life surrounded by people who love and accept them. You will learn -how to know when you or a loved one is ready to come out -who to tell first -how to deal with unsupportive people -how to deal with homophobia -how to move into loving self-acceptance With helpful tips and a list of online resources for making connections and more, this book will provide you with all the important information you might need to come out successfully and build a strong relationship with those around you.
ISBN: 9781538135730
Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Coming Out Queer Online by Patrick M. Johnson The Digital Closet: LGBT*Q Identities and Affective Politics in a Social Media Age discusses how LGBT*Q individuals occupy a precarious space within society as a marginalized community in the United States. They are afforded representation in some venues yet are often invisible. Through social media, LGBT*Q individuals have sought new ways to forge communities and increase their visibility. This rise in visibility afforded individuals means to seek out and distribute information to help in the coming out process. Combining archival research, observation, interviews, and visual discourse analysis of social media feeds, the Patrick Johnson examines the role social media plays in expressions of LGBT*Q politics, culture, and coming out. Despite the messages not having changed fundamentally, the improved access to LGBT*Q stories have amplified the ones that are sent. Johnson argues that this is positive in acting as intervention for LGBT*Q suicide rates, hate crimes, and discrimination from the outside. However, the author also contends that it has vastly re-centered and prioritized white, cisgender, masculinity, obscuring other stories and creating potentially dangerous environments for POC, women, trans* individuals, and gay men who do not meet this high standard of masculinity. Scholars of gender studies, media studies, and queer theory will find this book particularly interesting.
ISBN: 9781793613462
Publication Date: 2020-08-03
A Comprehensive Guide to Intersex by Jay Kyle Petersen; Christina M. Laukaitis (Foreword by) This comprehensive yet accessible resource provides readers with everything they need to know about intersex - people who are born with any range of sex characteristics that might not fit typical binary notions about male and female bodies. Covering a wide variety of topics in an easy-to-read way, the book explores what intersex is, what it is not, a detailed overview of its 40 or so different variations, historical and social aspects of intersex and medical intervention, along with practical, proven advice on how professionals can help and support intersex people. Written by an intersex man with over 65 years of first-hand experience, this book is an ideal introduction for any medical, health and social care professional or student, as well as family members and friends, seeking to improve their practice and knowledge.
ISBN: 9781785926327
Publication Date: 2020-12-21
Everything You Ever Wanted to Know about Trans (but Were Afraid to Ask) by Brynn Tannehill Leading activist and essayist Brynn Tannehill tells you everything you ever wanted to know about transgender issues but were afraid to ask. The book aims to break down deeply held misconceptions about trans people across all aspects of life, from politics, law and culture, through to science, religion and mental health, to provide readers with a deeper understanding of what it means to be trans. The book walks the reader through transgender issues, starting with "What does transgender mean?" before moving on to more complex topics including growing up trans, dating and sex, medical and mental health, and debates around gender and feminism. Brynn also challenges deliberately deceptive information about transgender people being put out into the public sphere. Transphobic myths are debunked and biased research, bad statistics and bad science are carefully and clearly refuted. This important and engaging book enables any reader to become informed the most critical public conversations around transgender people, and become a better ally as a result.
ISBN: 9781784509569
Publication Date: 2018-11-21
Greedy: Notes from a Bisexual Who Wants Too Much by Jen Winston Named one of the Best Books of 2021 by Oprah Daily, Glamour, Shondaland, BuzzFeed, and more! A hilarious and whip-smart collection of essays, offering an intimate look at bisexuality, gender, and, of course, sex. Perfect for fans of Lindy West, Samantha Irby, and Rebecca Solnit--and anyone who wants, and deserves, to be seen. If Jen Winston knows one thing for sure, it's that she's bisexual. Or wait--maybe she isn't? Actually, she definitely is. Unless...she's not? Jen's provocative, laugh-out-loud debut takes us inside her journey of self-discovery, leading us through stories of a childhood "girl crush," an onerous quest to have a threesome, and an enduring fear of being bad at sex. Greedy follows Jen's attempts to make sense of herself as she explores the role of the male gaze, what it means to be "queer enough," and how to overcome bi stereotypes when you're the posterchild for all of them: greedy, slutty, and constantly confused. With her clever voice and clear-eyed insight, Jen draws on personal experiences with sexism and biphobia to understand how we all can and must do better. She sheds light on the reasons women, queer people, and other marginalized groups tend to make ourselves smaller, provoking the question: What would happen if we suddenly stopped? Greedy shows us that being bisexual is about so much more than who you're sleeping with--it's about finding stability in a state of flux and defining yourself on your own terms. This book inspires us to rethink the world as we know it, reminding us that Greedy was a superpower all along.
ISBN: 9781982179182
Publication Date: 2021-10-05
Happy Together by Sharon Scales Rostosky; Ellen D. B. Riggle As more states strike down laws restricting marriage to "one man and one woman", same-sex relationships are becoming more visible and more socially accepted. Nevertheless, many couples still experience significant stress because of their same-sex status. In every life context -- family, work, neighborhood, religious communities, and in social and legal contexts -- same-sex couples have to make decisions about disclosure, how to respond to prejudice, and how to cope with negative feelings about themselves and their experiences. This book helps couples work together to identify, develop, and use their strengths and skills to successfully navigate these issues and flourish. Tough tasks like confronting prejudice will never be easy, but thanks to the stories, tools, and resources presented in this book, readers will learn to manage such situations in a positive way. Learning activities in each chapter guide couples to become more aware of the causes of stress in their relationship, and to take positive actions to strengthen their commitment. Readers will learn how to cultivate the strengths of their LGBTQ identities, assert appropriate boundaries, create supportive relationships with others, and contribute authentically to their families and communities.
ISBN: 9781433819537
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
How to They/Them by Stuart Getty; Brooke Thyng (Illustrator) "This tender, smart, personal book is a gift.Stuart Getty generously shows us, with witty illustrations and kind humor, the hows and whys of they/them pronouns. A wonderful and necessary resource that is a delight to read." -Michelle Tea, author of Modern Tarot and Valencia What does nonbinary really mean? What is gender nonconforming? And isn't they a plural pronoun? In this charming and disarming guide, a real-life they-using genderqueer writer unpacks all your burning questions in a fun, visual way. No soapboxes or divisive comment-section wars here! Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always human, this gender-friendly primer will get you up to speed. It's about more than just bathrooms and pronouns--this is about gender expression and the freedom to choose how to identify. While they might only be for some, that freedom is for everyone! " A clear, kind guide to gender nonconformity. Getty's cheeky tone and the punchy black-and-white illustrations by Brooke Thyng make this book a useful reference for anyone with questions about gender, whether their own or those they witness in the larger world." -Booklist "Straightforward, practical, relevant navigation through the radiant world of gender fluidity." -Kirkus Reviews
ISBN: 9781632173133
Publication Date: 2020-09-29
Non-Binary Lives by Jos Twist (Editor); LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST 'Essential reading' - THE INDEPENDENT 'Vital and insightful' - OWL FISHER What does it mean to be non-binary in the 21st Century? Our gender identity is impacted by our personal histories; the cultures, communities and countries we are born into; and the places we go and the people we meet. But the representation of contemporary non-binary identities has been limited, until now. Pushing the narrative around non-binary identities further than ever before, this powerful collection of essays represents the breadth of non-binary lives, across the boundaries of race, class, age, sexuality, faith and more. Leading non-binary people share stories of their intersecting lives; how it feels to be non-binary and neurodiverse, the challenges of being a non-binary pregnant person, what it means to be non-binary within the Quaker community, the joy of reaching gender euphoria. This thought-provoking anthology shows that there is no right or wrong way to be non-binary.
ISBN: 9781787753402
Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Older Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans People by Andrew King (Editor); Kathryn Almack (Editor); Yiu Tung Suen (Editor); Sue Westwood (Editor) What does it mean to grow older as a lesbian, gay, bisexual or trans (LGBT) person? What gaps in knowledge about LGBT ageing remain? This timely and innovative book reports on a project funded by the Economic and Social Research Council which aimed to address gaps in knowledge about older LGBT people and their experiences of ageing. The book discusses the project and contains chapters either specially commissioned or written by leading researchers and activists in the field. Informed by a range of theoretical perspectives, empirical research studies, critical observations as well as lived experiences, this book explores areas of LGBT ageing that have been under-studied. These include: bisexual ageing; trans ageing and older trans people's mental health; ethnicity, culture and religion in the lives of older LGBT people and gaps in knowledge about older LGBT people from minority ethnic communities; intergenerational networks; residential and end-of-life care; and the effects of austerity on services. Written in an accessible style, this book is essential for researchers and policy makers interested in the lives of older LGBT people, people who work with older people and teachers and students interested in ageing, gender identity and sexuality.
ISBN: 9781317241102
Publication Date: 2018-10-10
The Queer Advantage by Andrew Gelwicks Meet the LGBTQ+ dealmakers, trailblazers, and glass-ceiling breakers in business, politics, and beyond. The people who are creating national public policy, running billion-dollar tech enterprises, and winning Olympic medals. Andrew Gelwicks interviews the leaders who have forged their own paths and changed the world. From Troye Sivan to Margaret Cho, George Takei to Billie Jean King, Shangela to Adam Rippon, each person credits their queer identity with giving them an edge in their paths to success. Their stories brim with the hard-won lessons gained over their careers. With variances in age, background, careers, and races, key themes shine through: Channeling anger in a positive way -- using it as rocket fuel to succeed Leveraging your difference to beget new ideas and strategies Bridging generational gaps Accessing resources to conquer crippling denial, internalized homophobia, and doubt The power of the Internet as a tool of self-discovery Using your sensitivity and attunement to read the room, deciding when to fit in and when to stand out Finding a queer tribe and learning to help and lean on one another Collecting incisive, deeply personal conversations with LGBTQ+ trailblazers about how they leveraged the challenges and insights they had as relative outsiders to succeed in the worlds of business, tech, politics, Hollywood, sports and beyond, The Queer Advantage celebrates the unique, supercharged power of queerness.
ISBN: 9780306874628
Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Queer America: a GLBT History of the 20th Century by Vicki L. Eaklor Perhaps no topic today is politically more divisive than homosexuality, particularly when it is coupled with the deeply rooted concept of civil rights. This work focuses on 20th/21st- century U. S. history as it pertains to GLBT history. Major issues and events such as the Stonewall riot, Don't Ask, Don't Tell in the military, same-sex marriage, gay rights, gay pride, organizations and alliances, AIDS, and legal battles and court cases are discussed. Also included are sidebars highlighting major debates, legal landmarks and key individuals. A timeline and further reading sections concluding each chapter as well as a full bibliography and black and white images enhance the text. In these opening years of the 21st century in the United States, perhaps no topic is more divisive than homosexuality, particularly when it is coupled with the deeply rooted concept of civil rights. The same-sex marriage debate, for example, is but part of a larger discussion over issues crucial to American life, such as the role of law in the lives of individuals, relationships among law, economics, and morality, and the values thought to distinguish and define us. GLBT history is not just the struggle for rights, it is people simply living their lives the best they knew how regardless of the terms they or others use for them. This work focuses on U. S. history and, within that, the 20th century, particularly because the vast majority of work in GLBT history has been during this place and time. Major issues and events such as the Stonewall riot, Don't Ask, Don't Tell in the military, same-sex marriage, gay rights, gay pride, organizations and alliances, AIDS, and legal battles and court cases are discussed. Included in this reference work are sidebars highlighting major debates, legal landmarks and key individuals. A timeline and further reading sections concluding each chapter as well as a full bibliography and black and white images enhance the text.
ISBN: 9780313071751
Publication Date: 2008-03-30
A Queer History of the United States by Michael Bronski Winner of a 2012 Stonewall Book Award in nonfiction The first book to cover the entirety of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, from pre-1492 to the present. In the 1620s, Thomas Morton broke from Plymouth Colony and founded Merrymount, which celebrated same-sex desire, atheism, and interracial marriage. Transgender evangelist Jemima Wilkinson, in the early 1800s, changed her name to "Publick Universal Friend," refused to use pronouns, fought for gender equality, and led her own congregation in upstate New York. In the mid-nineteenth century, internationally famous Shakespearean actor Charlotte Cushman led an openly lesbian life, including a well-publicized "female marriage." And in the late 1920s, Augustus Granville Dill was fired by W. E. B. Du Bois from the NAACP's magazine the Crisis after being arrested for a homosexual encounter. These are just a few moments of queer history that Michael Bronski highlights in this groundbreaking book. Intellectually dynamic and endlessly provocative, A Queer History of the United States is more than a "who's who" of queer history: it is a book that radically challenges how we understand American history. Drawing upon primary documents, literature, and cultural histories, noted scholar and activist Michael Bronski charts the breadth of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, from 1492 to the 1990s, and has written a testament to how the LGBT experience has profoundly shaped our country, culture, and history. A Queer History of the United States abounds with startling examples of unknown or often ignored aspects of American history--the ineffectiveness of sodomy laws in the colonies, the prevalence of cross-dressing women soldiers in the Civil War, the impact of new technologies on LGBT life in the nineteenth century, and how rock music and popular culture were, in large part, responsible for the devastating backlash against gay rights in the late 1970s. Most striking, Bronski documents how, over centuries, various incarnations of social purity movements have consistently attempted to regulate all sexuality, including fantasies, masturbation, and queer sex. Resisting these efforts, same-sex desire flourished and helped make America what it is today. At heart, A Queer History of the United States is simply about American history. It is a book that will matter both to LGBT people and heterosexuals. This engrossing and revelatory history will make readers appreciate just how queer America really is.
ISBN: 9780807044391
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
A Quick and Easy Guide to Asexuality by Molly Muldoon; Will Hernandez (Illustrator) "An engaging and essential handbook for anyone interested in gaining insight into an oft-misunderstood community." -- Library Journal This book is for anyone who wants to learn about asexuality, and for Ace people themselves, to validate their experiences. 2023 YALSA Great Graphic Novel for Teens 2023 ALA Rainbow Booklist Selection 2022 Chicago Public Library Best Book Asexuality is often called The Invisible Orientation. You don't learn about it in school, you don't hear "ace" on television. So, it's kinda hard to be ace in a society so steeped in sex that no one knows you exist. Too many young people grow up believing that their lack of sexual desire means they are broken - so writer Molly Muldoon and cartoonist Will Hernandez, both in the ace community, are here to shed light on society's misconceptions of asexuality and what being ace is really like. This book is for anyone who wants to learn about asexuality, and for Ace people themselves, to validate their experiences. Asexuality is a real identity and it's time the world recognizes it. Here's to being invisible no more! 
ISBN: 9781620108598
Publication Date: 2022-03-29
Reclaiming Two-Spirits by Gregory D. Smithers; Raven E. Heavy Runner (Foreword by) A sweeping history of Indigenous traditions of gender, sexuality, and resistance that reveals how, despite centuries of colonialism, Two-Spirit people are reclaiming their place in Native nations. Reclaiming Two-Spirits decolonizes the history of gender and sexuality in Native North America. It honors the generations of Indigenous people who had the foresight to take essential aspects of their cultural life and spiritual beliefs underground in order to save them. Before 1492, hundreds of Indigenous communities across North America included people who identified as neither male nor female, but both. They went by aakíí'skassi, miati, okitcitakwe or one of hundreds of other tribally specific identities. After European colonizers invaded Indian Country, centuries of violence and systematic persecution followed, imperiling the existence of people who today call themselves Two-Spirits, an umbrella term denoting feminine and masculine qualities in one person. Drawing on written sources, archaeological evidence, art, and oral storytelling, Reclaiming Two-Spirits spans the centuries from Spanish invasion to the present, tracing massacres and inquisitions and revealing how the authors of colonialism's written archives used language to both denigrate and erase Two-Spirit people from history. But as Gregory Smithers shows, the colonizers failed--and Indigenous resistance is core to this story. Reclaiming Two-Spirits amplifies their voices, reconnecting their history to Native nations in the 21st century.
ISBN: 9780807003466
Publication Date: 2022-04-26
She/He/They/Me by Robyn Ryle An accessible guide for learning about gender identity for those questioning their own genders, generally curious about gender, or interested in better understanding someone else's identity. If you've ever questioned the logic of basing an entire identity around what you have between your legs, it's time to embark on a daring escape outside of the binary box. Written in a choose-your-own path style, you'll explore over one hundred different scenarios that embrace nearly every definition of gender around the globe and throughout history in a refreshingly creative exploration of the ways gender colors and shapes our world. In She/He/They/Me, Dr. Robyn Ryle, professor of sociology and gender studies at Hanover College in Indiana, thoughtfully discusses gender constructs, expectations, and transitions along with covering everything from the science, biology, and psychology of gender to the philosophy, legality and societal implications. This is a must-read for better understanding and celebrating LGBTQ+, nonbinary, and transgender identities and a great resource for parents of gender queer kids. Praise for She/He/They/Me: "An engaging, choose-your-own-adventure-style guide to gender that encourages readers to travel down paths with which they may not be familiar. These guided thought experiments are opportunities to consider just how strongly our gender assignments influence our daily lives."--Psychology Today "Light and accessible, this is a smart and streamlined journey through the nuances of gender identity."--Booklist
ISBN: 9781492666943
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
This Book Is Gay by Juno Dawson; David Levithan (Introduction by) The bestselling young adult non-fiction book on sexuality and gender! Lesbian. Gay. Bisexual. Transgender. Queer. Straight. Curious. This book is for everyone, regardless of gender or sexual preference. This book is for anyone who's ever dared to wonder. This book is for YOU. There's a long-running joke that, after "coming out," a lesbian, gay guy, bisexual, or trans person should receive a membership card and instruction manual. THIS IS THAT INSTRUCTION MANUAL. You're welcome. Inside you'll find the answers to all the questions you ever wanted to ask, with topics like: Stereotypes -- the facts and fiction Coming out as LGBT Where to meet people like you The ins and outs of gay sex Stereotypes -- the facts and fiction How to flirt And so much more! This candid, funny, and uncensored exploration of sexuality and what it's like to grow up LGBTQ also includes real stories from people across the gender and sexual spectrums, not to mention hilarious illustrations. You will be entertained. You will be informed. But most importantly, you will know that however you identify (or don't) and whomever you love, you are exceptional. You matter. And so does this book. This book is for: Anyone with questions Parents of gay kids and other LGBT youth Educators looking for advice about the LGBTQIA+ community Praise for This Book is Gay: A Guardian Best Book of the Year 2018 Garden State Teen Book Award Winner "The book every LGBT person would have killed for as a teenager, told in the voice of a wise best friend. Frank, warm, funny, USEFUL." --Patrick Ness, New York Times bestselling author "This egregious gap has now been filled to a fare-thee-well by Dawson's book."--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW*
ISBN: 9781492617853
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Trans* in College by Kristen A. Renn (Foreword by); Z. Nicolazzo; Stephen John Quaye (Afterword by) WINNER of 2017 AERA DIVISION J OUTSTANDING PUBLICATION AWARD CHOICE 2017 Outstanding Academic Title This is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders. This book is addressed as much to trans* students themselves - offering them a frame to understand the genders that mark them as different and to address the feelings brought on by the weight of that difference - as it is to faculty, student affairs professionals, and college administrators, opening up the implications for the classroom and the wider campus. This book not only remedies the paucity of literature on trans* college students, but does so from a perspective of resiliency and agency. Rather than situating trans* students as problems requiring accommodation, this book problematizes the college environment and frames trans* students as resilient individuals capable of participating in supportive communities and kinship networks, and of developing strategies to promote their own success. Z Nicolazzo provides the reader with a nuanced and illuminating review of the literature on gender and sexuality that sheds light on the multiplicity of potential expressions and outward representations of trans* identity as a prelude to the ethnography ze conducted with nine trans* collegians that richly documents their interactions with, and responses to, environments ranging from the unwittingly offensive to explicitly antagonistic. The book concludes by giving space to the study's participants to themselves share what they want college faculty, staff, and students to know about their lived experiences. Two appendices respectively provide a glossary of vocabulary and terms to address commonly asked questions, and a description of the study design, offered as guide for others considering working alongside marginalized population in a manner that foregrounds ethics, care, and reciprocity.
ISBN: 9781620364574
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by Laura Erickson-Schroth (Editor) There is no one way to be transgender. Transgender and gender non-conforming people have many different ways of understanding their gender identities. Only recently have sex and gender been thought of as separate concepts, and we have learned that sex (traditionally thought of as physical or biological) is as variable as gender (traditionally thought of as social).While trans people share many common experiences, there is immense diversity within trans communities. There are an estimated 700,000 transgendered individuals in the US and 15 million worldwide. Even still, there's been a notable lack of organized information for this sizable group.Trans Bodies, Trans Selves is a revolutionary resource-a comprehensive, reader-friendly guide for transgender people, with each chapter written by transgender or genderqueer authors. Inspired by Our Bodies, Ourselves, the classic and powerful compendium written for and by women, Trans Bodies, Trans Selves is widely accessible to the transgender population, providing authoritative information in an inclusive and respectful way and representing the collective knowledge base of dozens of influential experts. Each chapter takes the reader through an important transgender issue, such as race, religion, employment, medical and surgical transition, mental health topics, relationships, sexuality, parenthood, arts and culture, and many more.Anonymous quotes and testimonials from transgender people who have been surveyed about their experiences are woven throughout, adding compelling, personal voices to every page. In this unique way, hundreds of viewpoints from throughout the community have united to create this strong and pioneering book. It is a welcoming place for transgender and gender-questioning people, their partners and families, students, professors, guidance counselors, and others to look for up-to-date information on transgender life.
ISBN: 9780199325368
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Transgender History by Susan Stryker Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Chapters cover the transsexual and transvestite communities in the years following World War II; trans radicalism and social change, which spanned from 1966 with the publication of The Transsexual Phenomenon, and lasted through the early 1970s; the mid-'70s to 1990-the era of identity politics and the changes witnessed in trans circles through these years; and the gender issues witnessed through the '90s and '00s. Transgender History includes informative sidebars highlighting quotes from major texts and speeches in transgender history and brief biographies of key players, plus excerpts from transgender memoirs and discussion of treatments of transgenderism in popular culture.
ISBN: 9781580052245
Publication Date: 2008-05-06
Understanding Asexuality by Anthony F. Bogaert Asexuality can be defined as an enduring lack of sexual attraction. Thus, asexual individuals do not find (and perhaps never have) others sexually appealing. Some consider "asexuality" as a fourth category of sexual orientation, distinct from heterosexuality, homosexuality, or bisexuality. However, there is also recent evidence that the label "asexual" may be used in a broader way than merely as "a lack of sexual attraction." People who say they have sexual attraction to others, but indicate little or no desire for sexual activity are also self-identifying as asexual. Distinct from celibacy, which refers to sexual abstinence by choice where sexual attraction and desire may still be present, asexuality is experienced by those having a lack or sexual attraction or a lack of sexual desire. More and more, those who identify as asexual are "coming out," joining up, and forging a common identity. The time is right for a better understanding of this sexual orientation, written by an expert in the field who has conducted studies on asexuality and who has provided important contributions to understanding asexuality. This timely resource will be one of the first books written on the topic for general readers, and the first to look at the historical, biological, and social aspects of asexuality. It includes firsthand accounts throughout from people who identify as asexual. The study of asexuality, as it contrasts so clearly with sexuality, also holds up a lens and reveals clues to the mystery of sexuality.
ISBN: 9781442200999
Publication Date: 2012-08-09
You're in the Wrong Bathroom! by Laura Erickson-Schroth; Laura A. Jacobs This "insightful and instructive primer" debunks the twenty-one most common myths and misconceptions about transgender issues-"buy this book and share it with your whole family" (Bust) From Laverne Cox and Caitlyn Jenner to Thomas Beatie ("the pregnant man") and transgender youth, coverage of trans lives has been exploding-yet so much misinformation persists. Bringing together the medical, social, psychological, and political aspects of being trans in the United States today, "You're in the Wrong Bathroom!" unpacks the twenty-one most common myths and misconceptions about transgender and gender-nonconforming people. Authors Laura Erickson-Schroth, MD, a psychiatrist, and Laura A. Jacobs, LCSW-R, a psychotherapist, address a range of fallacies- . Trans People Are "Trapped in the Wrong Body" .You're Not Really Trans If You Haven't Had "the Surgery" .Trans People Are a Danger to Others, Especially Children .Trans People Are Mentally Ill and Therapy Can Change Them .Trans People and Feminists Don't Get Along
ISBN: 9780807033890
Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Straights by James Joseph Dean Explores how straight Americans make sense of their sexual and gendered selves Since the Stonewall Riots in 1969, the politics of sexual identity in America have drastically transformed. It's almost old news that recent generations of Americans have grown up in a culture more accepting of out lesbians and gay men, seen the proliferation of LGBTQ media representation, and witnessed the attainment of a range of legal rights for same-sex couples. But the changes wrought by a so-called "post-closeted culture" have not just affected the queer community--heterosexuals are also in the midst of a sea change in how their sexuality plays out in everyday life. In Straights, James Joseph Dean argues that heterosexuals can neither assume the invisibility of gays and lesbians, nor count on the assumption that their own heterosexuality will go unchallenged. The presumption that we are all heterosexual, or that there is such a thing as 'compulsory heterosexuality,' he claims, has vanished. Based on 60 in-depth interviews with a diverse group of straight men and women, Straights explores how straight Americans make sense of their sexual and gendered selves in this new landscape, particularly with an understanding of how race does and does not play a role in these conceptions. Dean provides a historical understanding of heterosexuality and how it was first established, then moves on to examine the changing nature of masculinity and femininity and, most importantly, the emergence of a new kind of heterosexuality--notably, for men, the metrosexual, and for women, the emergence of a more fluid sexuality. The book also documents the way heterosexuals interact and form relationships with their LGBTQ family members, friends, acquaintances, and coworkers. Although homophobia persists among straight individuals, Dean shows that being gay-friendly or against homophobic expressions is also increasingly common among straight Americans. A fascinating study, Straights provides an in-depth look at the changing nature of sexual expression in America.
ISBN: 9780814762752
Publication Date: 2014-08-01

Background Articles

LGBTQIA+ Activism & Allyship

Acting Out: Combating Homophobia Through Teacher Activism by Mollie V. Blackburn (Editor); Caroline T. Clark (Editor); Lauren M. Kenney (Editor); Jill M. Smith (Editor); Susan L. Lytle (Series edited by); Marilyn Cochran-Smith (Series edited by) In this volume, teachers from urban, suburban, and rural districts join together in a teacher-inquiry group to challenge homophobia and heterosexism in schools and classrooms. To create safe learning environments for all students they address key topics, including seizing teachable moments, organizing faculty, deciding whether to come out in the classroom, using LGBTQ-inclusive texts, running a Gay-Straight Alliance, changing district policy to protect LGBTQ teachers and students, dealing with resistant students, and preparing preservice teachers to do antihomophobia work. Book Features: Examples of antihomophobia teaching across elementary, secondary, and university contexts, and discussions of the consequences of this work. Concrete discussions of how to start a teacher-inquiry group, and the challenges and rewards of engaging in teacher activism. A comprehensive annotated bibliography of texts that address homophobia and heterosexism.
ISBN: 9780807750315
Publication Date: 2009-11-15
The Book of Pride by Mason Funk THE BOOK OF PRIDE captures the true story of the gay rights movement from the 1960s to the present, through richly detailed, stunning interviews with the leaders, activists, and ordinary people who witnessed the movement and made it happen. These individuals fought battles both personal and political, often without the support of family or friends, frequently under the threat of violence and persecution. By shining a light on these remarkable stories of bravery and determination, THE BOOK OF PRIDE not only honors an important chapter in American history, but also empowers young people today (both LGBTQ and straight) to discover their own courage in order to create positive change. Furthermore, it serves a critically important role in ensuring the history of the LGBTQ movement can never be erased, inspiring us to resist all forms of oppression with ferocity, community, and, most importantly, pride
ISBN: 9780062571700
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Celebrating Difference by Shaun Dellenty RECOMMENDED BY LORD MICHAEL CASHMAN IN UK PARLIAMENT, APRIL 2019'Essential and valuable reading for every teacher and school leader.' Peter Tatchell'A huge stride towards genuine organisational change.' Dr Joseph Hall'An outstanding book.' Professor Jonathan GlazzardCelebrating Difference is an inspiring handbook for LGBT+ inclusion, aimed at all primary and secondary teachers and leaders. Written by Shaun Dellenty, internationally celebrated lead in LGBT+ inclusion in education, it is filled with practical advice to enable schools to bring about organisational change to ensure the safety, success, mental health and wellbeing of all pupils and staff.This ground-breaking book examines the roots and impact of identity-based prejudice in schools, drawing on Shaun's own experiences of homophobic bullying and his subsequent career as a teacher and school leader. The core of the book is based on Shaun's award-winning training programme Inclusion For All, endorsed by the Department for Education, presenting an effective approach to LGBT+ inclusion at a whole-school level. This includes practical strategies to eradicate prejudice, prevent bullying, embrace diversity and improve whole-school outcomes such as attendance and attainment, as well as mindfulness techniques and ideas for INSET training sessions and school assemblies. Case studies and interviews with pupils and teachers who have experienced the Inclusion For All process and unique research insights from Dr Joseph Hall, University of Leeds, demonstrate how the strategies work in practice. Clear guidance will also enable schools to comply with Ofsted and statutory equality legislation, and help them to teach children about British values, basic human rights and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC).Written with warmth, humour and compassion, this is a must-read guide for all teachers and school leaders who wish to promote inclusion, celebrate difference and ensure safer futures for all young people.
ISBN: 9781472961495
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
The End of Straight Supremacy by Shannon Gilreath Rooted in the politics and theories of early gay liberation and radical feminism, Shannon Gilreath's The End of Straight Supremacy presents a cohesive theory of gay life under straight domination. Beginning with a critique of formal equality law, centering on the 'like-straight' demands of liberal equality theory as highlighted in Lawrence v. Texas, Gilreath moves to criticize the gay movement itself, challenging the assimilation politics behind the movement's blithe acceptance of discrimination in the guise of free speech and pornography in the name of sexual liberation, as well as same-sex marriage and transsexuality as tools of straight hegemony. Ultimately, Gilreath rejects both the liberal demand for gay erasure in exchange for meager legal progress and the gay establishment agenda. In The End of Straight Supremacy, Gilreath calls gays and their allies to the difficult task of rethinking what liberation and equality really mean.
ISBN: 9780521181044
Publication Date: 2011-09-19
The Gay Revolution by Lillian Faderman; Donna Postel (Narrated by) The fight for gay, lesbian, and trans civil rights-the years of outrageous injustice, the early battles, the heartbreaking defeats, and the victories beyond the dreams of the gay rights pioneers-is the most important civil rights issue of the present day. Based on rigorous research and more than 150 interviews, The Gay Revolution tells this unfinished story not through dry facts but through dramatic accounts of passionate struggles, with all the sweep, depth, and intricacies that only an award-winning activist, scholar, and novelist like Lillian Faderman can evoke.The Gay Revolution begins in the 1950s, when law classified gays and lesbians as criminals, the psychiatric profession saw them as mentally ill, the churches saw them as sinners, and society victimized them with irrational hatred. Against this dark backdrop, a few brave people began to fight back, paving the way for the revolutionary changes of the 1960s and beyond. Faderman discusses the protests in the 1960s, the counter reaction of the 1970s and early eighties, the decimated but united community during the AIDS epidemic, and the current hurdles for the right to marriage equality.
ISBN: 9781494597184
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
Gender Ambiguity in the Workplace: Transgender and Gender-Diverse Discrimination by Alison Ash Fogarty; Lily Zheng The transgender community is more visible now than ever before, but the diversity within this community has remained obscure in the workplace as organizations, corporations, and institutions struggle to keep up with the rate at which transgender communities are gaining visibility. For leaders seeking best practices related to bathroom access, workplace transition, hiring practices, inclusive workplace culture, and more, this book offers guidance and novel policy recommendations designed to ensure the success of transgender employees. Extending the existing theoretical literature on masculinity in the workplace, gender discrimination, and gender performance, the book introduces the new concept of "doing ambiguity." It contains original research complemented by humanizing narratives from transgender people that provide insights into rarely explored non-binary, gender-fluid, and genderless experiences. In addition, it identifies factors that may preclude and minimize discrimination, including strategies pursued by transgender people at the individual level as well as policies employed at the organization level, and outlines a pragmatic set of policy recommendations for employers, community leaders, and others looking to help transgender people thrive in organizational environments.
ISBN: 9781440863233
Publication Date: 2018-04-02
Gender Diversity and Non-Binary Inclusion in the Workplace by Sarah Gibson; J. Fernandez Helping to create inclusive work environments for non-binary people, this book builds knowledge of non-binary identities and provides practical solutions to many of the basic workplace problems this group face. Working with and including non-binary people in the workplace is beneficial for both employer and employee, as it attracts and retains younger and non-binary workers by helping promote an inclusive brand, as well as satisfying equality obligations. Based on novel research of non-binary inclusion within businesses, it provides a basic overview of non-binary people, a business case for inclusion, a brief description of how non-binary people fit into current equality laws and likely future developments in the area. An ideal introduction for companies wishing to embrace all genders in the workplace.
ISBN: 9781784505233
Publication Date: 2018-01-18
Got Solidarity? by Jörg Vianden The 21st Century in the United States continues to be marked by persistent disparities between members of different classes, races, genders, and sexual orientations. Influencers of this society seem bent on polarizing citizens along their diverse identities, often blaming those already disadvantaged for the nation's apparent plights. Elite white men still benefit from a political, economic, and social hegemony and some ardently resist an egalitarian society. Preserving American democracy rests in the hands of young Americans committed to equity and social justice. In Got Solidarity?, Jörg Vianden reports the results from the Straight White College Men Project, a nationwide qualitative study of how heterosexual white college men experience or perceive campus and community diversity issues. In college, few white men tend to engage in majors, discussions, or courses on diversity, inclusion, equity, or social justice. Indeed, many white men say that they have "no place" in these discussions, and more commonly assert that "diversity is not about them." Using a sociological perspective, the author chronicles their upbringing in families and schools, their perspectives on race, gender, and sexual orientation, as well as their trepidations on challenging oppression they notice taking place around them. Their stories lead to a renewed understanding of how white disengagement constrains progress toward a just society. This book offers strategies for enhancing college teaching and learning, adds to the body of research on identity development theory, and provides implications for improving campus climates, fostering social justice advocacy, as well as re-designing programs promoting understanding of human differences. Written especially for straight white male college students, as well as for educators at all levels, this book　underscores the critical need for whites to raise consciousness, activate empathy, and build solidarity with members of minoritized social groups. Given the current American predicament, Got Solidarity? makes a timely contribution to our understanding of masculinity and endeavors to create a just society.
ISBN: 9781315622996
Publication Date: 2019-11-18
Harvey Milk by Safia Amor; Ruth Diver (Translator) Here is the incredible story of Harvey Milk, one of the greatest fighters for gay rights. Called ""the most famous and most significantly open LGBT official ever elected in the United States," Harvey Milk fought against discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation. In the 1970s when Harvey is elected into office in San Francisco, homosexual relations are still against the law in the United States, and homophobia is being stoked by outspoken conservatives and the religious right. Just ten months after being elected, Milk and San Francisco Mayor George Moscone are assassinated by a homophobic former colleague. The killer finds sympathy from his jurors and gets a light sentence. Milk's death becomes a metaphor for the experience of gays in America and his legend as a fighter for gay rights is cemented.
ISBN: 9781644211854
Publication Date: 2023-02-28
How to Stop Homophobic and Biphobic Bullying by Jonathan Charlesworth; Prof Peter Smith (Foreword by) This vital teachers' guide to challenging homophobic and biphobic bullying offers unique insights to address the issue at its core. With a renewed focus on a whole school approach, it builds capacity in those who work with young people and inspires an inclusive approach in every setting. Laying out clear advice on how to recognise, stop and prevent homophobic and biphobic bullying, readers are given strategies to work with its perpetrators, bystanders and targets. The author explains how to handle disclosures regarding sexual orientation and provides advice on effective Anti-Bullying Policy referencing homophobic and biphobic bullying. Based upon the work of the UK's leading and award-winning LGBT+ anti-bullying charity Educational Action Challenging Homophobia (EACH) this book additionally explores why young people are too often reluctant to report these forms of bullying; the increasing role of the online environment and the profound impacts bullying can have well into adulthood. Written by an expert in this field, this essential guide is for teachers, youth workers, the care sector and anyone with a duty of care towards young people.
ISBN: 9781787753075
Publication Date: 2020-08-21
Love and Resistance by Diana Davies; Roxane Gay; Jason Baumann; Kay Tobin Lahusen A ragtag group of women protesting behind a police line in the rain. A face in a crowd holding a sign that says, "Hi Mom, Guess What!" at a gay rights rally. Two lovers kissing under a tree. These indelible images are among the thousands housed in the New York Public Library's archive of photographs of 1960s and '70s LGBTQ history from photojournalists Kay Tobin Lahusen and Diana Davies. Lahusen is a pioneering photojournalist who captured pivotal moments in the LGBTQ civil rights movement. Davies, in turn, is one of the most important photojournalists who documented gay, lesbian, and trans liberation, as well as civil rights, feminist, and antiwar movements.This powerful collection--which captures the energy, humor, and humanity of the groundbreaking protests that surrounded the Stonewall Riots--celebrates the diversity of this rights movement, both in the subjects of the photos and by presenting Lahusen and Davies' distinctive work and perspectives in conversation with each other. A preface, captions, and part introductions from curator Jason Baumann provide illuminating historical context. And an introduction from Roxane Gay, best-selling author of Hunger, speaks to the continued importance of these iconic photos of resistance.
ISBN: 9781324002062
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Love Wins by Debbie Cenziper; Jim Obergefell The fascinating and very moving story of the lovers, lawyers, judges and activists behind the groundbreaking Supreme Court case that led to one of the most important, national civil rights victories in decades--the legalization of same-sex marriage. In June 2015, the Supreme Court made same-sex marriage the law in all fifty states in a decision as groundbreaking as Roe v Wade and Brown v Board of Education. Through insider accounts and access to key players, this definitive account reveals the dramatic and previously unreported events behind Obergefell v Hodges and the lives at its center. This is a story of law and love--and a promise made to a dying man who wanted to know how he would be remembered. Twenty years ago, Jim Obergefell and John Arthur fell in love in Cincinnati, Ohio, a place where gays were routinely picked up by police and fired from their jobs. In 2013, the Supreme Court ruled that the federal government had to provide married gay couples all the benefits offered to straight couples. Jim and John--who was dying from ALS--flew to Maryland, where same-sex marriage was legal. But back home, Ohio refused to recognize their union, or even list Jim's name on John's death certificate. Then they met Al Gerhardstein, a courageous attorney who had spent nearly three decades advocating for civil rights and who now saw an opening for the cause that few others had before him. This forceful and deeply affecting narrative--Part Erin Brockovich, part Milk, part Still Alice--chronicles how this grieving man and his lawyer, against overwhelming odds, introduced the most important gay rights case in U.S. history. It is an urgent and unforgettable account that will inspire readers for many years to come.
ISBN: 9780062456083
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
One-Dimensional Queer by Roderick A. Ferguson The story of gay rights has long been told as one of single-minded focus on the fight for sexual freedom. Yet its origins are much more complicated than this single-issue interpretation would have us believe, and to ignore gay liberation's multidimensional beginnings is to drastically underestimate its radical potential for social change. Ferguson shows how queer liberation emerged out of various insurgent struggles crossing the politics of race, gender, class, and sexuality, and deeply connected to issues of colonization, incarceration, and capitalism. Tracing the rise and fall of this intersectional politics, he argues that the one-dimensional mainstreaming of queerness falsely placed critiques of racism, capitalism, and the state outside the remit of gay liberation. As recent activism is increasingly making clear, this one-dimensional legacy has promoted forms of exclusion that marginalize queers of color, the poor, and transgender individuals. This forceful book joins the call to reimagine and reconnect the fight for social justice in all its varied forms.
ISBN: 9781509523597
Publication Date: 2018-12-06
Our Work Is Everywhere by Syan Rose; Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha (Foreword by) A visually stunning graphic non-fiction book on queer and trans resistance. Over the past ten years, we have witnessed the rise of queer and trans communities that have defied and challenged those who have historically opposed them. Through bold, symbolic imagery and surrealist, overlapping landscapes, queer illustrator and curator Syan Rose shines a light on the faces and voices of these diverse, amorphous, messy, real, and imagined queer and trans communities. In their own words, queer and trans organizers, artists, healers, comrades, and leaders speak honestly and authentically about their own experiences with power, love, pain, and magic to create a textured and nuanced portrait of queer and trans realities in America. The many themes include Black femme mental health, Pacific Islander authorship, fat queer performance art, disability and health care practice, sex worker activism, and much more. Accompanying the narratives are Rose's startling and sinuous images that brings these leaders' words to visual life. Our Work Is Everywhere is a graphic non-fiction book that underscores the brilliance and passion of queer and trans resistance. Includes a foreword by Lambda Literary Award-winning author and activist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha, author of Care Work: Dreaming Disability Justice. Full-colour throughout.
ISBN: 9781551528151
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Raising LGBTQ Allies by John Chris TOMPKINS No matter who we are or where we come from, we all play on the same playground. There are certain collective societal messages we hear growing up that we either consciously or subconsciously believe. As a result, we develop certain belief systems from which we operate our lives. Raising LGBTQ Allies sheds light on the deeper, multi-faceted layers of homophobia. It opens up a conversation with parents around the possibility they may have an LGBTQ child, and shows how heteronormativity can be harmful if not addressed clearly and early. Although not every parent will have an LGBTQ child, their child will jump rope or play tag with a child who is LGBTQ. By showing readers the importance of having open and authentic conversations with children at a young age, Chris Tompkins walks parents through the many ways they can prevent new generations from adopting homophobic and transphobic beliefs, while helping them explore their own subconscious biases. Offering specific actions parents, family members, and caregivers can take to help navigate conversations, address heteronormativity, and challenge societal beliefs, Raising LGBTQ Allies serves as a guide to help normalize being LGBTQ from a young age. Creating allies and a world where closets don't exist happens one child at a time. And it begins with each of us and what we say, as much as what we choose not to say.
ISBN: 9781538136263
Publication Date: 2021-05-14
The Right to Be Out by Stuart Biegel An updated edition of this measured, practical, and timely guide to LGBT rights and issues for educators and school officials With ongoing battles over transgender rights, bullying cases in the news almost daily, and marriage equality only recently the law of the land, the information in The Right to Be Out could not be more timely or welcome. In an updated second edition that explores the altered legal terrain of LGBT rights for students and educators, Stuart Biegel offers expert guidance on the most challenging concerns in this fraught context.  Taking up the pertinent questions likely to arise regarding curriculum and pedagogy in the classroom, school sports, and transgender issues, Biegel reviews the dramatic legal developments of the past decades, identifies the principles at work, and analyzes the policy considerations that result from these changes. Central to his work is an understanding of the social, political, and personal tensions regarding the nature and extent of the right to be out, which includes both the First Amendment right to express an identity and the Fourteenth Amendment right to be treated equally. Acknowledging that LGBT issues affect people of every sexual orientation and gender identity, Biegel provides a road map of viable strategies for school officials and educators.  The Right to Be Out, informed by the latest research-based findings, advances the proposition that a safe and supportive educational environment, built upon shared values and geared toward a greater appreciation of our pluralistic society, can lead to a better world for everyone.
ISBN: 9781452957982
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
School's Out by Cati Connell How do gay and lesbian teachers negotiate their professional and sexual identities at work, given that these identities are constructed as mutually exclusive, even as mutually opposed? Using interviews and other ethnographic materials from Texas and California, School's Out explores how teachers struggle to create a classroom persona that balances who they are and what's expected of them in a climate of pervasive homophobia. Catherine Connell's examination of the tension between the rhetoric of gay pride and the professional ethic of discretion insightfully connects and considers complicating factors, from local law and politics to gender privilege. She also describes how racialized discourses of homophobia thwart challenges to sexual injustices in schools. Written with ethnographic verve, School's Out is essential reading for specialists and students of queer studies, gender studies, and educational politics.
ISBN: 9780520959804
Publication Date: 2014-11-24
The Stonewall Reader by New York Public Library (Editor); Edmund White (Foreword by); Jason Baumann (Editor, Introduction by) For the fiftieth anniversary of the Stonewall uprising, an anthology chronicling the tumultuous fight for LGBTQ rights in the 1960s and the activists who spearheaded it, with a foreword by Edmund White. Finalist for theRandy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction, presented by The Publishing Triangle Tor.com, Best Books of 2019 (So Far) Harper's Bazaar, The 20 Best LGBTQ Books of 2019 The Advocate, The Best Queer(ish) Non-Fiction Tomes We Read in 2019 June 28, 2019 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the Stonewall uprising, which is considered the most significant event in the gay liberation movement, and the catalyst for the modern fight for LGBTQ rights in the United States. Drawing from the New York Public Library's archives, The Stonewall Reader is a collection of first accounts, diaries, periodic literature, and articles from LGBTQ magazines and newspapers that documented both the years leading up to and the years following the riots. Most importantly the anthology spotlights both iconic activists who were pivotal in the movement, such as Sylvia Rivera, co-founder of Street Transvestites Action Revolutionaries (STAR), as well as forgotten figures like Ernestine Eckstein, one of the few out, African American, lesbian activists in the 1960s. The anthology focuses on the events of 1969, the five years before, and the five years after. Jason Baumann, the NYPL coordinator of humanities and LGBTQ collections, has edited and introduced the volume to coincide with the NYPL exhibition he has curated on the Stonewall uprising and gay liberation movement of 1969.
ISBN: 1984846337
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Violence Against Queer People by Doug Meyer Received a 2016 Stonewall Book Award - Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award Honor Book from the American Library Association Selected as one of "The Best of the Best from the University Presses: Books You Should Know About" at the 2016 ALA Annual Conference Violence against lesbians and gay men has increasingly captured media and scholarly attention. But these reports tend to focus on one segment of the LGBT community--white, middle class men--and largely ignore that part of the community that arguably suffers a larger share of the violence--racial minorities, the poor, and women. In Violence against Queer People, sociologist Doug Meyer offers the first investigation of anti-queer violence that focuses on the role played by race, class, and gender.   Drawing on interviews with forty-seven victims of violence, Meyer shows that LGBT people encounter significantly different forms of violence--and perceive that violence quite differently--based on their race, class, and gender.  His research highlights the extent to which other forms of discrimination--including racism and sexism--shape LGBT people's experience of abuse. He reports, for instance, that lesbian and transgender women often described violent incidents in which a sexual or a misogynistic component was introduced, and that LGBT people of color sometimes weren't sure if anti-queer violence was based solely on their sexuality or whether racism or sexism had also played a role. Meyer observes that given the many differences in how anti-queer violence is experienced, the present media focus on white, middle-class victims greatly oversimplifies and distorts the nature of anti-queer violence. In fact, attempts to reduce anti-queer violence that ignore race, class, and gender run the risk of helping only the most privileged gay subjects. Many feel that the struggle for gay rights has largely been accomplished and the tide of history has swung in favor of LGBT equality. Violence against Queer People, on the contrary, argues that the lives of many LGBT people--particularly the most vulnerable--have improved very little, if at all, over the past thirty years.  
ISBN: 9780813573168
Publication Date: 2015-10-11
We Are Everywhere by Matthew Riemer; Leighton Brown Have pride in history.A rich and sweeping photographic history of the Queer Liberation Movement, from the creators and curators of the massively popular Instagram account LGBT History. "If you think the fight for justice and equality only began in the streets outside Stonewall, with brave patrons of a bar fighting back, you need to readWe Are Everywhereright now."-Anderson Cooper Through the lenses of protest, power, and pride, We Are Everywhere is an essential and empowering introduction to the history of the fight for queer liberation. Combining exhaustively researched narrative with meticulously curated photographs, the book traces queer activism from its roots in late-nineteenth-century Europe-long before the pivotal Stonewall Riots of 1969-to the gender warriors leading the charge today. Featuring more than 300 images from more than seventy photographers and twenty archives, this inclusive and intersectional book enables us to truly see queer history unlike anything before, with glimpses of activism in the decades preceding and following Stonewall, family life, marches, protests, celebrations, mourning, and Pride. By challenging many of the assumptions that dominate mainstream LGBTQ+ history, We Are Everywhere shows readers how they can-and must-honor the queer past in order to shape our liberated future.
ISBN: 9780399581816
Publication Date: 2019-05-07

Background Articles