Getting started
This guide is a collection of resources on various aspects of small business and entrepreneurship. It is meant to be a helpful resource for small business owners or individuals who are planning to start a business. The resources selected for this guide will be relevant to those looking for information on how to start, grow or manage a business. Students enrolled in business programs at NSU will also find useful information, especially for entrepreneurship classes. An entrepreneurship guide more directed towards business students is available here.
There are other additional guides that can be used to support your efforts if you are willing to evaluate certain markets, validate business ideas, learn more about competitors, etc, whether you are a student working on an entrepreneurship project for your class or a business owner testing out a business idea.
- Industry Information guide can help you find ready made industry profiles – some people call them industry reports, industry analyses, industry overviews or other; irrespective of the term used, these are great resources that provide information about how an industry is doing now, its evolution and what to expect in the future. Usual coverage includes sections on: market size, trends, challenges, industry financial ratios, key players, industry evolution and outlook.
- Demographics and market research guide - When launching products or services, expanding into new areas or simply just taking the pulse of their market, most companies will perform some type of market research involving information other than the state of the industry itself. Typically they will gather data about individuals’ age, gender, occupation, income, education, marital status and much more. This guide is full of resources for gathering various types of statistics related to consumer behavior.
- Company information guide is a collection of resources that will help you with your company research. Whether you are looking for information on competitors or trying to identify potential clients or suppliers, use company profiles or analyst reports to get access to company level data you might not have access to otherwise. This could be sales figures, number of employees, company level financial ratios indicative of company performance, market share estimates, names of executives, strengths and weaknesses and more.
Introduction to small business and entrepreneurship
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with small business and entrepreneurship related terms and topics.
30 Days to a More Powerful Business Vocabulary by
Business is just like any sector or topic, with its own language, customs, codes, and terminologies. Different aspects of business can have their own distinctive terminology, which can also overlap. In 30 Days to a More Powerful Business Vocabulary, Dan presents over 500 words and short expressions from a variety of different business categories. Each section introduces approximately twenty-five words. Each of the words are initially presented in a story or conversation, so you can experience the correct context in which the words are used. Dan then discusses each word or phrase and its definition. Finally, he reinforces the word and its meaning with another example in a sentence. And of course, Dan has you make all of the words a part of your permanent vocabulary by using his thirty-day learning program, based on well-known super-learning principles.There are four sections on banking and finance, four on marketing, and four on negotiation. Other sections focus on sales, entrepreneurship, human resources, e-business, leadership, and an all-new section on remote learning!As the world changes, language changes with it-and both are changing very fast. With 30 Days to a More Powerful Business Vocabulary, you'll keep pace with those changes and watch your career benefit as a result!
ISBN: 9781663710413Publication Date: 2021-01-19
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with small business and entrepreneurship related terms and topics.
Encyclopedia of small business by
Provides entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. Features revised and expanded coverage to reflect the most current small business topics.
ISBN: 9781414462677Publication Date: 2017
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with small business and entrepreneurship related terms and topics.
Handbook of Research on Nascent Entrepreneurship and Creating New Ventures by
Due to the 2008-2009 crisis, the United Nations 2030 agenda for sustainable development, and the COVID-19 pandemic, the role of entrepreneurship has become more critical in most economies. Moreover, emerging protectionist policies are further encouraging the emergence of new entrepreneurial projects, particularly to replace goods and services traditionally provided by other countries. Understanding current challenges and best practices in nascent entrepreneurship is integral for the successful launching of new ventures to support the revitalization of economies and achieve sustainability. The Handbook of Research on Nascent Entrepreneurship and Creating New Ventures is a crucial reference source that covers the latest empirical research findings in the field of entrepreneurship and addresses the obstacles entrepreneurs face in these recent challenging times. The book embraces a pluralistic perspective from academicians currently navigating nascent entrepreneurship and key concepts for launching successful new ventures. Covering topics that include government support programs, spin-off companies, leadership, strategic entrepreneurship, and crowdfunding, this book is targeted towards entrepreneurs, professionals, academicians, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 9781799848271Publication Date: 2020-10-09
The Sage handbook of small business and entrepreneurship by
The SAGE Handbook of Small Business and Entrepreneurship offers state-of-the-art chapters on all aspects of this rapidly-evolving discipline. Original contributions from the best international scholars map the development of Entrepreneurship as an academic field, explore its key current debates and research methods, and also consider its future directions.
Publication Date: 2017
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.