Consumer Demographics and Market Research
This guide covers topics related to finding sociodemographic data and how to use these statistics for market research projects.
Getting Started
This guide covers topics related to finding sociodemographic data and how to use these statistics for market research projects.
Merriam-Webster defines demographics as “the statistical characteristics of human populations (such as age or income) used especially to identify markets”.
When launching products or services, expanding into new areas or simply just taking the pulse of their market, most companies will perform some type of market research involving information other than the state of the industry itself. Typically they will gather data about individuals’ age, gender, occupation, income, education, marital status and much more.
While demographics take into account factual information, psychographics are used to classify consumers according to their attitudes, beliefs, interests, lifestyle.
Books
Demographics of the U. S. by
Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections provides a necessary perspective, highlighting the most important trends of the 21st century¿trends everyone should be tracking. Demographics of the U.S. explains the increasingly complex, often confusing, and rapidly changing nation we live in today. It makes sense of our recent past and shines a light on our future. The reference is divided into 11 chapters, organized alphabetically: Attitudes, Education, Health, Housing, Income, Labor Force, Living Arrangements, Population, Spending, Time Use, and Wealth.
ISBN: 9781937737535Publication Date: 2017-07-07
Industry Research Using the Economic Census by
Many business researchers, from novice to expert, have been amazed to find that the answers to their questions could be found in the Economic Censuses provided by the U.S. government. Until now, there have been no comprehensive guides to this valuable resource. Industry Research Using the Economic Census explains Census concepts, methods, terminology, and data sources in an understandable manner, and assists Census users in locating needed Census data. Designed as a working handbook, it does not duplicate the data from the census, but introduces users to the features, uses, and formats of the data. This guidebook also discusses the important changes that the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses introduced from previous versions. Librarians, businesspeople, researchers, faculty, and students will find this guide valuable for mining the riches found in the Economic Censuses.
ISBN: 9781573563512Publication Date: 2004-08-30
Latino Stats by
At a time when politics is seemingly ruled by ideology and emotion and when immigration is one of the most contentious topics, it is more important than ever to cut through the rhetoric and highlight, in numbers, the reality of the broad spectrum of Latino life in the United States. Latinos are both the largest and fastest-growing racial/ethnic group in the country, even while many continue to fight for their status as Americans. Respected movement builder and former leader of the Tides Foundation Idelisse Malav#65533; and her daughter, Celeste Giordani--a communications strategist for the Social Transformation Project--distills the profusion of data, identifying the most telling and engaging facts to assemble a portrait of contemporary Latino life with glimpses of the past and future. From politics and the economy to popular culture, the arts, and ideas about race, gender, and family, Latino Stats both catalogs the inequities that plague Latino communities and documents Latinos’ growing power and influence on American life. An essential tool for advocates, educators, and policy makers, Latino Stats will be a go-to guidebook for anyone wanting to raise their awareness and increase their understanding of the complex state of our nation.
ISBN: 9781620970195Publication Date: 2015-01-27
A Portrait of America by
Portrait of America describes our nation's changing population and examines through a demographic lens some of our most pressing contemporary challenges, ranging from poverty and economic inequality to racial tensions and health disparities. Celebrated authorJohn Iceland covers various topics, including America's historical demographic growth; the American family today; gender inequality; economic well-being; immigration and diversity; racial and ethnic inequality; internal migration and residential segregation; and health and mortality. The discussion of these topics is informed by several sources, including an examination of household survey data, and by syntheses of existing published material, both quantitative and qualitative. Iceland discusses the current issues and controversies around these themes, highlighting their role in everyday debates taking place in Congress, the media, and in American living rooms. Each chapter includes historical background, as well as a discussion of how patterns and trends in the United States compare to those in peer countries.
ISBN: 9780520959101Publication Date: 2014-09-05
The Routledge Companion to Marketing Research by
This single-volume reference provides an alternative to traditional marketing research methods handbooks, focusing entirely on the new and innovative methods and technologies that are transforming marketing research and practice. Including original contributions and case studies from leading global specialists, this handbook covers many pioneering methods, such as: Methods for the analysis of user- and customer-generated data, including opinion mining and sentiment analysis Big data Neuroscientific techniques and physiological measures Voice prints Human-computer interaction Emerging approaches such as shadowing, netnographies and ethnographies Transcending the old divisions between qualitative and quantitative research methods, this book is an essential tool for market researchers in academia and practice.
ISBN: 9781315544892Publication Date: 2021-06-27
State Profiles 2017 by
State Profiles 2017: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State provides a wealth of current, authoritative, and comprehensive data on key demographic and economic indicators for each U.S. state and the District of Columbia. Each state is covered by a compact standardized chapter that allows for easy comparisons and timely analysis between the states. A ten-page profile for each U.S. state plus the District of Columbia provides reliable, up-to-date information on a wide range of topics, including: population, labor force, income and poverty, government finances, crime, education, health insurance coverage, voting, marital status, migration, and more. If you want a single source of key demographic and economic data on each of the U.S. states, there is no other book like State Profiles. This book provides an overview of the U.S. economy which provides a framework for understanding the state information. This book is primarily useful for public, school, and college and university libraries, as well as for economic and sociology departments. However, anyone needing state-level information-students, state officials, investors, economic analysts, concerned citizens-will find State Profiles wealth of data and analysis absolutely essential
ISBN: 9781598889413Publication Date: 2017-12-08
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Journals
- Demography Peer reviewed Official journal of the Population Association of America. Fields represented in its contents include geography, history, biology, statistics, business, epidemiology, and public health, in addition to social scientific disciplines such as sociology, economics, psychology, and political science.
- Journal of Consumer Research Peer reviewed Empirical, theoretical, and methodological articles spanning fields such as psychology, marketing, sociology, economics, communications, and anthropology are featured in this interdisciplinary journal. The primary thrust of JCR is academic, rather than managerial, with topics ranging from micro-level processes (such as brand choice) to more macro-level issues (such as the development of materialistic values).
- Journal of Marketing Research Peer reviewed JMR is a broad-based journal that aims to publish the highest-quality articles in the discipline of marketing. Published articles must make a significant contribution to the marketing discipline, provide a basis for stimulating additional research, and meet high standards of scholarship.
- Journal of Research for Consumers Peer reviewed The Journal of Research for Consumers is a Web-based interdisciplinary journal publishing consumer research that furthers the interests of consumers through information provision and theoretical advancements. Empirical, theoretical, and methodological articles are featured, along with commentaries and essays that seek to further consumers' understanding of the consumption process and its many implications
- Qualitative Market Research: An International Journal Peer reviewed QMR welcomes papers that utilise qualitative methodologies that cover all aspects of marketing, including but not limited to: consumer behaviour, online marketing, marketing strategy, services and social marketing.
Videos
Gale Business: DemographicsNow - Analyzing Market Size and Demographics
Gale Business: DemographicsNow – Mapping
Required/recommended materials for selected Market Research courses
| MKT 5125 | Marshall, David. Marketing Management. |
| MKT 5235 | Keegan, Warren J. / Green, Mark C. Global Marketing. |
| MKT 5256 | Hanlon, Annmarie. Digital Marketing. |
| MKT 3060 | Solomon. Consumer Behavior. |
| MKT 3320 | Cateora, Philip R. International Marketing. (2009) |
| MKT 3600 | Visser. Digital Marketing Fundamentals. |
