Business Ethics and ESG
Getting started
What is business ethics?
Business ethics refers to contemporary organizational standards, principles, sets of values and norms that govern the actions and behavior of an individual in the business organization. (Wikipedia)
What is ESG?
ESG stands for environment, social and governance.
Investopedia defines ESG investing as “a set of standards for a company’s behavior used by socially conscious investors to screen potential investments.”
"Environmental criteria consider how a company safeguards the environment, including corporate policies addressing climate change, for example. Social criteria examine how it manages relationships with employees, suppliers, customers, and the communities where it operates. Governance deals with a company’s leadership, executive pay, audits, internal controls, and shareholder rights."
Introduction to business ethics and corporate responsibility
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with business ethics and corporate responsibility related terms and topics.
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics by
The "Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics "provides clear, concise and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts in one of the most important fields in contemporary business.
ISBN: 0631228128Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with business ethics and corporate responsibility related terms and topics.
Guide to Business Ethics by
The Blackwell Guide to Business Ethics, written by international experts in the field, acquaints the reader with theoretical and pedagogical issues, ethical issues in the practice of business and exciting new directions in the field.
ISBN: 0631221220Publication Date: 2002-02-25
The Sage encyclopedia of business ethics and society by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society, Second Editionexplores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management.
ISBN: 9781483381503Publication Date: 2018
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Corporate Reputation by
What creates corporate reputations and how should organizations respond? Corporate reputation is a growing research field in disciplines as diverse as communication, management, marketing, industrial and organizational psychology, and sociology. As a formal area of academic study, it is relatively young with roots in the 1980s and the emergence of specialized reputation rankings for industries, products/services, and performance dimensions and for regions.
ISBN: 9781483376493Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with business ethics and corporate responsibility related terms and topics.
Business Ethics by
"This reference handbook explores the role of ethics in business. An introduction defines business ethics and describes the tools of business ethics. Readers will also find biographical sketches, a detailed examination of the major issues, ethical codes, a directory of business organizations and associations, and a selection of print and nonprint resources, including websites. A table of cases and statutes and a glossary complete a volume that will be an indispensable, one-stop resource for business professionals, librarians, and anyone interested in the study of ethics."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 0874368634Publication Date: 1998-11-19
Handbook of Research on Developing Sustainable Value in Economics, Finance, and Marketing by
In an age of rising environmental concerns, it has become necessary for businesses to pay special attention to the resources they are consuming and the long-term effects of the products they are creating. These concerns, coupled with the current global economic crisis, demand a solution that includes not only business, but politics, ecology, and culture as well. The Handbook of Research on Developing Sustainable Value in Economics, Finance, and Marketing provides the latest empirical research findings on how sustainable development can work not just for organizations, but for the global economy as a whole. This book is an essential reference source for professionals and researchers in various fields including economics, finance, marketing, operations management, communication sciences, sociology, and information technology.
ISBN: 9781466666368Publication Date: 2014-10-31
Research Handbook on Corporate Crime and Financial Misdealing by
This highly topical Research Handbook examines how to deter corporate misconduct through public enforcement and private interventions. Contributors present theoretical and empirical analyses of individual and organizational liability for corporate misconduct, securities, fraud and corruption. Other chapters evaluate private interventions, such as whistleblowing and compliance.Chapters cover individual and organizational liability evaluate issues such as individual liability for corporate crime, deferred and non-prosecution agreements, supervisory liability, the cost to organizations of reputational damage from corporate settlements, corporate and individual liability for securities fraud, the SEC?s revolving door, multi-jurisdictional enforcement of anti-corruption laws, the scope of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act, and countries? efforts to deter corruption by state actors. Chapters on private interventions examine optimal compliance, behavioral compliance, the role of the General Counsel, internal investigations, and whistleblowing. This Research Handbook also highlights promising avenues for future research. The Research Handbook on Corporate Crime and Financial Misdealing is designed to provide a broad introduction to the literature in each area covered, as well as in-depth original analysis on important issues of concern to legal researchers, policy-makers, and practitioners.
ISBN: 9781783474479Publication Date: 2018-04-28
Research handbook on global governance, business and human rights by
The Research Handbook first examines governance initiatives that operate across economic sectors, discussing both public and private initiatives at state, regional and international levels that seek to develop, implement and enforce rules with regard to the impacts of transnational business activities on human rights. Chapters then investigate particular economic sectors - including textiles, electronics, agro-chemical, construction, and finance - to assess the ways in which different initiatives attempt to mitigate risks and address business-related human rights abuses within each sector.
ISBN: 9781788979832Publication Date: 2022
The Routledge Companion to Business Ethics by
The field of business ethics continues to expand intellectually and geographically. During the past five decades, scholars have developed and deepened their inquiries into the ethics of commercial and corporate conduct. This Companion provides a novel overview of the discipline of business ethics, covering the major areas of the field as well as new and emerging topics. The eight thematic units range over an extraordinary set of subjects and include chapters on the history and pedagogy of business ethics, moral philosophy, the nature of business, responsibilities within the firm, economic institutions, the 2008 financial crisis, globalization, and business ethics in different regions of the world. Led by a well-respected editorial team, this unique volume gathers an international array of experts whose various critical approaches yield insights from areas such as public policy, economics, law, and history, in addition to business and philosophy. With its fresh analyses, wide scope, and clarity of approach, this volume will be an essential addition to library collections in business, management, and applied ethics.
ISBN: 1317655427Publication Date: 2018-02-12
The Routledge Companion to Corporate Social Responsibility by
While the concept and domain of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) are not new--its beginnings can be tracked back to the 1960s--its scope, urgency, and relevance have shifted dramatically in recent years. CEO responses show that the majority of business leaders understand that they operate in an environment of contested values and that stakeholders expect companies to do better and more. However, many corporate incentive systems are not in sync with societal norms and expectations. Moreover, "grand challenges" such as climate change and global pandemics and growing interconnectedness shed light on the fault lines of value creation through complex supply chain systems, exposing unacceptable working conditions, modern slavery, and the environmental consequences of highly distributed production at any cost. As a consequence, corporate social responsibility has become a widely accepted common denominator of the role and responsibilities of business in society, ranging from core functions such as health, safety, and environment standards, to governance and recognition of stakeholders, supply chain design, and corporations' stand on climate change and its responsibility to future generations. This volume assembles state-of-the-art scholarship from leading scholars in the field and enables a "full range view" of CSR, from its roots, normative foundations, and institutional perspectives to matters of stakeholding, the global value chain, social innovation, and future directions. The Routledge Companion to Corporate Social Responsibility represents a prestige reference work providing an overview of the subject area of CSR for academics, researchers, postgraduate students, as well as reflective practitioners.
ISBN: 9781003152651Publication Date: 2021-08-25
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected business ethics and sustainability courses
| ACT 5721 | Mintz, Steve. Ethical Obligations and Decision Making in Accounting. |
| CHS 5100 |
Barr, Donald A. |
| FIN 5550 | De Jong. Investments. |
| FIN 5550 |
Dejong, Zvi. Investments Principles and Policies. |
| FIN 5570 |
Brigham, Eugene F.; Ehrhardt, Michael C. Financial Management: Theory & Practice. |
| PNP 5904 | Boardsource. Handbook of Nonprofit Governance. (2010) |
| PNP 5905 |
Zietlow, John; Hankin, Jo Ann; Seidner, Alan; O'brien, Tim. Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations: Policies and Practices. (2018) |
| PUB 5932 |
Roseland, Mark. Toward Sustainable Communities. |
| PUB 5932 | Flint, R. Warren. Practice of Sust. Community Development. |
| REE 5881 |
Fields. Contemporary Real Estate Law. |
