Books
Achieving Success in Nonprofit Organizations by
This book is an essential tool to help you grow with yournonprofit organization. Whether you are an executive director,manager, board member, pastor, or key volunteer,the details here will help you achieve so much more.The four overarching areas of what the authors term a"virtuous cycle in nonprofit organization success"--livingthe mission, making good decisions, getting things done,developing your team--emerged from literature searches,focus groups, and surveys to discover objectively whatcritical skills and knowledge are most useful to leaders ofnonprofit organizations.Inside, experts contribute individual chapters in each ofthese four areas. This book can be used as a reference forspecific skills and knowledge in any of these areas. It canalso be used as a text since it covers 16 specific chapterswithin the four major sections and each chapter has a majorcase study, assessment questions, and summaries ofkey concepts.
ISBN: 9781606497296Publication Date: 2014-02-15
Managing and Leading Nonprofit Organizations by
Practical strategies for ensuring leadership success within nonprofit organizations In Managing and Leading Nonprofit Organizations: A Framework For Success, veteran senior leader and CEO Paul L. Dann, PhD, draws on over 30 years of developing and advancing nonprofits to walk you through practical strategies that support success as a nonprofit leader. The book is filled with universally applicable examples of how to implement its leadership techniques. Leaders working in a variety of sectors will benefit from the author's careful balance of theory and practice. In the book, they'll also find: How to choose a leadership style that suits your personality, the people you work with, and your organization How to engage in the co-creation of leadership through generative leadership practice, including the development of an organizational philosophy, practice, and structure How to manage employee performance and engagement and how to choose successful management systems to leverage success Ideal for practicing and aspiring nonprofit organization managers, board members, and directors, Managing and Leading Nonprofit Organizations: A Framework For Success is an indispensable, one-stop resource for the development and deployment of leadership skills in challenging as well as complex nonprofit environments.
ISBN: 9781119818533Publication Date: 2022-01-26
Managing and Measuring Performance in Public and Nonprofit Organizations by
New edition of a classic guide to ensuring effective organizational performance Thoroughly revised and updated, the second edition of Managing and Measuring Performance in Public and Nonprofit Organizations is a comprehensive resource for designing and implementing effective performance management and measurement systems in public and nonprofit organizations. The ideas, tools, and processes in this vital resource are designed to help organizations develop measurement systems to support such effective management approaches as strategic management, results-based budgeting, performance management, process improvement, performance contracting, and much more. The book will help readers identify outcomes and other performance criteria to be measured, tie measures to goals and objectives, define and evaluate the worth of desired performance measures, and analyze, process, report, and utilize data effectively. Includes significant updates that offer a more integrated approach to performance management and measurement Offers a detailed framework and instructions for developing and implementing performance management systems Shows how to apply the most effective performance management principles Reveals how to overcome the barriers to effective performance management Managing and Measuring Performance in Public and Nonprofit Organizations identifies common methodological and managerial problems that often confront managers in developing performance measurement systems, and presents a number of targeted strategies for the successful implementation of such systems in public and nonprofit organizations. This must-have resource will help leaders reach their organizational goals and objectives.
ISBN: 9781118958568Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Managing nonprofit organizations in a policy world by
In expli citly tying the policy realm to management skills, Vaughan and Arsneault's foundational book sheds new light on how nonprofit managers can better navigate policymaking and regulatory contexts to effectively lead their organizations. Vaughan and Arsneault provide a comprehensive overview of the nonprofit sector and the policy environment, with a focus on skills and strategies managers can use to advance the causes of their organizations. Abundant examples and rich case studies explore the complexity of the policy-nonprofit relationship and highlight both management challenges and successes.
ISBN: 9781544308678Publication Date: 2017
Managing Social Purpose Driven Organizations by
The book examines the management of social purpose driven organizations in an Asian context, using the case study approach. It looks at these organizations during a period of major changes in the regulatory and governance environment for charities in Singapore. The focus is on how these changes impact the organizational and management issues confronting several charities and volunteer welfare organizations, an arts enterprise, a co-operative and a non-governmental organization in international disaster relief. Although diverse, the common denominator among these organizations is their commitment to a core social purpose. Issues examined include: organizational restructuring, crisis management, organizational change management, social entrepreneurship and organizational sustainability. The book adopts a systemic perspective in examining the challenges of managing organizations that are neither state-owned nor private enterprises, and in particular, the interrelationships between contexts, actions and outcomes and their impact on the organizations, their stakeholders and external environments.　
ISBN: 9781315276687Publication Date: 2017-07-31
Managing the Non-Profit Organization by
Here Peter Drucker answers vital questions about hospital administration as he presents clearly and directly the tasks, responsibilities and practices that must be followed to run these organizations successfully. Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.
ISBN: 0060165073Publication Date: 1990-10-01
The Nonprofit Board Answer Book by
An essential guide to good governance for board leaders at all levels of experience and expertise This third edition of the bestselling book for nonprofit board members and professionals offers a thoroughly revised and updated resource that answers the most-commonly asked question on board governance. The book covers such topics as board structure and process, board member recruitment and orientation, board-staff relations, and financial management. This new edition includes updated information on topics that have recently increased in importance including new Form 990; dealing with the financial crisis, risk management, and mergers. Shows executives and board members how to be more effective, meet difficult situations head-on, and deal with commonplace challenges with confidence Topics include information on the viability of for-profit ventures, board retreats, board diversity, fundraising, financial oversight, strategic thinking, and the use of technology From Boardsource the premier resource for practical information, tools, best practices, training, and leadership development for board members of nonprofit organizations worldwide Offers insight gained from the BoardSource Governance Index Survey, hundreds of board self-assessments, and questions and challenges heard by BoardSource from thousands of nonprofit leaders.
ISBN: 9781118127049Publication Date: 2011-11-08
Nonprofit Kit for Dummies by
Helping you successfully start a nonprofit organization the right way or strengthening the governing, financial, and capacity-building framework of your existing nonprofit organization! Ready to do some good? Ready to give back to the community? You better be! Because in Nonprofit Kit For Dummies you'll find the tools and strategies you need to organize and shift your nonprofit into high gear. Buckle up and hit the gas as you master the latest techniques in nonprofit startup, recruiting the right board members, identifying collaborative stakeholders, grant writing, online fundraising, and marketing. You'll learn to improve your management practices, raise more money, give more effectively, and plan more creatively. This book's supplementary online resources include expertly written organization plans, financial procedure outlines and guides, and event planning tools you can implement immediately to help your nonprofit help more people. It also walks you through how to: Find up-to-date info on the latest web-based campaign tools, like Kickstarter, Kiva, and others Use templates, checklists, and plans to organize your nonprofit's finances, employee relations, and legal structure Survive and thrive during challenging times, like those caused by pandemics and natural disasters Starting and running a nonprofit organization takes heart, courage, and know-how. You've got the first two taken care of. Let Nonprofit Kit For Dummies help you with the knowledge as you lift your nonprofit to new heights.
ISBN: 9781119835721Publication Date: 2021-10-26
Nonprofit Management 101 by
A comprehensive handbook for leading a successful nonprofit This handbook can educate and empower a whole generation of nonprofit leaders and professionals by bringing together top experts in the field to share their knowledge and wisdom gained through experience. This book provides nonprofit professionals with the conceptual frameworks, practical knowledge, and concise guidance needed to succeed in the social sector. Designed as a handbook, the book is filled with sage advice and insights from a variety of trusted experts that can help nonprofit professionals prepare to achieve their organizational and personal goals, develop a better understanding of what they need to do to lead, support, and grow an effective organization. Addresses a wealth of topics including fundraising, Managing Technology, Marketing, Finances, Advocacy, Working with Boards Contributors are noted nonprofit experts who define the core capabilities needed to manage a successful nonprofit Author is the former Executive Director of Craigslist Foundation This important resource offers professionals key insights that will have a direct impact on improving their daily work.
ISBN: 9780470285961Publication Date: 2011-05-03
Starting and Building a Nonprofit by
Build a great nonprofit More people than ever are committing themselves to serving their communities and changing the world. Whether you're aiming to protect the environment, support the arts, or help people in need, understanding how to set up a solid nonprofit organization is a great foundation for being as effective as you can be. With practical advice, legal information, tips, and step-by-step instructions, this essential guide will help you get your nonprofit up and running--and keep it going! It explains how to: develop a strategic plan and budget recruit and manage board members, volunteers, and staff market your organization to your target audience raise money including traditional methods and crowdfunding build a website, use social media strategically, and avoid copyright troubles adopt policies that are legally sound and much more Whether you are dreaming of starting a nonprofit or are already in the trenches, Starting and Building a Nonprofit will help your organization make a real difference in the world. The fully updated ninth edition contains new material on developing and implementing meaningful diversity, equity, and inclusion policies within your organization. It also covers recent changes to the law, including new incentives for donors under the CARES Act. With Downloadable Forms Download and customize essential forms, including Contractor Work-for-Hire Agreement, Volunteer Assignment Agreement, and sample budget forms. (details inside).
ISBN: 9781413328387Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations by
The bestselling guide to nonprofit planning, with proven, practical advice Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations describes a proven method for creating an effective, organized, actionable strategy, tailored to the unique needs of the nonprofit organization. Now in its third edition, this bestselling manual contains new information about the value of plans, specific guidance toward business planning, and additional information about the strategic plan document itself. Real-world case studies illustrate different planning and implementation scenarios and techniques, and the companion website offers templates, tools, and worksheets that streamline the process. The book provides expert insight, describing common misperceptions and pitfalls to avoid, helping readers craft a strategic plan that adheres to the core values of the organization. A well-honed strategic plan helps nonprofit managers set priorities, and acquire and allocate the resources necessary to achieve their goals. It also provides a framework for handling challenges, and keeps the focus on the organization's priorities. Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations is an excellent source of guidance for managers at nonprofits of every size and budget, helping readers to: Identify the reasons for planning, and gather information from internal and external stakeholders Assess the current situation accurately, and agree on priorities, mission, values, and vision Prioritize goals and objectives for the plan, and develop a detailed implementation strategy Evaluate and monitor a changing environment, updating roles, goals, and parameters as needed Different organizations have different needs, processes, resources, and priorities. The one thing they have in common is the need for a no-nonsense approach to planning with practical guidance and a customizable framework. Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations takes the fear out of planning, with expert guidance on the nonprofit's most vital management activity.
ISBN: 9781118768143Publication Date: 2015-04-06
Strategy Making in Nonprofi T Organizations by
Nonprofit Organizations need strategies to be effective, but the available tools for making strategy were developed primarily for business organizations. This book provides a model and several case studies for Strategy Making in Nonprofit Organizations. The strategy making model modifies the business practices of Strategy-Structure-Systems for the nonprofit context with a focus on Purpose-Processes-People that is more suitable to meet their unique challenges. In this book, the leaders of nonprofit organizations will find ways to better articulate the challenges that their organizations face for communicating with their business partners, donors and employees. As the demand for essential social services is growing and the budgets are declining, leaders and managers in both Nonprofit and Business organizations need the solutions offered in this book. Nonprofit Organizations face an external environment where demand outstrips their ability to meet it. They face competition in raising funds and resources to provide these services. They rely on processes to harness the creativity of their people in delivering to the triple bottom line of economic, social and environmental impact. This book provides a bridge between business and nonprofit organizations.
ISBN: 9781606493861Publication Date: 2012-12-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Cost Control for Nonprofits in Crisis by
Libraries, like many other cultural institutions such as museums, art councils, and theater groups, are looking for answers to the pressing problem of financial stability, and ultimately survival. Cost Control for Nonprofits in Crisis helps managers and directors tackle the harsh realities before them.
ISBN: 9780838910986Publication Date: 2011-02-26
Finance Fundamentals for Nonprofits by
A complete guide to the financial requirements a nonprofit organization must follow to indefinitely maintain the volume and quality of their services An organization may have plenty of capacity in the long run, but in the short run, donor restrictions and limited financing options are constraining. Here-and-now liquid assets are the only resources available. Finance Fundamentals for Nonprofits: Building Capacity and Sustainability shows how to measure a nonprofit organization's financial capacity in different time frames and how to measure its ability to sustain capacity in each case. Explains how nonprofits differ from businesses and how they promote values-centered management Reveals how to improve financial capacity and sustainability Written by a nonprofit scholar Filled with real-world case studies and actionable advice relating financial health to financial capacity and sustainability, this book is essential reading for every nonprofit professional.
ISBN: 9781118004517Publication Date: 2011-08-09
Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-For-Profit Organizations, Eighth Edition 2014 Supplement by
The cumulative supplement to the Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-for-Profit Organizations, 8th Edition This book is filled with authoritative advice on the financial reporting, accounting, and control situations unique to not-for-profit organizations. It contains complete guidance on tax and compliance reporting requirements, illustrated explanations of various types of acceptable financial statements, a how-to section on setting up and keeping the books with step-by-step procedures and forms, and commentary on computers and accounting software. Completely revised and updated, the Eight Edition includes the latest updates to accounting activities and requirements as they relate to not-for-profit organizations.
ISBN: 9781118797389Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Financial and Strategic Management for Nonprofit Organizations, Fourth Edition by
The highly acclaimed Financial and Strategic Management for Nonprofit Organizations provides an encyclopedic account of all the key financial, legal, and managerial issues facing nonprofit executives. This is today's definitive single-source text and reference for managing any nonprofit organization. Designed for both professional and graduate student readers, this work thoroughly addresses all key aspects of building managerial skill and promoting imagination and innovation in organizations across the nonprofit spectrum. Herrington J. Bryce presents every technique and concept in the context of today's public policies, leading practices, laws, norms, and expectations. Herrington J. Bryce was a senior economist at the Urban Institute, a Brookings Economic Policy Fellow, a Fellow at the Institute of Politics at Harvard and a visiting professor in regional economics and planning at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He taught micro economic theory and public finance at Clark University in Worcester, Massachusetts, and was director of the program in legal and budget studies at the University College at the University of Maryland. He currently teaches courses at the College of William & Mary in nonprofits but mostly in corporate financial strategy and cost management--heavily reflected in this text. He has published extensively and has served on many state, local and federal government advisory committees. He has a PhD in economics from the Maxwell School at Syracuse University, and a CLU and ChFC from the American College.
ISBN: 9781501505713Publication Date: 2017-01-23
Financial Sustainability for Nonprofit Organizations by
Nonprofit organizations face fierce competition for funding, especially during times of financial crisis. In order to effectively further their goals and make a long-term impact in the communities they serve, these organizations must remain financially viable and sustainable. This book equips students training to become better nonprofit leaders with the information and conceptual frameworks needed to ensure their organizations are financially sustainable. Using practical tips and illustrative case examples, it guides the reader to an understanding of the structures and processes of nonprofit organizations, and includes detailed coverage of financial analysis, budget management, cash flow, financial accountability and reporting, investing, fundraising, and organizational growth. This book is ideal for students, faculty, and practitioners in social service administration, human service leadership, public and community health, public administration, organization management, and health care administration and management.
ISBN: 9780826129864Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Law of Tax-Exempt Organizations by
The authoritative reference for nonprofit law, by leading expert Bruce R. Hopkins The Law of Tax-Exempt Organizations 11th edition details the complex set of statutes, regulations that govern this diverse category of organizations, IRS rulings, and court opinions. This new edition includes the most up-to-date coverage of subjects such as: nonprofit governance, and new rules for donor advised funds and supporting organizations, updates on unrelated business activities. Discussion of subjects such as the private inurement doctrine and private benefit doctrine have been expanded in light of recent IRS ruling activity. Written in plain English and supplemented annually, this book helps the lawyers and managers of tax-exempt organizations stay up to date on relevant law developments so they can make more informed decisions about their organization's actions and future direction. This eleventh edition is an important revision, with significant updates and vital information you need to know. Get up to date on the latest regulations and court opinions See how recent IRS rulings impact many aspects of tax-exempt organizations law Learn how the health care shift has generated new guidelines Read new law concerning legislative and political activities, intermediate sanctions, and more Written by one of the country's leading authorities on the law surrounding tax-exempt organizations, this comprehensive and authoritative reference allows you to learn the particulars of the subject matter or get a quick refresher regarding specific rules of interest. For newcomers and experienced practitioners alike, The Law of Tax-Exempt Organizations 11th edition provides a single-volume resource for the latest, most up-to-date information aspects of the law.
ISBN: 9781118873694Publication Date: 2015-10-19
Managerial Economics of Non-Profit Organisations by
With microeconomic insights into the functioning of nonprofit organizations, this book focuses on both empirical and theoretical economic aspects of their operation. It considers the possible definitions of nonprofit organizations, the economic rationale behind their existence, and the significance of their work. The final chapters analyze the economic idiosyncrasies of nonprofit organizations' management, highlighting the fields of strategic management, marketing, accounting, and finance.
ISBN: 9789054879091Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Money Well Spent by
Philanthropy is a booming business, with hundreds of billions of dollars committed to the social sector each year. Money Well Spent, an award-winning guide on how to structure philanthropy so that it really makes a difference, offers a comprehensive and crucial resource for individual donors, foundations, non-profits, and scholars who focus on and teach others about this realm. Behind every successful grant is a smart strategy. Paul Brest and Hal Harvey draw on the experiences of hundreds of foundations and non-profits to explain how to deliver on every dollar. They present the essential tools to help readers create and test effective plans for achieving demonstrable results. Brest and Harvey tackle thorny issues, such as how to choose among different forms of funding, how to measure progress, and when to abandon a project that isn't working. The second edition accounts for a decade of progress: a rise in impact investing, the advent of pay-for-success programs, the maturation of impact evaluation, and the emergence of a new generation of mega-donors. Today, the notion of results-driven philanthropy is more important than ever. With this book, the social sector has the techniques it needs to deliver on that idea with impact.
ISBN: 9781503602618Publication Date: 2018-07-31
Nonprofit Organizations by
In this new edition of his popular textbook, Nonprofit Organizations: Theory, Management, Policy, Helmut K. Anheier has fully updated, revised and expanded his comprehensive introduction to this field. The text takes on an international and comparative dimensions perspective, detailing the background and concepts behind these organizations and examining relevant theories and central issues. Anheier covers the full range of nonprofit organizations - service providers, membership organizations, foundations, community groups - in different fields, such as arts and culture, social services and education. He introduces central terms such as philanthropy, charity, community, social entrepreneurship, social investment, public good and civil society, whilst explaining how the field spills over from public management, through nonprofit management and public administration. The previous edition won the Best Book Award at the American Academy of Management in 2006. Nonprofit Organizations: Theory, Management, Policy is an ideal resource for students on undergraduate and postgraduate courses in both Europe and North America.
ISBN: 9780415550468Publication Date: 2014-05-15
Nonprofit Organizations and the Combatting of Terrorism Financing by
One of the ways in which terrorist organisations raise and transfer funds, is by using non-profit organisations (NPOs). Ever since the adoption of the Special Recommendation VIII on the abuse of NPOs for Terrorism Financing purposes by the FATF in 2001, countries have struggled to find a proper way to address this potential terrorism financing risk. In many important ways however, the work of NPOs deal with the conditions conducive to the spread of terrorism, so it is essential that in trying to address one aspect of the terrorist threat OCo terrorism financing- we do not inadvertently diminish the impact of other ways of tackling the issue.This article argues that in discussing the threat and how to address it, policy-makers need to be specific, not tainting the whole sector with the same brush. Virtually all governments already interact with the NPO sector and those avenues should be used for dealing with this issue- it is inefficient and ultimately counterproductive to devise an entirely new regulatory framework. The ultimate objective is to enhance the transparency of the sector- the people in charge of NPOs, their sources of funds and particularly the way those funds are spent. That aim serves a much wider purpose than just countering terrorism financing and touches on many aspects of civil society good governance that the sector itself and others have been debating for a long time. When devising public policy on this issue the contribution of the NPO sector to fighting terrorism be recognized and used to its full advantage. Moreover the sectorOCOs own stake in being OC cleanOCO and being so regarded by others should be acknowledged, thus making them an indispensable partner in drawing up such policies. For the same reason, self-regulation should be considered."
ISBN: 9780821385708Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Streetsmart Financial Basics for Nonprofit Managers by
The complete guide to the basics of nonprofit financial management Let's be honest. Most books about financial management are densely written, heavy on jargon, and light on practicality. Expert financial consultant and author Tom McLaughlin takes a different approach with his fourth edition of Streetsmart Financial Basics for Nonprofit Managers. This comprehensive guide provides effective, easy-to-use tips, tools, resources, and analyses. The light, humorous tone in Streetsmart Financial Basics for Nonprofit Managers makes it an accessible resource for nonprofit executives, board members, students, and those new to the field. This book forgoes useless, pretentious verbiage in order to outline real-world strategies that work. This edition includes: New insights, updates, vignettes, case studies, and examples to deal with the implications of nonprofit financial management An examination of nonprofit business models in relation to growing demands from the government and other funders How to construct business plans for virtually any nonprofit entity Customizable resources--including financial worksheets, forms, and Excel templates to help nonprofit managers complete their day to day assignments A guided tour through common aspects of nonprofit management, such as financial analysis, accounting, and operations Practical and informative, Streetsmart Financial Basics for Nonprofit Managers is the go-to financial management reference for nonprofit managers, boards of directors, and funders.
ISBN: 9781119061151Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Tax Planning and Compliance for Tax-Exempt Organizations by
A practical guide to handling the challenges facing tax-exempt organizations, written by a leading authority Tax Planning and Compliance for Tax-Exempt Organizations, Sixth Edition ensures that you have the practical knowledge to handle critical tax situations. This book provides guidance for the significant issues facing nonprofit organizations. It's an essential guide to navigating the complexities of nonprofit tax rules and regulations. Packed with checklists and suggestions starting with Exhibit 1.1, Organizations Reference Chart and Exhibit 1.2, Suitability for Tax-Exempt Status, this guide helps anyone that creates, advises, or manages a nonprofit organization. Now, you can better understand the requirements for various categories of tax-exempt organizations: public charities, private foundations, civic associations, business leagues, and social clubs, as well as title-holding companies and governmental entities. You'll discover practical guidance on the issue of potentially owing income tax on revenue-producing enterprises. Clear explanations cover the many exceptions to taxability. Tax issues related to internet activity, advertising, publishing, services, and much more are all addressed in this tax planning guide designed specifically for nonprofit and tax-exempt nonprofit organizations. Use extensive quick checklists that cover tax-exempt eligibility, reporting to the IRS, and tax compliance Find detailed instructions for submitting a variety of exemption applications and tax forms See sample documents, such as organizational bylaws, letters of application, and completed IRS forms Refer to tools and practice aids, such as a comparison chart summarizing the differences between public and private charitable organizations Written by one of the leading authorities in the field, the book also delves into recent tax law changes affecting nonprofits and other tax-exempt organizations. This indispensable guide can offer direction and support if you are challenged to successfully navigate the complex maze of nonprofit tax rules and regulations.
ISBN: 9781119540953Publication Date: 2020-04-28
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
21st Century Skills for Non-Profit Managers by
Over the last 30 years nonprofit organizations have grown massively in capacity, scope, and authority across the world. With growing demand for services, there are numerous opportunities for nonprofits to respond innovatively and sustainably. Any experienced nonprofit manager knows the role is sometimes frustrating but always exhilarating, working with people and empowering them. Severe funding cuts make this more testing, but new prospects are appearing. If you are new to management or the sector, you need a book describing good practice to inform and guide you. Managing a small nonprofit, requires you to multitask, manage your time and prioritize tasks, while taking on extra responsibilities, you need new skills such as fundraising, all covered in this book. This book covers essential aspects (staffing, communications, charity governance, donations, corporate social responsibility, crowdfunding). With useful case studies, resources and links, it avoids jargon and intellectualizing. Topics include effective business planning, empowering staff and clients, writing successful fundraising applications and preparing government tenders for the U.S. and UK.
ISBN: 9781947098183Publication Date: 2017-10-30
Building Hope by
A veteran nonprofit executive shows nonprofit managers how to become more effective at their jobs--and more satisfied in their careers.
ISBN: 9780313348525Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Developing a Learning Culture in Nonprofit Organizations by
How can today′s nonprofits demonstrate effective use of funds? How can they motivate employees and volunteers and combat burnout and high turnover? How can they ensure that they are performing in accordance with their mission and purpose? Author Stephen J. Gill answers these questions and more in Developing a Learning Culture in Nonprofit Organizations. Filled with practical tips and tools, the book shows students and managers of human services, arts, education, civic, and environmental agencies how to implement a learning culture with individuals, teams, the organization as a whole, and the larger community. Key Features Draws on the author′s more than 25 years of consulting experience Demonstrates how to create a culture of intentional learning that uses reflection and feedback, focuses on successes and failures, and builds a strong organization that motivates employees and volunteers Offers specific, hands-on tools for each level of the organization, from the individual and team to the whole organization and the community Discusses not only the need for a learning culture but also the barriers that may stand in the way Takes a step-by-step approach that facilitates managers′ and students′ understanding and learning Incorporates practical tools that can be used in nonprofit management and in actual field instruction Developing a Learning Culture in Nonprofit Organizations is appropriate for courses in Social Work Evaluation, Public and Nonprofit Management, and Evaluation.
ISBN: 9781412967662Publication Date: 2009-05-07
Developing nonprofit and human service leaders: Essential knowledge and skills by
Authors Larry D. Watson and Richard Hoefer explore core managerial competencies tailored to the unique environment of these organizations, including administrative responsibilities, values and ethics, organizational theories, leadership, boards of directors, fundraising, supervision, research, cultural consideration, and more. This essential text offers hands-on practice for the skills that future administrators will need to make a substantial impact in their organizations and communities.
ISBN: 9781483313498Publication Date: 2014
The Executive Director's Guide to Thriving As a Nonprofit Leader by
As the position of nonprofit ED becomes more demanding, there is a need for an up-to-date resource. This revised edition of the best-selling book is filled with management advice for succeeding as an executive director. This new edition includes thoroughly updated information and new content. It covers topics on timely issues and practical strategies including: Avoiding Burnout, Accountability, Professional Networking, Financial Literacy, Measuring Effectiveness, and much more. Ideal for ED's and board members, the book also includes new cases and stories from the field and "practical tips" sidebars.
ISBN: 9780470407493Publication Date: 2010-04-26
The Happy, Healthy Nonprofit by
Steer your organization away from burnout while boosting all-around performance The Happy, Healthy Nonprofit presents realistic strategies for leaders looking to optimize organizational achievement while avoiding the common nonprofit burnout. With a uniquely holistic approach to nonprofit leadership strategy, this book functions as a handbook to help leaders examine their existing organization, identify trouble spots, and resolve issues with attention to all aspects of operations and culture. The expert author team walks you through the process of building a happier, healthier organization from the ground up, with a balanced approach that considers more than just quantitative results. Employee wellbeing takes a front seat next to organizational performance, with clear guidance on establishing optimal systems and processes that bring about better results while allowing a healthier work-life balance. By improving attitudes and personal habits at all levels, you'll implement a positive cultural change with sustainable impact. Nonprofits are driven to do more, more, more, often with fewer and fewer resources; there comes a breaking point where passion dwindles under the weight of pressure, and the mission suffers as a result. This book shows you how to revamp your organization to do more and do it better, by putting cultural considerations at the heart of strategy. Find and relieve cultural and behavioral pain points Achieve better results with attention to well-being Redefine your organizational culture to avoid burnout Establish systems and processes that enable sustainable change At its core, a nonprofit is driven by passion. What begins as a personal investment in the organization's mission can quickly become the driver of stress and overwork that leads to overall lackluster performance. Executing a cultural about-face can be the lifeline your organization needs to thrive. The Happy, Healthy Nonprofit provides a blueprint for sustainable change, with a holistic approach to improving organizational outlook.
ISBN: 9781119251118Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Human Resources Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations by
Since the first edition was published in 1997, Human Resources Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations has become the go-to reference for public and nonprofit human resources professionals. Now in its fourth edition, the text has been significantly revised and updated to include information that reflects changes in the field due to the economic crisis, changes in federal employment laws, how shifting demographics affect human resources management, the increased use of technology in human resources management practices, how social media has become embedded in the workplace, and new approaches to HRM policy and practice. Written by Joan E. Pynes--a noted expert in public administration--this authoritative work shows how strategic human resources management is essential for managing change in an increasingly complex environment. The book Includes new material on workplace violence and employee discipline Reviews updates on the legal environment of HRM Contains suggestions for managing a diverse workforce Offers a wealth of revised tables and exhibits Updates the most recent developments in collective bargaining in the public and nonprofit sectors Outlines the most current approaches to recruitment and selection Presents an overview of recent information on compensation and benefits Gives an update of the technological advances used for strategic human resources management Provides examples of HRM policies from other countries The book also includes an enhanced instructor's guide with examination questions, PowerPoint® slides, experiential exercises, and video vignettes that are coordinated with chapters in the book.
ISBN: 9781118398623Publication Date: 2013-08-12
Skills for Effective Management of Nonprofit Organizations by
Offers a new approach to leadership in the nonprofit environment and guidance for board development, consulting, strategic alliances, and quality management. Uses a theoretical framework based on a premise of competing values to explain four major sets of skills and eight managerial roles for succes
ISBN: 0871012901Publication Date: 1998-01-01
The Talent Development Platform by
Putting People First in Social Change Organizations The Talent Development Platform is about results driven talent development for social change. Written by seasoned nonprofit experts, this book provides a holistic process for creating an in-house training and talent development program. The Talent Development Platform offers organizations the tools for ensuring their professional development systems are successful through regular feedback loops, tailored for learning styles, and specific to their organization. Detailed case studies provide insight into the strategies used by organizations that have implemented the Talent Development Platform, and interviews with experts in the field give readers a handle on the most current thinking. Robust resource guides facilitate the talent development process, and online access to the Talent Development Platform and assessments help streamline the workflow. Social change organizations make the most of limited resources, but often overlook developing the talent they already have. This book gives readers a plan for finding and nurturing their internal talent to reduce turnover and improve organizational efficiency. More specifically the book helps organizations: Develop organizational, department, and position specific competencies. Create and revise job descriptions. Assess staff and volunteer proficiency levels with created competencies. Determine staff and volunteer learning styles. Establish professional development goals and objectives tied to strategic goals. Implement professional development with on the job learning, mentoring, and training. Calculate a return on talent investment. Evaluate talent development implementation and proficiency level changes. Implementing the Talent Development Platform provides organizations with tangible benefits in the form of lower turnover and greater output (without the burnout) from employees and volunteers, as well as intangible benefits that make organizations more attractive to top talent.
ISBN: 9781118873847Publication Date: 2015-02-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Accelerating Nonprofit Impact with Salesforce by
This book is for technical consultants, functional consultants, and Salesforce architects who are working with nonprofit organizations and want to implement different functionalities within Nonprofit Cloud and NPSP optimally for business processes and tasks in their organizations. Salesforce administrator skills and overall proficiency with Salesforce are required to get the most out of this book.
ISBN: 9781801070324Publication Date: 2022
Cases on Strategic Social Media Utilization in the Nonprofit Sector by
Typically utilized by larger corporations, social media marketing and strategy is lacking in small and medium-sized nonprofit organizations. Although these organizations are beginning to incorporate this form of online communication, there is still a need to understand the best practices and proper tools to enhance an organization's presence on the web. Cases on Strategic Social Media Utilization in the Nonprofit Sector brings together cases and chapters in order to examine both the practical and theoretical components of creating an online social community for nonprofit organizations. The technologies discussed in this publication provide organizations with the necessary cost-effective tools for fundraising, marketing, and civic engagement. This publication is an essential reference source for practitioners, academicians, researchers, and advanced-level students interested in learning how to effectively use social media technologies in the nonprofit sector.
ISBN: 9781466681897Publication Date: 2015-02-28
Generate Buzz! by
Strategic communication : an overview of key concepts and roles -- The strategic communication planning process -- Engaging board members in communication and outreach -- Positioning the organization: framing and branding -- Crisis communication -- Monitoring the effectiveness of strategic communication.
ISBN: 1586861255Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
ICT Management in Non-Profit Organizations by
The instability of today's economic climate calls for non-profit organizations to approach social problems in new and interesting ways, and Information and Communication Technologies may serve as an answer to this call. ICT Management in Non-Profit Organizations aims to explore the effective and comprehensive deployment of appropriate ICT strategies within the nonprofit sector. This innovative reference work will discuss how ICT enables the non-profit sector to achieve organizational efficiency, effectiveness, and, ultimately, self sufficiency, and will provide elected and appointed policymakers, managers, and planners in governments, public agencies, and nonprofit organizations with a comprehensive strategy for creating an ICT management agenda in the non-profit sector.
ISBN: 9781466659759Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Impact and Excellence: Data-driven strategies for aligning mission, culture, and performance in nonprofit and government organizations by
Learn to identify, capture, and utilize impactful data for organizational transformation Impact & Excellence is the culmination of a four year research study into the most successful data-driven strategies for today's non-profit and government organizations. The book focuses on five strategic elements to success based on proven principles, with solutions that are easy to implement and often lead to sweeping change. Each chapter includes discussion questions and action items to help leaders implement key concepts in their own organizations. Included with purchase is access to the Measurement Culture Survey, which, will allow readers to access a free benchmark report. Learn to implement a measurement culture that emphasizes strong performance and measurable outcomes Read vivid case studies from successful organizations that do things differently Learn to utilize and leverage data to take decisive actions within your organization Avoid common barriers to developing a measurement culture and learn ways to overcome limitations The book utilizes a series of experiences and templates to help leaders develop a unique action plan tailored to their organization's particular circumstances. Filled with real success stories to inspire readers and with full study results available in the appendix, Impact & Excellence is a crucial resource for leaders to enable their social sector organizations to prosper and compete in today's economy.
ISBN: 9781118911198Publication Date: 2014-08-28
The Smart Nonprofit by
A pragmatic framework for nonprofit digital transformation that embraces the human-centered nature of your organization The Smart Nonprofit turns the page on an era of frantic busyness and scarcity mindsets to one in which nonprofit organizations have the time to think and plan -- and even dream. The Smart Nonprofit offers a roadmap for the once-in-a-generation opportunity to remake work and accelerate positive social change. It comes from understanding how to use smart tech strategically, ethically and well. Smart tech does rote tasks like filling out expense reports and identifying prospective donors. However, it is also beginning to do very human things like screening applicants for jobs and social services, while paying forward historic biases. Beth Kanter and Allison Fine elegantly outline the ways smart nonprofits must stay human-centered and root out embedded bias in order to success at the compassionate and creative work that only humans can and should do.
ISBN: 9781119818137Publication Date: 2022-03-03
Social E-Enterprise: Value creation through ICT by
As the importance of the social sector has increased in recent years, utilizing social enterprise aids in the development of knowledge, research, and practices in order to achieve an organizations goals. Therefore, an understanding of ICT implementation in regards to social enterprise is crucial for effectiveness. Social E-Enterprise: Value Creation through ICT provides research on the understanding of ICT in the social enterprise field as it emerges as a major component of both business model and developed economy. This reference source focuses on the role of information communication technology as it promotes the development of the social sector."
ISBN: 9781466626980Publication Date: 2012-12-31
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Special topics in philanthropy and nonprofit management
Effective Fundraising for Nonprofits by
Jumpstart your fundraising efforts!Whether your nonprofit has just gotten tax-exempt status or has been operating for years, its success depends on its ability to raise donations from individuals, companies, and institutions. The question you're facing is, "How do we make our voices heard and bring in the needed support?"Here, you'll find plain-English answers. Featuring advice and stories from over 50 experienced fundraisers, foundation staffers, journalists and more, this book explains how to: make a fundraising plan work with individual donors keep givers giving plan special events solicit grants from foundations and corporations use traditional and social media to engage supporters start a side business to raise funds and much more. Effective Fundraising for Nonprofits also provides creative grassroots strategies and dozens of real-life success stories. Best of all, it cuts out the jargon and "consultant speak" that's all too common in nonprofit books. The 7th edition is completely updated to reflect recent fundraising trends, such as a rise in the proportion of gifts coming from wealthy donors owing to tax changes. It also suggests strategies for drawing supporters to virtual events.
ISBN: 9781413329896Publication Date: 2022-08-30
The Forgotten Foundations of Fundraising by
An entertaining, informative, and eminently useful guide that draws on psychology, data, and real-world experience to explain what really drives successful fundraising. In The Forgotten Foundations of Fundraising, Jeremy Beer and Jeff Cain, cofounders of American Philanthropic, a leading consulting firm for nonprofit organizations, offer practical lessons and unconventional wisdom for both nonprofit leaders and novices in the art and science of raising money. Drawing upon a wealth of experience, deploying an army of anecdotes, and using eye-opening American Philanthropic survey data, the authors provide a brisk, irreverent, and supremely useful introduction to fundraising for charities and nonprofits. The book explains the hows and whys of a variety of fundraising techniques, from direct mail to planned giving programs. It explores the benefits and pitfalls of prospect research, the keys to donor retention, and the essential elements of a healthy nonprofit culture. It gives insightful advice on making personal meetings count, soliciting foundations, and training young fundraisers. And it does so with sprightly prose and sharp observations. You'll never read another fundraising book quite like this one. Expertly deflating the pretensions of those who would make fundraising a bureaucratic and esoteric profession, Beer and Cain elucidate the practical knowledge and relationship skills that still matter more than anything else. They make an impassioned plea for the importance of civil society to American democracy and build a compelling case for fundraising as an honorable component of a healthy civic culture. Philanthropy is not about bottom lines and return on investment--successful fundraisers provide a platform for donors to affirm their ideals, values, and morals. Fundraising is serious, but learning about it needn't be a chore. The Forgotten Foundations of Fundraising is at once eminently practical and absolutely delightful.
ISBN: 9781119546450Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Fundraising and the Next Generation, + Website by
Step-by-step guidance to key fundraising methods to attract, engage, and retain donors of all ages Fundraising and the Next Generation brings readers up to date on cases, research, opportunities, and challenges regarding philanthropy's next generation. Readers will learn practical strategies for cultivation, solicitation, and stewardship of Gen X and Y philanthropists using new technologies and traditional tools. Fundraising and the Next Generation covers the behaviors, key characteristics, and approaches for working with philanthropists under the age of forty. In addition, other age cohorts will be discussed to provide perspective, comparison, and related strategies. Includes step-by-step tools for setting up next gen technology in your organization and engaging Gen X and Y as donors Features a glossary of social media terms, a list of academic resources for development and professional advancement, and an assessment toolkit Defines the key characteristics of the four current generations, their habits for charitable giving, and how every development office can successfully engage them in philanthropy Provides a website with additional information beyond the book Savvy fundraising leaders understand that successful and sustained philanthropy is not just an issue for today. Long-term planning and diversified strategies allow fundraisers to access every prospective contribution possible. Timely and relevant, Fundraising and the Next Generation brings readers up to date on cases, research, opportunities, and challenges regarding philanthropy's next generation.
ISBN: 9781118077023Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Fundraising Principles and Practice by
The complete guide to fundraising planning, tools, methods, and more Fundraising Principles and Practice provides a unique resource for students and professionals seeking to deepen their understanding of fundraising in the current nonprofit environment. Based on emerging research drawn from economics, psychology, social psychology, and sociology, this book provides comprehensive analysis of the nonprofit sector. The discussion delves into donor behavior, decision making, social influences, and models, then uses that context to describe today's fundraising methods, tools, and practices. A robust planning framework helps you set objectives, formulate strategies, create a budget, schedule, and monitor activities, with in-depth guidance toward assessing and fine-tuning your approach. Coverage includes online fundraising, major gifts, planned giving, direct response, grants, corporate fundraising, and donor retention, with an integrated pedagogical approach that facilitates active learning. Case studies and examples illustrate the theory and principles presented, and the companion website offers additional opportunity to deepen your learning and assess your knowledge. Fundraising has become a career specialty, and those who are successful at it are among the most in-demand in the nonprofit world. Great fundraisers make an organization's mission possible, and this book covers the essential information you need to help your organization succeed. Adopt an organized approach to fundraising planning Learn the common behaviors and motivations of donors Master the tools and practices of nonprofit fundraising Manage volunteers, monitor progress, evaluate events, and more Fundraising is the the nonprofit's powerhouse. It's the critical component that supports and maintains all activities, and forms the foundation of the organization itself. Steady management, clear organization, effective methods, and the most up-to-date tools are vital to the role, and familiarity with donor psychology is essential for using these tools to their utmost capability. Fundraising Principles and Practice provides a comprehensive guide to all aspects of the field, with in-depth coverage of today's most effective approaches.
ISBN: 9781119196495Publication Date: 2017-03-06
Fundraising with Businesses by
40 proven strategies for raising big money with businesses There's a reason why nonprofits are getting smaller checks from corporate giving programs. Companies are abandoning or slashing giving budgets and instead focusing on win-win pacts that drive sales and change the world. Nonprofits need guidance and practical know-how in this new age of mutually beneficial nonprofit and business partnerships. Presenting forty practical fundraising strategies to help small to medium-sized nonprofits raise more money from businesses, Fundraising with Businesses breathes new life into nonprofit / for-profit relationships to begin a new era of doing good and well. Presents new and improved fundraising strategies for raising money from businesses--from in-store register promotions and shopping fundraisers to online workplace giving solutions and digital campaigns involving popular social networking sites. Written by an experienced fundraiser and renowned blogger and speaker on business giving. Features case examples of successful nonprofit/corporate partnerships that will be regularly updated via a link with the online pin board Pinterest. The fundraising potential of working with businesses is greater than ever. Read Fundraising with Businesses and discover the tools to turn existing and new business relationships into successful--and lucrative--partnerships.
ISBN: 9781118615461Publication Date: 2013-12-16
The Generosity Network by
The Generosity Network is the essential guide to the art of activating resources of every kind behind any worthy cause. Philanthropist Jeff Walker and fund-raising expert Jennifer McCrea offer a fresh new perspective that can make the toughest challenges of nonprofit management and development less stressful, more rewarding--and even fun. Walker and McCrea show how traditional pre-scripted, money-centered, goal-oriented fund-raising techniques lead to anxiety and failure, while open-spirited, curiosity-driven, person-to-person connections lead to discovery, growth--and often amazing results. Through engrossing personal stories, a wealth of innovative suggestions, and inspiring examples, they show nonprofit leaders how to build a community of engaged partners who share a common passion and are eager to provide the resources needed to change the world--not just money, but also time, talents, personal networks, creative thinking, public support, and all the other forms of social capital that often seem scanty yet are really abundant, waiting to be uncovered and mobilized. Highly practical, motivating, and thought provoking, The Generosity Network is designed to energize and empower nonprofit leaders, managers, donors, board members, and other supporters. Whether you help run a multimillion-dollar global nonprofit or raise funds for a local scout troop, PTA, or other community organization, you'll learn new approaches that will make your work more successful and enjoyable than ever.
ISBN: 9780770437800Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Mobile for good: A how-to fundraising guide for nonprofits by
Whether your goal is to raise more funds online, launch a new program, or increase your capacity to maintain current operations, creating and executing a mobile and social media strategy is a small investment that packs a big punch. Apply the lessons of Mobile for Good, and your organization can and will raise more funds than ever.
ISBN: 9780071825276Publication Date: 2014
Reliable Fundraising in Unreliable Times by
Praise for Reliable Fundraising in Unreliable Times "Kim Klein has been a guru to social justice fundraisers formany years. She shows us by her efforts, and not just by her words,that it is possible to raise the money you need, no matter howmarginal you feel or are considered in the larger society." ?Rinku Sen, executive director, Applied ResearchCenter, New York, New York; author, Stir It Up and The AccidentalAmerican "With wisdom gleaned from over 30 years of experience, Kim Kleindelivers her can-do message with wit, grace, and unabashedoptimism?even in times like these. She taught us at JVP thatthere is still plenty of money out there; it's just unevenlydistributed. Her consistent message: people give because we ask.Poking fun at money taboos, assuring us that fundraising is notthat hard, Kim reminds us that the system is held in place bymoney: if we don't learn about it, we can't change it!" ?Penny Rosenwasser, National Board, Jewish Voice forPeace, Oakland, California "This book is an extraordinary combination of philosophy and howto, all aimed at helping nonprofits build a movement for socialjustice. Kim distills three decades of fundraising and organizingexperience into a book that will be helpful for novice and veteranalike." ?Lance Evoy, director, Institute for CommunityDevelopment, Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec
ISBN: 9780470479506Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Storytelling for Grantseekers: A guide to creative nonprofit fundraising by
Grantwriters often have little or no training in the practical task of grantseeking. Many feel intimidated by the act of writing, and some don't enjoy writing. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, Second Edition, Cheryl Clarke presents an organic approach to grantseeking, one that views the process through the lens of the pleasures and rewards of crafting a good story. Grantseekers who approach the process as one in which they are connecting with an audience (grantmakers) and writing a narrative (complete with settings, characters, antagonists and resolutions) find greater success with funders. The writing process becomes a rewarding way to tell the organization's tale, rather than a chore, and their passion and creativity lead to winning proposals. This book walks readers through all the main phases of the proposal, highlighting the creative elements that link components to each other and unify the entire proposal. The book contains resources on crafting an effective synopsis, overcoming grantwriter's block, packaging the story, and the best ways to approach the "short stories" (inquiry and cover letters) that support the larger proposal. Clarke also stresses the need to see proposal-writing as part of a larger grantseeking effort, one that emphasizes preparation, working with the entire development staff, and maintaining good relations with funders. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, new and experienced grantseekers alike will discover how to write and support successful proposals with humor and passion. New edition features: Overall updates as well as both refreshed and new examples Workshop exercises for using the storytelling approach New chapters on the application of the storytelling method to other fundraising communications like appeal letters and case statements, as well as the importance of site visits Example of a full narrative proposal
ISBN: 9780470381229Publication Date: 2009-01-20
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
The Complete Book of Grant Writing by
The Complete Book of Grant Writing is a must-have shelf reference for anyone seeking funding through grants--government grants, foundation grants, specialty grants and more. Professional grant writer Nancy Burke Smith and philanthropy consultant and grantmaker E. Gabriel Works unveil the secrets behind how to find and professionally apply for grants. The Complete Book of Grant Writing includes information on: --The Five Core Components of every grant including the statement of need, the evaluation plan and budgets --What makes a grant compelling to funders? --What to do when you are funded--and what you can do when you are not --How to be a professional grant writer --The grant writing timetable, from responding to requests for proposals to receiving funding Grant writing in different fields of nonprofit practice, including educational, governmental, environmental and faith-based organizations The Complete Book of Grant Writing is the most in-depth, complete and up-to-date book on grant writing available.
ISBN: 9781402206672Publication Date: 2006-07-01
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing by
In the sixth edition of our essential Guide, author Jane C. Geever provides detailed instructions on preparing successful grant proposals. Incorporating the results of 40 interviews with grantmakers across the nation, the Guide reveals their priorities in reviewing submissions and provides insight into what makes a winning proposal. The Guide outlines the entire proposal-writing process: Pre-Proposal Planning Tips-This helps you decide when your nonprofit is ready to raise funds and determine how to best define your project. Components of the Proposal-Review actual cover letters, project descriptions, budgets, and examples of important follow-up communications with prospective donors. Guidance from Grantmakers-Interviews highlight new trends in grantmaking: preferred proposal formats, funder cultivation strategies, tips on re-submitting a rejected request, and on how to capture and sustain a grantmaker's interest. To illustrate key points, excerpts from successful grant proposals are inserted throughout the Guide. And a complete model proposal is included in the appendix. An updated bibliography features selected resources on proposal development, including web and print sources. Three new chapters are added to address the impact of online innovations on the grantmaking process, and to provide additional insights and tips on the funders' "due diligence" proposal review process. Established in 1956, the Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to succeed. The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants-a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector. It also operates research, educations, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthrophy at every level. Thousands of people visit the Center's web site each day and are served in its five regional library/learning centers and its network of more than 450 funding information centers located in public libraries, community foundation, and educational institution nationwide and around the world. For more information, please visit foundationcenter.org or call (212) 620-4230. Book jacket.
ISBN: 9781595424044Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Grant Writing for Dummies by
Your go-to guide for getting that coveted grant Though hundreds of thousands of grant opportunities exist, finding the right one can be a challenge. Grant Writing For Dummies, 6th Edition offers expert guidance for locating available grants, carefully applying, and ultimately winning a grant. From writing compelling applications to properly adhering to strict guidelines and parameters, it takes the intimidation out of the process and shows you how to increase your ability to get a piece of the billion-dollar pie for your non-profit or for-profit organization. You'll even have access to sample applications, letters, and budgets online to help you stand out from the competition. As the amount of established granting foundations increases, so does the amount of money available. But for most grant-seekers, the application process can be long, tedious, and highly competitive. Packed with step-by-step instructions for registering with Grants.gov, up-to-date grant opportunities available via newly created websites and online databases, updated resources and best practices--and more--Grant Writing For Dummies is your all-encompassing guide to navigating the entire grant-writing process. Find grant opportunities in the public or private sector Create strong statements of need tailored for your prospects Navigate federal regulations Apply for grants online If you're ready to create powerful, successful applications and proposals that convey your need for grant funding, help is a page away!
ISBN: 9781119280125Publication Date: 2016-10-03
How to Write a Grant Proposal by
Step-by-step guidance on how to write effective grants that get the funding you need. Complete with examples of fully-completed proposals, you'll also get an easy-to-use companion website containing guide sheets and templates that can be easily downloaded, customized, and printed. The authors provide examples of completed proposals and numerous case studies to demonstrate how the grant-seeking process typically works. Order your copy today!
ISBN: 9780471212201Publication Date: 2003-03-13
Proposal Writing by
This book is written primarily for students or beginning-to-moderately experienced grantwriters working in nonprofit corporations, school districts, or city or county agencies, and provides a step-by-step guide to writing a successful grant proposal. The third edition has been retitled; Proposal Writing: The New Grantsmanship and Funding Strategies because the authors have broadened their scope while still maintaining the aspects that made the previous editions bestsellers. A new organization provides greater coherence and logic in the presentation of the chapters. Throughout the book, readers are presented with agency/organizational analyses using a conceptual framework that is tied to a theoretical perspective about the desired outcomes. This framework provides the coherence for the book and assists individuals with the "mechanics" of writing and challenges them to understand why a particular strategy and with what desired and measurable outcome are they seeking. The book also conveys the "new grantsmanship" which is essential for navigating the economic, political, and social dimesions of proposal and grant writing.
ISBN: 9781412937757Publication Date: 2007-07-20
Webster's New World Grant Writing Handbook by
A comprehensive, step-by-step guide to grant writing Webster's New World Grant Writing Handbook walks readers through every step of the grant writing process-from defining the project and getting and interpreting a foundation's guidelines to submitting and following up on the grant application. With clear, concise explanations, thorough coverage, illustrative examples, and expert advice, this helpful, complete resource gives grant writers all the information and guidance they need to succeed. Sara Deming Wason (Syracuse, NY) holds a master's degree in nonprofit management from Syracuse University's Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs. Wason has over 20 years' experience in nonprofit administration, including the last 10 years in higher education development. She is currently Executive Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations at Syracuse University where she is responsible for corporate foundation fundraising.
ISBN: 0764579614Publication Date: 2004-10-08
Winning Grants Step by Step by
Strong grant proposal writing made easy From small startups to established national organizations, nonprofits large and small depend on grant funding to survive and thrive. Winning Grants Step by Step: The Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing, and Writing Successful Proposals has long been the go-to resource for individuals and organizations looking for a clear, easy-to-follow approach to tackling the grant-writing process and winning funds. Now, in this revised Fifth Edition, changes and developments in the not-for-profit sector are integrated into the time-tested grant-writing formula that has proven effective time and again. New to this edition, you'll find an expanded discussion of the importance of relationship building, social media, and online resources to successful nonprofit funding. The text has also been revised to include guidance for nonprofit program budgets for both foundation and public funding grants. Never before has Winning Grants Step by Step been so easy to comprehend. Updated worksheets and forms will improve your comprehension and make your grant proposals stronger and more successful than ever. Learn the proven step-by-step approach to writing strong grant proposals for foundation grants and public funds Complete worksheets and activities to practice your grant-writing skills and break the process down into easy pieces Understand how to integrate your ideas and insights with research and facts to demonstrate your organization's potential Learn the best approaches to building relationships and networking both in-person and online to push strong grant proposals into the winner's circle This guide is perfect as an introduction for the novice grantseeker or a refresher for the more experienced. Whether your organization needs only a thousand dollars or several million, following this step-by-step process will improve your ability to transform an idea that needs financial support into a proposal that deserves to be funded.
ISBN: 9781119547372Publication Date: 2019-07-29
Writing Grant Proposals That Win by
Writing Grant Proposals That Win, Third Edition gives you step-by-step instructions and clear examples of how to write winning grant proposals. From expressing the need for the project to describing objectives and activities, from outlining your evaluation plan to creating a workable project budget, from how reviewers function to what they are looking for in proposal sections, you'll find the help you need to maximize every aspect of your proposal.The tips to help you create winning sections include how to: assess a program announcement and ensure that you address each requirement, condense your entire proposal into a brief but compelling abstract, determine what appendices to include (and in what form) for maximum impact, adequately describe project dissemination and continuation plans, use technology - including desktop publishing, graphics, color, and spreadsheets for budget development - to enhance your proposals, and structure your proposal to increase your chance of winning.Expanded to include more grant writing help than ever, the book also includes easy-to-use flowcharts and helpful hints that give you expert tips and proven grant writing advice.With this book, you'll have the tools you need to craft proposals that win!
ISBN: 0763729302Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
The Art of Giving by
An honest assessment for how to determine your individual relationship with charitable giving in today's world From world-renowned philanthropists Charles Bronfman and Jeffrey Solomon of the Andrea and Charles Bronfman Philanthropies comes a comprehensive guide on how to be a canny, street-smart, effective philanthropist, regardless of your income level. It is also a perfect companion for nonprofit program and development executives who would like to introduce donors to their work and their organizations. Despite their critical importance to philanthropy, donors have few resources for solid information about making their gifts-deciding what type of gift to give, how to structure it, the tax implications, what level of follow-up and transparency they should ask for and expect, and countless other complexities. This book fills that vacuum and helps you gain a special understanding of philanthropy as a business undertaking as well as a deeply personal, reflective process. Drawing on decades of experience, the authors offer a fresh, enlivening approach to the nonprofit enterprise that, too often, is undervalued and thought of as the province of the burnt-out and the overwhelmed. Along with its many candid insights and memorable anecdotes, The Art of Giving also offers instruction on how to create a business plan for giving that works for you.
ISBN: 9780470501467Publication Date: 2009-10-26
Creating a Private Foundation by
Imagine all you'd like to accomplish with your philanthropy. Now picture a large portion of your resources never reaching their intended use due to poor strategies, mismanagement, or unnecessary taxes. Today the opportunities in the philanthropic sector are greater and more varied than ever. Private foundations, which offer several estate and tax-planning advantages as well as unparalleled donor control, have become the vehicle of choice for more than sixty thousand individuals and families--and may be ideal for you. Creating a Private Foundation introduces the issues you need to understand and gives the big picture on how foundations work. It tells you exactly what is involved for you, for the causes you care about, for your finances and taxes, and for your heirs. Chapters address the practicalities as well as the implications of founding, funding, organizing, and operating an effective foundation, including growing its endowment, allocating its assets, and selecting professional foundation management help. Roger Silk, James Lintott, and their colleagues, leaders in the foundation consulting arena, have pooled their wisdom in this comprehensive guide for donors and your advisers. If you're looking to make a difference, there is no better guide.
ISBN: 1576601366Publication Date: 2003-06-01
Generation Impact: How next gen donors are revolutionizing giving by
An insider's guide to the coming philanthropic revolution Meet the next generation of big donors--the Gen X and Millennial philanthropists who will be the most significant donors ever and will shape our world in profound ways. Hear them describe their ambitious plans to revolutionize giving so it achieves greater impact. And learn how to help them succeed in a world that needs smart, effective donors now more than ever. As "next gen donors" step into their philanthropic roles, they have not only unprecedented financial resources, but also big ideas for how to wield their financial power. They want to disrupt the traditional world of charitable giving, and they want to do so now, not after they retire to a life of philanthropic leisure. Generation Impact pulls back the curtain on these rising leaders and their "Impact Revolution," offering both extensive firsthand accounts and expert analysis of the hands-on, boundary-pushing, unconventional strategies next gen donors are beginning to pursue. This fascinating book also shows another side of the donors in Generation Impact: they want to respect the past even as they transform the future. They are determined to honor the philanthropic legacies and values they've inherited by making big giving more effective than ever before. If they succeed, they can make historic progress on causes from education to the environment, from human rights to health care. Based on years of research and close engagement with next gen donors, Generation Impact offers a unique profile of the new faces of philanthropy. Find out, directly from them: How they want to revolutionize giving to expand its positive impact on our lives and our communities. Which causes interest them, how they want to engage with those causes ... and, perhaps more important, how they do not want to engage. Which new tools and strategies for change excite them most. What they are learning from previous generations, and what they want to bring to their work alongside those generations. How we can all ensure their historic potential is channeled in ways that make our world better. The Impact Revolution will be messy, but it could also result in solutions for some of our most persistent problems. Generation Impact offers targeted, practical advice to parents, families, and their advisors, as well as nonprofit professionals--those who work closest with these next gen donors--on how to engage, nurture, and encourage them as they reshape major giving and make their mark on history. Help them channel their enthusiasm--and their wealth--to make the most positive difference in a world with such great need.
ISBN: 9781119422853Publication Date: 2017-09-08
Inspired Philanthropy by
This newest edition of the classic book shows how anyone can align and integrate values, passions, and dreams for their communities and families into their plans. Inspired Philanthropy explains how to make a difference by creating giving and legacy plans, tells what questions to ask nonprofits, and spells out how to help partner with advisors and nonprofit leaders for inspired outcomes. In addition to overall updates to statistics, the new edition includes a discussion of the implications of the Buffett gift to the Gates Foundation; new legacy planning tools; expanded resources on youth, giving circles, and communities of color; key questions for advisors and donors; and worksheets and resources available on the enclosed CD.
ISBN: 9780787996529Publication Date: 2007-11-16
Philanthrocapitalism by
An examination of how today's leading philanthropists are revolutionizing the field, using new methods to have a vastly greater impact on the world. For philanthropists of the past, charity was often a matter of simply giving money away. For the philanthrocapitalists - the new generation of billionaires who are reshaping the way they give - it's like business. Largely trained in the corporate world, these "social investors" are using big-business-style strategies and expecting results and accountability to match. Bill Gates, the world's richest man, is leading the way: he has promised his entire fortune to finding a cure for the diseases that kill millions of children in the poorest countries in the world. In Philanthrocapitalism, Matthew Bishop and Michael Green examine this new movement and its implications. Proceeding from interviews with some of the most powerful people on the planet--including Gates, Bill Clinton, George Soros, Angelina Jolie, and Bono, among others--they show how a web of wealthy, motivated donors has set out to change the world. Their results will have huge implications: In a climate resistant to government spending on social causes, their focused donations may be the greatest force for societal change in our world, and a source of political controversy. Combining on-the-ground anecdotes, expert analysis, and up-close profiles of the wealthy and powerful, this is a fascinating look at a small group of people who will change an enormous number of lives.
ISBN: 9781596913745Publication Date: 2008-09-30
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Browse books by topic
To discover books on various topics related to philanthropy and nonprofit management please use one of the suggested subjects below