Getting started
What is a non profit?
Nonprofits, or NPOs, (sometimes called NGOs, nonprofit organizations or non governmental organizations in spite of individual characteristics for each) are organizations that exempt from paying federal income taxes under the Internal Revenue Code in the United States. NPOs can be schools, churches, social clubs, associations, cooperatives, foundations, etc.
From the National Council of Nonprofits
"Congress has created almost three dozen types of tax-exempt organizations in different sections of the tax code. These include Section 501(c)(4) (social welfare organizations, homeowners associations, and volunteer fire companies), Section 501(c)(5) (includes labor unions), Section 501(c)(6) (includes chambers of commerce), and Section 501(k) (child care organizations)."
What is 501(c)(3)?
Organizations described in section 501(c)(3) are commonly referred to as charitable organizations. Organizations described in section 501(c)(3), other than testing for public safety organizations, are eligible to receive tax-deductible contributions in accordance with Code section 170. - Source: IRS
Introduction to philanthropy and nonprofit management
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with philanthropy and nonprofit management related terms and topics.
A Dictionary of Civil Society, Philanthropy and the Third Sector by
This guide to civil society provides a quick and easy reference to the key people, concepts and organizations of the third sector. It contains approximately 300 up-to-date entries including all terms and concepts associated with civil society, as well as regional information. Key features of the dictionary include: * definitions of concepts and terms surrounding civil society * details on specific regions important in the history of civil society, such as India, the CIS and the USA * profiles of the key personalities and organizations involved in the third sector * includes information on how the sector operates (e.g. Fair Trade, grassroots organizations and exit strategies) * provides information that would otherwise require many volumes to locate. Key terms include: Citizenship, Social Captial, Rule of Law, Nonprofit Management, Corporate Responsibilities and Social Origins Theory.
ISBN: 1857431669Publication Date: 2005-05-19
A Dictionary of Nonprofit Terms and Concepts by
This reference work defines more than 1,200 terms and concepts that have been found useful in past research and theory on the nonprofit sector. The entries reflect the importance of associations, citizen participation, philanthropy, voluntary action, nonprofit management, volunteer administration, leisure, and political activities of nonprofits. They also reflect a concern for the wider range of useful general concepts in theory and research that bear on the nonprofit sector and its manifestations in the United States and elsewhere. This dictionary supplies some of the necessary foundational work on the road toward a general theory of the nonprofit sector.
ISBN: 9780253112224Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with philanthropy and nonprofit management related terms and topics.
Philanthropy in America by
The field is emerging, but the study of philanthropy--known also as the nonprofit, voluntary, independent, or third sector in the United States--has matured enough to merit its own encyclopedia. Editor Burlingame (Center on Philanthropy, Indiana U.
ISBN: 1576078612Publication Date: 2004-08-19
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with philanthropy and nonprofit management related terms and topics.
The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance by
THE HANDBOOK OF NONPROFIT GOVERNANCE From BoardSource comes The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance. This comprehensive resource explores the overarching question of governance within nonprofit organizations and addresses the roles, structures, and practices of an effective nonprofit. The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance covers the topics that are of most importance to those charged with creating and sustaining effective leadership, including building a board; succession planning; policies; financial oversight; fundraising; planning; strategic planning processes; risk management; and evaluation of the board, CEO, and organization. Praise for The Handbook of Nonprofit Governance "This is the first book I've found that covers the topic of governance from A to Z. I know what I'll be assigning the students in my governance class as a textbook next semester!" --TERRIE TEMKIN, founding principal, CoreStrategies for Nonprofits, Inc. "BoardSource has prepared an exceptional resource for nonprofit boards and leaders. This comprehensive volume offers timely and relevant information about board work and governance, including practical tools and resources that will be valuable to all types of nonprofits." --DAVID O. RENZ, chair, department of public affairs; Beth K. Smith/Missouri Chair in Nonprofit Leadership; and director, Midwest Center for Nonprofit Leadership; University of Missouri, Kansas City "If you are involved in nonprofit organizations, and if you ever have doubts about how they are best run, this is the book for you-and BoardSource is the place to turn." --FISHER HOWE, consultant, Lavender/Howe & Associates, and author, The Nonprofit Leadership Team BoardSource (formerly the National Center for Nonprofit Boards) is the premier resource for practical information, tools and best practices, training, and leadership development for board members of nonprofit organizations worldwide.
ISBN: 9780470457634Publication Date: 2010-04-19
Handbook of Research on Emerging Business Models and Managerial Strategies in the Nonprofit Sector by
Modern businesses exist in a dynamic and increasingly competitive realm. To remain viable, organizations must constantly adopt new methods and processes to optimize productivity and workflow. The Handbook of Research on Emerging Business Models and Managerial Strategies in the Nonprofit Sector is a comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly information on management tools, analytics, and infrastructures for contemporary nonprofit organizations. Highlighting a range of multidisciplinary topics such as crowdfunding, shared value creation, and human resource development, this publication is ideally designed for managers, professionals, students, researchers, and academics interested in enhancing process management in nonprofit businesses.
ISBN: 9781522525387Publication Date: 2017-03-31
Handbook of Research on Managerial Solutions in Non-Profit Organizations by
Non-profit Organizations (NPOs) are the fastest growing organizations in modern society. They exist in a liminal realm between public and private organizations, and because of this, new jurisdictions are created for NPOs. The existence of NPOs is contingent upon their adequacy, and management is a key determining factor as to whether an organization survives. The Handbook of Research on Managerial Solutions in Non-Profit Organizations provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings related to the successful management of nonprofits. Providing insights into the best practices and valuable comparisons between strategies in different contexts, this book gives invaluable support for nonprofit managers, policy makers, students, and researchers.
ISBN: 9781522507321Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Handbook of Research on Transforming Government, Nonprofits, and Healthcare in a Post-Pandemic Era by
The COVID-19 pandemic has offered the world and its governments many challenges in how they will conduct their responsibilities and best assist their citizens. The COVID-19 pandemic not only brought a global health emergency, but also helped to shed light on systemic inequalities, caused conspiracy and distrust within the masses, and exhausted global health services. The government and nonprofit sector, including healthcare, education, and social service organizations, will have to utilize the best practices, greater collaboration, and joint venturing to survive post pandemic. The Handbook of Research on Transforming Government, Nonprofits, and Healthcare in a Post-Pandemic Era serves as a resource for those in education, healthcare, government, social service, and other nonprofit organizations who wish to advance their missions in an age of uncertainty. It further discusses how democracy can continue to advance the world, its countries, and the way that we see one another. Covering topics such as BIPOC academic leaders, economic development, and health science education, this premier reference source is an essential resource for government officials, public administration, community leaders, advocacy networks, social service organizations, hospital administrators, health officials, medical professionals, students and faculty of higher education, researchers, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781668423172Publication Date: 2022-10-28
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by
The go-to nonprofit handbook, updated and expanded for today's leader The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is the bestselling professional reference and leading text on the functions, processes, and strategies that are integral to the effective leadership and management of nonprofit and nongovernmental organizations. Now in its fourth edition, this handbook presents the most current research, theory, and practice in the field of nonprofit leadership and management. This practical, relevant guide is invaluable to the effective practice of nonprofit leadership and management, with expanded attention to accountability, transparency, and organizational effectiveness. It also extensively covers the practice of social entrepreneurship, presented via an integrative perspective that helps the reader make practical sense of how to bring it all together. Nonprofit organizations present unique opportunities and challenges for meeting the needs of societies and their communities, yet nonprofit management is more complex and challenging than ever. This Handbook provides a framework to help you lead and manage efficiently and effectively in this new environment. Building on solid current scholarship, the handbook provides candid, practical guidance from nationally-recognized leaders who share their insights on: The relationship between board performance and organizational effectiveness Managing internal and external stakeholder relationships Financial viability and sustainability and how to enhance both for the long term Strategies to successfully attract, retain, and mobilize the very best of staff and volunteers The fourth edition of the handbook also includes content relevant to associations and membership organizations. The content of the handbook is supplemented and enriched by an extensive set of online supplements and tools, including reading lists, web references, checklists, PowerPoint slides, discussion guides, and sample exams. Running your nonprofit or nongovernmental organization effectively in today's complex and challenging environment demands more knowledge and skill than ever, deployed in a thoughtful and pragmatic way. Grounded in the most useful modern scholarship and theory, and explained from the perspective of effective practice, The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is a pivotal resource for successful nonprofit leaders in these turbulent times.
ISBN: 9781118852866Publication Date: 2016-08-10
Leadership In Nonprofit Organizations by
This two-volume set tackles issues relevant to leadership in the non-profit sector. It centres on the 100 most important topics, issues, questions and debates specific to non-profit leadership.
ISBN: 9781412979320Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Nonprofit Human Resource Management Handbook by
As an increasing number of individuals go to work in the nonprofit sector, nonprofit managers need support on how best to build their human resource management capacity. They need to know what systems to examine, what questions to ask, and how to ensure they are managing people in a legal manner and as effectively as possible given their particular resource constraints. Important questions include: Do we have a clear philosophy, one that aligns with our nonprofit mission and values and allows us to treat our employees as the professionals they are? How do we select, develop, and retain the best people who will produce high value, high performance work, and how do we do so with limited resources? How do we effectively manage our mix of volunteers and paid staff? What do we need to consider to ensure diverse people work together in a harmonious fashion? With all-new chapters written by the top scholars in the field of nonprofit HRM, these are but a few of the many questions that are addressed in this timely volume.　 These scholars delve into their particular areas of expertise, offering a comprehensive look at theories and trends; legal and ethical issues; how to build HRM from recruitment, management, labor relations, to training and appraisal; as well as topics in diversity, technology, and paid versus volunteer workforce management. This essential handbook offers all core topic coverage as well as countless insider insights, additional resource lists, and tool sets for practical application. With chapters grounded in existing research, but also connecting research to practice for those in the field, The Nonprofit Human Resource Management Handbook will be required reading for a generation of scholars, students, and practitioners of nonprofit human resource management.　
ISBN: 9781498738170Publication Date: 2017-06-16
The Nonprofit Sector by
The second edition of The Nonprofit Sector provides a novel, comprehensive, cross-disciplinary perspective on nonprofit organizations and their role and function in society. This new, updated edition keeps pace with industry trends and advances as well as with the changing interests and needs of students, practitioners, and researchers. As before, every chapter has been written to stand on its own, providing sufficient background for the reader to follow the argument without referring to other chapters--allowing readers to selectively choose those chapters that are most relevant to a particular course, interest, or issue. The Nonprofit Sector: A Research Handbook includes twenty-seven new or updated chapters. Relevant chapters from the previous edition have been refined, and new chapters have been added to fill in gaps, making this the authoritative reference for all who want an accessible, perceptive, and all-inclusive rendering of the nonprofit sector. The contributors--prominent scholars in their respective fields--carefully reflect upon the variety of changes in the rapidly growing world of nonprofits, examining a wide array of organizations, international issues, social science theories, and philanthropic traditions and covering a broad range of topics including the history and scope of nonprofit activities in the United States and abroad, the relation of nonprofits to the marketplace, government-nonprofit issues, key activities of nonprofits, aspects of giving to and joining nonprofits, and nonprofit mission and governance. For anyone who wishes to have a deeper understanding of the nonprofit sector, this remains the essential guide. From reviews of the first edition: "[This book] is the closest thing to a 'bible' of nonprofit sector research and state-of-the-art social science knowledge as currently exists."--Dennis R. Young, Public Administration Review "Invaluable to anyone currently engaged in research or policy decisions involving nonprofit organizations or, for that matter, considering becoming involved."--Jerald Schiff, Journal of Policy Analysis and Management "An exceptionally useful resource."--Mark D. Hughes, The Philanthropist
ISBN: 9780300109030Publication Date: 2006-11-01
The Palgrave Handbook of Global Philanthropy by
The Palgrave Handbook of Global Philanthropy is a comprehensive reference guide to the practice of philanthropy across twenty-six nations and regions. In addition, thematic chapters examine cross-national issues to provide an indispensable guide to the latest research in this field. Drawing on theoretical insights from sociology, economics, political science, and psychology, and including a stellar international line-up of leading philanthropy scholars, this essential reference work describes the non-profit sector and analyzes philanthropic endeavours country by country, providing a global overview that covers Asia, Europe, the Middle East, Australia and the Americas. In addition, thematic chapters examine cross-national issues, including the social origins of the non-profit sector and charitable giving; the influence of government support; the role of religion; fiscal incentives; and fundraising to outline how major country-specific differences in governmental, economic, and legal policies for philanthropic actors and nonprofit organizations shape philanthropic giving, demonstrating how country-specific factors may facilitate or inhibit charitable giving. Nonprofit organizations provide important public goods and services in societies across the world. In times of economic crisis, when governments are forced to decrease public spending, these organizations become even more important in meeting demands for these goods and services. But what motivates individuals to voluntarily give away portions of their own financial resources to benefit the public good and to enable nonprofit organizations to carry out their work? Why do people in one country give more frequently and more generously to nonprofit organizations than those in another? The Palgrave Handbook of Global Philanthropy provides an indispensable guide to the latest research in philanthropy, the non-profit sector and charitable giving.
ISBN: 9781137341532Publication Date: 2016-01-06
The Palgrave Handbook of Volunteering, Civic Participation, and Nonprofit Associations by
Written by over 200 leading experts from over seventy countries, this handbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of the latest theory and research on volunteering, civic participation and nonprofit membership associations. The first handbook on the subject to be truly multinational and interdisciplinary in its authorship, it represents a major milestone for the discipline. Each chapter follows a rigorous theoretical structure examining definitions, historical background, key analytical issues, usable knowledge, and future trends and required research. The nine parts of the handbook cover the historical and conceptual background of the discipline; special types of volunteering; the major activity areas of volunteering and associations; influences on volunteering and association participation; the internal structures of associations; the internal processes of associations; the external environments of associations; the scope and impacts of volunteering and associations; and conclusions and future prospects. This handbook provides an essential reference work for third-sector research and practice, including a valuable glossary of terms defining over eighty key concepts. Sponsored by the International Council of Voluntarism, Civil Society, and Social Economy Researcher Associations (ICSERA; www.icsera.org), it will appeal to scholars, policymakers and practitioners, and helps to define the emergent academic discipline of voluntaristics.
ISBN: 9781137263179Publication Date: 2017-06-05
The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook: How to Start, Build, and Run a Business That Improves the World by
Make the business of society your business No one knows the business of social entrepreneurship better than Rupert Scofield. Cofounder and president of FINCA International--a nonprofit microfinancing institution with 7,000 employees serving 750,000 customers in 21 countries--Scofield has been a social entrepreneur for 40 years. In The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook, Scofield leads you through the entire process of starting up and running a nonprofit, sharing personal success stories and advice on what not to do--valuable lessons he learned the hard way. The process, while risky, isn't as difficult as you might think. Practically speaking, you need only two things: an idea and a plan. The former comes from you and you alone. This book supplies the latter. The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook illuminates the path to building a successful nonprofit from the ground up. You'll learn how to: Create a realistic plan for getting started in your chosen cause Assemble the perfect team for putting your plan into action--and keeping it rolling in the right direction Develop a business model specifically designed to run a nonprofit organization Keep yourself, your staff, and your cause in solid financial shape One of the many beauties of social entrepreneurship is that it's never too late to start. You can be right out of school or working in the highest ranks of corporate America. It doesn't matter. Social entrepreneurship begins with a noble cause, which turns into a passion, and soon becomes a mission worth dedicating your life to. The Social Entrepreneur's Handbook is the one and only resource you will need to attain your dream of working full-time in service to others--and making a real, measurable difference in the world.
ISBN: 9780071750295Publication Date: 2011-04-13
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected philanthropy and nonprofit management courses
| PNP 5904 | Boardsource. Handbook of Nonprofit Governance. (2010) |
| PNP 5905 |
Zietlow, John; Hankin, Jo Ann; Seidner, Alan; O'Brien, Tim. Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations: Policies and Practices (2018) |
| PNP 5927 |
Poister, Theodore H. Managing and Measuring Performance in Public and Nonprofit Organizations: An Integrated Approach (2015) |