Philanthropy and Nonprofit Management

America’s Charities

• Case Studies, White Papers, and Toolkits - best practices and "how-to" information about workplace giving, employee engagement, volunteer management, and related topics. Each white paper incorporates real-life examples and proven practices from the field.

 ARNOVA

• Policy Symposium reports

Aspen Institute

• Nonprofit Data Project

Association of Fundraising Professionals

• Research & reports – organized under 6 focus areas: current and prospective donor research, securing the gift, relationship building, volunteer involvement, leadership and management, Ethics, accountability and professionalism.

Center for Association Leadership

• ASAE’s collection of association management knowledge resources on 15 broad association management topics.

Candid

• U.S. Social Sector - up-to-date data and key facts about the organizations, financial flows, and people that make up the sector.
• Research reports
• Issue Lab - free research about critical social issues from social sector organizations around the world.
• Philanthropy News Digest

The Center for Effective Philanthropy

• Resources - helpful resources for funders, including evidence-based reports, profiles of funders making change, case studies, and blog series.

Chief Executives for Corporate Purpose

• Investing in Society – source for trends on the corporate sector’s shift to be increasingly purpose-driven.

Council on Foundations

• Resources - legal, best practices, sample documents. Country notes - Country Notes provide key information on domestic nonprofit laws and regulations, research and reports, and local contacts to strengthen cross-border philanthropy.

Fidelity Charitable

• Entrepreneurs as Philanthropists: Understanding entrepreneurs’ unique approach to giving report

Florida Association of Nonprofits

• Publications
• Nonprofit Economic Trends
• WZ New – the association’s newsletter

Florida Nonprofit Alliance

• Florida's Nonprofit Sector - To increase understanding of the sector and to help elected officials make informed decisions, the Florida Nonprofit Alliance offers quality research.
• Florida Nonprofits Survey - 2022 edition

George Mason University

• Nonprofit Works - interactive database on the U.S. nonprofit economy

Grant Professionals Association

• Journal of the GPA - Archive
• State of Grantseeking annual report - valuable benchmark for organizations to review their grantseeking efforts, report on performance, and plan for the future.

The Grantsmanship Center

• Florida Grant Resources; resources from other states available here

Impact Foundry

• Resources by category

Independent Sector

• Health of the U.S. Nonprofit Sector Quarterly Review - data, analysis, and recommendations about key areas powering 1.8 million nonprofits, including finances, human capital, governance, trust, public policy, and advocacy. Previous editions are available on the site.

National Center for Charitable Statistics Data Archive

• Master files

 National Center for Family Philanthropy

• Trends in Family Philanthropy- This Content Collection features NCFP's Trends 2020 Study and other current research on the field of family philanthropy.

National Center on Nonprofit Enterprise

• Content library

National Committee for Response Philanthropy

• Research & publications

National Council of Nonprofits

• Insights and analysis – reports, newsletters
• Running a nonprofit

Network for Good

• Guides & Templates - free fundraising templates and e-guides including detailed checklists, planning guides.

Nonprofit Quarterly

NPQ uses a range of media channels to help advance critical conversations that can refine nonprofit and social movement policy and practice. NPQ launched as a national print journal in the winter of 1999.

• Complimentary webinars

NonProfit Times

Dedicated to supplying breaking news, in-depth reporting, and special issue coverage to help nonprofit executives run their organizations more effectively.

• Reports section – select reports by topic.
• Whitepapers
• Resources - A catalogue of publications from Philanthropy Roundtable.

Philanthropy Roundtable

• Philanthropy Magazine

Society for Nonprofits

• Fundraising guide
• Sample documents & handouts

Stanford PACS

• The Stanford PACS Guide to Effective Philanthropy

United Philanthropy Forum

• Key Metrics for Philanthropy-Serving Organizations - comprehensive benchmarking data and analyses on the finances, membership, services and programs, operations, and governance of regional and national philanthropy-serving organizations (PSOs). Key findings are available for free.

Women’s Philanthropy Institute

• Research library - research explores why, how, where, and when women give.

WINGS

• Knowledge Centre

 

American Institute of Philanthropy

• Charity Watch - Top-Rated charities list; use filters on the left.

Better Business Bureau

• Alphabetical List Of Charities

Board Source

• Consultant Directory

Charity Choices

• Directory

Charity Navigator

Provides free access to data, tools, and resources to guide philanthropic decision-making. 200,000 charities are rated on metrics such as stability, efficiency, and sustainability.

• Discover charities

Exponent Philanthropy

• Directory of Foundation and Philanthropy Advisors

IRS

• Tax Exempt Organization Search - You can check an organization's eligibility to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions (Pub 78 Data). You can also search for information about an organization's tax-exempt status and filings: Form 990 Series Returns, Form 990-N (e-Postcard), Pub. 78 Data, Automatic Revocation of Exemption List, Determination Letters

Pro Publica

• Nonprofit Explorer - Use this database to view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 14 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.

Stanford PACS

• Philanthropist Resource Directory -  list of philanthropic resources organized by categories.

Giving trends reports

This is just a selection of reports available as of now, other relevant ones on the same topic might be found on the websites listed under the Organizations tab, please check those out too.

America’s Charities

• Giving trends reports

Better Business Bureau

• Give.Org Donor Trust Report -  yearly publication

Chief Executives for Corporate Purpose

• Giving in Numbers annual report – the largest and most historical data set on trends in the industry.

Florida Nonprofit Alliance

• Giving in Florida - in-depth analysis of Floridian households' giving patterns, priorities, and attitudes