Library Guides: Skin of Color Resources: Databases

Databases and Journals

Images:

Current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious disease in infants, children and adolescents. Online format designed to help you stay in step with the latest developments and clinical guidelines.

VisualDX

VisualDX covers nearly 1,000 visually diagnosable diseases and close to 18,000 medical photographs. Click here for tutorials on using this database, or view the video on this guide.

Access to Ebooks:

AccessMedicine

Full-text, illustrations, and expanded features from McGraw-Hill medical databases. Includes the latest edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, and Schwartz's Surgery.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey offers searching of over 1000 books, 500 journals, and 2500 procedural videos, evidence-based and peer reviewed.

Journals:

Cutis (quarterly skin of color columns)

Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology -> JAAD Skin of Color Image Atlas

Additional Databases:

List of all NSU databases by subject.

Spotlight: Visual DX

Other Resources

Black & Brown Skin: Conditions
This platform is devised to showcase clinical signs of diseases on black and brown skin.
Brown Skin Matters
A community sourced database of dermatological conditions on non-white skin.
Centre of Evidence Based Dermatology's Skin of Color Resource
This resource brings together information sources, systematic reviews and review articles on topics of relevance to skin of color.
Dermatology Image Atlas (Wayne State University)
Comprehensive dermatology photo atlas.
Dermatology Image Library (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
The purpose of this website is to serve as a reference for students when learning about skin presentations of different disorders. This library provides easier access to a variety of images on different Fitzpatrick skin types.
EthnoMed- Dermatology
The objective of the website is to make information about culture, language, health, illness and community resources directly accessible to health care providers who see patients from different ethnic groups. EthnoMed was designed to be used in clinics by care providers in the few minutes before seeing a patient in clinic.
The Full Spectrum of Dermatology
This online image gallery displays side-by-side images of the most commonly seen dermatology conditions in an array of skin tones.
Illustrate Change
Library of BIPOC medical illustrations. The images in this library are available to use for educational and training purposes.
Inclusive Dermatology (University of New Mexico)
This atlas serves to collect and share images of dermatological conditions in all skin types, with an emphasis on those who have been traditionally excluded in medical education.
Interactive Dermatology Atlas
Interactive Dermatology Atlas contains more than 1000 photographs from patient visits over the past two decades. Searches can be performed by diagnosis, lesion characteristics, patient demographics, and treatments.
Project IMPACT (VisualDX)
A resource list for providers and patients aiming to reduce healthcare bias in skin of color through education, information, and shared resources.
Skin of Color Society Educational Videos
SOCS's educational video library.
Skin Deep
Skin Deep is led by the international medical education team, Don’t Forget the Bubbles (DFTB) and the Royal London Hospital (RLH). The aim is to develop a free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones for use by both healthcare professionals and the public.