MATH 2500 Introduction to Advanced Mathematics: Find Books
MATH 2500
Featured Resources
A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory by
A mathematical introduction to the theory and applications of logic and set theory with an emphasis on writing proofs Highlighting the applications and notations of basic mathematical concepts within the framework of logic and set theory, A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory introduces how logic is used to prepare and structure proofs and solve more complex problems. The book begins with propositional logic, including two-column proofs and truth table applications, followed by first-order logic, which provides the structure for writing mathematical proofs. Set theory is then introduced and serves as the basis for defining relations, functions, numbers, mathematical induction, ordinals, and cardinals. The book concludes with a primer on basic model theory with applications to abstract algebra. A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory also includes: Section exercises designed to show the interactions between topics and reinforce the presented ideas and concepts Numerous examples that illustrate theorems and employ basic concepts such as Euclid's lemma, the Fibonacci sequence, and unique factorization Coverage of important theorems including the well-ordering theorem, completeness theorem, compactness theorem, as well as the theorems of Löwenheim-Skolem, Burali-Forti, Hartogs, Cantor-Schröder-Bernstein, and König An excellent textbook for students studying the foundations of mathematics and mathematical proofs, A First Course in Mathematical Logic and Set Theory is also appropriate for readers preparing for careers in mathematics education or computer science. In addition, the book is ideal for introductory courses on mathematical logic and/or set theory and appropriate for upper-undergraduate transition courses with rigorous mathematical reasoning involving algebra, number theory, or analysis.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470905883Publication Date: 2015-09-08
A Transition to Advanced Mathematics by
A Transition to Advanced Mathematics: A Survey Course promotes the goals of a ``bridge'' course in mathematics, helping to lead students from courses in the calculus sequence (and other courses where they solve problems that involve mathematical calculations) to theoretical upper-levelmathematics courses (where they will have to prove theorems and grapple with mathematical abstractions). The text simultaneously promotes the goals of a ``survey'' course, describing the intriguing questions and insights fundamental to many diverse areas of mathematics, including Logic, AbstractAlgebra, Number Theory, Real Analysis, Statistics, Graph Theory, and Complex Analysis.The main objective is "to bring about a deep change in the mathematical character of students -- how they think and their fundamental perspectives on the world of mathematics." This text promotes three major mathematical traits in a meaningful, transformative way: to develop an ability tocommunicate with precise language, to use mathematically sound reasoning, and to ask probing questions about mathematics. In short, we hope that working through A Transition to Advanced Mathematics encourages students to become mathematicians in the fullest sense of the word.A Transition to Advanced Mathematics has a number of distinctive features that enable this transformational experience. Embedded Questions and Reading Questions illustrate and explain fundamental concepts, allowing students to test their understanding of ideas independent of the exercise sets. Thetext has extensive, diverse Exercises Sets; with an average of 70 exercises at the end of section, as well as almost 3,000 distinct exercises. In addition, every chapter includes a section that explores an application of the theoretical ideas being studied. We have also interwoven embeddedreflections on the history, culture, and philosophy of mathematics throughout the text.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780195310764Publication Date: 2009-07-27
Mathematical Logic by
Assuming no previous study in logic, this informal yet rigorous text covers the material of a standard undergraduate first course in mathematical logic, using natural deduction and leading up to the completeness theorem for first-order logic. At each stage of the text, the reader is given anintuition based on standard mathematical practice, which is subsequently developed with clean formal mathematics. Alongside the practical examples, readers learn what can and can't be calculated; for example the correctness of a derivation proving a given sequent can be tested mechanically, butthere is no general mechanical test for the existence of a derivation proving the given sequent. The undecidability results are proved rigorously in an optional final chapter, assuming Matiyasevich's theorem characterising the computably enumerable relations. Rigorous proofs of the adequacy andcompleteness proofs of the relevant logics are provided, with careful attention to the languages involved. Optional sections discuss the classification of mathematical structures by first-order theories; the required theory of cardinality is developed from scratch. Throughout the book there arenotes on historical aspects of the material, and connections with linguistics and computer science, and the discussion of syntax and semantics is influenced by modern linguistic approaches. Two basic themes in recent cognitive science studies of actual human reasoning are also introduced.Including extensive exercises and selected solutions, this text is ideal for students in Logic, Mathematics, Philosophy, and Computer Science.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780199215621Publication Date: 2007-07-12
Introduction to Advanced Mathematics Books & E-Books
Well-Structured Mathematical Logic by
Well-Structured Mathematical Logic does for logic what Structured Programming did for computation: make large-scale work possible. From the work of George Boole onward, traditional logic was made to look like a form of symbolic algebra. In this work, the logic undergirding conventional mathematics resembles well-structured computer programs.
A very important feature of the new system is that it structures the expression of mathematics in much the same way that people already do informally. In this way, the new system is simultaneously machine-parsable and user-friendly, just as Structured Programming is for algorithms. Unlike traditional logic, the new system works with you, not against you, as you use it to structure¿and understand¿the mathematics you work with on a daily basis.
The book provides a complete guide to its subject matter. It presents the major results and theorems one needs to know in order to use the new system effectively.
Two chapters provide tutorials for the reader in the new way that symbols move when logical calculations are performed in the well-structured system. Numerous examples and discussions are provided to illustrate the system¿s many results and features.
Well-Structured Mathematical Logic is accessible to anyone who has at least some knowledge of traditional logic to serve as a foundation, and is of interest to all who need a system of pliant, user-friendly mathematical logic to use in their work in mathematics and computer science.
Call Number: QA9 .S4175 2013ISBN: 9781611633689Publication Date: 2013-01-25
The Proof Is in the Pudding by
This text explores the many transformations that the mathematical proof has undergone from its inception to its versatile, present-day use, considering the advent of high-speed computing machines. Though there are many truths to be discovered in this book, by the end it is clear that there is no formalized approach or standard method of discovery to date. Most of the proofs are discussed in detail with figures and equations accompanying them, allowing both the professional mathematician and those less familiar with mathematics to derive the same joy from reading this book.
Call Number: QA9.54 .K73 2011ISBN: 9780387489087Publication Date: 2011-05-17
Introduction to Advanced Mathematics by
This text offers a crucial primer on proofs and the language of mathematics. Brief and to the point, it lays out the fundamental ideas of abstract mathematics and proof techniques that students will need to master for other math courses. Campbell presents these concepts in plain English, with a focus on basic terminology and a conversational tone that draws natural parallels between the language of mathematics and the language students communicate in every day. The discussion highlights how symbols and expressions are the building blocks of statements and arguments, the meanings they convey, and why they are meaningful to mathematicians. In-class activities provide opportunities to practice mathematical reasoning in a live setting, and an ample number of homework exercises are included for self-study. This text is appropriate for a course in Foundations of Advanced Mathematics taken by students who've had a semester of calculus, and is designed to be accessible to students with a wide range of mathematical proficiency. It can also be used as a self-study reference, or as a supplement in other math courses where additional proofs practice is needed.
Call Number: QA9.54 .C36 2012ISBN: 9780547165387Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Building Proofs by
This book introduces students to the art and craft of writing proofs, beginning with the basics of writing proofs and logic, and continuing on with more in-depth issues and examples of creating proofs in different parts of mathematics, as well as introducing proofs-of-correctness for algorithms. The creation of proofs is covered for theorems in both discrete and continuous mathematics, and in difficulty ranging from elementary to beginning graduate level.Just beyond the standard introductory courses on calculus, theorems and proofs become central to mathematics. Students often find this emphasis difficult and new. This book is a guide to understanding and creating proofs. It explains the standard "moves" in mathematical proofs: direct computation, expanding definitions, proof by contradiction, proof by induction, as well as choosing notation and strategies.
Call Number: QA9.54 .O46 2015ISBN: 9789814641296Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Numerical Methods for Equations and Its Applications by
This book introduces advanced numerical-functional analysis to beginning computer science researchers. The reader is assumed to have had basic courses in numerical analysis, computer programming, computational linear algebra, and an introduction to real, complex, and functional analysis. Although the book is of a theoretical nature, each chapter contains several new theoretical results and important applications in engineering, in dynamic economics systems, in input-output system, in the solution of nonlinear and linear differential equations, and optimization problem.
Call Number: QA246 .A74 2012ISBN: 9781578087532Publication Date: 2012-06-05
Classical Mathematical Logic by
In Classical Mathematical Logic, Richard L. Epstein relates the systems of mathematical logic to their original motivations to formalize reasoning in mathematics. The book also shows how mathematical logic can be used to formalize particular systems of mathematics. It sets out the formalization not only of arithmetic, but also of group theory, field theory, and linear orderings. These lead to the formalization of the real numbers and Euclidean plane geometry. The scope and limitations of modern logic are made clear in these formalizations. The book provides detailed explanations of all proofs and the insights behind the proofs, as well as detailed and nontrivial examples and problems. The book has more than 550 exercises. It can be used in advanced undergraduate or graduate courses and for self-study and reference. Classical Mathematical Logic presents a unified treatment of material that until now has been available only by consulting many different books and research articles, written with various notation systems and axiomatizations.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780691123004Publication Date: 2006-07-23
Defending the Axioms by
Mathematics depends on proofs, and proofs must begin somewhere, from some fundamental assumptions. For nearly a century, the axioms of set theory have played this role, so the question of how these axioms are properly judged takes on a central importance. Approaching the question from abroadly naturalistic or second-philosophical point of view, Defending the Axioms isolates the appropriate methods for such evaluations and investigates the ontological and epistemological backdrop that makes them appropriate. In the end, a new account of the objectivity of mathematics emerges, onerefreshingly free of metaphysical commitments.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780199596188Publication Date: 2011-03-15
An Introduction to Essential Algebraic Structures by
A reader-friendly introduction to modern algebra with important examples from various areas of mathematics Featuring a clear and concise approach, An Introduction to Essential Algebraic Structures presents an integrated approach to basic concepts of modern algebra and highlights topics that play a central role in various branches of mathematics. The authors discuss key topics of abstract and modern algebra including sets, number systems, groups, rings, and fields. The book begins with an exposition of the elements of set theory and moves on to cover the main ideas and branches of abstract algebra. In addition, the book includes: Numerous examples throughout to deepen readers' knowledge of the presented material An exercise set after each chapter section in an effort to build a deeper understanding of the subject and improve knowledge retention Hints and answers to select exercises at the end of the book A supplementary website with an Instructors Solutions manual An Introduction to Essential Algebraic Structures is an excellent textbook for introductory courses in abstract algebra as well as an ideal reference for anyone who would like to be more familiar with the basic topics of abstract algebra.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118459829Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Which Numbers Are Real? by
Everyone knows the real numbers, those fundamental quantities that make possible all of mathematics from high school algebra and Euclidean geometry through the Calculus and beyond; and also serve as the basis for measurement in science, industry, and ordinary life. This book surveys alternative real number systems: systems that generalize and extend the real numbers yet stay close to these properties that make the reals central to mathematics. Alternative real numbers include many different kinds of numbers, for example multidimensional numbers (the complex numbers, the quaternions and others), infinitely small and infinitely large numbers (the hyperreal numbers and the surreal numbers), and numbers that represent positions in games (the surreal numbers). Each system has a well-developed theory, including applications to other areas of mathematics and science, such as physics, the theory of games, multi-dimensional geometry, and formal logic. They are all active areas of current mathematical research and each has unique features, in particular, characteristic methods of proof and implications for the philosophy of mathematics, both highlighted in this book. Alternative real number systems illuminate the central, unifying role of the real numbers and include some exciting and eccentric parts of mathematics. Which Numbers Are Real? Will be of interest to anyone with an interest in numbers, but specifically to upper-level undergraduates, graduate students, and professional mathematicians, particularly college mathematics teachers.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780883857779Publication Date: 2012-12-31
Charming Proofs by
Theorems and their proofs lie at the heart of mathematics. In speaking of the purely aesthetic qualities of theorems and proofs, G. H. Hardy wrote that in beautiful proofs 'there is a very high degree of unexpectedness, combined with inevitability and economy'. Charming Proofs presents a collection of remarkable proofs in elementary mathematics that are exceptionally elegant, full of ingenuity, and succinct. By means of a surprising argument or a powerful visual representation, the proofs in this collection will invite readers to enjoy the beauty of mathematics, and to develop the ability to create proofs themselves. The authors consider proofs from topics such as geometry, number theory, inequalities, plane tilings, origami and polyhedra. Secondary school and university teachers can use this book to introduce their students to mathematical elegance. More than 130 exercises for the reader (with solutions) are also included.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0883853485Publication Date: 2010-12-31
The History of Mathematical Proof in Ancient Traditions by
This radical, profoundly scholarly book explores the purposes and nature of proof in a range of historical settings. It overturns the view that the first mathematical proofs were in Greek geometry and rested on the logical insights of Aristotle by showing how much of that view is an artefact of nineteenth-century historical scholarship. It documents the existence of proofs in ancient mathematical writings about numbers and shows that practitioners of mathematics in Mesopotamian, Chinese and Indian cultures knew how to prove the correctness of algorithms, which are much more prominent outside the limited range of surviving classical Greek texts that historians have taken as the paradigm of ancient mathematics. It opens the way to providing the first comprehensive, textually based history of proof.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781139512275Publication Date: 2012-07-26
Explanation and Proof in Mathematics by
In the four decades since Imre Lakatos declared mathematics a "quasi-empirical science," increasing attention has been paid to the process of proof and argumentation in the field -- a development paralleled by the rise of computer technology and the mounting interest in the logical underpinnings of mathematics. Explanantion and Proof in Mathematics assembles perspectives from mathematics education and from the philosophy and history of mathematics to strengthen mutual awareness and share recent findings and advances in their interrelated fields. With examples ranging from the geometrists of the 17th century and ancient Chinese algorithms to cognitive psychology and current educational practice, contributors explore the role of refutation in generating proofs, the varied links between experiment and deduction, the use of diagrammatic thinking in addition to pure logic, and the uses of proof in mathematics education (including a critique of "authoritative" versus "authoritarian" teaching styles). A sampling of the coverage: The conjoint origins of proof and theoretical physics in ancient Greece. Proof as bearers of mathematical knowledge. Bridging knowing and proving in mathematical reasoning. The role of mathematics in long-term cognitive development of reasoning. Proof as experiment in the work of Wittgenstein. Relationships between mathematical proof, problem-solving, and explanation. Explanation and Proof in Mathematics is certain to attract a wide range of readers, including mathematicians, mathematics education professionals, researchers, students, and philosophers and historians of mathematics.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781489982735Publication Date: 2014-11-26
Mathematical Reasoning by
The development of mathematical competence -- both by humans as a species over millennia and by individuals over their lifetimes -- is a fascinating aspect of human cognition. This book explores when and why the rudiments of mathematical capability first appeared among human beings, what its fundamental concepts are, and how and why it has grown into the richly branching complex of specialties that it is today. It discusses whether the ¿truths¿ of mathematics are discoveries or inventions, and what prompts the emergence of concepts that appear to be descriptive of nothing in human experience. Also covered is the role of esthetics in mathematics: What exactly are mathematicians seeing when they describe a mathematical entity as ¿beautiful¿? There is discussion of whether mathematical disability is distinguishable from a general cognitive deficit and whether the potential for mathematical reasoning is best developed through instruction. This volume is unique in the vast range of psychological questions it covers, as revealed in the work habits and products of numerous mathematicians. It provides fascinating reading for researchers and students with an interest in cognition in general and mathematical cognition in particular. Instructors of mathematics will also find the book¿s insights illuminating.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781136945397Publication Date: 2009-12-23
Discrete Algebraic Methods by
The idea behind this book is to provide the mathematical foundations for assessing modern developments in the Information Age. It deepens and complements the basic concepts, but it also considers instructive and more advanced topics. The treatise starts with a general chapter on algebraic structures; this part provides all the necessary knowledge for the rest of the book. The next chapter gives a concise overview of cryptography. Chapter 3 on number theoretic algorithms is important for developping cryptosystems, Chapter 4 presents the deterministic primality test of Agrawal, Kayal, and Saxena. The account to elliptic curves again focuses on cryptographic applications and algorithms. With combinatorics on words and automata theory, the reader is introduced to two areas of theoretical computer science where semigroups play a fundamental role.The last chapter is devoted to combinatorial group theory and its connections to automata. Contents: Algebraic structures Cryptography Number theoretic algorithms Polynomial time primality test Elliptic curves Combinatorics on words Automata Discrete infinite groups
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783110413328Publication Date: 2016-05-24- An Introduction to Essential Algebraic Structures by
A reader-friendly introduction to modern algebra with important examples from various areas of mathematics Featuring a clear and concise approach, An Introduction to Essential Algebraic Structures presents an integrated approach to basic concepts of modern algebra and highlights topics that play a central role in various branches of mathematics. The authors discuss key topics of abstract and modern algebra including sets, number systems, groups, rings, and fields. The book begins with an exposition of the elements of set theory and moves on to cover the main ideas and branches of abstract algebra. In addition, the book includes: Numerous examples throughout to deepen readers' knowledge of the presented material An exercise set after each chapter section in an effort to build a deeper understanding of the subject and improve knowledge retention Hints and answers to select exercises at the end of the book A supplementary website with an Instructors Solutions manual An Introduction to Essential Algebraic Structures is an excellent textbook for introductory courses in abstract algebra as well as an ideal reference for anyone who would like to be more familiar with the basic topics of abstract algebra.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118459829Publication Date: 2014-11-24
The Foundations of Mathematics by
The transition from school mathematics to university mathematics is seldom straightforward. Students are faced with a disconnect between the algorithmic and informal attitude to mathematics at school, versus a new emphasis on proof, based on logic, and a more abstract development of general concepts, based on set theory. The authors have many years' experience of the potential difficulties involved, through teaching first-year undergraduatesand researching the ways in which students and mathematicians think. The book explains the motivation behind abstract foundational material based on students' experiences of school mathematics, andexplicitly suggests ways students can make sense of formal ideas.This second edition takes a significant step forward by not only making the transition from intuitive to formal methods, but also by reversing the process- using structure theorems to prove that formal systems have visual and symbolic interpretations that enhance mathematical thinking. This is exemplified by a new chapter on the theory of groups. While the first edition extended countingto infinite cardinal numbers, the second also extends the real numbers rigorously to larger ordered fields. This links intuitive ideas in calculus to the formal epsilon-delta methods of analysis. Theapproach here is not the conventional one of 'nonstandard analysis', but a simpler, graphically based treatment which makes the notion of an infinitesimal natural and straightforward. This allows a further vision of the wider world of mathematical thinking in which formal definitions and proof lead to amazing new ways of defining, proving, visualising and symbolising mathematics beyond previous expectations.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780198706441Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Logic and Discrete Mathematics by
A concise yet rigorous introduction to logic and discrete mathematics. This book features a unique combination of comprehensive coverage of logic with a solid exposition of the most important fields of discrete mathematics, presenting material that has been tested and refined by the authors in university courses taught over more than a decade. The chapters on logic - propositional and first-order - provide a robust toolkit for logical reasoning, emphasizing the conceptual understanding of the language and the semantics of classical logic as well as practical applications through the easy to understand and use deductive systems of Semantic Tableaux and Resolution. The chapters on set theory, number theory, combinatorics and graph theory combine the necessary minimum of theory with numerous examples and selected applications. Written in a clear and reader-friendly style, each section ends with an extensive set of exercises, most of them provided with complete solutions which are available in the accompanying solutions manual. Key Features: Suitable for a variety of courses for students in both Mathematics and Computer Science. Extensive, in-depth coverage of classical logic, combined with a solid exposition of a selection of the most important fields of discrete mathematics Concise, clear and uncluttered presentation with numerous examples. Covers some applications including cryptographic systems, discrete probability and network algorithms. Logic and Discrete Mathematics: A Concise Introduction is aimed mainly at undergraduate courses for students in mathematics and computer science, but the book will also be a valuable resource for graduate modules and for self-study.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118751275Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Set Theory and Its Philosophy by
Michael Potter presents a comprehensive new philosophical introduction to set theory. Anyone wishing to work on the logical foundations of mathematics must understand set theory, which lies at its heart. What makes the book unique is that it interweaves a careful presentation of the technical material with a penetrating philosophical critique. Potter does not merely expound the theory dogmatically but at every stage discusses in detail the reasons that can be offered for believing it to be true. Set Theory and its Philosophy is a key text for philosophy, mathematical logic, and computer science.
Call Number: QA248 .P675 2004ISBN: 0199269734Publication Date: 2004-03-11
Basic Set Theory by
Although this book deals with basic set theory (in general, it stops short of areas where model-theoretic methods are used) on a rather advanced level, it does it at an unhurried pace. This enables the author to pay close attention to interesting and important aspects of the topic that might otherwise be skipped over. Written for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students, the book is divided into two parts. The first covers pure set theory, including the basic notions, order and well-foundedness, cardinal numbers, the ordinals, and the axiom of choice and some of its consequences. The second part deals with applications and advanced topics, among them a review of point set topology, the real spaces, Boolean algebras, and infinite combinatorics and large cardinals. A helpful appendix deals with eliminability and conservation theorems, while numerous exercises supply additional information on the subject matter and help students test their grasp of the material. 1979 edition. 20 figures.
Call Number: QA248 .L398 2002ISBN: 0486420795Publication Date: 2002-08-13
Functions Modeling Change by
The third edition of this ground-breaking text continues the authors' goal - a targeted introduction to precalculus that carefully balances concepts with procedures. Overall, this text is designed to provide a solid foundation to precalculus that focuses on a small number of key topics thereby emphasizing depth of understanding rather than breath of coverage. Developed by the Calculus Consortium, FMC 3e is flexible enough to be thought-provoking for well-prepared students while still remaining accessible to students with weaker backgrounds. As multiple representations encourage students to reflect on the material, each function is presented symbolically, numerically, graphically and verbally (the Rule of Four). Additionally, a large number of real-world applications, examples and problems enable students to create mathematical models that will help them understand and interpret the world in which they live.
Call Number: QA331.3 .F86 2007ISBN: 9780471793038Publication Date: 2006-11-28
Mathematical Proofs by
This text is designed to prepare students for the more abstract mathematics courses that follow calculus. It introduces students to proof techniques and advises them on how to write proofs of their own.
Call Number: QA9.54 .C48 2003ISBN: 0201710900Publication Date: 2002-05-28
100% Mathematical Proof by
Proof has been, and remains, one of the concepts which characterizes mathematics. Covering basic propositional and predicate logic as well as discussing axiom systems and formal proofs, this text seeks to explain what mathematicians understand by proofs and how they are communicated.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0585302286Publication Date: 1996-01-01
How to Read and Do Proofs by
This book categorizes, identifies and explains the various techniques that are used repeatedly in all proofs and explains how to read proofs that arise in mathematical literature by understanding which techniques are used and how they are applied.
Call Number: QA9.54 .S65 2001ISBN: 0471406473Publication Date: 2001-07-06
Proofs That Really Count by
Mathematics is the science of patterns, and mathematicians attempt to understand these patterns and discover new ones using a variety of tools. In Proofs That Really Count, award-winning math professors Arthur Benjamin and Jennifer Quinn demonstrate that many number patterns, even very complex ones, can be understood by simple counting arguments. The book emphasizes numbers that are often not thought of as numbers that count: Fibonacci Numbers, Lucas Numbers, Continued Fractions, and Harmonic Numbers, to name a few. Numerous hints and references are given for all chapter exercises and many chapters end with a list of identities in need of combinatorial proof. The extensive appendix of identities will be a valuable resource. This book should appeal to readers of all levels, from high school math students to professional mathematicians.
Call Number: QA164.8 .B46 2003ISBN: 0883853337Publication Date: 2003-12-31
The First Course in Mathematical Logic by
Starting with symbolizing sentences and sentential connectives, this work proceeds to the rules of logical inference and sentential derivation, examines the concepts of truth and validity, and presents a series of truth tables. Subsequent topics include terms, predicates, and universal quantifiers; universal specification and laws of identity; axioms for addition; and universal generalization. 1964 edition. Index.
Call Number: QA9 .S88 2002ISBN: 0486422593Publication Date: 2010-06-17
The Elements of Advanced Mathematics by
The gap between the rote, calculational learning mode of calculus and ordinary differential equations and the more theoretical learning mode of analysis and abstract algebra grows ever wider and more distinct, and students' need for a well-guided transition grows with it. For more than six years, the bestselling first edition of this classic text has helped them cross the mathematical bridge to more advanced studies in topics such as topology, abstract algebra, and real analysis. Carefully revised, expanded, and brought thoroughly up to date, the Elements of Advanced Mathematics, Second Edition now does the job even better, building the background, tools, and skills students need to meet the challenges of mathematical rigor, axiomatics, and proofs. New in the Second Edition: Expanded explanations of propositional, predicate, and first-order logic, especially valuable in theoretical computer science A chapter that explores the deeper properties of the real numbers, including topological issues and the Cantor set Fuller treatment of proof techniques with expanded discussions on induction, counting arguments, enumeration, and dissection Streamlined treatment of non-Euclidean geometry Discussions on partial orderings, total ordering, and well orderings that fit naturally into the context of relations More thorough treatment of the Axiom of Choice and its equivalents Additional material on Russell's paradox and related ideas Expanded treatment of group theory that helps students grasp the axiomatic method A wealth of added exercises
Call Number: QA37.3 .K73 2002ISBN: 1584883030Publication Date: 2002-01-18
An Introduction to Mathematical Reasoning by
The purpose of this book is to introduce the basic ideas of mathematical proof to students embarking on university mathematics. The emphasis is on helping the reader in understanding and constructing proofs and writing clear mathematics. This is achieved by exploring set theory, combinatorics and number theory, topics which include many fundamental ideas which are part of the tool kit of any mathematician. This material illustrates how familiar ideas can be formulated rigorously, provides examples demonstrating a wide range of basic methods of proof, and includes some of the classic proofs. The book presents mathematics as a continually developing subject. Material meeting the needs of readers from a wide range of backgrounds is included. Over 250 problems include questions to interest and challenge the most able student as well as plenty of routine exercises to help familiarize the reader with the basic ideas.
Call Number: QA9.54 .E23 1997ISBN: 0521592690Publication Date: 1997-12-11
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan |