CHEM 1500, 3150 - Environmental Chemistry

A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry by James N. Jensen A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry Enables civil and environmental engineers to understand the theory and application of aquatic equilibrium chemistry The second edition of A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry provides a detailed introduction to aquatic equilibrium chemistry, calculation methods for systems at equilibrium, applications of aquatic chemistry, and chemical kinetics. The text directly addresses two required ABET program outcomes in environmental engineering: "... chemistry (including stoichiometry, equilibrium, and kinetics)" and "material and energy balances, fate and transport of substances in and between air, water, and soil phases." The book is very student-centered, with each chapter beginning with an introduction and ending with a summary that reviews the chapter's main points. To aid in reader comprehension, important terms are defined in context and key ideas are summarized. Many thought-provoking discussion questions, worked examples, and end of chapter problems are also included. Each part of the text begins with a case study, a portion of which is addressed in each subsequent chapter, illustrating the principles of that chapter. In addition, each chapter has an Historical Note exploring connections with the people and cultures connected to topics in the text. A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry includes: Fundamental concepts, such as concentration units, thermodynamic basis of equilibrium, and manipulating equilibria Solutions of chemical equilibrium problems, including setting up the problems and algebraic, graphical, and computer solution techniques Acid-base equilibria, including the concepts of acids and bases, titrations, and alkalinity and acidity Complexation, including metals, ligands, equilibrium calculations with complexes, and applications of complexation chemistry Oxidation-reduction equilibria, including equilibrium calculations, graphical approaches, and applications Gas-liquid and solid-liquid equilibrium, with expanded coverage of the effects of global climate change Other topics, including chemical kinetics of aquatic systems, surface chemistry, and integrative case studies For advanced/senior undergraduates and first-year graduate students in environmental engineering courses, A Problem-Solving Approach to Aquatic Chemistry serves as an invaluable learning resource on the topic, with a variety of helpful learning elements included throughout to ensure information retention and the ability to apply covered concepts in practical settings.

Air Pollutants and Their Effects on the Terrestrial Ecosystem by Sagar V. Krupa (Editor); Allan H. Legge (Editor) More classics for environmental scientists from Wiley-Interscience. Trace Atmospheric Constituents Properties, Transformations, and Fates Edited by Stephen E. Schwartz Providing the only comprehensive coverage available of the chemical and physical processes involved in the formation of acid rain, this book details the transformation and deposition of atmospheric pollutants. Treats relevant laboratory and theoretical chemistry, field studies, and computer modeling methods, and includes coverage of the aqueous-phase chemistry of nitrogen oxides and sulfur dioxide, an analysis of soot and the analytical chemistry and health effects of inorganic and organic sulfur compounds present in ambient and industrial aerosols, and more. 1983 (0 471-87640-2) 547 pp. Systems Ecology An Introduction Howard Thomas Odum An integrated theoretical and applied introduction to systems ecology that uses energy diagrammatic language to explain basic concepts of systems, modelling, and simulation. Teaches energetics while at the same time dealing with the issues of organization, entropy, information, complexity, diversity, frequency, and power and the ways these determine the nature of real systems. Includes analog and digital computer modelling, enabling readers without prior programming experience to create computer models of ecological processes. 1983 (0 471-65277-6) 644 pp.

Biogeochemistry by William H. Schlesinger; Emily S. Bernhardt Biogeochemistry-winner of a 2014 Textbook Excellence Award (Texty) from the Text and Academic Authors Association-considers how the basic chemical conditions of the Earth, from atmosphere to soil to seawater, have been and are being affected by the existence of life. Human activities in particular, from the rapid consumption of resources to the destruction of the rainforests and the expansion of smog-covered cities, are leading to rapid changes in the basic chemistry of the Earth. This expansive text pulls together the numerous fields of study encompassed by biogeochemistry to analyze the increasing demands of the growing human population on limited resources and the resulting changes in the planet's chemical makeup. The book helps students extrapolate small-scale examples to the global level, and also discusses the instrumentation being used by NASA and its role in studies of global change. With extensive cross-referencing of chapters, figures and tables, and an interdisciplinary coverage of the topic at hand, this updated edition provides an excellent framework for courses examining global change and environmental chemistry, and is also a useful self-study guide. Winner of a 2014 Texty Award from the Text and Academic Authors Association Calculates and compares the effects of industrial emissions, land clearing, agriculture, and rising population on Earth's chemistry Synthesizes the global cycles of carbon, nitrogen, phosphorous, and sulfur, and suggests the best current budgets for atmospheric gases such as ammonia, nitrous oxide, dimethyl sulfide, and carbonyl sulfide Includes an extensive review and up-to-date synthesis of the current literature on the Earth's biogeochemistry

Carbon, Nitrogen and Sulfur Pollutants and Their Determination in Air and Water by Jerome C. Greyson For chemists and engineers in ecology, food science, pollution control, and related fields. Details the procedures available for monitoring and controlling carbon, sulfur, and nitrogen pollutants in such industries as waste water treatment, energy, transportation, pharmaceuticals, and mining.

Chemistry for Environmental and Earth Sciences by Craig D. Williams; Catherine V. A. Duke Tackling environmental issues such as global warming, ozone depletion, acid rain, water pollution, and soil contamination requires an understanding of the underlying science and chemistry of these processes in real-world systems and situations. Chemistry for Environmental and Earth Sciencesprovides a student-friendly introduction to the basic chemistry used for the mitigation, remediation, and elimination of pollutants. Written and organized in a style that is accessible to science as well as non-science majors, this textbook divides its content into four intuitive chapters: Fire, Earth, Water, and Air. The first chapter explains classical concepts in chemistry that occur in nature such as atomic and molecular structures, chemical bonding and reactions, states of matter, phase transitions, and radioactivity. Subsequent chapters focus on the chemistry relating to the geosphere, hydrosphere, and atmosphere--including the chemical aspects of soil, water, and air pollution, respectively. Chemistry for Environmental and Earth Sciencesuses worked examples and case studies drawn from current applications along with clear diagrams and concise explanations to illustrate the relevance of chemistry to geosciences. In-text and end-of-chapter questions with complete solutions also help students gain confidence in applying concepts from this book towards solving current, real-world problems.

The Chemistry of Pollution by Günter Fellenberg Providing a comprehensive introduction to environmental chemistry, this volume presents an excellent overview of the important chemical aspects of pollution occurring in the atmosphere, in water and in soil.<br /> <br /> Presented in the book are:<br /> <br /> ∗ commonly known harmful substances, such as carbon monoxide, heavy metals, and sulfur dioxide<br /> <br /> ∗ toxins in food and basic consumer goods<br /> <br /> ∗ radioisotopes such as plutonium and uranium<br /> <br /> It contains many examples and solutions to practical environmental problems such as pollution via foodstuffs, pesticides and detergents, showing their relation to biochemical processes, toxicology, climate, ecological aspects and other adjacent sciences.<br /> <br /> The range of topics covered in this book ensures it will be indispensable not only to students of chemistry but also for all those interested in the chemical principles of environmental pollutants.

Detecting Ecological Impacts by Russell J. Schmitt (Editor); Craig W. Osenberg (Editor) Detecting Ecological Impacts: Concepts and Applications in Coastal Habitats focuses on crucial aspects of detecting local and regional impacts that result from human activities. Detection and characterization of ecological impacts require scientific approaches that can reliably separate the effects of a specific anthropogenic activity from those of other processes. This fundamental goal is both technically and operationally challenging. Detecting Ecological Impacts is devoted to the conceptual and technical underpinnings that allow for reliable estimates of ecological effects caused by human activities. An international team of scientists focuses on the development and application of scientific tools appropriate for estimating the magnitude and spatial extent of ecological impacts. The contributors also evaluate our current ability to forecast impacts. Some of the scientific, legal, and administrative constraints that impede these critical tasks also are highlighted. Coastal marine habitats are emphasized, but the lessons and insights have general application to all ecological systems.

The Dirty Dozen by Bruce E. Johansen Forty years after the publication of Rachel Carson's "Silent Spring," this important study examines the history, industrial uses, and harmful effects of the twelve most commonly used organochloride chemicals. All have been fully or partially banned by the Stockholm Protocol, an international treaty signed by about 120 countries in December 2000. Among the twelve are the dioxins (the active ingredient in Agent Orange) and polychlorinated byphenyls (PCBs), which are toxic in minute quantities. Johansen pays special attention to the Inuit of the Arctic, where these chemicals have been bio-accumulating to dangerous levels, moving up the food chain to a degree of toxicity that some Inuit mothers are no longer able to safely breast-feed their infants. The polar stratospheric ozone has been devastated by emissions of chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), and new scientific findings connect global warming near the Earth's surface to significant cooling in the stratosphere. This synergy aggravates ozone depletion because the chemical reactions that destroy the ozone become more energetic as temperatures drop. Synthetic toxins have taken their toll on minority ethnic groups in the United States, and persistent organic pollutants have inflicted physiological damage on humans and other animals. Finally, Johansen explores the estrogenic effects of such chemicals. Sperm counts have declined as much as 50% in 50 years.

Ecosystem Change and Public Health by Joan L. Aron; Jonathan Patz This volume focuses on how human health is affected by global ecosystem changes. Devoted entirely to this emerging field, it offers a global perspective on research methods and emphasizing empirical investigations of health outcomes in combination with integrated assessment for policy development. The book covers such topics as global climate change, stratospheric ozone depletion, water resources management, and ecology and infectious disease. Case studies of cholera, malaria, the effects of water resources, and global climate change and air pollution illustrate the analysis and methodology. The book also includes a resource centre describing places to start searches on the World Wide Web, guidelines for finding and evaluating information, suggested study projects, and strategies for encouraging communication among course participants.

Emissions of Air Pollutants by Rainer Friedrich (Editor); Stefan Reis (Editor) This book presents a wealth of new information that enables environmental scientists and authorities to design methods for measuring and modelling emission rates related to specific pollution sources, and thus to generate improved emission inventories and reduction strategies. The text shows how to carry out experiments to verify emission data, including tunnel and open motorway studies, comprehensive city experiments and tracer experiments.

Environmental Chemistry by Eric Lichtfouse (Editor); Jan Schwarzbauer (Editor); Didier Robert (Editor) This book describes advances in this new, fast developing science, which seeks to decipher fundamental mechanisms ruling the behaviour in water, soils, atmosphere, food and living organisms of toxic metals, fossil fuels, pesticides and other organic pollutants. Sections on eco-toxicology, green chemistry, and analytical chemistry round out this thorough survey of conditions and analytical techniques in an emerging specialty.

Environmental Chemistry by Stanley E. Manahan Environmental Chemistry, Eighth Editionbuilds on the same organizational structure validated in previous editions tosystematically develop the principles, tools, and techniques of environmental chemistry to provide students and professionals with a clear understanding of the science and its applications. Revised and updated since the publication of the best-selling Seventh Edition, this text continues to emphasize the major concepts essential to the practice of environmental science, technology, and chemistry while introducing the newest innovations to the field. The author provides clear explanations to important concepts such as the anthrosphere, industrial ecosystems, geochemistry, aquatic chemistry, and atmospheric chemistry, including the study of ozone-depleting chlorofluorocarbons. The subject of industrial chemistry and energy resources is supported by pertinent topics in recycling and hazardous waste. Several chapters review environmental biochemistry and toxicology, and the final chapters describe analytical methods for measuring chemical and biological waste. New features in this edition include: enhanced coverage of chemical fate and transport; industrial ecology, particularly how it is integrated with green chemistry; conservation principles and recent accomplishments in sustainable chemical science and technology; a new chapter addressing terrorism and threats to the environment; and the use of real world examples.

Environmental Chemistry : fundamentals by Jorge G. Ibanez; Margarita Hernandez-Esparza; Carmen Doria-Serrano; Arturo Fregoso-Infante; Mono Mohan Singh This book presents chemical analyses of our most pressing waste, pollution, and resource problems for the undergraduate or graduate student. The distinctive holistic approach provides both a solid ground in theory, as well as a laboratory manual detailing introductory and advanced experimental applications. The laboratory procedures are presented at microscale conditions, for minimum waste and maximum economy. This work fulfills an urgent need for an introductory text in environmental chemistry combining theory and practice, and is a valuable tool for preparing the next generation of environmental scientists.

Environmental Chemistry at a Glance by Ian Pulford; Hugh Flowers Environmental chemistry is an increasingly popular option on many chemistry courses, is a degree subject in its own right at some institutions, and is a key part of many environmental, earth and life science courses. Environmental Chemistry at a Glance illustrates both the operation of chemical processes in the environment and their integration with physical and biological processes. While the emphasis is on environmental chemical processes, the material in the book is placed in the wider context of the physical and biological sciences, giving an integrated approach to the environment from a chemist's point of view and providing background information in these other disciplines for the environmental chemist. Based on the highly successful and student friendly "at a glance" approach, the information is presented in integrated, self contained double page spreads of text and illustrative material, to facilitate the rapid assimilation, understanding and recall of critical concepts, facts and definitions. Students wanting a comprehensive and accessible overview of environmental chemistry will find this book an ideal source of the information they require. In addition, the structured presentation will provide an invaluable aid to revision for students preparing for examinations.

Environmental Science of Drinking Water by Franklin J. Agardy; James J. J. Clark; Patrick Sullivan In today's chemically dependent society, environmental studies demonstrate that drinking water in developed countries contains numerous industrial chemicals, pesticides, pharmaceuticals and chemicals from water treatment processes. This poses a real threat. As a result of the ever-expanding list of chemical and biochemical products industry, current drinking water standards that serve to preserve our drinking water quality are grossly out of date. Environmental Science of Drinking Water demonstrates why we need to make a fundamental change in our approach toward protecting our drinking water. Factual and circumstantial evidence showing the failure of current drinking water standards to adequately protect human health is presented along with analysis of the extent of pollution in our water resources and drinking water. The authors also present detail of the currently available state-of-the-art technologies which, if fully employed, can move us toward a healthier future. * Addresses the international problems of outdated standards and the overwhelming onslaught of new contaminants. * Includes new monitoring data on non-regulated chemicals in water sources and drinking water. * Includes a summary of different bottled waters as well as consumer water purification technologies.

Fundamental Concepts of Environmental Chemistry by G. S. Sodhi Discussing the influence of environmental factors on both living and nonliving entities, this text places special emphasis on human health problems such as mutagenesis, teratogenesis and carcinogenesis, as well as looking at the major global issues of energy conservation, acid rain and greenhouse gases.

Health Effects of Ambient Air Pollution by Jane Q. Koenig Health Effects of Ambient Air Pollution provides the reader with an overview of the health effects of air pollution in human subjects. The majority of the book is devoted to the discussion of the health effects of common widespread air pollutants regulated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency through national ambient air quality standards. The book reviews the sources and fate of common air pollutants in ambient air and researches the adverse effects of these outdoor and indoor air pollutants in `in vivo' cell systems, animals, and humans. Research for the book was conducted in controlled laboratory studies and epidemiologic studies. Special emphasis throughout Health Effects of Ambient Air Pollution is placed on the effects of air pollution in subjects with asthma.

Introduction to Environmental Management by Mary K. Theodore (Editor); Louis Theodore (Editor) It is hard to imagine an area of study or a discipline in which a basic knowledge of the issues would not be beneficial, since environmental concernsnbsp;are very much in the public consciousness. Written at a level that is accessible to students in all disciplines, Introduction to Environmental Management translates complex environmental issues into understandable terms. This book givesnbsp;students and practitioners an understanding of regulations, pollutants, and waste management that they can take into whatever field or business they pursue. Sections include: Overview âe" introduces environmental issues, regulations, and types of pollutants Air âe" covers issues related to air pollution, including how air pollution can be controlled and the quality of indoor air Water âe" discusses the problems of pollution in water and methods to control it Solid Waste âe" examines the different types of solid waste, such as hazardous, medical, and nuclear, as well as treatment techniques for each Pollution Prevention âe" focuses on pollution prevention in areas such as health, safety, and accident prevention; energy conservation; and waste reduction Risk âe" examines how environmental risks are perceived and communicated, and how individuals can be educated about them Other Areas of Interest âe" includes coverage of electromagnetic fields, environmental implications of nanotechnology, and ethical issues as they relate to the environment A complete teaching tool,nbsp;this book offers a combination of insightful coverage, concise language, and convenient pedagogical features.

Organic Pollutants by C. H. Walker Concise information on organic pollutants at a level suitable for senior undergrad's and postgrad's. Professionals working in environmental toxicology or environmental science will also find it a valuable reference.

Principles of Ecotoxicology by R. M. Sibly; C. H. Walker Presenting a multidisciplinary perspective in a concise format, Principles of Ecotoxicology, Third Edition discusses the fundamental chemical and ecological nature of pollution processes while identifying the major classes of pollutants and their environmental fate. The first edition was originally created to fill the need for a textbook that covered the basic principles of a developing and wide-ranging field and the second edition expanded on that theme. Keeping the focus on principles over practice that has made each incarnation of this textbook so popular, the third edition brings the text up to date and strengthens coverage in areas that have come to the forefront of the field. The third edition features new material on pollutants that are receiving closer scrutiny, naturally occurring poisons, the history of chemical warfare, population risk assessment, community structure, neonicotinoids, endocrine disruption, and neurotoxicity. A new section on extrapolating from molecular interaction to the consequent population changes highlights the molecules to ecosystem approach and provides the groundwork for discussions on the employment of biomarker strategies in field studies. A major theme of the new material is how the concepts discussed can contribute to improved methods of environmental risk assessment. With updates to every chapter, this text provides essential information for students in easy to use and understandable format.

Principles of Environmental Chemistry by R. M. Harrison (Editor); Royal Society of Chemistry Staff Environmental chemistry is becoming increasingly important and is crucial in the understanding of a range of issues, ranging from climate change to local pollution problems. Principles of Environmental Chemistry draws upon sections of the authors' previous text (Understanding our Environment) and reflects the growing trend of a more sophisticated approach to teaching environmental science at university. This new, revised text book focuses on the chemistry involved in environmental problems. Written by leading experts in the field, the book provides an in depth introduction to the chemical processes influencing the atmosphere, freshwaters, salt waters and soils. Subsequent sections discuss the behaviour of organic chemicals in the environment and environmental transfer between compartments such as air, soil and water. Also included is a section on biogeochemical cycling, which is crucial in the understanding of the behaviour of chemicals in the environment. Complete with worked examples, the book is aimed at advanced undergraduate and graduate chemistry students studying environmental chemistry.

Sampling and Analysis of Environmental Chemical Pollutants by Emma P. Popek An excellent introduction to the real world of environmental work, this title helps both college students and working professionals improve their understanding of the data collection process. It covers all phases of data collection (planning, field sampling, laboratory analysis, and data quality assessment), and is a single source comprehensive reference for the resolution of the most common problems that environmental professionals face daily in their work. Why This Title This title is written in a clear and logical manner that is accessible to environmental professionals of all disciplines. It contains hundreds of practical tips on planning, sampling, and interactions with analytical laboratories. Having this text as a desk reference will greatly improve skills in planning and sampling, and elevate understanding of chemical data to a new level. This topic is of importance to a wide range of environmental professionals from a variety of disciplines (see audience). Written by a practicing professional for practicing professionals, this handbook provides everything an environmental professional needs to know to competently collect environmental chemical data.

Silent Spring by Rachel Carson First published by Houghton Mifflin in 1962, Silent Spring alerted a large audience to the environmental and human dangers of indiscriminate use of pesticides, spurring revolutionary changes in the laws affecting our air, land, and water. "Silent Spring became a runaway bestseller, with international reverberations . . . [It is] well crafted, fearless and succinct . . . Even if she had not inspired a generation of activists, Carson would prevail as one of the greatest nature writers in American letters" (Peter Matthiessen, for Time's 100 Most Influential People of the Century). This edition celebrates Rachel Carson's watershed book with a new introduction by the author and activist Terry Tempest Williams and a new afterword by the acclaimed Rachel Carson biographer Linda Lear, who tells the story of Carson's courageous defense of her truths in the face of ruthless assault from the chemical industry in the year following the publication of Silent Spring and before her untimely death in 1964.

Understanding Our Environment by R. M. Harrison (Editor) This 2nd edition of Understanding Our Environment has been reworked and greatly updated, providing a modern introductory level text for students of pollution and environmental chemistry. The book describes the basic concepts in relation to the chemistry of the atmosphere, freshwaters, oceans and soils, as well as the ways in which pollutants behave in these media (exemplified by case studies based upon topical environmental problems). It also examines the transfer of pollutants between different environmental compartments, the monitoring of the environment, the ecological and human health effects of chemical pollution, economics and regulatory control. Again case studies are used throughout. This unique introductory text is essential reading for students on undergraduate and first year postgraduate courses dealing with pollution and environmental chemistry, as well as for scientists and engineers in industry, public service and consultancy who require a basic understanding of environmental processes.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by John Rumble (Editor) High Quality Science requires High Quality Data! Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Every year, new reported data and new scientific areas are added, making the Handbook the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere. Handbook features include: All data reviewed and evaluated by subject matter experts Standardized chemical names, structures, property names, and property units Important information on subjects such as chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature Chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science Digital tools in our Online Edition to analyze, graph, process, and exploit our data content

Contaminants and Clean Technologies by Pankaj Chowdhary (Editor); Abhay Raj (Editor) Contaminants and Clean Technologies provides valuable information on environmental contaminants such as industrial pollutants, micropollutants, pesticides, endocrine disruptors, pharmaceuticals, toxins, and hormones. It focuses on the various types of environmental contaminants discharged from various sources; their toxicological effects in environments, humans, animals, and plants; and their removal methods. It also covers, comprehensively, information on the contaminants released by various industries and agricultural practices, which cause severe threats to the environment. Features of the book: Elucidates systematic information on various types of environmental contaminants, and their fate and consequences Discusses contaminants such as endocrine disruptors, pharmaceutical waste, and personal care products Provides an overview of physicochemical and biological treatment technologies for sustainable development Details recent research finding in the area of environmental contaminants and their future challenges