Featured Textbooks
Organic Chemistry by
In Organic Chemistry, 4th Edition, Dr. David Klein builds on the phenomenal success of the first three editions, with his skills-based approach to learning organic chemistry. The Klein program covers all the concepts typically covered in an organic chemistry course while placing a special emphasis on the skills development needed to support these concepts. Students in organic chemistry need to be able to bridge the gap between theory (concepts) and practice (problem-solving skills). Klein's SkillBuilder examples and activities offer extensive opportunities for students to develop proficiency in the key skills necessary to succeed in organic chemistry.
Call Number: QD253.2 .K55 2021ISBN: 9781119659594Publication Date: 2020-12-22
Organic Chemistry as a Second Language by
Readers continue to turn to Klein's Organic Chemistry As a Second Language: Second Semester Topics, 4th Edition because it enables them to better understand fundamental principles, solve problems, and focus on what they need to know to succeed. The fourth edition explores the major principles in the field and explains why they are relevant. It is written in a way that clearly shows the patterns in organic chemistry so that readers can gain a deeper conceptual understanding of the material. Topics are presented clearly in an accessible writing style along with numerous hands-on problem solving exercises.
Call Number: QD256 .K54 2016ISBN: 9781119110651Publication Date: 2016-01-11
Organic Chemistry II by
Building on the resounding success of the first volume (0-471-27235-3), Organic Chemistry as a Second Language, Volume 2 provides readers with clear, easy-to-understand explanations of fundamental principles. It explores the critical concepts while also examining why they are relevant. The core content is presented within the framework of predicting products, proposing mechanisms, and solving synthesis problems. Readers will fine-tune the key skills involved in solving those types of problems with the help of interactive, step-by-step instructions and problems.
Call Number: QD256 .K542 2006ISBN: 9780471738084Publication Date: 2005-10-07
Organic Chemistry Books & E-Books
MCAT Organic Chemistry Review 2024-2025 by
Kaplan's MCAT Organic Chemistry Review 2024-2025 offers an expert study plan, detailed subject review, and hundreds of online and in-book practice questions--all authored by the experts behind the MCAT prep course that has helped more people get into medical school than all other major courses combined. Prepping for the MCAT is a true challenge. Kaplan can be your partner along the way--offering guidance on where to focus your efforts and how to organize your review. This book has been updated to match the AAMC's guidelines precisely--no more worrying about whether your MCAT review is comprehensive! The Most Practice More than 350 questions in the book and access to even more online--more practice than any other MCAT organic chemistry book on the market. The Best Practice Comprehensive organic chemistry subject review is written by top-rated, award-winning Kaplan instructors. Full-color, 3-D illustrations, charts, graphs and diagrams help turn even the most complex science into easy-to-visualize concepts. All material is vetted by editors with advanced science degrees and by a medical doctor. Online resources, including a full-length practice test, help you practice in the same computer-based format you'll see on Test Day. Expert Guidance High-yield badges throughout the book identify the topics most frequently tested by the AAMC. We know the test: The Kaplan MCAT team has spent years studying every MCAT-related document available. Kaplan's expert psychometricians ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test.
Call Number: R838.5 .M3286 2023ISBN: 9781506286976Publication Date: 2023-07-04
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
High Quality Science requires High Quality Data! Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Every year, new reported data and new scientific areas are added, making the Handbook the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere. Handbook features include: All data reviewed and evaluated by subject matter experts Standardized chemical names, structures, property names, and property units Important information on subjects such as chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature Chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science Digital tools in our Online Edition to analyze, graph, process, and exploit our data content
Call Number: QD65 .C73 2023ISBN: 9781032425207Publication Date: 2023-06-15
General, Organic, and Biochemistry by
The tenth edition of General, Organic, and Biochemistry is designed to help undergraduate health-related majors understand key concepts and appreciate the significant connections between chemistry, health, disease and the treatment of disease. This text continues to strike a balance between theoretical and practical chemistry, while emphasizing material that is unique to health-related studies. It has been written at a level intended for students whose professional goals do not include a mastery of chemistry, but for whom an understanding of the principles and practice of chemistry is a necessity. Designed for a one- or two-semester course, this text has an easy-to-follow problem-solving pedagogy, vivid illustrations and engaging applications.
Call Number: QU 4 D411g 2020ISBN: 9781260565881Publication Date: 2020
Molecular Spectroscopy - Experiment and Theory by
This book reviews various aspects of molecular spectroscopy and its application in materials science, chemistry, physics, medicine, the arts and the earth sciences. Written by an international group of recognized experts, it examines how complementary applications of diverse spectroscopic methods can be used to study the structure and properties of different materials. The chapters cover the whole spectrum of topics related to theoretical and computational methods, as well as the practical application of spectroscopic techniques to study the structure and dynamics of molecular systems, solid-state crystalline and amorphous materials, surfaces and interfaces, and biological systems. As such, the book offers an invaluable resource for all researchers and postgraduate students interested in the latest developments in the theory, experimentation, measurement and application of various advanced spectroscopic methods for the study of materials.
Call Number: QC454.M6 M654 2019ISBN: 9783030013547Publication Date: 2018-10-22
High-Resolution NMR Techniques in Organic Chemistry by
High-Resolution NMR Techniques in Organic Chemistry, Third Edition describes the most important NMR spectroscopy techniques for the structure elucidation of organic molecules and the investigation of their behaviour in solution. Appropriate for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, research chemists and NMR facility managers, this thorough revision covers practical aspects of NMR techniques and instrumentation, data collection, and spectrum interpretation. It describes all major classes of one- and two-dimensional NMR experiments including homonuclear and heteronuclear correlations, the nuclear Overhauser effect, diffusion measurements, and techniques for studying protein-ligand interactions. A trusted authority on this critical expertise, High-Resolution NMR Techniques in Organic Chemistry, Third Edition is an essential resource for every chemist and NMR spectroscopist.
Call Number: QD272.S6 C53 2016ISBN: 9780080999869Publication Date: 2016-05-11
Reactions and Syntheses by
The second edition of this classic text book has been completely revised, updated, and extended to include chapters on biomimetic amination reactions, Wacker oxidation, and useful domino reactions. The first-class author team with long-standing experience in practical courses on organic chemistry covers a multitude of preparative procedures of reaction types and compound classes indispensable in modern organic synthesis. Throughout, the experiments are accompanied by the theoretical and mechanistic fundamentals, while the clearly structured sub-chapters provide concise background information, retrosynthetic analysis, information on isolation and purification, analytical data as well as current literature citations. Finally, in each case the synthesis is labeled with one of three levels of difficulty. An indispensable manual for students and lecturers in chemistry, organic chemists, as well as lab technicians and chemists in the pharmaceutical and agrochemical industries.
Call Number: QD261 .T54 2015ISBN: 9783527338146Publication Date: 2015-06-22
A Small Scale Approach to Organic Laboratory Techniques by
Featuring new experiments, a new essay, and new coverage of nanotechnology, this organic chemistry laboratory textbook offers a comprehensive treatment of laboratory techniques including small scale and some microscale methods that use standard-scale ("macroscale") glassware and equipment. The book is organized based on essays and topics of current interest and covers a large number of traditional organic reactions and syntheses, as well as experiments with a biological or health science focus. Seven introductory technique-based experiments, thirteen project-based experiments, and sections on green chemistry and biofuels spark students' interest and engage them in the learning process. Instructors may choose to offer Cengage Learning's optional Premium Website, which contains videos on basic organic laboratory techniques.
Call Number: QD261 .I543 2016ISBN: 9781305253926Publication Date: 2015-02-11
Understanding Organometallic Reaction Mechanisms and Catalysis by
Exploring and highlighting the new horizons in the studies of reaction mechanisms that open joint application of experimental studies and theoretical calculations is the goal of this book. The latest insights and developments in the mechanistic studies of organometallic reactions and catalytic processes are presented and reviewed. The book adopts a unique approach, exemplifying how to use experiments, spectroscopy measurements, and computational methods to reveal reaction pathways and molecular structures of catalysts, rather than concentrating solely on one discipline. The result is a deeper understanding of the underlying reaction mechanism and correlation between molecular structure and reactivity. The contributions represent a wealth of first-hand information from renowned experts working in these disciplines, covering such topics as activation of small molecules, C-C and C-Heteroatom bonds formation, cross-coupling reactions, carbon dioxide conversion, homogeneous and heterogeneous transition metal catalysis and metal-graphene systems. With the knowledge gained, the reader will be able to improve existing reaction protocols and rationally design more efficient catalysts or selective reactions. An indispensable source of information for synthetic, analytical, and theoretical chemists in academia and industry.
Call Number: QD411 .A53 2015ISBN: 9783527335626Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Pushing Electrons by
This brief guidebook assists you in mastering the difficult concept of pushing electrons that is vital to your success in Organic Chemistry. With an investment of only 12 to 16 hours of self-study you can have a better understanding of how to write resonance structures and will become comfortable with bond-making and bond-breaking steps in organic mechanisms. A paper-on-pencil approach uses active involvement and repetition to teach you to properly push electrons to generate resonance structures and write organic mechanisms with a minimum of memorization. Compatible with any organic chemistry textbook.
Call Number: QD476 .W38 2014ISBN: 9781133951889Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Organic Chemistry by
This helpful, useful, practical book presents the most important achievements in organic chemistry over the past decade, summarizing such major developments as C-H activation, organocatalysis, and supramolecular chemistry. Each chapter contains two or three personal, hitherto unpublished, commentaries by leading experts on the topic. This reference work focuses on four main areas: the total synthesis of natural products and chemical biology; synthetic methodology; physical organic chemistry and chemistry relevant to meeting the urgent needs of humanity. The result is a complete and extremely useful source of a wide variety of information for graduate students, post-docs and researchers.
Call Number: QD251.3 .O74 2012ISBN: 9783527333776Publication Date: 2012-10-29
VCD Spectroscopy for Organic Chemists by
Stimulated by the increasing importance of chiral molecules as pharmaceuticals and the need for enantiomerically pure drugs, techniques in chiral chemistry have been expanded and refined, especially in the areas of chromatography, asymmetric synthesis, and spectroscopic methods for chiral molecule structural characterization. In addition to synthetic chiral molecules, naturally occurring molecules, which are invariably chiral and generally enantiomerically enriched, are of potential interest as leads for new drugs. VCD Spectroscopy for Organic Chemists discusses the applications of vibrational circular dichroism (VCD) spectroscopy to the structural characterization of chiral organic molecules. The book provides all of the information about VCD spectroscopy that an organic chemist needs in order to make use of the technique. The authors, experts responsible for much of the existing literature in this field, discuss the experimental measurement of VCD and the theoretical prediction of VCD. In addition, they evaluate the advantages and limitations of the technique in determining molecular structure. Given the availability of commercial VCD instrumentation and quantum chemistry software, it became possible in the late 1990s for chemists to use VCD in elucidating the stereochemistries of chiral organic molecules. This book helps organic chemists become more aware of the utility of VCD spectroscopy and provides them with sufficient knowledge to incorporate the technique into their own research.
Call Number: QD96.V53 S74 2012ISBN: 9781439821718Publication Date: 2012-06-25
Organic Chemistry Demystified 2/e by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. You don't need genius DNA to master organic chemistry! Whether you're taking a chemistry class or studying for the MCAT or DAT, Organic Chemistry Demystified is your formulas for learning or reviewing fundamental concepts and theories step-by-step. This practical guide eases you into this sometimes challenging subject, starting with atomic structure and mass. As you progress, you will master organic chemistry essentials such as the reactivity of functional groups, the three-dimensional structure of molecules, reaction mechanisms, and more. You will understand how compounds are named and how to predict reactions. Detailed examples make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce key ideas. It's a no-brainer! You'll learn about: Molecular orbitals and bonding Acidic and basic properties of organic molecules Structure and properties of functional groups Characterization of molecules Substitution and elimination reactions Reaction mechanisms Stereochemistry Predicting reaction pathways Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Organic Chemistry Demystified, Second Edition, helps you master this essential subject.
Call Number: QD253.2 .B56 2012ISBN: 9780071767972Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Handbook of Carbon-Based Nanomaterials by
Handbook of Carbon-Based Nanomaterials provides a comprehensive overview of carbon-based nanomaterials and recent advances in these specialized materials. This book opens with a brief introduction to carbon, including the different forms of carbon and their range of uses. Each chapter systematically covers a different type of carbon-based nanomaterial, including its individual characteristics, synthesis techniques and applications in industry, biomedicine and research. This book offers a broad handbook on carbon-based nanomaterials, detailing the materials aspects, applications and recent advances of this expansive topic. With its global team of contributing authors, Handbook of Carbon-Based Nanomaterials collates specific technical expertise from around the world, for each type of carbon-based nanomaterial. Due to the broad nature of the coverage, this book will be useful to an interdisciplinary readership, including researchers in academia and industry in the fields of materials science, engineering, chemistry, energy and biomedical engineering. Covers a range of carbon-based nanomaterials, including graphene, fullerenes and much more Describes key properties, synthesis techniques and characterization of each carbon-based nanomaterial Discusses a range of applications of carbon-based nanomaterials, from biomedicine to energy applications
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128219959Publication Date: 2021-07-23
Applications of Modern Mass Spectrometry by
Applications of Modern Mass Spectrometry covers the latest advances in the use of mass spectrometry inscientific research. The series attempts to present readers information on thebroad range of mass spectrometry techniques and configurations, data analysisand practical applications. Each volume contains contributions from eminentresearchers who present their findings in an easy to read format. Themultidisciplinary nature of the works presented in each volume of this bookseries make it a valuable reference on mass spectrometry to academicresearchers and industrial R&D specialists in applied sciences,biochemistry, life sciences and allied fields. The first volume of the series presents 5 reviews:- Applications of mass spectrometry for the determination of themicrobial crude protein synthesis in ruminants- Qualitative and quantitative LC-MS analysis in food proteins andpeptides- Chemometrics as a powerful and complementary tool for massspectrometry applications in life sciences- Recent developments of allied techniques of qualitative analysis ofheavy metal ions in aqueous solutions with special reference to modern massspectrometry- New techniques and methods in explosive analysis
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789811433825Publication Date: 2020-07-02
Practical Synthetic Organic Chemistry by
This book is a hands-on guide for the organic chemist. Focusing on the most reliable and useful reactions, the chapter authors provide the information necessary for a chemist to strategically plan a synthesis, as well as repeat the procedures in the laboratory. Consolidates all the key advances/concepts in one book, covering the most important reactions in organic chemistry, including substitutions, additions, eliminations, rearrangements, oxidations, reductions. Highlights the most important reactions, addressing basic principles, advantages/disadvantages of the methodology, mechanism, and techniques for achieving laboratory success. Features new content on recent advances in CH activation, photoredox and electrochemistry, continuous chemistry, and application of biocatalysis in synthesis. Revamps chapters to include new and additional examples of chemistry that have been demonstrated at a practical scale
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119448884Publication Date: 2020-01-31
Arrow-Pushing in Organic Chemistry by
Organic chemistry is required coursework for degrees in life, food, and medical sciences. To help the students discouraged by the belief that this topic cannot be mastered without significant memorization, Arrow Pushing in Organic Chemistry serves as a handy supplement for understanding the subject. * Includes new chapters, an expanded index, and additional problem sets complete with detailed solutions * Focuses on understanding the mechanics and logic of organic reaction mechanisms * Introduces ionic and non-ionic reactive species and reaction mechanisms * Teaches strategies to predict reactive species, sites of reactions, and reaction products * Provides a solid foundation upon which organic chemistry students can advance with confidence
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118991343Publication Date: 2017-02-13
Intermediate Organic Chemistry by
This book presents key aspects of organic synthesis - stereochemistry, functional group transformations, bond formation, synthesis planning, mechanisms, and spectroscopy - and a guide to literature searching in a reader-friendly manner. * Helps students understand the skills and basics they need to move from introductory to graduate organic chemistry classes * Balances synthetic and physical organic chemistry in a way accessible to students * Features extensive end-of-chapter problems * Updates include new examples and discussion of online resources now common for literature searches * Adds sections on protecting groups and green chemistry along with a rewritten chapter surveying organic spectroscopy
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118662274Publication Date: 2015-07-13
Organic Chemistry Concepts by
Organic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach provides an introductory overview of the subject, to enable the reader to understand many critical, experimental facts. Designed to cover a single-semester course or a needed review on the principles of Organic Chemistry, the book is written and organized for readers whose first language is not English. Approximately 80% of the words used are drawn from the list of the 2,000 most common English words; the remaining 20% includes necessary technical words, common chemistry terms, and well-known academic words (per the Academic Word List). The book has been class-tested internationally as well as with native English speakers, and differs from other introductory textbooks in the subject both in its coverage and organization, with a particular focus on common problem areas. Focused on a limited number of functional classes, Organic Chemistry Concepts: An EFL Approach introduces those organic compounds early in the book. Once readers have a foundation of the concepts and language of organic chemistry, they can build from that knowledge and work with relatively complex molecules, such as some natural product types covered in a later chapter. The book describes basic level reaction mechanisms when instructive, and illustrations throughout to emphasize the 3D nature of organic chemistry. The book includes multiple pedagogical features, such as chapter questions and useful appendices, to support reader comprehension.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128016992Publication Date: 2014-10-22
The Art of Problem Solving in Organic Chemistry by
This long-awaited new edition helps students understand and solve the complex problems that organic chemists regularly face, using a step-by-step method and approachable text. With solved and worked-through problems, the author orients discussion of each through the application of various problem-solving techniques. Teaches organic chemists structured and logical techniques to solve reaction problems and uses a unique, systematic approach. Stresses the logic and strategy of mechanistic problem solving -- a key piece of success for organic chemistry, beyond just specific reactions and facts Has a conversational tone and acts as a readable and approachable workbook allowing reader involvement instead of simply straightforward text Uses 60 solved and worked-through problems and reaction schemes for students to practice with, along with updated organic reactions and illustrated examples Includes website with supplementary material for chapters and problems: http://tapsoc.yolasite.com
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118829608Publication Date: 2014-06-20
Organic Chemistry by
Organic Chemistry provides a comprehensive discussion of the basic principles of organic chemistry in their relation to a host of other fields in both physical and biological sciences. This book is written based on the premise that there are no shortcuts in organic chemistry, and that understanding and mastery cannot be achieved without devoting adequate time and attention to the theories and concepts of the discipline. It lays emphasis on connecting the basic principles of organic chemistry to real world challenges that require analysis, not just recall. This text covers topics ranging from structure and bonding in organic compounds to functional groups and their properties; identification of functional groups by infrared spectroscopy; organic reaction mechanisms; structures and reactions of alkanes and cycloalkanes; nucleophilic substitution and elimination reactions; conjugated alkenes and allylic systems; electrophilic aromatic substitution; carboxylic acids; and synthetic polymers. Throughout the book, principles logically evolve from one to the next, from the simplest to the most complex examples, with abundant connections between the text and real world applications. There are extensive examples of biological relevance, along with a chapter on organometallic chemistry not found in other standard references. This book will be of interest to chemists, life scientists, food scientists, pharmacists, and students in the physical and life sciences. Contains extensive examples of biological relevance Includes an important chapter on organometallic chemistry not found in other standard references Extended, illustrated glossary Appendices on thermodynamics, kinetics, and transition state theory
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128010822Publication Date: 2014-06-06
March's Advanced Organic Chemistry by
The new, revised and updated 7th edition ofMarch?s Advanced Organic Chemistry clearly explainsthe theories and examples of organic chemistry, providing the mostcomprehensive resource about organic chemistry available. Readers are guided on planning and execution of multi-stepsynthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all thereactions. The first five chapters deal with the structure oforganic compounds and discuss important organic chemistrybonds, fundamental principles of conformation, and stereochemistryof organic molecules, and reactive intermediates in organicchemistry. Chapters 6 to 9 are concerned with generalprinciples of mechanism in organic chemistry, including acids andbases, photochemistry, sonochemistry and microwave irradiation, andfinally the relationship between structure and reactivity. Thelast 10 chapters cover the nature and the scope of organicreactions and their mechanisms. The 7th edition proves again it is a must-havedesktop reference and textbook for every student and professionalworking in organic chemistry or related fields. Key features of the 7th edition: Every chapter has been updated with the most recent reactioninformation with references to both the primary and reviewliterature New to the 7th edition: 5,500 references since the lastedition, updates / rewrites of the retained sections, and anupdated index in Appendix B Contains more than 1650 reactions and 20,000 valuablereferences to the primary literature Includes appendices on the literature of organic chemistry andthe classification of reactions according to the compoundssynthesized Guides the reader on planning and execution of multi-stepsynthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all thereactions. Reviews of the previous edition: "...a favorite general organic chemistry text and an easy-to-useone-volume reference. We are confident that this book will remain adominant reference and that it will reside on many chemists'personal bookshelves." ?Journal of MedicinalChemistry "Who can hope to be seriously accepted as a member of theorganic chemistry community without being in possession of at leastone edition of 'March'?" ?Chemistry and Industry
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470462591Publication Date: 2013-04-22
Foundations of Organic Chemistry by
This book differs from other organic chemistry textbooks in that itis not focused purely on the needs of students studying premed, butrather for all students studying organic chemistry. It directs thereader to question present assumptions rather than to accept whatis told, so the second chapter is largely devoted tospectroscopy (rather than finding it much later on as with mostcurrent organic chemistry textbooks). Additionally, after anintroduction to spectroscopy, thermodynamics and kinetics, thepresentation of structural information of compounds and organicfamilies advances from hydrocarbons to alcohols to aldehydes andketones and, finally, to carboxylic acids.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470479087Publication Date: 2011-07-12
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference by
CHOICE Award Winner Since the first publication in 1995, the Organic Chemist's Desk Reference has been essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a concise guide to the essentials of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. The past fifteen years have witnessed immense growth in the field of chemistry and new discoveries have continued to shape its progress. In addition, the distinction between organic chemistry and other disciplines such as biochemistry and materials science has become increasingly blurred. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research. New in the Second Edition: Rearranged content placed in a logical progressive order, making subjects easier to find Expanded topics from the glossary now presented as separate chapters Updated information on many classic subjects such as mass spectrometry and infrared, ultraviolet, and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy New sections on chiral separations and crystallography Cross references to a plethora of web information Reflecting a 75% revision since the last edition, this volume is a must-have for organic chemists and those in related fields who need quick and easy access to vital information in the lab. It is also a valuable companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, enabling readers to easily focus in on critical data.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781439811665Publication Date: 2010-07-23
The Bridge to Organic Chemistry by
Make the leap from introductory to organic chemistry The transition from first-year chemistry to an organic chemistry course can be a challenge for many students. Not only must they recall their first-year studies of bonding, structure, and reactivity, but they must also master a whole new set of nomenclature, along with the critical skill of "electron-pushing." Reviewing the fundamentals and carefully introducing the important new concepts, The Bridge to Organic Chemistry: Concepts and Nomenclature helps students smoothly bridge the gap to organic chemistry. Concise and carefully structured, The Bridge to Organic Chemistry helps students strengthen their mastery of fundamental concepts from an introductory chemistry course and then introduces them to the new concepts of organic chemistry. Step by step, the reader will: Review important concepts such as structural isomerism, Lewis formulas, hybridization, and resonance and understand their roles in modern organic chemistry Learn organic nomenclature along with the critical skill of "electron-pushing" Explore mechanisms that utilize many of the concepts: Lewis acid-base chemistry, rate laws, enthalpy changes, bond energies and electronegativities, substituent effects, structure, stereochemistry, and the visualization of electron flow through the electron-pushing model With a clear progressive style and substantial review at each step, The Bridge to Organic Chemistry puts organic chemistry and its nomenclature within the grasp of every student.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780470636343Publication Date: 2010-07-23
Organic Chemistry by
The Tenth Edition of Organic Chemistry continues Solomons/Fryhle's tradition of excellence in teaching and preparing students for success in the organic classroom and beyond. In the Tenth Edition, virtually every aspect of the teaching and learning solution has been revisited and redesigned to assist students in comprehending the fundamentals of organic chemistry. The authors' thoroughly explain and illustrate each new idea when it is first introduced and then reinforce the new idea or concept by having students work related problems.
Call Number: QD253.2 .S65 2011ISBN: 9780470401415Publication Date: 2009-12-02
Advanced Organic Chemistry by
Comprehensive compilation of advanced topics of organic chemistry.Important points are emphasised as `Footnotes` in each topic.Latest references/journal consultations are included for aptitude development.ABOUT THE BOOK:This profusely illustrated book is intended to provide a comprehensive exposition of different aspects of organic and name reactions in detail including rearrangements such as mechanisms, stereochemistry and their applications with illustrations, figures, schemes and reaction series in such a way that it should not be difficult for the reader to evaluate typical reaction condition, workup procedure etc. Each chapter is accompanied with conceptual, theoretical and numerical problems along with references. The reaction series or schemes of organic and name reactions provide the way for rapid revision of the topics. All this should be of great help to research scholars, postgraduate students and teachers. Thus, the readers can rely on one book instead of consulting different books in the subject.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1906574189Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Organic Chemistry by
Organized around functional groups, this book incorporates problem-solving help, orientation features, and complete discussions of mechanisms. Acid-Base Chemistry, Lewis Structures, Bronsted, Electron Structure (shell, orbitals, magnetic shielding), Bonding (formation, patterns, polarity, MO), Resonance, Stereochemistry, MO Theory, Conformational analysis, Thermodynamics, Kinetics, Reaction Coordinate diagrams, Chirality, Regioselectivity, Synthesis, Aromaticity, Carbonyl chemistry. A comprehensive reference for chemistry professionals.
Call Number: QD251.3 .W33 2010ISBN: 9780321592316Publication Date: 2009-01-22
March's Advanced Organic Chemistry by
The Sixth Edition of a classic in organic chemistry continues its tradition of excellence Now in its sixth edition, March's Advanced Organic Chemistry remains the gold standard in organic chemistry. Throughout its six editions, students and chemists from around the world have relied on it as an essential resource for planning and executing synthetic reactions. The Sixth Edition brings the text completely current with the most recent organic reactions. In addition, the references have been updated to enable readers to find the latest primary and review literature with ease. New features include: More than 25,000 references to the literature to facilitate further research Revised mechanisms, where required, that explain concepts in clear modern terms Revisions and updates to each chapter to bring them all fully up to date with the latest reactions and discoveries A revised Appendix B to facilitate correlating chapter sections with synthetic transformations
Call Number: QD251.2 .M37 2007ISBN: 9780471720911Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Organic Chemistry by
The second edition ofOrganicChemistrymaintainsall the innovative features of the first edition in a sleeker, slimmer, andeasier-to-navigate design. Hailedby J Chem Edas "the new wave" inorganic textbooks, this book's mechanistic approach constructs organicchemistry from the ground up. Byfocusing on the points of reactivities in organic, this text allows students toapproach more and more complex molecules with enhanced understanding. Also noteworthy are the biochemical examples for their variety,substance, and depth. Despite itsunique emphasis on reactivity, the book facilitates easy adoption by coveringorganic compound classes in the traditional order. Hundreds of worked examples and student exercises combine with clearwriting and sound pedagogy to make this text an exceptional choice. What'sNew in this Edition? a sleeker, slimmer volume improved organization designed for ease of use more examples and solved exercises fewer specialized topics the first chapter on nucleophilic substitution has been expanded and divided into two chapters, allowing alkyl halides and alcohol substitution reactions to be treated separately oxidation reactions of alcohols have been removed from the chapter on elimination reactions, and a separate chapter on reduction and oxidation reactions has been created (Chapter 11), which also includes discussions about the reduction and oxidation reactions of alkenes the chemistry of dienes, including the Diels-Alder reaction, have been collected in a chapter separate from the one devoted to the addition reactions of simple alkenes the order of topics in the chapters presenting spectroscopic methods has been reversed, so nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy is now covered first the chapter that introduces synthetic methods has been largely preserved from the first edition, but it is followed directly by the chapter on enantioselective synthesis the discussion of enantioselective reactions has been completely rewritten, and its emphasis has been changed to encourage students to think about designing enantioselective syntheses without having to memorize a lot of details about specific reagents and conditions the topic of aromatic compounds-- benzene and its derivatives--has been moved, and the presentations about diazonium compounds and nucleophilic aromatic substitution reactions, have been incorporated into new Chapter 17 the chapter about about aldehydes, ketones, and carbohydrates has been divided into two chapters in the current edition, with the division made according to the reaction mechanisms involved, not according to the functional groups that are undergoing the reactions the chapter on nitrogen-containing compounds has been parceled in this edition among several chapters in the new edition in contrast, the discussions of polymer chemistry, which were interspersed throughout the book in the first edition, have been collected to form Chapter 26 in this edition
Call Number: QD251.3 .S67 2006ISBN: 1891389386Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Modern Physical Organic Chemistry by
Thisis the first modern textbook, written in the 21st century, to makeexplicit the many connections between physical organic chemistry and criticalfields such as organometallic chemistry, materials chemistry, bioorganicchemistry, and biochemistry. In the latter part of the 20th century, the field of physical organicchemistry went through dramatic changes, with an increased emphasis onnoncovalent interactions and their roles in molecular recognition,supramolecular chemistry, and biology; the development of new materials with novel structural features; and the use of computationalmethods. Contemporary chemists mustbe just as familiar with these newer fields as with the more establishedclassical topics. Thiscompletely new landmark text is intended to bridge that gap. In additionto covering thoroughly the core areas of physical organic chemistry -structure and mechanism - the book will escortthe practitioner of organic chemistry into a field that has been thoroughlyupdated. Thefoundations and applicabilities of modern computational methods are alsodeveloped. Writtenby two distinguished researchers in this field, ModernPhysical Organic Chemistrycan serve as a text for a year-long coursetargeted to advanced undergraduates or first-year graduate students, as well asfor a variety of shorter courses on selected aspects of the field. It will also serve as a landmark new reference text, and as anintroduction to many of the more advanced topics of interest to modernresearchers.
Call Number: QD476 .A57 2006ISBN: 1891389319Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Organic Chemistry by
Ideal for those who have previously studies organic chemistry but not in great depth and with little exposure to organic chemistry in a formal sense. This text aims to bridge the gap between introductory-level instruction and more advanced graduate-level texts, reviewing the basics as well as presenting the more advanced ideas that are currently of importance in organic chemistry. * Provides students with the organic chemistry background required to succeed in advanced courses. * Practice problems included at the end of each chapter.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0471648728Publication Date: 2004-11-26
Advanced Organic Chemistry (Print) by
Since its original appearance in 1977, this textbook has found wide use as a work providing broad coverage of the structure, reactivity and synthesis of organic compounds. This fourth edition provides updated material but continues the essential elements of the previous edition. The material in Part A is organized on the basis of fundamental structural topics such as stereochemistry, conformation and aromaticity and basic mechanistic types, including nucleophilic substitution, addition reactions, carbonyl chemistry, aromatic substitution and free radical reactions. The material in Part B is organized on the basis of reaction type with emphasis on reactions of importance in laboratory synthesis. As in the earlier editions, the text contains extensive references to both the primary and review literature and provides examples of data and reactions that illustrate and document the generalizations. While the text assumes completion of an introductory course in organic chemistry, it reviews the fundamental concepts for each topic that is discussed.
Call Number: QD251.2 .C36 2000ISBN: 0306462435Publication Date: 2004-09-30
Advanced Organic Chemistry (E-Book) by
Since its original appearance in 1977, this textbook has found wide use as a work providing broad coverage of the structure, reactivity and synthesis of organic compounds. This fourth edition provides updated material but continues the essential elements of the previous edition. The material in Part A is organized on the basis of fundamental structural topics such as stereochemistry, conformation and aromaticity and basic mechanistic types, including nucleophilic substitution, addition reactions, carbonyl chemistry, aromatic substitution and free radical reactions. The material in Part B is organized on the basis of reaction type with emphasis on reactions of importance in laboratory synthesis. As in the earlier editions, the text contains extensive references to both the primary and review literature and provides examples of data and reactions that illustrate and document the generalizations. While the text assumes completion of an introductory course in organic chemistry, it reviews the fundamental concepts for each topic that is discussed.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0306462427Publication Date: 2000-05-01
The Facts on File Dictionary of Organic Chemistry by
Organic chemistry is one of two fairly distinct parts of chemistry, the other being inorganic chemistry. It is generally studied separately from inorganic chemistry and, above a certain level, students use different textbooks for the two branches of the discipline. The Facts On File Dictionary of Organic Chemistry provides quick access and complete reference definition to the terms, concepts, and principles that make up a significant part of section 4 of the advanced placement chemistry course for high school students. Undergraduate chemistry students and students studying the life sciences will also find this volume useful. Areas of the subject covered include basic terms in chemistry: physical chemistry; techniques used in organic chemistry; elements; classes of compounds; named compounds; and industrial processes.
Call Number: QD246 .F33 2004ISBN: 0816049289Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Organic Chemistry by
The result of a collaboration between two dictionary publishers - Oxford University Press and the Dudenverlag - this limited edition reissue comes with a pronunciation guide: a free CD-ROM that enables you to type in a word or phrase, or paste in text from the web, and hear it spoken back to you in perfect German. The dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of the latest vocabulary; a guide to life and culture in the German- and English-speaking worlds; and an extensive correspondence guide. It is a reference for university students, as well as translators and language professionals.
Call Number: QD251.3 .B78 2004ISBN: 0131407481Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Invitation to Organic Chemistry by
Invitation to Organic Chemistry provides students with an elementary understanding of organic chemistry in order to support study in career fields such as nursing, agricultural sciences, biology, allied health sciences and pharmacy. Invitation to Organic Chemistry is not a truncated two-semester text. It was written specifically for the shorter one-semester, or one- or two-quarter organic chemistry course at the college level. Johnson's approach is to present only that material which is essential for understanding the elementary workings of organic chemistry. This encourages a more thorough understanding of the information as opposed to memorizing, and then forgetting, a larger body of it. Johnson also attempts to make organic chemistry interesting and relevant, easing students into new concepts by moving logically and gradually from one topic to the next.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0763704326Publication Date: 1998-11-13
