CHEM 2400 & 2410, Organic Chemistry I & II: Find Websites

The ACS is the principal chemistry society in the United States and one of the most important in the world. The website provides access to extensive sources of chemical information, especially ACS publications.

The premier American society that supports, educates, networks, and advocates for organic chemists.

This site provides links to many other sites that are useful for general and organic chemists. The included links point to chemistry portals, databases, nomenclature, and named reaction sites.

This site allows users to search for basic physical data and chemical suppliers by registry number, molecular formula, chemical name, or synonyms in different languages.

The International Mass Spectrometry Foundation (IMSF) is a non-profit scientific organization in the field of mass spectrometry. The Foundation operates the International Mass Spectrometry Society, which consists of 41 member societies and sponsors the International Mass Spectrometry Conference (IMSC) that was held once every three years from 1958-2012, but is now held every two years. Begining in 2013, IMSF also operates the International Mass Spectrometry Schools, which are held every second year.

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is the world authority on chemical nomenclature and terminology, including the naming of new elements in the periodic table; on standardized methods for measurement; and on atomic weights, and many other critically-evaluated data.

The MERLOT website collects online tutorials, tests, class presentations, and other types of educational material. In the Chemistry Portal materials are arranged by type of materials and chemistry field.

The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) informs workers, employers, and occupational health professionals about workplace chemicals and their hazards. The NPG gives general industrial hygiene information for hundreds of chemicals/classes. The NPG clearly presents key data for chemicals or substance groupings (such as cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in workplaces. The guide offers key facts, but does not give all relevant data. The NPG helps users recognize and control workplace chemical hazards.

The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

A collection of several databases of physical data gathered and maintained by the National Institute of Science and Technology (NIST). It includes basic information on elements, spectroscopic data, and more.

nmrshiftdb2 is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Last not least, it features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users. The nmrshiftdb2 software is open source, the data is published under an open content license. Please consult the documentation for more detailed information. nmrshiftdb2 is the continuation of the NMRShiftDB project with additional data and bugfixes and changes in the software.

PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

The RSC is the largest chemical research society in Europe. It supports an extensive research publication program. The website allows you to search the Society's library, and it includes links to a number of web resources.

The aim of this working group is to promote the application of chemical principles and techniques to solve biological problems.

The aim of this working group is to promote heterocyclic chemistry of all types through the organisation of scientific meetings.

Organic Division currently has 8,700 members based in industry and education. Its main objective is to encourage and promote advances in the field of organic chemistry, interpreted in its broadest sense. In particular, the Division stimulates and supports many local, national and international meetings, symposia and conferences on topics of interest to organic chemists. The Division embraces the interdisciplinary nature of science and works with other RSC Divisions and Forms to encourage the development of new and emerging areas of science.

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.