Organic Chemistry
CHEM 2400, CHEM 2410
Fall 2024
This course and the related lab is the first part of a two-semester sequence that studies the chemistry of carbon compounds, including their structure, nomenclature, preparation, reactions, analysis, spectroscopy, and properties. Reaction mechanisms are stressed within a functional group framework. The laboratory session introduces basic laboratory techniques frequently utilized in organic syntheses.
This course and the related lab is the second part of a two-semester sequence that studies the chemistry of heteroatom-containing carbon compounds, including their structure, nomenclature, preparation, reactions, analysis, and properties. Reaction mechanisms within a functional group framework are stressed. Stability, nucleophilicity and electrophilicity, and structurereactivity relationships will also be examined. The laboratory session practices basic organic syntheses.
Required Textbooks:
Organic Chemistry by
Organic Chemistry, 2nd Edition, Dr. David Klein builds on his unique skills-based approach, including all of the concepts typically covered in an organic chemistry textbook, but placing special emphasis on skills development to support these concepts. This emphasis upon skills development provides two-semester Organic Chemistry students with a greater opportunity to develop proficiency in the key skills necessary to succeed in organic chemistry.
Call Number: QD253.2 .K55 2015ISBN: 9781118452288Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Experimental Organic Chemistry by
Perform chemistry experiments with skill and confidence in your organic chemistry lab course with this easy-to-understand lab manual. EXPERIMENTAL ORGANIC CHEMISTRY: A MINISCALE AND MICROSCALE APPROACH, Sixth Edition first covers equipment, record keeping, and safety in the laboratory, then walks you step by step through the laboratory techniques you'll need to perform all experiments. Individual chapters show you how to use the techniques to synthesize compounds and analyze their properties, complete multi-step syntheses of organic compounds, and solve structures of unknown compounds. New experiments in Chapter 17 and 18 demonstrate the potential of chiral agents in fostering enantioselectivity and of performing solvent-free reactions. A bioorganic experiment in Chapter 24 gives you an opportunity to accomplish a mechanistically interesting and synthetically important coupling of two a-amino acids to produce a dipeptide.
Call Number: QD261 .G54 2016ISBN: 9781305080461Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Recommended Textbooks:
Organic Chemistry As a Second Language by
Organic chemistry can be a challenging subject. Most students view organic chemistry as a subject requiring hours upon hours of memorization. Author David Klein's Second Language books prove this is not true--organic chemistry is one continuous story that actually makes sense if you pay attention. Offering a unique skill-building approach, these market-leading books teach students how to ask the right questions to solve problems, study more efficiently to avoid wasting time, and learn to speak the language of organic chemistry. Covering the initial half of the course, Organic Chemistry as a Second Language: First Semester Topics reviews critical principles and explains their relevance to the rest of the course. Each section provides hands-on exercises and step-by-step explanations to help students fully comprehend classroom lectures and textbook content. Now in its fifth edition, this valuable study resource covers the characteristics of molecules, the nature of atomic bonds, the relationships between different types of molecules, drawing and naming molecules, and essential molecular reactions.
Call Number: AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ONLINEISBN: 9781119493488Publication Date: 2019-09-11
- Apply the rules of organic nomenclature, including the ability to name organic compounds and draw correct structures from names.
- Describe chemical structures and relate them to physical properties of organic compounds.
- Correlate molecular structure and spectroscopic behavior.
- Describe and apply fundamental reactivity concepts such as acidity, basicity, electrophilicity, nucleophilicity, electron delocalization and rules of resonance.
- Describe the mechanisms and outcomes of addition, substitution and elimination reactions of simple organic compounds.
- Describe and perform basic organic laboratory techniques.
- Recognize major functional groups and name organic compounds containing these functional groups.
- Understand and apply the basic rules of reactivity, nucleophilicity and electrophilicity to organic compounds.
- Describe simple resonance schemes and their importance to stability and reactivity of organic molecules.
- Demonstrate mastery of simple organic reaction mechanisms.
- Recognize functional groups in biochemical compounds and their chemistry.
- Apply basic organic laboratory techniques to synthesize, purify and broadly characterize simple organic compounds.
 |
 |
Search:
Find Books, Journals, Media:
E-Books | Advanced Search | My Library Account | ILL - Interlibrary Loan
Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.
If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts. Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.
If you have the DOI of an article, you can search for the article using DOI Tools.
|
Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic |
|
|
View Databases by Subject OR All Databases |
|
Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:
Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!
Find research tips, useful resources, and more by searching our LibGuides or browsing the topics below:
Oceanographic Campus Library Guides | Writing & Citation Style | Course Guides | Browse by Subject | How-To Guides | LibraryLearn : Short Video Tutorials | Razor's Research Bytes |