Skip to Main Content

Elementary Virtual Outreaches: Database Instruction (3-5)

Lesson plan information for elementary school virtual outreaches

Learning Objective(s)

  • Students will define the term "database."
  • Students will explain the importance of databases.
  • Students will conduct a database search to locate information.

Standard(s)

READS - Florida’s K-12 Integrated Library Media Reading Guidelines

  • Read 1.3 Use community resources for recreational and informational needs

English Language Arts B.E.S.T. Standards

  • ELA.K12.EE.4.1 Use appropriate collaborative techniques and active listening skills when engaging in discussions in a variety of situations.
  • ELA.3.C.4.1 Conduct research to answer a question, organizing information about the topic from multiple sources.
  • ELA.4.C.4.1 Conduct research to answer a question, organizing information about the topic, using multiple valid sources.
  • ELA.5.C.4.1 Conduct research to answer a question, organizing information about the topic and using multiple reliable and valid sources.

Essential Question(s)

  • What is a database?
  • What is the difference between searching for information on a database and searching on a search engine like Google?

Key Vocabulary

  • database: a collection of related records or information, stored on a computer and organized to make any part of it accessible

Source: World Book Student

Materials

  • computer with internet access
  • NSU Alvin Sherman Library Card or E-Card

Recommended Books

More Information