On this page...
You will learn about library databases and how to use them to search for information.
What is a library database?
- A library database is a collection of information (articles, ebooks, etc.) published electronically by a credible publisher.
- Although you use a computer to search within databases, they are not the same as websites.
Suggested Databases for Middle School
-
Homework HelpersA list of databases that are recommended for K-12 students and are available to access outside of the Alvin Sherman Library to Broward County residents.
Why Use a Database?
Library databases offer access to high-quality, reliable sources like peer-reviewed and scholarly articles that aren't freely available on the open web. Unlike searching Google, using a library database will allow you to:
- Find reliable sources such as peer-reviewed or scholarly articles
- Limit a search by keyword, subject, author, date, publication, etc.
- Avoid paywalls or other paid subscription content to access the full text
Where can I use the databases?
-
Almost all of the library's databases can be accessed with your library card while inside the library building.
-
Some databases can be accessed from home. Look for the
icon with the word "Broward" to know if it can be used outside the library. -
Go here to view a list of all the databases that you can use remotely.
Search Tips
Library databases don’t understand full questions like Google does. Instead, they “speak” in keywords, which are important words or short phrases that describe your topic.
Not sure how to turn your topic into keywords? Check our guide: Keywords & Boolean Operators
See the video below for some tips for more effective strategies to get the results you need:
The Open University Library. (2018, October 24). Effective Searching in the Online Library [Video] https://youtu.be/mHTN_kA2XCc