Skip to Main Content

Find Homework (K-12) Resources

What is a library database?

  • A  library database is a collection of information (articles, ebooks, etc.) published electronically by a credible publisher.

  • Although you use a computer to search within databases, they are not the same as websites. 

  • Databases can help you efficiently search for published information that has some level of vetting completed already.

  • They are usually accessed through a library's portal to bypass paywalls.

Why use a database?

Why would we want to use a database if we have google at our fingertips?

Databases can be helpful when we're researching because they are looking more directly at the kind of information we need, has usually been vetted by other professionals, and can often get us past paywalls or advertisements we might experience on the world wide web. Databases are built for research, so they are designed with filters and user interfaces that make it easier to refine our search results. 

    

 

Choosing a Database

You can of course skip this and choose to use one of the recommended databases by clicking here: Recommended Databases for High School.

However, you may need to check other databases to find what you are looking for.

Databases can be very broad. We call those multi-disciplinary databases (like the ones in the recommended databases section). Or they can be very subject specific. This is one of the first things you need to think about when you are selecting a database. Make sure to read the descriptions of the databases as you are going through them to help decide what would be helpful.

Take a look at the examples below and read through their descriptions. When you click more, you can read about what is in the database to help decide if it would be useful.

You can browse our databases in many different ways.

From the library.nova.edu homepage, you can use the dropdown menu. Click the drop down menu that reads "Catalog" and select "Database by name. When you start to type the name of a database, you will see the list of databases change. Select the database you want.

You can also choose to browse databases by subject. This is helpful if you don't know a specific database but know you are looking for databases for Psychology, Biology, or another subject area.

If you would prefer to just see a full list of all of the databases NSU has to offer, you can visit https://sherman.library.nova.edu/e-library/.

This is also accessible on the homepage from the menu under "Research" --> "Databases".

This will give you several more ways to browse the databases, starting with "Databases by Name."

Choose the letter of the alphabet your database is in and then see the list of all databases starting with that letter. This can be helpful if you know you want to look at a Gale database, but don't know which one you want to use yet.

This page also allows you to search the databases by subject. Choose the subject you are looking for and it will show you all the databases for that subject.

If you would like to see specific types of materials, such as a Dictionary or Primary Source materials, you can browse by material types as well.

Where can I use the databases?

Not every database is accessible to every library user at the Alvin Sherman Library. When choosing a database, you want to make sure that you have access to it.

Most databases are accessible to everyone when you come in person to NSU's campus. Access at home is limited for some of them.

All of our database listings have images underneath them that tell you who can access which database and where.

The key below indicates that a building will tell you who can use the database on campus, a house will tell you who can use the database off campus, and a bus indicates that these databases are good for younger students.

For public library users, you'll want to look for the words "All" or "Broward" underneath to database descriptions to indicate where you can use them. For example:

Gale Academic One File has a tall building followed by the word "All" indicated that everyone can use this resource inside the library. Next is a small house icon, which reads "NSU, Broward, Alumni" which tells us that all NSU affiliates, Broward County public library users, and Alumni can use this database from home.

This would be a good option to use as a database at home.

Suggested Databases for High School

Keywords

Search for articles using keywords that describe your topic. Watch this video demonstrating how to get your keywords.

Boolean Operators

Watch this video demonstrating how to combine your keywords using Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT.