Marine Biology Resource Guide
Audiobook Resources
- LibriVoxCollection of free public domain audiobooks.
- Cloud LibraryeBooks and eAudiobooks available for checkout with an Alvin Sherman Library card.
Featured Public Domain Audiobooks
Animals of the past by
Prior to the emergence of paleontology and comparative anatomy as scientific disciplines at the end of the 18th century, it was generally known that there were species of animals that had disappeared completely. The term "extinction" originally applied to the extinguishing of fires or erasing of one's debt. It was not until 1784 that the term extinction was used to denote the complete eradication of a species of living being. In 1901, Frederic A. Lucas penned an overview of vertebrate animals whose only evidence of being remained in fossil records. The book focuses primarily on vertebrate animals, from fish to mammals. - Summary by Jeffery Smith
Publication Date: 1902
A Book of Whales by
A Book of Whales is a natural history of whales for the layman. - Summary by A. Gramour
Publication Date: 1900
The Elements of Conchology by
The fifth of the Series of First Books of Natural History, embraces that branch of our subject which treats of the Mollusca, or soft animals, and consequently, includes the Elements of Conchology. In the beauty and singularity of their forms, the variety and brilliancy of their colors, shells only yield to flowers…. Limited as this little volume is, it may prove a key to stores of information, even more interesting to many than the numerous fictions of the day. “Truth is stranger than fiction,” has been often said; and the beautiful truths brought to us by a study of animal life, in its various forms, are certainly more admirable and wonderful than any fiction of man’s creation. - Summary by William Ruschenberger
Publication Date: 1843
The Elements of Herpetology and Ichthyology by
This succinct little textbook from 1844 presents an introduction to herpetology and ichthyology. The information, albeit not current, is still interesting and of use as a general overview of reptiles, amphibians, and fish. Please note that the classification of the animals may have changed since this time, as well as their environmental status. The step back in time to hear the Victorian view of nature makes it a remarkable read in itself. The author was president of the Academy of Natural Sciences. - Summary by A. Gramour
Publication Date: 1844
The History of Esculent Fish by
Roger North, son of Dudley North, 4th Baron North, was a successful member of the bar and later member of parliament. But he had wide ranging interests from architecture to music. He has an avid collector of books and is best known as the biographer of the North family. Here we sample his interest in raising fish. He presents fifteen short sketches of esculent (edible) fish, and a longer essay as "A Discourse of Fish and Fish Ponds." - Summary by Larry Wilson
Publication Date: 1794
The Hurricane Hunters by
This 1955 book by an acknowledged authority is an absorbing account of meteorology before the advent of weather satellites. “This is the lively account of the hair-raising experiences of the men who have probed by sea and air into the inner mysteries of the world’s most terrible storms…. Here is the first intimate revelation of what the human eye and the most modern radars see in the violent regions of the tropical vortex. The descriptions of the activities of these valiant scouts of the storms are taken from personal interviews with military flyers and weathermen who have risked their lives in the furious blasts in all parts of the hurricane. The author has made a special study of hurricanes for over forty years. He has served with the Weather Bureau as chief of the marine division, chief of all forecasting and reporting and assistant chief of the Bureau, in charge of its technical operations.” - Summary by Advertisement in the book and David Wales
Publication Date: 1955
Marvels of Modern Science by
The purpose of this little book is to give a general idea of a few of the great achievements of our time. For instance, the flying machine is engaging the attention of the old, the young and the middle-aged, and soon the whole world will be on the wing. Radium, "the revealer," is opening the door to possibilities almost beyond human conception. Wireless Telegraphy is crossing thousands of miles of space with invisible feet and making the nations of the earth as one. 'Tis the same with the other subjects,—one and all are of vital, human interest, and are extremely attractive on account of their importance in the civilization of today. Mighty, sublime, wonderful, as have been the achievements of past science, as yet we are but on the verge of the continents of discovery. Just as our conceptions of many things have been revolutionized in the past, those which we hold to-day of the cosmic processes may have to be remodeled in the future. Science is ever on the march and what is new to-day will be old to-morrow. We cannot go back, we must go forward, and although we can never reach finality in aught, we can improve on the past to enrich the future. (From the Introduction)
Publication Date: 1910
Woman in Science by
A history of woman's role in science through the ages and the many contributions she has made. (summary by Guero)
Publication Date: 1913
NSU Video Databases
Academic Video OnlineLocal access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users. - Alexander Street Press
Search across multiple Alexander Street video collections.
Filmakers Library OnlineLocal access for all registered users. Remote access only for NSU and Broward users. - Alexander Street Press
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum including the environment and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 1,019 titles, equaling approximately 806 hours.
Marine Life Videos
- Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Videos WHOI is the world's leading, independent, non-profit organization dedicated to ocean research, exploration, and education. Find videos here on topics from penguins to underwater robots!
Images
Images
- Coast and Geodetic Survey Historical Photo Collection The Historic Coast and Geodetic Survey Collection is composed of images covering many aspects of Coast and Geodetic Survey operations including geodesy, nautical and aeronautical charting, geophysics, oceanography, and the military aspects of these disciplines. These images document the geodetic surveying of the United States and its territories, the nautical charting work associated with producing charts for the marine waterways of the United States and its territories, and the development of early geophysics and oceanography.
- Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center EROS is home to the world's largest collection of remotely sensed images of the Earth’s land surface and the primary source of Landsat satellite images and data products. NASA’s Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center (LP DAAC) is also located at EROS. Use the links below to explore and access our data holdings.
- Florent's Tropical Reef Life Identification Guide Guide to tropical marine life of the Caribbean, Bahamas, Florida, Tropical Pacific, Eastern Pacific, and Hawaii.
- Grey’s Reef Photographs and videos Gray's Reef National Marine Sanctuary off the coast of Georgia is one of the largest near-shore "live-bottom" reefs of the southeastern United States. It is just one of 15 marine protected areas that make up the National Marine Sanctuary System and is governed by the National Marine Sanctuaries Act.
- NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program Images The NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program brings together expertise from across NOAA for a multidisciplinary approach to studying these complex ecosystems to inform more effective management. They work closely with NOAA scientists in the National Ocean Service, National Marine Fisheries Service, Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research, and National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service.
- NOAA Fisheries Image Gallery NOAA Fisheries features images in the following categories: Fish & Sharks, Corals & Invertebrates, Whales, Dolphins & Porpoises, Seals & Sea Lions, Sea Turtles, and Plants/Other
- NOAA Historical Images Collections The NOAA Photo Library contains over 80,000 images that showcase the work of NOAA. Explore images in a wide array of collections and galleries based on the work of NOAA scientists, officers, engineers, and other personnel within the agency.
- PhyloPic Species-specific silhouettes that are free to use. Contains thousands of images of animals, plants, and other life forms.
- Richard Harrison Slide Collection The Richard Harrison Underwater Photography Slide Collection features a plethora of photos of marine organisms- from sponges to fish
- University of Washington: Freshwater and Marine Image Bank This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries (including Special Collections), University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries. The collections emphasize rare and unique materials.
NSU Oceanographic Campus Library, 8000 North Ocean Drive, Dania Beach, Florida 33004
(954) 262-3699 | oclibrary@nova.edu | Hours | NSU Libraries