Marine Biology Resource Guide

The mission of the American Academy of Underwater Sciences (AAUS) is to advance and facilitate safe and productive scientific diving.

The American Elasmobranch Society is a non-profit organization that seeks to advance the scientific study of living and fossil sharks, skates, rays, and chimaeras, and the promotion of education, conservation, and wise utilization of natural resources. The Society holds annual meetings and presents research reports of interest to professionals and students of elasmobranch biology.

The American Fisheries Society is the world’s oldest and largest organization dedicated to strengthening the fisheries profession, advancing fisheries science, and conserving fisheries resources.

The American Microscopical Society is an international society of biologists organized to encourage the use of microscopy.

CCAMLR was established by international convention in 1982 with the objective of conserving Antarctic marine life.

The Marine Laboratory is a campus of Duke University and a unit within the Nicholas School of the Environment. Programs at the Marine Laboratory are central to the Nicholas School of the Environment's mission to provide interdisciplinary educational and research opportunities addressing an area of vital concern--the quality of the Earth's environment and the sustainable use of its natural resources.

The GCRMN has three primary objectives: to strengthen scientific understanding of the status and trends, to strengthen communication among GCRMN members of the network and provide information on network, and make coral reef monitoring data publicly available in a timely fashion.

Community Resources and Collaborations for Invertebrate Genomics Research

The Harte Research Institute seeks science-driven solutions for Gulf of Mexico problems in order to advance its long-term sustainable use and conservation.

The International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI) is an informal partnership between Nations and organizations which strives to preserve coral reefs and related ecosystems around the world.

Founded in 1990, The International Ecotourism Society has been on the forefront of the development of Ecotourism, providing guidelines and standards, training, technical assistance, and educational resources.

MarineBio is deeply committed to marine conservation and founded on the concept that, by sharing the wonders of the ocean and marine life, people will be inspired to protect it.

The Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL) is dedicated to scientific discovery – exploring fundamental biology, understanding biodiversity and the environment, and informing the human condition through research and education. Founded in Woods Hole, Massachusetts in 1888, the MBL is a private, nonprofit institution and an affiliate of the University of Chicago.

Marine Conservation Institute is dedicated to securing permanent, strong protection for the oceans’ most important places – for us and future generations.

The MRGIS web mapping application allows users to view spatial data of marine resources for Florida, create customized queries, and design printable maps. The site provides access MRGIS datasets through map services as well as the ability to download GIS layers.

The Marine Technology Society promotes awareness, understanding, and the advancement and application of marine technology. Incorporated in 1963, the international society brings together businesses, institutions, professionals, academics, and students who are ocean engineers, technologists, policy makers, and educators.

Originally focused on sharks, Mote's research has expanded to include studies of human cancer using marine models, the effects of human-made and natural toxic substances on humans and on the environment, the health of wild fisheries, developing sustainable and successful fish restocking techniques and food production technologies and the development of ocean technology to help us better understand the health of the environment. Their research programs also focus on understanding the population dynamics of manatees, dolphins, sea turtles, sharks and coral reefs and on conservation and restoration efforts related to these species and ecosystems.

NAML seeks to provide a forum for the resolution of problems common to non-profit marine laboratories in the United States. The association encourages the wise use and conservation of marine and coastal resources.

OBIS' vision is to be the most comprehensive gateway to the world’s ocean biodiversity and biogeographic data and information required to address pressing coastal and world ocean concerns.

TOS was founded in 1988 to advance oceanographic research, technology, and education, and to disseminate knowledge of oceanography and its application through research and education.

The Online Remote Sensing Guide consists of two web-based instructional modules that use multimedia technology and the dynamic capabilities of the web. These resources incorporate text, colorful diagrams, and animations to introduce selected topics in the field of remote sensing.

REEF's mission is to protect biodiversity and ocean life by actively engaging and inspiring the public through citizen science, education, and partnerships with the scientific community.

Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego works to understand and protect the planet and find solutions to our most pressing environmental challenges.

Seafood Watch is a leader in the global sustainable seafood movement. Over the years, Seafood Watch has grown from advising consumers to working directly with businesses and governments around the world — increasing both the market demand for, and a reliable supply of, sustainable seafood.

This site presents rapidly processed estimates of sea surface temperature for various regions. The imagery includes both single pass data and composite data from multiple passes.

The world's largest museum complex and research organization.

The Society for Conservation Biology (SCB) is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to facilitating, promoting, and advancing the scientific study and conservation of biological diversity.

The Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC) is the United Nations body responsible for supporting global ocean science and services.

Marine genomics utilizes cutting edge technologies to define the differences within and among species. They focus on the quantitative analyses of mRNA and protein expression and how the variation in these traits affect enzyme function, physiological performance and organism performance. Evolutionary analyses are used to define whether the variation in these traits is adaptively important.

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution is the world's leading, independent non-profit organization dedicated to ocean research, exploration, and education. Our scientists and engineers push the boundaries of knowledge about the ocean to reveal its impacts on our planet and our lives.

At the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

The national library of the United Kingdom. Includes an environmental information service, historical manuscripts, a collection of maps, atlases and globes of all parts of the world dating back to the 15th century, etc.

COAPS takes interdisciplinary approach to scientific research about ocean-atmosphere interactions

of the Department of Homeland Security

contains one of the world's most complete collections of biological, ecological and oceanographic literature. It is operated jointly by the Marine Biological Laboratory and the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute.

The Maritime Knowledge Centre (MKC) provides collections, information resources and services to support the IMO Secretariat, Member States, representatives and delegates. Its specialized collections comprise the archives of official documents and IMO Publications. The MKC also collects resources covering maritime affairs, shipping and other subjects relevant to the work of the Organization.

The Academy library is dedicated to providing information and services to further the education process at Kings Point by offering resources in a variety of formats from traditional to high tech.