Marine Biology Resource Guide: Government Resources
On This Page:
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Resources
- United States Geology Survey (USGS) Resources
- Other U.S. Governmental Agencies
- Data Repositories
US Government Publications
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.
Evaluating Online Resources
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Adminstration (NOAA) Resources
- National Hurricane Center A great site. Includes up-to-date information on current tropical cyclones, archives of past hurricanes, hurricane names through 2009, hurricane tracks since 1851, comprehensive FAQS, and more.
- National Sea Grant For over 50 years, the National Sea Grant College Program has supported coastal and Great Lakes communities through research, extension and education. Sea Grant's mission is to enhance the practical use and conservation of coastal, marine and Great Lakes resources in order to create a sustainable economy and environment.
- NOAA Coral Health and Monitoring Home Page (CHAMP) NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratories.
- NOAA Ocean Explorer With the mission to explore the ocean for national benefit, NOAA Ocean Exploration is the only U.S. federal organization dedicated to exploring the deep ocean. They are filling gaps in the basic understanding of U.S. deep waters and the seafloor and delivering the ocean information needed to strengthen the economy, health, and security of the United States.
United States Geology Survey (USGS) Resources
- United States Geological Survey Science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change. Develop new methods and tools to supply timely, relevant, and useful information about the Earth and its processes.
- USGS Coastal and Marine Hazards and Resources Program Coastal and Marine Hazards and Resources Program scientists and staff study coastal and ocean resources and processes from shorelines and estuaries to the continental shelf and deep sea.
- USGS Pacific Coastal and Marine Science Center Multidisciplinary scientific research in the coastal and offshore areas of California, Oregon, Washington, Alaska, Hawaii, and other US Pacific Islands; and in other waterways of the United States.
- USGS St. Petersburg Coastal and Marine Science Center Research programs have a primary focus of investigating processes related to coastal and marine environments and societal implications related to natural hazards, resource sustainability, and environmental change.
- USGS Water Resources of the U.S Water Resources' mission is to provide water information for major watersheds around the world, including publications, data, maps, and applications software.
- USGS Woods Hole Coastal and Marine Science Center The center conducts scientific research in various locations throughout the United States to describe and understand the processes shaping coastal and marine ecosystems. The center’s research is used to make informed decisions about the use, management, and protection of our coastal resources.
Other U.S. Governmental Agencies
- Data and Statistics About the United States Provided by usa.gov, find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census.
- Federal Depository Library Program The FDLP ensures the people are informed about their government. The FDLP helps keep the government honest. Free access to Government information is important to educate, illuminate, and inform the citizens and each branch of the government.
- Federal Register Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- Library of Congress Federal Library Directorycompiled by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress
- National Agricultural Library of the Department of AgricultureSource of aquaculture and fisheries information
- The National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the Federal Government
- National Institute of Standards and Technology An agency of the US Department of Commerce
- National Science Foundation (NSF) The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..."
- United States Army Corps of Engineers - Centers of Expertise Responsible for investigating, developing, and maintaining the nation's water and related environmental resources.
- United States Coast Guard A military branch of the United States involved in maritime law, mariner assistance, and search and rescue.
- The United States Code The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives
- United States Environmental Protection Agency The Environmental Protection Agency is an independent executive agency of the United States federal government tasked with environmental protection matters.
- United States Federal Emergency Management Agency FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during and after disasters.
- United States Fish and Wildlife Service The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitat and is the only agency in the federal government whose primary responsibility is the conservation and management of these important natural resources for the American public.
Data Repositories
- US Government Open DataHere you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualization, and more.
- USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) CenterThe USGS EROS Center studies land change and produce land change data products used by researchers, resource managers, and policy makers across the nation and around the world. They also operate the Landsat satellite program with NASA, and maintain the largest civilian collection of images of the Earth’s land surface in existence, including tens of millions of satellite images.
- USGS National Water Information Systems (NWIS)These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
- NIH Data Sharing RepositoriesNIH has a long tradition of making available to the public the results of research it supports and conducts, including publications and scientific data. Sharing data enables reuse, increases transparency, and facilitates reproducibility of research results. Several NIH policies provide guidance about how, when, and where researchers are expected to share data and other research outputs resulting from NIH funding.