Marine Biology Resource Guide: Books
This page will help you find books and eBooks on the subject of marine biology.
NSU Students, Staff, and Faculty should use their Shark ID when placing holds or checking out library books.
Broward County patrons can check out books from the Alvin Sherman Library by getting an Alvin Sherman Library Card. Broward County patrons who are only interested in eBooks or digital resources can apply for an eCard using the link provided in the Need a Library Card box below.
On This Page:
- Encyclopedias
- Books
- Databases
- Books
- eBooks
- Print Books
- How to search the Library Catalog (NovaCat) for more books
Need a library card?
To access NSU Libraries resources, you need an Alvin Sherman Library Card.
Alvin Sherman Library Cards are free to anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in Broward County (but they are different from your Broward County Library card).
To apply for an Alvin Sherman Library Card, or to get an eCard for use with electronic resources only, click HERE.
Alumni can also apply for a library card. Visit our alumni libguide to learn how!
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Marine Biotechnology by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119143796Publication Date: 2020-08-04
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128130827Publication Date: 2019-04-12
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128043813Publication Date: 2017-11-27
Encyclopedia of Marine Natural Products by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783527335855Publication Date: 2015-03-31
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781587657405Publication Date: 2011-05-15
Encyclopedia of Marine Science by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781438118819Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Encyclopedia of Marine Biology (12 Volume Set) by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781536196542Publication Date: 2021-07-19
Encyclopedia of Modern Coral Reefs by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789048126392Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Books & E-Books
The World of Sea Cucumbers by
The World of Sea Cucumbers: Challenges, Advances, and Innovations provides broad coverage of sea cucumber biology, ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, and trade while also bringing forward novel cultural, socioeconomic and scientific topics related to commercial and non-commercial species worldwide. Written by international experts in their respective fields, the book offers a unique outlook into the fascinating world of sea cucumbers while also providing valuable information to various stakeholders and researchers. Commercial fisheries and aquaculture programs are addressed, especially as they relate to emerging species, but the book also covers novel, understudied or lesser-known biological, ecological, and commercial aspects. The involvement of Indigenous peoples and minorities in various community-level initiatives and on the cultural significance/impact of sea cucumbers in many regions are also examined. Finally, breakthroughs and emerging biotechnologies centered on sea cucumbers are presented. Brings together a network of experts covering broad sea cucumber topics, from basic biology and commercial trade to socioeconomic value and novel biotechnologies Offers worldwide coverage, including Asia, the Indo-Pacific, Africa, Northern Europe, North and South America, and the poles Raises global awareness on little-known facts of sea cucumber importance
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780323953788Publication Date: 2023-10-28
Biology of Sharks and Their Relatives by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781000542066Publication Date: 2022-06-08
Modern Treatment Strategies for Marine Pollution by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128222805Publication Date: 2020-10-23
Ocean Acidification and Marine Wildlife by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128223314Publication Date: 2021-07-14
Practical Handbook of Marine Science by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781315157597Publication Date: 2019-07-12
The World of Sea Cucumbers by
The World of Sea Cucumbers: Challenges, Advances, and Innovations provides broad coverage of sea cucumber biology, ecology, fisheries, aquaculture, and trade while also bringing forward novel cultural, socioeconomic and scientific topics related to commercial and non-commercial species worldwide. Written by international experts in their respective fields, the book offers a unique outlook into the fascinating world of sea cucumbers while also providing valuable information to various stakeholders and researchers. Commercial fisheries and aquaculture programs are addressed, especially as they relate to emerging species, but the book also covers novel, understudied or lesser-known biological, ecological, and commercial aspects. The involvement of Indigenous peoples and minorities in various community-level initiatives and on the cultural significance/impact of sea cucumbers in many regions are also examined. Finally, breakthroughs and emerging biotechnologies centered on sea cucumbers are presented.
Call Number: QL384.H7 W67 2024ISBN: 9780323953771Publication Date: 2023-10-31
Wetland Ecology by
Richly illustrated in colour and packed with examples from every major continent and wetland type, this third edition has been completely rewritten to provide undergraduates with a thoroughly accessible introduction to the basic principles. It divides the world's wetlands into six principal types and presents six major causal environmental factors, arranged by importance and illustrated with clear examples, making it easy for instructors to plan tailored lectures and field trips and avoid overwhelming students with unnecessary detail. It retains its rigor for more advanced students with sections on research methods and experiments, and over a thousand classic and contemporary references. Each chapter ends with questions that review the content covered and encourage further investigation. With expanded sections on topical issues such as sea level rise, eutrophication, facilitation and the latest approaches to restoration and conservation, the new edition of this prize-winning textbook is a vital resource for wetland ecology courses.
Call Number: QH541.5.M3 K44 2024ISBN: 9781009288637Publication Date: 2023-09-28
Practical Handbook of Marine Science by Call Number: GC11.2 .P73 2001ISBN: 9780849323911Publication Date: 2000-12-27
Sharks of the World by
The most comprehensive reference guide to the world's sharks--now fully revised and updated Sharks of the World is the essential illustrated guide for anyone interested in these magnificent creatures. Now fully revised and updated, it covers 536 of the world's shark species and is packed with colour illustrations, colour photos and informative diagrams. This comprehensive, easy-to-use reference guide incorporates the latest taxonomic revisions of many shark families, featuring many species that were only described in recent years. It also includes a completely revised and expanded introduction and updated line drawings throughout. Covers 536 shark species from around the world Features updated species accounts, illustrations and maps Gives an illustrated overview of shark biology, ecology and conservation Includes fin identification guides Provides a colour distribution map for every species
Call Number: QL638.9 .E24 2021ISBN: 9780691205991Publication Date: 2021-07-20
The Unnatural History of the Sea by Call Number: CB465 .R63 2007ISBN: 9781597261029Publication Date: 2007-07-14
** Gulf Stream Chronicles by Call Number: QH92.5.H38 L44 2015ISBN: 9781469623931Publication Date: 2015-09-14
** The Reef: a Passionate History: the Great Barrier Reef from Captain Cook to Climate Change by Call Number: DU280.G68 M44 2014ISBN: 9780374535346Publication Date: 2015-05-12
** What a Fish Knows by Call Number: QL639.3 .B35 2016ISBN: 9780374288211Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Eloquence of the Sardine by Call Number: GC11.2 .F73 2021ISBN: 9781250272430Publication Date: 2021-08-17
** The circulating print/AV materials of the NSU Oceanographic Campus Library (OCL) are not directly available to non-NSU patrons. However, public patrons with Alvin Sherman Library Cards can request OCL materials through the Interlibrary Loan Department.
To gain access to OCL materials with an Alvin Sherman Library card:
- Have your Alvin Sherman Library card ready (Apply for an Alvin Sherman Library card here if you do not have one)
- Visit NSU’s Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Department webpage. Read the terms for ILL use.
- Click on ILLiad and fill out the form with the information about the item you wish to borrow.