Datasets
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (formerly National Oceanographic Data Center - NODC) A page of information describing the Center, including a general overview, directories of offices, a listing of products and services, instructions for submitting data, and a “what's new” section. “The NODC provides ocean data management and ocean data services to researchers and other users in the US and around the world.”
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (formerly National Geophysical Data Center - NGDC) A companion page to the above, with similar structure. The agency responsible, NGDC, “manages environmental data in the fields of marine geology and geophysics, paleoclimatology, solar-terrestrial physics, solid earth geophysics, and glaciology (snow and ice). In each of these fields NGDC also operates a World Data Center (WDC A) discipline center.”
- ICES Datasets ICES has a well established Data Centre, which manages a number of large dataset collections related to the marine environment.
- Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS) Datasets More than 20 OBIS nodes around the world connect 500 institutions from 56 countries. Collectively, they have provided over 45 million observations of nearly 120 000 marine species, from Bacteria to Whales, from the surface to 10 900 meters depth, and from the Tropics to the Poles. The datasets are integrated so you can search and map them all seamlessly by species name, higher taxonomic level, geographic area, depth, time and environmental parameters. OBIS emanates from the Census of Marine Life (2000-2010) and was adopted as a project under IOC-UNESCO’s International Oceanographic Data and Information (IODE) programme in 2009.
- Data.gov - "Marine Biology" Data.gov is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service.
- European Directory of Marine Environmental Data (EDMED) EDMED is a comprehensive reference to the marine data sets and collections held within European research laboratories, so as to provide marine scientists, engineers and policy makers with a simple mechanism for their identification. It covers a wide range of disciplines including marine meteorology; physical, chemical and biological oceanography; sedimentology; marine biology and fisheries; environmental quality; coastal and estuarine studies; marine geology and geophysics; etc.
- SeaDataNet: Pan-European Infrastructure for Ocean & Marine Data Management SeaDataNet has developed an efficient distributed Marine Data Management Infrastructure for the management of large and diverse sets of data deriving from in situ and remote observation of the seas and oceans.
- DataONE DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data. DataONE promotes best practices in data management through responsive educational resources and materials.
- Pangaea - Oceans The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the hosting institutions. Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium from ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principle investigator (PI) who may be asked for access.
- GRIIDC The Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative Information and Data Cooperative (GRIIDC) is a team of researchers, data specialists and computer system developers who are supporting the development of a data management system to store scientific data generated by Gulf of Mexico researchers. The Master Research Agreement between BP and the Gulf of Mexico Alliance that established the Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative (GoMRI) included provisions that all data collected or generated through the agreement must be made available to the public. The Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative Information and Data Cooperative (GRIIDC) is the vehicle through which GoMRI is fulfilling this requirement.
- DBHYDRO DBHYDRO is the South Florida Water Management District's corporate environmental database that stores hydrologic, meteorologic, hydrogeologic and water quality data. This database is the source of historical and up-to-date environmental data for the 16-county region covered by the District.
- Marine Environmental Education Center The Marine Environmental Education Center (MEEC) was opened with the desire to educate and delight locals and tourists alike through our educational green sea turtle, Captain, and the splendor of the coastal environment in South Florida.
[config navbar="false"]