OLD Marine Biology Resources REDIRECT ONLY: History
Histories / Memoirs / Letters / Diaries
- Darwin Online Charles Darwin's diaries, memoirs, and letters
- Diaries of the Oceana Group Oceana is undertaking a six-week Baltic Sea expedition in 2012. The studied areas are defined based on government reactions to our marine protected areas proposals, suggestions from other NGOs and the environmental ministries of several countries.
- NOAA History Page writings and collections from the Coast and Geodetic Survey, National Marine Fisheries Service/NOAA Fisheries, and National Weather Service. Includes institutional histories and also pertinent writings concerning the atmospheric and oceanic sciences from such luminaries as Benjamin Franklin and Louis Agassiz. This site has diaries, biographical sketches, speeches, autobiographies, and personal accounts of individuals associated with the above bureaus as well as links to historical image collections.
- American Historical Association is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research
- American Memory website at the Library of Congress - photos, biographies, and more. Civil War photos of Dorr-Donn tripod at Chattanooga, topographers at Yorktown, George Wise, Amos Kendall, Levi Woodbury, etc.
- Archives II researcher information for those wishing to access records at Archives II, the National Archives and Records Administration facility at College Park, Maryland
- Astronautics History from NASA includes history of development of meteorological and oceanographic satellites and also provides insight into the evolution of environmental science from space
- The Center for History of Physics from American Institute of Physics
- NOAA Fisheries Historical Page also includes many photos and a timeline of the National Marine Fisheries Service from 1870 on
History of Oceanography
- Challenger Expedition - ScrippsHistory of the H.M.S. Challenger Expedition, 1872-1876, from the Birch Aquarium of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography
- Challenger Expedition - Natural History Museum of LondonHistory of the H.M.S. Challenger Expedition, 1872-1876, from the Natural History Museum, London
- History of National Marine Sanctuariesaccess a historical timeline, maritime heritage information, etc. (NOAA's National Ocean Service)
- History of Ocean Explorationfrom NOAA's Office of Ocean Exploration and Research
- History of Oceanographyfrom Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
- A history of Coast Guard oceanographyOceanography - A history of Coast Guard oceanography associated with the Coast Guard International Ice Patrol
- Tide Predicting Machinesdiscussion of Lord Kelvin's tide prediction machine, William Ferrel's Coast Survey No. 1, the Fischer-Harris Coast Survey No. 2, and tide-predicting machines from other countries (National Ocean Service's Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services/NOAA)
- Tide Analysis and Prediction Machines Sitefrom the State University of New York at Stonybrook
[config navbar="false"]