Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest by
With 1,700 superb colour photographs of over 1,400 species, Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest: A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes is the most comprehensive collection of photographs of Pacific Northwest marine life ever published. It is designed to allow the reader to recognize virtually any coastal organism that might be encountered from southern Alaska to southern Oregon--from sea lettuces and feather boa kelp through to the leopard ribbon worm, Pacific red octopus, spiny-thigh sea spider and gutless awning-clam. Each species is identified with photographs and includes a description with information on range, habitat, appearance and behaviour.Andy Lamb and Bernard Hanby have spent most of their lifetimes studying and recording Pacific Northwest marine life and have completed over 4,000 scuba dives between them. Some of the species included in this volume have never been featured in print before. Colour-coded for quick reference and including a glossary and full index, Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest is a must-have for serious biologists, scuba divers, beachcombers or anyone interested in marine life and beautiful underwater photography.
Call Number: QH104.5.N6 L34 2005ISBN: 9781550173611Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Guide to the Oceans by
A richly illustrated guide to the world's oceans and seas. Guide to the Oceans is a handy reference that provides comprehensive information about every aspect of the world's oceans and seas. The book features vibrant color photographs, maps, artwork and well organized data. This book includes seven sections: The beginnings, evolution and current characteristics of the world's oceans Famous oceanic quests from the earliest voyages to contemporary scientific oceanography Recreational activities such as yachting, scuba diving, surfing and fishing A comprehensive study of the ocean's interconnected diversity of flora and fauna from plankton to whales Worldwide distribution and management of oil and gas, fish and mineral resources Shapes of the ocean basins, their patterns of circulation and unique characteristics Catalogue and identification of the main families of ocean organisms in a comprehensive ready reference to ocean flora and fauna. Guide to the Oceans is an ideal reference for anyone with an interest in the sea.
Call Number: GC11.2 .P47 2004ISBN: 9781552979426Publication Date: 2004-07-07
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic first edition brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited 2e remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals. * More than 20% NEW MATERIAL includes articles on Climate Change, Pacific White-sided Dolphins, Sociobiology, Habitat Use, Feeding Morphology and more * Over 260 articles on the individual species with topics ranging from anatomy and behavior, to conservation, exploitation and the impact of global climate change on marine mammals * New color illustrations show every species and document topical articles FROM THE FIRST EDITION "This book is so good...a bargain, full of riches...packed with fascinating up to date information. I recommend it unreservedly it to individuals, students, and researchers, as well as libraries". - Richard M. Laws, MARINE MAMMALS SCIENCE "...establishes a solid and satisfying foundation for current study and future exploration" - Ronald J. Shusterman, SCIENCE
Call Number: QL713.2 .E53 2009ISBN: 9780123735539Publication Date: 2008-11-24
Encyclopedia of the Sea by
From one of the world's leading experts on the sea comes this ocean-sized compendium of aquatic life and lore. Richard Ellis--who is also recognized as America's foremost painter of marine subjects--gives us a masterful synthesis of years of investigation and tens of thousands of disparate sources. The result is the first comprehensive, fully illustrated, and highly readable reference on almost everything that is known about the sea. Ellis's research has taken him all over the world--from Nantucket to Patagonia, from Newfoundland to New Zealand. Now he leads us on a great journey: from the amazing diversity of the creatures of the oceans to the birds who inhabit the skies above them; from the little-known realms of marine geography to the men and women who have bravely explored them; from the fabulous legends the sea has inspired through the ages to the intriguing evolution of the tools of nautical navigation. With more than 450 of the author's own drawings and paintings accompanying the text, Ellis reveals the many wonders of the oceans--abalone, zooxanthellae, and everything in between. We learn about the peculiar behavior of Vampyroteuthis infernalis (the "vampire squid from hell") and about Mocha Dick, the real sperm whale that may have inspired Melville's Moby-Dick; where the crown-of-thorns starfish gets its name and how the rare coelacanth, cousin to a species extinct for 70 million years--and one of the most mispronounced fish in the sea--was rediscovered. We visit lovely and exotic locations from Venice to Ni'ihau (Hawaii's "forbidden isle"), and consider both the fearsome kraken (a mythical sea monster often seen by Scandinavian clergymen) and the notorious real-life pirate Captain Kidd (whose hidden treasure was never found). Exhaustive, concise, and entertaining, the Encyclopedia of the Sea is invaluable as an all-inclusive, one-volume source for anyone interested in the sea, its inhabitants, and man's exploration of its mysteries.
Call Number: GC9 .E38 2000ISBN: 0375403744Publication Date: 2000-10-17
McClane's Guide to Saltwater Fishes of North America by
A. J. McClane profiles more than three hundred North American saltwater game fishes in this authoritative and fully illustrated handbook.
Call Number: QL625 .M32 1978ISBN: 9780805007336Publication Date: 1978-06-15
Dolphins, Whales, and Porpoises by Call Number: QL713.2 .C63 1977ISBN: 0025266608Publication Date: 1977-01-01
Encyclopedia of Estuaries by
The Encyclopedia of Estuaries, part of Springer's Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series, provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of hundreds of subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. Authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more. The Encyclopedia of Estuaries will meet the needs of professionals worldwide by supplying detailed information from world-class estuarine and marine scientists as well as experts from other fields of study. The Editor: Michael J. Kennish is a world-class estuarine scientist and a research professor in the Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences at Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey (USA). In addition to his research on estuaries, Dr. Kennish has conducted biological and geological research on coastal ocean and deep-sea environments. Much of his research has involved the development and application of innovative methods to assess anthropogenic impacts and to determine the condition and health of coastal ecosystems. Dr. Kennish is the author or editor of 13 scholarly books in marine science, and he is the author or co-author of more than 170 articles in science journals and books. In addition, he has edited 7 compendium science journal special issues on various topics in marine science.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789401788014Publication Date: 2015-10-29
Encyclopedia of Marine Natural Products by
Now in its second edition and further expanded by 15%, this encyclopedic work is one of the largest resources on marine natural products. It contains an exhaustive and systematic listing of more than 9,000 formulae and 10,000 references with around 650 relevant websites. The unique approach of classifying the compounds by biological species together with their background information makes this particularly useful for marine biologists, and contributed significantly to the overwhelming success of the previous edition. The digital version now features a completely cross-linked library of compounds for easy access to related substances, making it even more useful for biologists, chemists and pharmacologists alike.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783527334292Publication Date: 2014-06-09
Marine Policy and Economics by
Elements of Physical Oceanography is a derivative of the Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, 2nd Edition and serves as an important reference on current physical oceanography knowledge and expertise in one convenient and accessible source. Its selection of articles-all written by experts in their field-focuses on ocean physics, air-sea transfers, waves, mixing, ice, and the processes of transfer of properties such as heat, salinity, momentum and dissolved gases, within and into the ocean. Elements of Physical Oceanography serves as an ideal reference for topical research. References related articles in physical oceanography to facilitate further research Richly illustrated with figures and tables that aid in understanding key concepts Includes an introductory overview and then explores each topic in detail, making it useful to experts and graduate-level researchers Topical arrangement makes it the perfect desk reference
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080964812Publication Date: 2010-10-13
Encyclopedia of Marine Science by
Explores the principal areas and issues of this core science discipline in more than 600 entries, 20 essays, and 200 photographs and line illustrations. This encyclopedia brings together information on marine science from its component and affiliate sciences, along with information on technology, commerce, business, society, and history.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781438118819Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Ocean Currents by
Elements of Physical Oceanography is a derivative of the Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, 2nd Edition and serves as an important reference on current physical oceanography knowledge and expertise in one convenient and accessible source. Its selection of articles-all written by experts in their field-focuses on ocean physics, air-sea transfers, waves, mixing, ice, and the processes of transfer of properties such as heat, salinity, momentum and dissolved gases, within and into the ocean. Elements of Physical Oceanography serves as an ideal reference for topical research. References related articles in physical oceanography to facilitate further research Richly illustrated with figures and tables that aid in understanding key concepts Includes an introductory overview and then explores each topic in detail, making it useful to experts and graduate-level researchers Topical arrangement makes it the perfect desk reference
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080964867Publication Date: 2010-10-13
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic first edition brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited 2e remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals. * More than 20% NEW MATERIAL includes articles on Climate Change, Pacific White-sided Dolphins, Sociobiology, Habitat Use, Feeding Morphology and more * Over 260 articles on the individual species with topics ranging from anatomy and behavior, to conservation, exploitation and the impact of global climate change on marine mammals * New color illustrations show every species and document topical articles FROM THE FIRST EDITION "This book is so good...a bargain, full of riches...packed with fascinating up to date information. I recommend it unreservedly it to individuals, students, and researchers, as well as libraries". - Richard M. Laws, MARINE MAMMALS SCIENCE "...establishes a solid and satisfying foundation for current study and future exploration" - Ronald J. Shusterman, SCIENCE
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080919935Publication Date: 2009-02-26
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences 2e is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past. *Approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field with over 30% new and updated content reflecting the latest research in the field *Greater coverage of climate, remote sensing, and data modeling, with greater consideration of economic and political aspects provides a broad view of the field *Online availability facilitates easier research and increased productivity
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780123744739Publication Date: 2009-11-04
Top Picks
Credo Reference - Credo Reference
Full text for over 500 reference books covering art, biography, business, conversions, dictionaries, encyclopedias, food, geography, history, language, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, quotations, religion, science, social sciences, and technology.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Cengage Learning
Online reference library of over 500 full text reference books. Includes business plan handbooks, specialized encyclopedias, directories, and other books. Covers topics related to business, education, social sciences, sciences, humanities, and more.
Also Recommended
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection - ABC-CLIO
Over 500 fully searchable, full-text ebooks in all subject areas. Includes many reference books. Create an individual user profile to create user-specific bookmarks, capture and store user notes, and create bibliographic citations.
CRCnetBase - CRC Press
CRCnetBASE is a collection of electronic reference books published by CRC Press and related companies. Although the entire collection consists of over 8,000 books, the NSU Libraries only provide access to some of them. Material covered includes chemistry, computer science, counterterrorism, criminal justice, biology, forensics, medical science, and law enforcement.
To only search books owned by NSU click the "Full Access Content Only" button next to CRCnetBASE in the database's banner and refresh the page. 
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos - World Book Inc.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos es una herramienta de aprendizaje de la lengua española para principiantes. Ofrece contenido editorial, multimedia y búsquedas interactivas para capturar la atención según los diferentes estilos de aprendizaje. El usuario puede alternar entre los idiomas Español e Inglés. (A colorful, fun reference site for Spanish-language beginners with easy-to read articles packed with graphics, videos, maps, and a wealth of engaging games and activities. It is designed to build key language and research skills, with the ability to toggle between English and Spanish.)
Gale Directory Library - Gale Cengage Learning
Contains Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies, 46th and on Editions (2003-present); Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations; Business Rankings Annual; and Market Share Reporter
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Florida Electronic Library Resource - Gale Cengage Learning
Online reference library of over 500 full text reference books. Includes business plan handbooks, specialized encyclopedias, directories, and other books. Covers topics related to business, education, social sciences, sciences, humanities, and more.
Gran Enciclopedia Hispánica - World Book Inc.
Gran Enciclopedia Hispánica es una fuente de información abarcadora que incluye más de 100,000 artículos, así como mapas, videos, imagines, sonidos y multimedia. (A comprehensive Spanish-language reference tool for upper-level students. It features over 100,000 articles, 9,000 images and maps, and nearly 1,000 videos, animations, audio files, and interactive media.)
World Book Online - World Book Inc.
Entry for all World Book products: Kids, Student, Advanced, Discover... all from one launch pad! Direct link to Science Power.
[config navbar="false"]