OLD Marine Biology Resources REDIRECT ONLY: Maps / Atlases
Maps and Atlases
- Coral Health Atlas The map links below will provide you access to coral health data, immersive visual products, and information at each of our study sites throughout the Hawaiian Archipelago
- Historical Map Archive University of Alabama - a digitized collection of selected map holdings from sources including the University of Alabama Map Library, the W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library, the Rucker Agee Map Collection of the Birmingham Public Library, the Geological Survey of Alabama, the Samford University Special Collections Library, and the Alabama Department of Archives and History.
- Historical Maps and Chart Collection Historical Map and Chart Collection of NOAA's Office of Coast Survey: over 35,000 scanned images including some of the Nation's earliest nautical charts, bathymetric maps, city plans, and Civil War battlefield maps.
- National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) descendant of the Defense Mapping Agency/National Imagery and Mapping Agency: CIA mapping and imagery, etc.
- NOAA Shoreline Website includes shoreline mapping history, information about t-sheets, etc. (site developed and designed by NOAA's Coastal Services Center)
- NOAA World Ocean Database and Atlas Series The WODselect interface allows a user to search World Ocean Database using a user-specified search criteria. A distribution map and station count of these search criteria will give the user the option to have the data extracted and placed on the NODC FTP site.
- U.S Geological Survey the major mapping agency for the United States
- UN Atlas of the Oceans The UN Atlas of the Oceans is an Internet portal providing information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans. It is designed for policy-makers who need to become familiar with ocean issues and for scientists, students and resource managers who need access to databases and approaches to sustainability. The UN Atlas can also provide the ocean industry and stakeholders with pertinent information on ocean matters.
- United States Federal Emergency Management Agency - Flood Maps flood data, flood plain maps, etc. as well as many joint publications and programs with NOAA
- Historical maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin - historical maps of the world and links to historical maps on other web sites
History of Mapping, Charting, and Surveying
- Exploring the West from Monticello: A Perspective in Maps from Columbus to Lewis and Clark from the University of Virginia - images of maps, discussions of surveying and navigation instruments, etc.
- The United States Coast Survey 1807-1867 an on-line book that details the science, politics, and Civil War experience of the first science agency in the United States
- Determining Longitude 1 history of attempts to discern longitude to the 18th Century. The site is hosted by the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland.
- Determining Longitude 2 site is hosted by the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland
[config navbar="false"]