Scientific Writing & Grant Writing Resources
Modern Nature : essays in environmental communication by
Environmental communication -- Green communication: education for sustainable environmental development -- Ecological communication: the anthropomorphic bias -- Economic environmentalism: post-structuralism and intangibles -- Communication contexts: psychologists and medical practitioners -- Communication contexts: the courtroom expert witness -- psychological and legal perspectives -- Communication contexts: social presence in virtual learning environments -- Organizational communication: understanding ambiguity toleration in business communication -- Organizational communication: management, leadership and self-esteem -- Organizational communication: decision-making and workplace trust -- Conclusion: the organization and environmental communication.
Call Number: GE25 .S76 2012ISBN: 9781612331157Publication Date: 2012-06-01
The Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing by
In this practical, accessible guide for students, faculty, and other university personnel, author Cynthia E. Carr shares her best practices for planning, writing, and winning research grants based on her own experience submitting more than 300 grant proposals and securing millions of dollars in awards. Insightful, innovative, and informative, the book goes beyond coverage of standard grant writing to specifically address the issues faced by the higher education community, including the university bureaucracy and how to navigate it. The Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing covers everything from budgets to submissions and federal to foundation competitions, giving novices the opportunity to leapfrog over some of the hard lessons that most college and university grant seekers must learn from trial and error and allowing those with more experience to sharpen their skills. "At last, a book aimed at helping college faculty learn the ins and outs of obtaining grant funding. Today more than ever, faculty at all types and level of schools want and need to pursue grant money to support their research efforts; and now they have useful tool to help them get started." --Craig P. Donovan, Kean University "Insightful, innovative, and informative! A 'must-read' for the novice grant writer who is looking to gain some behind-the-scenes experience. I thoroughly enjoyed this text." --Armen Shaomian, University of South Carolina "It is good, solid information, written in an understandable language. I like its honesty and straightforwardness. The author clearly knows the material and has information critical to the process of successful grant proposal writing." --Sandra Yudilevich Espinoza, Salem State University "The inclusion of text about working with university-sponsored research and university relations is great. This is an important topic that, to my knowledge, has not been addressed in other grant writing books." --Karen A. Randolph, Florida State University "The examples, boxes, and glossaries in the proposal are excellent and provide a 'real-life' look at the concepts being presented." --Carol E. Gettings, State University of NY College at Buffalo
Call Number: HG177.5.U6 C37 2015ISBN: 9781452259031Publication Date: 2014-08-05
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Dewey. Bellow. Strauss. Friedman. The University of Chicago has been the home of some of the most important thinkers of the modern age. But perhaps no name has been spoken with more respect than Turabian. The dissertation secretary at Chicago for decades, Kate Turabian literally wrote the book on the successful completion and submission of the student paper. Her Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, created from her years of experience with research projects across all fields, has sold more than seven million copies since it was first published in 1937. Now, with this seventh edition, Turabian’s Manual has undergone its most extensive revision, ensuring that it will remain the most valuable handbook for writers at every level—from first-year undergraduates, to dissertation writers apprehensively submitting final manuscripts, to senior scholars who may be old hands at research and writing but less familiar with new media citation styles. Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, and the late Wayne C. Booth—the gifted team behind The Craft of Research—and the University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff combined their wide-ranging expertise to remake this classic resource. They preserve Turabian’s clear and practical advice while fully embracing the new modes of research, writing, and source citation brought about by the age of the Internet. Booth, Colomb, and Williams significantly expand the scope of previous editions by creating a guide, generous in length and tone, to the art of research and writing. Growing out of the authors’ best-selling Craft of Research, this new section provides students with an overview of every step of the research and writing process, from formulating the right questions to reading critically to building arguments and revising drafts. This leads naturally to the second part of the Manual for Writers, which offers an authoritative overview of citation practices in scholarly writing, as well as detailed information on the two main citation styles (“notes-bibliography” and “author-date”). This section has been fully revised to reflect the recommendations of the fifteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style and to present an expanded array of source types and updated examples, including guidance on citing electronic sources. The final section of the book treats issues of style—the details that go into making a strong paper. Here writers will find advice on a wide range of topics, including punctuation, table formatting, and use of quotations. The appendix draws together everything writers need to know about formatting research papers, theses, and dissertations and preparing them for submission. This material has been thoroughly vetted by dissertation officials at colleges and universities across the country. This seventh edition of Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations is a classic reference revised for a new age. It is tailored to a new generation of writers using tools its original author could not have imagined—while retaining the clarity and authority that generations of scholars have come to associate with the name Turabian.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2007ISBN: 9780226823362Publication Date: 2007-04-15
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16
The Craft of Scientific Presentations by
This text provides examples from contemporary and historical scientific presentations to show clearly what makes an oral presentation effective. It considers presentations made to persuade an audience to adopt some course of action (such as funding a proposal) as well as presentations made to communicate information, and it considers these from four perspectives: speech, structure, visual aids, and delivery.
Call Number: Q223 .A38 2003ISBN: 0387955550Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Am I Making Myself Clear? by
Urging scientists to speak up and be heard in current debates, Cornelia Dean offers advice on public speaking, media relations and popular science writing.
Call Number: Q223 .D43 2009ISBN: 9780674036352Publication Date: 2009-10-30
Scientific Writing and Communication by
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Third Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with adiscussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Call Number: Q223 .H63 2017ISBN: 9780190278540Publication Date: 2016-11-17
Scientific communication for natural resource professionals by
Published by the American Fisheries Society
Call Number: Q223 .S25 2012ISBN: 1934874280Publication Date: 2012
The ACS Style Guide by
In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006ISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2006-07-20
Reporting Research by
Want to learn how to present your research successfully? This practical guide for students and postdoctoral scholars offers a unique step-by-step approach to help you avoid the worst, yet most common, mistakes in biology communication. Covering irritants such as sins of ambiguity, circumlocution, inconsistency, vagueness and verbosity, misuse of words and quantitative matters, it also provides guidance to design your next piece of work effectively. Learn how to write scientific articles and get them published, prepare posters and talks that will capture your audience and develop a critical attitude towards your own work as well as that of your colleagues. With numerous practical examples, comparisons among disciplines, valuable tips and real-life anecdotes, this must-read guide will be a valuable resource to both new graduate students and their supervisors.
Call Number: QH304 .C685 2014ISBN: 9781107053892Publication Date: 2014-10-23
Writing in the Biological Sciences : a comprehensive resource for scientific communication by
Comprehensive. Practical. Your resource for life. Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication presents students with all of the techniques and information they need in order to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries effectively. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines of professional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication. A Companion Website contains instructor's lecture slides and all images from the text in PowerPoint format (www.oup.com/us/hofmann). Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biological sciences - as well as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses and laboratories with writing-intensive components - this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in theirundergraduate science careers and beyond.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2013ISBN: 9780199765287Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Writing in the Biological Sciences by
Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences provides students with all of the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines ofprofessional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biological sciences - or as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses and laboratories with writing-intensive components - this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in their undergraduate sciencecareers and beyond.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2016ISBN: 9780190245603Publication Date: 2015-07-17
A Short Guide to Writing about Biology by Call Number: QH304 .P43 2016ISBN: 9780321984258Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences by
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences is tailored specifically to the needs of bioscience students, both at university, and beyond. Written in an engaging and supportive manner, with examples throughout that demonstrate the relevance of topics covered to bioscience degreeprogrammes, the book will assist you with the transition from school to university, with your studies at university, and with your progression to employment after leaving university. With a broad range of study and communication skills included, it is essential reading for any bioscience student who wants to get the most out of their degree. Online Resource Centre For registered adopters of the book:DT Figures and tables of data from the book, ready to download. For students:DT Examples of good and bad practice when using PowerPoint presentations and when producing posters
Call Number: QH315 .J64 2014ISBN: 9780199663293Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal by
Written by an author with proven success in obtaining NIH grants and in developing grant application workshops for university and convention settings, this book features actual forms from NIH grant applications - including the brand new SF 424 forms - which have been annotated so as to guide readers step-by-step, highlighting unexpected nuances that can make all the difference between winning and losing a grant. This unique book extensively covers SBIR and STTR grants as well.
Call Number: RA11.D6 G47 2006ISBN: 9781412915328Publication Date: 2006-04-20
How to Write and Illustrate a Scientific Paper by
This second edition of How to Write and Illustrate a Scientific Paper will help both first-time writers and more experienced authors, in all biological and medical disciplines, to present their results effectively. Whilst retaining the easy-to-read and well-structured approach of the previous edition, it has been broadened to include comprehensive advice on writing compilation theses for doctoral degrees, and a detailed description of preparing case reports. Illustrations, particularly graphs, are discussed in detail, with poor examples redrawn for comparison. The reader is offered advice on how to present the paper, where and how to submit the manuscript, and finally, how to correct the proofs. Examples of both good and bad writing, selected from actual journal articles, illustrate the author's advice - which has been developed through his extensive teaching experience - in this accessible and informative guide.
Call Number: T11 .G86 2008ISBN: 9780521878906Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Writing for Science by
This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today’s experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications. Robert Goldbort discusses how best to approach various writing tasks as well as how to deal with the everyday complexities that may get in the way of ideal practice--difficult collaborators, experiments gone wrong, funding rejections. He underscores the importance of an ethical approach to science and scientific communication and insists on the necessity of full disclosure. For working scientists, those seeking employment in the sciences, students taking on writing assignments or oral presentations, and professionals who hope to publish or acquire funding, this volume is an essential resource.
Call Number: T11 .G626 2006ISBN: 0300115512Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Writing Science in Plain English by
Scientific writing is often dry, wordy, and difficult to understand. But, as Anne E. Greene shows in Writing Science in Plain English,writers from all scientific disciplines can learn to produce clear, concise prose by mastering just a few simple principles. nbsp; This short, focused guide presents a dozen such principles based on what readers need in order to understand complex information, including concrete subjects, strong verbs, consistent terms, and organized paragraphs. The author, a biologist and an experienced teacher of scientific writing, illustrates each principle with real-life examples of both good and bad writing and shows how to revise bad writing to make it clearer and more concise.nbsp;She ends each chapter with practice exercises so that readers can come away with new writing skills after just one sitting. nbsp; Writing Science in Plain English can help writers at all levels of their academic and professional careers#151;undergraduate students working on research reports, established scientists writing articles and grant proposals, or agency employees working to follow the Plain Writing Act. This essential resource is the perfect companion for all who seek to write science effectively.
Call Number: T11 .G6814 2013ISBN: 9780226026374Publication Date: 2013-05-24
A Field Guide for Science Writers by
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1429410469Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Guide to Effective Grant Writing by
Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant is written to help the 100,000+ post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective proposals for grants. There is little or no formal teaching about the process of writing grants for NIH, and many grant applications are rejected due to poor writing and weak formulation of ideas. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates ones ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. The Guide is a clear, straight-forward, and reader-friendly tool. Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Writing is based on Dr. Yangs extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0387277498Publication Date: 2005-09-01
How to Write a Research Grant Proposal - and Succeed by
The Grant Writer's Handbook: How to Write a Research Proposal and Succeed provides useful and practical advice on all aspects of proposal writing, including developing proposal ideas, drafting the proposal, dealing with referees, and budgeting. The authors base their advice on many years of experience writing and reviewing proposals in many different countries at various levels of scientific maturity. The book describes the numerous kinds of awards available from funding agencies, in particular large collaborative grants involving a number of investigators, and addresses the practical impact of a grant, which is often required of proposals. In addition, information is provided about selection of reviewers and the mechanics of organizing a research grant competition to give the proposal writer the necessary background information. The book includes key comments from a number of experts and is essential reading for anyone writing a research grant proposal.The Grant Writer's Handbook's companion website, featuring regularly updated resources and helpful links, can be found at www.ifm.eng.cam.ac.uk/research/grant-writers-handbook/.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781783267590Publication Date: 2016-02-29
The Manual of Scientific Style by
Much like the Chicago Manual of Style, The Manual of Scientific Style addresses all stylistic matters in the relevant disciplines of physical and biological science, medicine, health, and technology. It presents consistent guidelines for text, data, and graphics, providing a comprehensive and authoritative style manual that can be used by the professional scientist, science editor, general editor, science writer, and researcher. Scientific disciplines treated independently, with notes where variances occur in the same linguistic areas Organization and directives designed to assist readers in finding the precise usage rule or convention A focus on American usage in rules and formulations with noted differences between American and British usage Differences in the various levels of scientific discourse addressed in a variety of settings in which science writing appears Instruction and guidance on the means of improving clarity, precision, and effectiveness of science writing, from its most technical to its most popular
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123739803Publication Date: 2009-03-25
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing by
This self-help guide is intended for scientists and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English. If you want not only to write but to write well, this book is for you. This second edition takes into account new developments in the area of scientific communication. In particular, the importance of authenticity is addressed, drawing attention to the sensitive issue of plagiarism in scientific texts.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 3642394450Publication Date: 2014-01-21The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing by Selected and introduced by Richard Dawkins, The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing is a celebration of the finest writing by scientists for a wider audience - revealing that many of the best scientists have displayed as much imagination and skill with the pen as they have in the laboratory. This is a rich and vibrant collection that captures the poetry and excitement of communicating scientific understanding and scientific effort from 1900 to the present day. Professor Dawkins has included writing from a diverse range of scientists, some of whom need no introduction, and some of whose works have become modern classics, while others may be less familiar - but all convey the passion of great scientists writing about their science.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1435642198Publication Date: 2008
Science Research Writing by
This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. it is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English. Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model. There are five units: Introduction, Methodology, Results, Discussion/Conclusion and Abstract. The reader develops a model for each section of the research article through sample texts and exercises; this is followed by a Grammar and Writing Skills section designed to respond to frequently-asked questions as well as a Vocabulary list including examples of how the words and phrases are to be used.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781848163102Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Scientific Writing 2. 0 by
The book helps scientists write papers for scientific journals. Using the key parts of typical scientific papers (Title, Abstract, Introduction, Visuals, Structure, and Conclusions), it shows through numerous examples, how to achieve the essential qualities required in scientific writing, namely being clear, concise, convincing, fluid, interesting, and organized. To enable the writer to assess whether these parts are well written from a reader''s perspective, the book also offers practical metrics in the form of six checklists, and even an original Java application to assist in the evaluation. The focus of the book is on self- and reader-assisted assessment of the scientific journal article. It is also the first time that a book on scientific writing takes a human factor view of the reading task and the reader scientist. By revealing and addressing the physiological causes that create substantial reading difficulties, namely limited reader memory, attention span, and patience, the book guarantees that writing will gain the much coveted reader-centered quality.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789814350617Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Writing for Science by
This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today's experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications. Robert Goldbort discusses how best to approach various writing tasks as well as how to deal with the everyday complexities that may get in the way of ideal practice, difficult collaborators, experiments gone wrong, funding rejections. He underscores the importance of an ethical approach to science and scientific communication and insists on the necessity of full disclosure. For working scientists, those seeking employment in the sciences, students taking on writing assignments or oral presentations, and professionals who hope to publish or acquire funding, this volume is an essential resource.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780300117936Publication Date: 2006-11-01
The Craft of Scientific Communication by
The ability to communicate in print and person is essential to the life of a successful scientist. But since writing is often secondary in scientific education and teaching, there remains a significant need for guides that teach scientists how best to convey their research to general and professional audiences. The Craft of Scientific Communication will teach science students and scientists alike how to improve the clarity, cogency, and communicative power of their words and images. In this remarkable guide, Joseph E. Harmon and Alan G. Gross have combined their many years of experience in the art of science writing to analyze published examples of how the best scientists communicate. Organized topically with information on the structural elements and the style of scientific communications, each chapter draws on models of past successes and failures to show students and practitioners how best to negotiate the world of print, online publication, and oral presentation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780226316611Publication Date: 2010-04-30
Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering by
Scientists and engineers seek to discover and disseminate knowledge so that it can be used to improve the human condition. Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering serves as a valuable aid in this pursuit--it can be used as a textbook for undergraduate or graduate courses on technical communication and ethics, a reference book for senior design courses, or a handbook for young investigators and beginning faculty members. In addition to presenting methods for writing clearly and concisely and improving oral presentations, this compact book provides practical guidelines for preparing theses, dissertations, journal papers for publication, and proposals for research funding. Issues of authorship, peer review, plagiarism, recordkeeping, and copyright are addressed in detail, and case studies of research misconduct are presented to highlight the need for proactive attention to scientific integrity. Ample exercises cause the reader to stop and think. Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering thus motivates the reader to develop an effective, individual style of communication and a personal commitment to integrity, each of which are essential to success in the workplace.Table of Contents: Motivation / Writing Well / Scientific Publications / Proposals and Grant Applications / Oral Communication / Authorship / Recordkeeping / Ownership of Ideas, Data, and Publications
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781598292992Publication Date: 2008-09-08
Crackle and Fizz by
This is a book for scientists and other experts who need to explain the significance and potential of their work to colleagues, committees, funding bodies or the general public. It details how to harness story-telling principles to make complex or technical content easier to communicate and fulfilling for audiences. Eight narrative ingredients, Audience, Change and Affect, Lure, World, Character, Big Hook, Plot and Structure, are illustrated with examples and exercises to demonstrate how to build a presentation, how to pitch for funds or resources, how to make a persuasive argument, or simply how to explain ideas so they CRACKLE and FIZZ for the Audience.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781783262854Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Craft of Scientific Presentations by
The Craft of Scientific Presentations, 2nd edition aims to strengthen you as a presenter of science and engineering. The book does so by identifying what makes excellent presenters such as Brian Cox, Jane Goodall, Richard Feynman, and Jill Bolte Taylor so strong. In addition, the book explains what causes so many scientific presentations to flounder. One of the most valuable contributions of this text is that it teaches the assertion-evidence approach to scientific presentations. Instead of building presentations, as most engineers and scientists do, on the weak foundation of topic phrases and bulleted lists, this assertion-evidence approach calls for building presentations on succinct message assertions supported by visual evidence. Unlike the commonly followed topic-subtopic approach that PowerPoint leads presenters to use, the assertion-evidence approach is solidly grounded in research. By showing the differences between strong and weak presentations, by identifying the errors that scientific presenters typically make, and by teaching a much more powerful approach for scientific presentations than what is commonly practiced, this book places you in a position to elevate your presentations to a high level. In essence, this book aims to have you not just succeed in your scientific presentations, but excel. About the Author Michael Alley has taught workshops on presentations to engineers and scientists on five continents, and has recently been invited to speak at the European Space Organization, Harvard Medical School, MIT, Sandia National Labs, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Simula Research Laboratory, and United Technologies. An Associate Professor of engineering communication at Pennsylvania State University, Alley is a leading researcher on the effectiveness of different designs for presentation slides.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1441982787Publication Date: 2013-01-02
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions. Clear heading for each section indicates its message, highlighted with graphic illustrations Two summary paragraphs that complement the visual images and clearly discuss the main point Numerous examples of high-quality figures, page layouts, slides, posters, and web pages to help stimulate readers' ideas for their own presentations Numerous "before and after" examples to illustrate the contrast between poor and outstanding presentations
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123859709Publication Date: 2012-12-31
Science Communication by
Science communication is a rapidly expanding area and meaningful engagement between scientists and the public requires effective communication. Designed to help the novice scientist get started with science communication, this unique guide begins with a short history of science communication before discussing the design and delivery of an effective engagement event. Along with numerous case studies written by highly regarded international contributors, the book discusses how to approach face-to-face science communication and engagement activities with the public while providing tips to avoid potential pitfalls. This book has been written for scientists at all stages of their career, including undergraduates and postgraduates wishing to engage with effective science communication for the first time, or looking to develop their science communication portfolio.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119993131Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Reading and Writing Knowledge in Scientific Communities by
Practices associated with the culture of "scholarly" reading have been developed over many centuries and annotations themselves have become the subject of study, either as additional elements in connection with the original texts or as documents in their own right. The first "scholarly" reading techniques, seen historically from the 12th Century onwards, combine reading and writing in a process known as lettrure, involving both attentive reading and commentary. The Internet has transformed this activity, adding technical layers that relate both to the reading and writing process as well as to the circulation of texts; their potential and effective augmentation, diffusion, and reception. This book examines digitized reading and writing by focusing primarily on the conditions for the co-construction of scientific knowledge and its augmentation. The authors present numerous examples of studies and personal feedback concerning the intellectual process, open critical spaces, collaborative scholarly publishing, methods for the circulation and mediatization of knowledge, as well as the techniques and tools employed.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781786301253Publication Date: 2017-08-07
How to Be a Better Scientist by
Understanding the fundamentals of conducting good science, that will have an impact, is the goal of every aspiring scientist. Providing a wealth of tips, How to be a Better Scientistis the book to read if you want to succeed in this competitive field. Helping readers gain an insight into what good science means and how to conduct it, this book is ideal to read cover-to-cover or dip into. It includes easily accessible guidance on topics such as: * What characteristics should a scientist have? * Understanding the hypothesis * Integrity in science * Lack of confidence and the embarrassment factor * Time management * Coping with rejection * Interacting with the science community With its broad focus, this friendly guide will enthuse, inspire and challenge, and is an essential companion for all aspiring scientists.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781315189079Publication Date: 2018-11-20
- Complete Guide to Writing Effective & Award-Winning Grants: Step-by-Step InstructionsComplete Guide to Writing Effective & Award-Winning Grants: Step-by-Step Instructions
Entrepreneurial Studies Source 2007
- COS/Pivot DatabaseSearch more than 23,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities updated daily. Use the "Funding Opportunities" database. Use "Training or Scholarship or Fellowship" or "dissertation or thesis" under "Funding Types".
- SharkWritesWelcome to SharkWrites, the NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center's (WCC) site for online writing resources designed to help you enhance your writing skills.
- NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center (WCC)The NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center (WCC) is an innovative workspace where students, consultants, and faculty come together, in person and online, to talk about writing and communication. Staffed by trained professional and peer writing consultants, the WCC offers individualized writing and communication assistance to all NSU students. Students are welcome to work with us on all types of academic writing and communication projects at any stage of the writing process from brainstorming to editing.
- NSU Funding Alerts webpageThe NSU Grant Writing Laboratory invites you to join a new listserv called Funding Alerts that features external funding opportunities selected especially for NSU grant seekers. The purpose of the listserv, in part, is to create and encourage a more collaborative research culture. Regular Funding Alert emails will feature eight – ten current funding opportunities, representing disciplines such as health related, physical and natural sciences, computer sciences and engineering, arts and humanities, international, and social sciences and education. Joining the Funding Alerts listserv is easy — just email grantlab@nova.edu. Every week or so you will receive an email with the latest Funding Alerts postings for your consideration. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact grantlab@nova.edu and we will be happy to provide answers.
- NSU Grant Writing LaboratoryThe NSU Grant Writing Laboratory provides a variety of valuable services to NSU faculty and professional staff members with the goal of improving success with grant-seeking, specifically focusing on obtaining funding for research grants. To visit the Grant Lab, or make an appointment for a consultation, please contact the Grant Writing Manager, Roxana Ross, at grantlab@nova.edu or (954) 262-4658.
- NSU Office of Sponsored Programs (OSP)As a unit within the Office of Research and Technology Transfer, the Office of Sponsored Programs (OSP) mission is to foster NSU's research mission by providing support services and training to NSU faculty and staff in identifying, securing, managing, and ensuring compliance with external and internal funding for NSU's research, community service, and training initiatives.
- The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineCompletely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.
- Sciences - The Writing Center @ UNCNearly every element of style that is accepted and encouraged in general academic writing is also considered good practice in scientific writing. The major difference between science writing and writing in other academic fields is the relative importance placed on certain stylistic elements. This handout details the most critical aspects of scientific writing and provides some strategies for evaluating and improving your scientific prose.
- Scientific Reports - The Writing Center @ UNCThis handout provides a general guide to writing reports about scientific research you’ve performed. In addition to describing the conventional rules about the format and content of a lab report, we’ll also attempt to convey why these rules exist, so you’ll get a clearer, more dependable idea of how to approach this writing situation.
- Duke University Scientific Writing ResourceThe Scientific Writing Resource is online course material that teaches how to write effectively. The material is not about correctness (grammar, punctuation, etc), but about communicating what you intend to the reader. It can be used either in a science class or by individuals. It is intended for science students at the graduate level.
- Guide: Writing the Scientific PaperThese guides are the result of a joint effort of the Writing@CSU project and the Colorado State University Writing Center.