Entrepreneurship and Innovation
This guide is a collection of resources on various aspects of entrepreneurship. It is meant to be a helpful resource for business students enrolled in entrepreneurship programs primarily.
Getting started
This guide is a collection of resources on various aspects of entrepreneurship. It is meant to be a helpful resource for business students enrolled in entrepreneurship programs primarily. It can also be used by the public looking to identify useful information on how to start, grow or manage a business to a certain extent; however, for those looking for practical tips, a small business guide is also available.
There are other additional guides that can be used to support your efforts if you are willing to evaluate certain markets, validate business ideas, learn more about competitors, etc, whether you are a student working on an entrepreneurship project for your class or a business owner testing out a business idea.
- Industry Information guide can help you find ready made industry profiles – some people call them industry reports, industry analyses, industry overviews or other; irrespective of the term used, these are great resources that provide information about how an industry is doing now, its evolution and what to expect in the future. Usual coverage includes sections on: market size, trends, challenges, industry financial ratios, key players, industry evolution and outlook.
- Demographics and market research guide - When launching products or services, expanding into new areas or simply just taking the pulse of their market, most companies will perform some type of market research involving information other than the state of the industry itself. Typically they will gather data about individuals’ age, gender, occupation, income, education, marital status and much more. This guide is full of resources for gathering various types of statistics related to consumer behavior.
- Company information guide is a collection of resources that will help you with your company research. Whether you are looking for information on competitors or trying to identify potential clients or suppliers, use company profiles or analyst reports to get access to company level data you might not have access to otherwise. This could be sales figures, number of employees, company level financial ratios indicative of company performance, market share estimates, names of executives, strengths and weaknesses and more.
Introduction to entrepreneurship
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with entrepreneurship related terms and topics.
30 Days to a More Powerful Business Vocabulary by
Business is just like any sector or topic, with its own language, customs, codes, and terminologies. Different aspects of business can have their own distinctive terminology, which can also overlap. In 30 Days to a More Powerful Business Vocabulary, Dan presents over 500 words and short expressions from a variety of different business categories. Each section introduces approximately twenty-five words. Each of the words are initially presented in a story or conversation, so you can experience the correct context in which the words are used. Dan then discusses each word or phrase and its definition. Finally, he reinforces the word and its meaning with another example in a sentence. And of course, Dan has you make all of the words a part of your permanent vocabulary by using his thirty-day learning program, based on well-known super-learning principles.There are four sections on banking and finance, four on marketing, and four on negotiation. Other sections focus on sales, entrepreneurship, human resources, e-business, leadership, and an all-new section on remote learning!As the world changes, language changes with it-and both are changing very fast. With 30 Days to a More Powerful Business Vocabulary, you'll keep pace with those changes and watch your career benefit as a result!
ISBN: 9781663710413Publication Date: 2021-01-19
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with entrepreneurship related terms and topics.
Encyclopedia of small business by
Provides entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. Features revised and expanded coverage to reflect the most current small business topics.
ISBN: 9781414462677Publication Date: 2017
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with entrepreneurship related terms and topics.
Handbook of Research on Approaches to Alternative Entrepreneurship Opportunities by
In some cases, technology-based projects have revolutionized the way of living by contributing to job and wealth creation. These types of ventures, regardless of their outstanding relevance, are the exception rather than the norm in that they account for only a very small percentage of entrepreneurial activity. Although not ignoring these important ventures, the main goal of this title is to fully unleash the wide potential of the entrepreneurial activity, exploring and highlighting the somewhat hidden part, which is ultimately responsible for the largest part of new businesses and, as a consequence, for the wellbeing of millions of people virtually everywhere. The Handbook of Research on Approaches to Alternative Entrepreneurship Opportunities is a collection of innovative research on the methods and applications of entrepreneurial activity beyond the traditional boundaries of entrepreneurship research. While highlighting topics including collective business, organizational performance, and generational differences, this book is ideally designed for entrepreneurs, developers, researchers, business managers, industry professionals, academicians, and students seeking to draw attention to distinctive and multifaceted types of entrepreneurship.
ISBN: 9781799819837Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Handbook of Research on Corporate Entrepreneurship by
Corporate entrepreneurship is about remaking organizations; it affects organizational cultures and systems which, in turn, influence the magnitude, direction and content of corporate entrepreneurship activities. This Handbook hopes to synthesize what we know and clarify what we need to know about key issues such as strategic renewal, innovation and venturing activities within established companies, giving direction to future research. This Handbook combines conceptual and empirical contributions covering a wide gamut of theories and perspectives that include: opportunity discovery vs. creation, the behavioral theory of the firm, learning, human capital, agency, and dynamic capabilities. The chapters uncover who the corporate entrepreneur is, how corporate entrepreneurs vary from their independent counterparts, how corporate entrepreneurship influences organizational performance, and the effect of incremental versus radical strategic renewal undertaken within corporate entrepreneurship on financial performance. They also investigate what an organization learns from corporate entrepreneurship, as well as the types of innovation that companies gain through corporate venturing capital investments. The diversity of authors, perspectives and foci of the chapters highlight the growing depth and breadth of the worldwide research on corporate entrepreneurship and the growing maturity of this research. This book will appeal to scholars and students of entrepreneurship and/or strategic management, as well as managers of established firms. Contributors:S. Basu, H. Burgers, J.J. Chrisman, D. Day, G. Dushnitsky, S. Georgoulas, J. Hayton, C. Heavey, S.A. Hill, M. Hughes, M. Jelinek, T. Keil, S. Kotha, M. Lewis, M. Maula, E. Memili, D.O. Neubaum, G.C. O'Connor, E.L. Scifres, M. Shaver, Z. Simsek, D. Ucbasaran, V. Van De Vrande, A. Wadhwa, S.A. Zahra
ISBN: 9781785368738Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurial Ecosystems and Social Dynamics in a Globalized World by
Globalization demands the construction of new business methods to enable companies to remain highly competitive. Due to this demand, cultural differences are now being implemented into policies and procedures as companies expand and seek to collaborate with international entrepreneurs. The Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurial Ecosystems and Social Dynamics in a Globalized World is a pivotal reference source for emergent aspects of internationalization and regional development in an entrepreneurial context. Featuring extensive coverage on relevant areas such as digital entrepreneurship, sustainability, and financial performance, this publication is an ideal resource for academics, public and private institutions, developers, professors, researchers, and post-graduate students seeking current research on globalized entrepreneurship.
ISBN: 9781522535263Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Research Handbook on Entrepreneurial Teams by
'The book is a much needed foundation into current scholarship on the practice and logic of team formation and function in entrepreneurial situations. The book offers both in-depth and comprehensive views of theory on entrepreneurial teams, as well as examples of current research. I am particularly impressed with the insights offered through a disciplined focus on the contextual aspects of entrepreneurial teams.' - William B. Gartner, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark and California Lutheran University, US In recent years there has been an increasing body of evidence suggesting that firms founded by entrepreneurial teams are more likely to achieve fast growth than firms founded by lone actors. This Research HandbookMexplores the position of entrepreneurial teams within existing literature and challenges current perspectives through a diverse range of research lenses. Research Handbook on Entrepreneurial Teamsexpands the boundaries of entrepreneurship literature by examining essential issues such as formation, structuring, deep-level diversity and emergent states. The chapters also consider different contexts of application and investigate under-researched topics such as entrepreneurial teams within indigenous communities, ethnically diverse groups and women entrepreneurs. This comprehensive Research Handbookoffers a wide range of research methodologies, perspectives and insights that will appeal to scholars, practitioners and entrepreneurs alike. Contributors include:H.E. Aldrich, C. Ben-Hafaiedh, M. Brettel, G. Campopiano, L. Cassia, L.M. Cloutier, T.M. Cooney, S. Cueille, J.P. De Borst, A. Discua Cruz, F. Dufays, E. Hadjielias, M. Henare, C. Howorth, B. Huybrechts, M.K. Kihiko, P.H. Kim, M.W. Kinoti, J.-F. Lalonde, J. Levie, B. Lythberg, R. Mauer, T. Minola, A. Nicholson, G. Recasens, S. Schoss, D. Vredenburgh, C. Woods, W. Zhou
ISBN: 9781784713263Publication Date: 2017-01-27
Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship Development and Opportunities in Circular Economy by
With the need for sustainability, a focus on developing an economic system that aims at minimizing waste, commonly referred to as the circular economy, is emerging. Circular economy and studies related to it have gained worldwide attention, as it seems to be an effective alternative economic system. Naturally, the circular economy will impact enterprises and will shift how entrepreneurship development and entrepreneurial opportunities are perceived, developed, and resourced. The Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship Development and Opportunities in Circular Economy is a collection of pioneering research that advances the understanding of entrepreneurship development, identifies the opportunities, and manages the entrepreneurship development, policies, and programs in order to further a circular economy. In addition to entrepreneurship development and entrepreneurial opportunities, the book will cover and discuss a number of other factors necessary for a successful transformation, such as entrepreneurship and innovation, entrepreneurship and change, and entrepreneurship education. While highlighting topics including consumer consumption, knowledge management, and linear economics, this book is ideally designed for entrepreneurs, small business owners, managers, consultants, organization development specialists, policymakers, researchers, industry experts, academicians, and students.
ISBN: 9781799851172Publication Date: 2020-06-26
Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship, Innovation, and Internationalization by
In a global and increasingly competitive world, companies must be aware of important drivers. Entrepreneurship and innovation are important contributions to the development of economies and creation of employment, gaining relevance in the business context due to a more complex market and needs for higher differentiation. The Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship, Innovation, and Internationalization provides key data to business managers on dealing with entrepreneurship, as well as for creating networks and complementarities for leveraging the firm's activity in order to help plan and control innovation and internationalization processes to avoid risk and increase the firm's value. The content within this publication includes topics such as family business, economics, and business education. It is designed for entrepreneurs, managers, researchers, academicians, and students.
ISBN: 9781522584810Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship, Innovation, Sustainability, and ICTs in the Post-COVID-19 Era by
ICT has had a huge impact on businesses and organizations in general, with new business models, new marketing channels, and new markets being reached using these technologies. ICT can promote new strategies and enhancers to optimize various aspects of business, but this technology also provides important tools that can empower social entrepreneurship initiatives to develop, fund, and implement new and innovative solutions to social, cultural, and environmental problems. With the upheaval caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and its subsequent impact on the economy, the methods and tools used within this field will be forever impacted. ICTs and the digital economy are huge trends that will affect organizations in several dimensions, such as how to communicate and improve performance. Thus, new perspectives and research are needed to identify the trends emerging in these fields. The Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship, Innovation, Sustainability, and ICTs in the Post-COVID-19 Era broadens the exploitation of entrepreneurship, innovation, and ICTs in a global approach to draw attention to multidisciplinary perspectives of these contexts and their influence in modern organizations. In addition, the book explores and discusses, through innovative studies, case studies, systematic literature reviews, and reports, the key developments in digital entrepreneurship, circular economy and digitalization, digital business models, digital market and internationalization, digital economy, trends and challenges for organizations, digital entrepreneurial ecosystems, IS/ICT in organizations, social aspects of information systems, and more. This book is ideally intended for business managers, industry professionals, entrepreneurs, practitioners, stakeholders, researchers, academicians, and students looking for how business and organizations are going to shift and advance in the post-COVID-19 era.
ISBN: 9781799867791Publication Date: 2021-04-30
Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship and Marketing for Global Reach in the Digital Economy by
The digital economy is a driver of change, innovation, and competitiveness for international businesses and organizations. Because of this, it is important to highlight emergent and innovative aspects of marketing strategies and entrepreneurial approaches to overcome the challenges of the digital world. The Handbook of Research on Entrepreneurship and Marketing for Global Reach in the Digital Economy provides innovative insights into the key developments and new trends associated with online challenges and opportunities. The content within this publication represents research encompassing corporate social responsibility, economic policy, and female entrepreneurship, and it is a vital reference source for policymakers, managers, entrepreneurs, graduate-level business students, researchers, and academicians seeking coverage on topics centered on conceptual, technological, and design issues related to digital developments in the economy.
ISBN: 9781522563082Publication Date: 2018-10-26
Handbook of Research on Intrapreneurship and Organizational Sustainability in SMEs by
Smaller companies are abundant in the business realm and outnumber large companies by a wide margin. Understanding the inner workings of small businesses offers benefits to the consumers and the economy. The Handbook of Research on Intrapreneurship and Organizational Sustainability in SMEs is a critical scholarly resource that examines the strategies and concepts that will assist small and medium-sized enterprises to achieve competitiveness. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as financial management, corporate sustainability, and organizational culture, this publication is geared towards business managers, professionals, graduate students, and researchers working in the field of smaller-scale business development initiatives.
ISBN: 9781522535447Publication Date: 2018-04-13
Handbook of Research on Multidisciplinary Approaches to Entrepreneurship, Innovation, and ICTs by
Currently, most organizations are dependent on IS/ICT in order to support their business strategies. IS/ICT can promote the implementation of strategies and enhancers of optimization of the various aspects of the business. In market enterprises and social organizations, digital economy and ICTs are important tools that can empower social entrepreneurship initiatives to develop, fund, and implement new and innovative solutions to social, cultural, and environmental problems. The Handbook of Research on Multidisciplinary Approaches to Entrepreneurship, Innovation, and ICTs is an essential reference source that discusses the digitalization techniques of the modern workforce as well as important tools empowering social entrepreneurship initiatives. Featuring research on topics such as agile business analysis, multicultural workforce, and human resource management, this book is ideally designed for business managers, entrepreneurs, IT consultants, researchers, industry professionals, human resource consultants, academicians, and students.
ISBN: 9781799841005Publication Date: 2020-08-21
Handbook of Research on Nascent Entrepreneurship and Creating New Ventures by
Due to the 2008-2009 crisis, the United Nations 2030 agenda for sustainable development, and the COVID-19 pandemic, the role of entrepreneurship has become more critical in most economies. Moreover, emerging protectionist policies are further encouraging the emergence of new entrepreneurial projects, particularly to replace goods and services traditionally provided by other countries. Understanding current challenges and best practices in nascent entrepreneurship is integral for the successful launching of new ventures to support the revitalization of economies and achieve sustainability. The Handbook of Research on Nascent Entrepreneurship and Creating New Ventures is a crucial reference source that covers the latest empirical research findings in the field of entrepreneurship and addresses the obstacles entrepreneurs face in these recent challenging times. The book embraces a pluralistic perspective from academicians currently navigating nascent entrepreneurship and key concepts for launching successful new ventures. Covering topics that include government support programs, spin-off companies, leadership, strategic entrepreneurship, and crowdfunding, this book is targeted towards entrepreneurs, professionals, academicians, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 9781799848271Publication Date: 2020-10-09
Handbook of Research on Sustaining SMEs and Entrepreneurial Innovation in the Post-COVID-19 Era by
A multidimensional approach to entrepreneurship, especially in the post-COVID-19 era, will have an important influence on the state of business and government, especially when considering the effects of technological development, innovation, glocalization, and nationalization policies that need to be adopted for inclusive sustainable growth, as well as the enhanced and efficient utilization of global resources. That means there is likely to be a shift in how entrepreneurship development and entrepreneurial opportunities will be perceived, developed, and resourced. The question is how to sustain SMEs and entrepreneurial innovation in the post-COVID-19 era. Thus, comprehensive research and knowledge on designing policies and approaches to ensure the sustainability of SMEs and entrepreneurial innovation in post-pandemic times are essential to sustain, stimulate, and foster SMEs, entrepreneurship, and entrepreneurial innovations. The Handbook of Research on Sustaining SMEs and Entrepreneurial Innovation in the Post-COVID-19 Era provides research dedicated to entrepreneurship with a special emphasis on the sustainability of SMEs and entrepreneurial innovations in the post-COVID-19 era. It provides discussion and the exchange of information on principles, strategies, models, techniques, methodologies, and applications of entrepreneurship in the post-COVID-19 era in the field of public and private organizations. The chapters communicate the latest developments and thinking on the entrepreneurship subject worldwide by drawing on the latest developments, ideas, research, and best practice to examine the implications of the changes taking place due to COVID-19. This book is ideally intended for entrepreneurs, global organizations, small and medium-sized enterprises, managers, executives, government officials, policymakers, researchers, academicians, and students who are interested in learning about, designing, or implementing policies that are more effective in the post-pandemic era.
ISBN: 9781799866350Publication Date: 2021-02-05
Handbook of Research on Value Creation for Small and Micro Social Enterprises by
In the corporate world, businesses are focused on increasing their revenues but ignore the cries of social and environmental concerns from nearby communities. At the other end of the spectrum, nonprofits seek to help their local communities but are constantly required to create fundraisers without having adequate time to put those collected donations to use. The world needs an industry to combine civic engagement and public service with wealth and value creation to provide self-sustaining opportunities for public services that are sometimes overlooked or ignored. The Handbook of Research on Value Creation for Small and Micro Social Enterprises defines the concept of social enterprise and provides vital insight into the importance of rebalancing, creating, and promoting economic activities that achieve social fairness, cultural fulfillment, and the protection of the environment. While highlighting topics such as marketing strategies, cross-cultural frameworks, and public policy, this publication focuses on empowering rather than controlling sustainable solutions for various communities and consumers. This book is ideally designed for researchers, policymakers, academicians who teach and/or research small and micro social enterprises, and advanced-level students furthering their research exposure to pertinent topics in this field.
ISBN: 9781522562993Publication Date: 2018-12-07- Research Handbook on Entrepreneurial Teams by
'The book is a much needed foundation into current scholarship on the practice and logic of team formation and function in entrepreneurial situations. The book offers both in-depth and comprehensive views of theory on entrepreneurial teams, as well as examples of current research. I am particularly impressed with the insights offered through a disciplined focus on the contextual aspects of entrepreneurial teams.' - William B. Gartner, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark and California Lutheran University, US In recent years there has been an increasing body of evidence suggesting that firms founded by entrepreneurial teams are more likely to achieve fast growth than firms founded by lone actors. This Research HandbookMexplores the position of entrepreneurial teams within existing literature and challenges current perspectives through a diverse range of research lenses. Research Handbook on Entrepreneurial Teamsexpands the boundaries of entrepreneurship literature by examining essential issues such as formation, structuring, deep-level diversity and emergent states. The chapters also consider different contexts of application and investigate under-researched topics such as entrepreneurial teams within indigenous communities, ethnically diverse groups and women entrepreneurs. This comprehensive Research Handbookoffers a wide range of research methodologies, perspectives and insights that will appeal to scholars, practitioners and entrepreneurs alike. Contributors include:H.E. Aldrich, C. Ben-Hafaiedh, M. Brettel, G. Campopiano, L. Cassia, L.M. Cloutier, T.M. Cooney, S. Cueille, J.P. De Borst, A. Discua Cruz, F. Dufays, E. Hadjielias, M. Henare, C. Howorth, B. Huybrechts, M.K. Kihiko, P.H. Kim, M.W. Kinoti, J.-F. Lalonde, J. Levie, B. Lythberg, R. Mauer, T. Minola, A. Nicholson, G. Recasens, S. Schoss, D. Vredenburgh, C. Woods, W. Zhou
ISBN: 9781784713263Publication Date: 2017-01-27
The Routledge Companion to the Makers of Modern Entrepreneurship by
Once relegated to the dusty shelves of ancient muses, research and scholarship on entrepreneurship has exploded as a field of research, with impactful additions from a range of disciplines rendering the field a tricky one to traverse. The Routledge Companion to the Makers of Modern Entrepreneurship offers a comprehensive guide to entrepreneurship, providing an authoritative exploration of the key people and their ideas. This book tells the stories of the scholars who have set the standard and tone for thinking and analysing entrepreneurship. Edited by two of the world's leading entrepreneurship scholars, this comprehensive volume offers a platform for understanding and future research that is both state-of-the-art and authoritative. It expands on how modern entrepreneurship has developed, with a focus on the key "makers" of the field - including theories, such as social psychology; concepts, such as neuroeconomics; and types, such as political entrepreneurship. The contributions to the collection are grouped into three sections: Emergence of Entrepreneurship Research Theories in Modern Entrepreneurship Concepts and Makers in Modern Entrepreneurship This companion is essential reading for students and academics interested in entrepreneurship, entrepreneurial management and business management.
ISBN: 9781315734682Publication Date: 2016-09-13
The Sage handbook of small business and entrepreneurship by
The SAGE Handbook of Small Business and Entrepreneurship offers state-of-the-art chapters on all aspects of this rapidly-evolving discipline. Original contributions from the best international scholars map the development of Entrepreneurship as an academic field, explore its key current debates and research methods, and also consider its future directions.
ISBN: 9781473984080Publication Date: 2017
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected entrepreneurship courses
| ENT 5985 | Ries, Eric. Lean Startup: How Today's Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses. (2011) |
| ENT 5985 | Hinds, David. Essence of Lean: A Superior System of Management. (2016) |
| ENT 2010 | Neck, Heidi M.; Neck, Christopher P; / Murray, Emma L. Entrepreneurship. |
| ENT 3100 | Neck, Heidi M.; Neck, Christopher P; / Murray, Emma L. Entrepreneurship. |
| ENT 3200 | Carraher, Shawn. Global Entrepreneurship. |
| ENT 4800 | Constable, Cliff. Talking to Humans. |
| ENT 4800 | Bessant, John. Innovation and Entrepreneurship. |
| ENT 4800 | Jordan, James. Innovation, Commercialization, and Start-Ups in Life Sciences. (2015) |
| ENT 4800 | Davila. Making Innovation Work. (2013) |
