Library Guides: Pharmacy: Barry and Judy Silverman College of Pharmacy guide: Resource Chart

Resource Chart

Type of Question	Resource
Adverse effects	Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology DailyMed product labeling
Compounding	USP-NF Remington: the science and practice of pharmacy Allen's compounded formulations Trissel's stability of compounded formulations The art, science, and technology of pharmaceutical compounding Extemporaneous formulations for pediatric, geriatric, and special needs patients
Current research, primary literature	MEDLINE via PubMed, EBSCO, Ovid Embase International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)
Drug-drug interaction	Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology Drug Interaction Facts 2014 (edited by Tatro) Stockley's Drug Interactions, 8th edition, 2008
Drug-food interaction	Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology Food medication interactions
Disease information	UptoDate 5MinuteConsult AccessMedicine eBook collection ClinicalKey VisualDx
Equivalent products	Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutics Equivalence Evaluations How to use Orange Book (video)
Geriatric dosing	Lexicomp (Geriatric Lexi-Drugs) (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology (BEERS List)
Guidelines	ClinicalKey ECRI Institute - Guidelines Trust relaunched its new, streamlined website Literature databases (ex: PubMed has “practice guideline” filter) TRIP database UptoDate
Identification	Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology
Infectious diseases	Johns Hopkins ABX and HIV Guides The pharmacist's guide to antimicrobial therapy and stewardship Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's principles and practice of infectious diseases
International names	Lexicomp (Martindale: The complete drug reference) (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology
IV compatibility	Handbook on injectable drugs Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology Remington: the science and practice of pharmacy Trissel's stability of compounded formulations Gahart's 2022 Intravenous Medications
Natural products/supplements	Natural Medicines Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology Access Pharmacy Quick Reference --> Herbs and Supplements
Off-label use	Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology
OTC medications	Handbook of Non-Prescription Drugs Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology
Package inserts	DailyMed Product/manufacturer website
Patient counseling points	Handbook of non-prescription drugs Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug)
Pediatric dosing	The Harriet Lane handbook Pediatric and neonatal dosage handbook Pediatric injectable drugs (the teddy bear book) Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) More Clinical Tools --> Indexes --> Pediatric and Neonatal Lexi-Drugs
Pharmaceutics/pharmacokinetics	Remington: the science and practice of pharmacy Clinical pharmacokinetics Basic clinical pharmacokinetics Applied biopharmaceutics and pharmacokinetics Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology
Pharmacology	Goodman and Gilman's pharmacological basis of therapeutics Basic and clinical pharmacology Brody's human pharmacology Principles of pharmacology
Pharmacy law	Pharmacy practice and the law State board of pharmacy web sites
Physical/chemical properties	PubChem SciFinder Click here to create account
Pregnancy and lactation	Drugs in pregnancy and lactation (Briggs) Drugs for pregnant and lactating women Hale's medications and mothers' milk LactMed Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Clinical Pharmacology
Stability and compatibility	Handbook on injectable drugs Extended stability for parenteral drugs
Therapy evaluation/drugs of choice	Pharmacotherapy: a pathophysiologic approach (12th ed. 2023) Pharmacotherapy principles and practice (6th ed. 2022) Applied therapeutics: the clinical use of drugs Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy Harrison's principles of internal medicine Goldman-Cecil medicine Conn's current therapy UptoDate 5MinuteConsult Medscape
Toxicology	Lexicomp (UpToDate Lexidrug) Choose "Toxicology" from the top banner. TOXNET Goldfrank's toxicologic emergencies Casarett and Doull's toxicology: the basic science of poisons Haddad and Winchester's clinical management of poisoning and drug overdose
Veterinary information	Plumb's Veterinary Drugs Merck Veterinary Manual Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics USP-NF (U.S. Pharmacopeia and National Formulary) Veterinary monographs

Adapted from the Pharmacy Students: Year 4 library guide - Drug Information Resources created by Amy Chatfield from USC Norris Medical Library and from the Useful Resources for Common Categories of Drug Information table in Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 5th edition.