Pharmacy: Barry and Judy Silverman College of Pharmacy guide

Full-text information on all US prescription drugs, as well as herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and investigational drugs.

AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, search across leading pharmacy online references and view optimized content on a mobile device.

*To access drug information, click on the "Drugs" link across the top menu.

*To access herb and supplement information, click on "Quick Reference" --> "Herbs and Supplements" across the top menu.

*To access quick clinical information, click on "Quick Reference" --> "Quick Answers" across the top menu.

UpToDate covers over 8,300 topics in 16 medical specialties and includes more than 97,000 pages of text, plus graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 385,000 references and the Lexi-Comp drug database.

This point of care diagnostic and patient management tool is designed to help support patient care decisions. Includes drug monographs from Facts and Comparisons.

Facts and Comparisons online provides quick access to comprehensive drug information to assist with comparing prescription drugs, drug interactions, drug identification, patient counseling and education and much more.

Includes: The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics - Objective, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs, and new information on previously approved drugs; Drugs of Choice Handbook; Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter- Unbiased reviews of drug classes used to treat common disorders. Includes the doses, adverse effects and the recommendations of Medical Letter consultants; Antimicrobial Therapy; Adverse Drug Interactions and CME's.

Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.

***NO APP AVAILABLE AT THIS TIME!!

The Johns Hopkins POC-IT Guides are evidence-based clinical decision resources. Trusted content in the ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides is easily accessed, promptly applied, and frequently updated.

USP-NF has recently updated their platform. NSU students, faculty, and staff will still be able to access the content by creating an Access Point account with their NSU email. To create an account, visit the USP-NF site, click on the "Login" button at the top right, and select "USP-NF Online." Then click on "Create a new USP Access Point account, if you do not have one." Please note: you do not need a subscription key! If you have any questions, please contact Kristin Kroger: kk663@nova.edu OR 954-262-3117

Plumb’s Veterinary Drugs, accessible on your tablet, smartphone, and computer, is continually updated so you have the most current information available to help you make more informed drug decisions.

Fill out linked form to receive 40% off your Sanford Guide order.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

DailyMed provides information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). It provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.

This collection of fact sheets and other resources from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and other federal government sources presents information about dietary supplements and their ingredients. These include vitamins, minerals, herbs and botanicals, probiotics, and more. Many of these resources are available in versions written for consumers (in both English and Spanish) and also for health professionals.

The database links you to the information from the labels of over 30,000 dietary supplement products in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements. It includes name, form, active and inactive ingredients, amount of active ingredient, manufacturer/distributor information, label claims, warnings, percentage of daily value, and additional label information. The database can be searched by product names, text terms found on product labels, specific dietary ingredients, and manufacturers.

The Drug Information Portal at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov is a free web resource from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides an informative, user-friendly portal to current drug information for over 15,000 drugs. Links to sources span the breadth of NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies. Current information regarding consumer health, clinical trials, AIDS-related drug information, MeSH® pharmacological actions, PubMed® biomedical literature, and physical properties and structure is easily retrieved by searching on a drug name. A varied selection of focused topics in medicine and drug-related information is also available from displayed subject headings.

Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines from MedlinePlus, the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Read about side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

The database Drugs and Lactation, or LactMed, responds to the increased prevalence of breastfeeding worldwide. Drugs in breast milk pose a potential risk to the breast-fed infant, and LactMed provides healthcare practitioners and nursing mothers with data and information on drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed, and the effects of those agents on nursing infants and on lactation. LactMed contains about 1,000 records on drugs, herbals and dietary supplements that also include a summary regarding use of the specified substance during lactation, potential alternative medications, and references that are linked to their respective PubMed records. LactMed is endorsed by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

The LiverTox database provides researchers, physicians, and patients with up-to-date and comprehensive information about drug induced liver injury. It contains drug records with concise data on medications, herbals, and dietary supplements that can affect the liver. LiverTox also includes a case registry that allows users to submit relevant clinical cases to LiverTox and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Offers information on health topics, human genetics, medical tests, medications, dietary supplements, and healthy recipes. Other features include: medical encyclopedia, drug information, health information in multiple languages, videos, calculators, and more.

Consumer version of Natural Medicines provides information on herbal remedies, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, and other natural products and tools to help evaluate such as interaction and nutrient depletion checkers.

RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software, including those of First Databank, Micromedex, MediSpan, Gold Standard Alchemy, and Multum. By providing links between these vocabularies, RxNorm can mediate messages between systems not using the same software and vocabulary. RxNorm files are available through the NLM download server.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.