This information from the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners includes FAQs, registration details, exam blueprints, and practice exams.
General information about the COMLEX-USA Level 1, including the format, blueprint, scheduling, test accommodations, and scoring
General information about the COMSAE Phase 1 practice examinations.
YouTube Video explaining the Student Portal in the NBOME site.
USMLE Step 1 Secrets in Color by 
Cases and Concepts: Step 1, Basic Science Review
Cases & Concepts Step 1: Basic Science Review helps medical students prepare for USMLE Step 1 by studying basic science topics combined with clinical data, learning both the "why" of a principle and how it is seen in practice. Working through 116 clinical cases in microbiology, immunology, pharmacology, biochemistry, genetics, embryology, behavioral science, neuroscience, and epidemiology, the reader gains experience analyzing cases, learns classic presentations of common diseases and syndromes, and integrates basic science concepts with clinical applications. Cases are followed by USMLE-style questions with answers and rationales. Thumbnail and Key Concept boxes highlight key facts. A companion website offers fully searchable text online.
Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques
An essential reference for coursework, exam preparation, clinical rotations, and day-to-day clinical practice, Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques delivers step-by-step, full-color guidance on manipulative methods commonly taught and used in osteopathic medical education and practice. This highly visual one-of-a-kind reference features more than 1,000 vibrant photos and illustrations and 250 accompanying videos depict specific manipulations, examinations, techniques, and anatomical demonstrations. Easy to navigate and rich with engaging learning features, the 4th edition of this bestselling, one-of-a-kind resource reflects the most up-to-date information on basic anatomical concepts and techniques to help users confidently comprehend and apply them. Updated content equips students with the latest techniques and approaches for effective practice as identified by the Education Council on Osteopathic Principles (ECOP). New chapter, Clinical Integration of Osteopathic Manipulative Techniques, includes clinical guidelines on decision making and implementing specific diagnostic and osteopathic manipulative techniques (OMT) based on over 20 common clinical presentation. New techniques have been added to the chapters covering counterstrain techniques and techniques of Still. Newly created gross anatomy photos with overlays are oriented to provide greater clarity and realism. More than 1,000 high-quality, full-color images highlight essential concepts and techniques in vibrant detail. Corresponding videos demonstrate more than 250 osteopathic diagnostic and manipulative techniques, as well as highlighting important anatomic landmarks. Modular atlas format guides students step-by-step through more than 450 of the most commonly used manipulative methods.
Gross and Developmental Anatomy
Get the most from your study time and experience a realistic USMLE simulation! These new additions to the Rapid Review Series - highly rated in the First Aid rankings - make it easy for you to master all of the basic science material covered on the USMLE Step 1 Exam. Each title focuses on a particular basic science subject, providing an at-a-glance, outline-format review of all the information you need to know. A user-friendly 2-color layout, Hi-Yield Margin Notes, and Key Points make studying easy. 100 high-quality USMLE-style review questions inside each book allow you to practice for the USMLE, and include a full rationale that lets you know why every possible answer is right or wrong. Another 250 USMLE-style questions for each title are available at www.studentconsult.com-mirroring the look and feel of the actual exam, and providing detailed feedback on which areas you may need to study more.
The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, Medical Course & Step 1 Review, Second Edition
The acclaimed book students need to get the BIG PICTURE of Gross Anatomy in the context of healthcare - streamlined and enhanced by online video Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture, Second Edition is the perfect bridge between review and textbooks. With an emphasis on what students truly need to know versus "what's nice to know," it features 450 full-color illustrations that give them a complete, yet concise, overview of essential anatomy. The Second edition is distinguished by the addition of online videos ranging from 3-9 minutes long, and more concise, bulleted text. The book's user-friendly presentation consists of text on the left-hand page and beautiful full-color illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, you get a "big picture" of anatomy principles, delivered one concept at a time -- making them easier to understand and retain. Striking the perfect balance between illustrations and text, Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture, Second Edition features: *High-yield review questions and answers at the end of each chapter *Numerous summary tables and figures that encapsulate important information *450 labeled and explained full-color illustrations *A final exam featuring 100 Q&As *Important clinically-relevant concepts called to your attention by convenient icons *Bullets and numbering that break complex concepts down to easy-to-remember points
Gross Anatomy
Get the BIG PICTURE of Gross Anatomy in the context of healthcare - and zero-in on what you really need to know to ace the course and board exams! A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture is the perfect bridge between review and textbooks. With an emphasis on what you truly need to know versus "what's nice to know," it features 450 full-color illustrations that give you a complete, yet concise, overview of essential anatomy. The book's user-friendly presentation consists of text on the left-hand page and beautiful full-color illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, you get a "big picture" of anatomy principles, delivered one concept at a time -- making them easier to understand and retain. Striking the perfect balance between illustrations and text, Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture features: High-yield review questions and answers at the end of each chapter Numerous summary tables and figures that encapsulate important information 450 labeled and explained full-color illustrations A final exam featuring 100 Q&As Important clinically-relevant concepts called to your attention by convenient icons Bullets and numbering that break complex concepts down to easy-to-remember points
Neuroanatomy
Now significantly revised based on student feedback, this best-selling text provides a quick, authoritative review of the most important clinical aspects of neuroanatomy. A new, full-color design highlights the essential information you need to know to excel on course exams and the USMLE Step 1. New objectives begin every chapter, contents have been reorganized and streamlined, and all information has been completely updated. A new Gross Structure chapter lays the foundation for understanding the sectional anatomy in the Atlas chapter, and all terminology is now consistent with Terminologia Anatomica. A companion website offers USMLE-style questions for study and review. Features: - A concise, streamlined review perfect for course exams or the USMLE Step 1. - New full-color design and illustrations make the text more visually appealing. - New objectives in every chapter help you focus on key content. - Reorganized contents are integrated and combined to group similar topics in a logical, easy-to-review fashion. - A new Gross Structure chapter lays the foundation for understanding the sectional anatomy in the Atlas chapter. - All terminology is up-to-date to comply with Terminologia Anatomica. - Online access to USMLE-style questions for self-assessment and review.
Gray's Anatomy for Students
2015 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Basic and Clinical Sciences Category! Anatomy texts just don't get any better than Gray's Anatomy for Students! Now in its 3rd edition, this completely revised medical textbook continues its focus on just the core information you need for your anatomy courses, presenting everything in an easy-to-read, visually appealing format that facilitates study. Obtain reliable, accessible coverage of everything you will learn in your contemporary anatomy classes with expert knowledge from a team of authors who share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience. Easily locate and remember specific structures. More than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Expedite the review of basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Stay current and engaged in your anatomy courses with many new "In the Clinic" boxes, which offer access to in-depth clinical discussions related to specific diseases or procedures. Source your review material quickly and easily thanks to a list of additional relevant study aids at the beginning of each chapter. Improve your comprehension of cranial nerves with help from a brand-new visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function. Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, where you can also take advantage of an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, medical clinical cases, physical therapy clinical cases, self-assessment questions, and more. Further enhance your learning by pairing this textbook with its companion review products, Gray's Anatomy for Students Flashcards, 3rd Edition (ISBN: 978-1-4557-1078-2) and Gray's Atlas of Anatomy 2nd Edition (ISBN 978-1-4557-4802-0)! Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Case Files Anatomy 3/e
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. LEARN ANATOMY IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE BOARDS Experience with clinical cases is central to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Anatomy provides 58 true-to-life cases thatillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-tounderstand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, anatomy pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 58 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical, dental, and physician assistant students preparing for gross anatomy course exams and the Boards
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Clinical Anatomy Q&a
Ensure readiness for the USMLE® or any other high-stakes exam covering clinical anatomy! Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Clinical Anatomy by Mark Hankin, Dennis Morse, Judith Venuti, and Malli Barremkala features over 600 USMLE®-style multiple choice anatomical questions, classified as easy, moderate, and difficult, with detailed explanations. Chapters are organized by organ system and questions are categorized by anatomical region. Questions begin with a clinical vignette and are based on actual case reports, often incorporating patient and diagnostic images. Key Highlights Award-winning Thieme anatomical illustrations used extensively in both questions and explanations provide exceptional clarity In-depth coverage of the lymphatic and endocrine systems Approximately 25% questions are image-based, mirroring the USMLE® format This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for the USMLE® Step 1 or COMLEX Level 1 exam. Be prepared for your board exam with the Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE® series! Das: Histology and Embryology Q&A Das and Baugh: Medical Neuroscience Q&A Fontes and McCarthy: Medical Biochemistry Q&A Harriott et al: Medical Microbiology and Immunology Q&A Kemp and Brown: Pathology Q&A Waite and Sheakley: Medical Physiology Q&A Visit www.thieme.com/testprep to learn more about our online board review question bank.
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Histology and Embryology Q&a
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Histology and Embryology is the choice of medical students... ...The major test-prep resources do not focus on these subjects in detail. A question bank...would be beneficial to those who struggle with these as an additional resource for studying ... - Ethan Young (Fourth-year medical student, University of South Dakota, Sanford School of Medicine) I especially like the clinical focus of the questions, which are "two layers" deep instead of straight recall. - Deborah Chen (Third-year medical student, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School) Well thought out and also extremely well written. ... an effective tool for students both in learning the material initially and also in reviewing it for the USMLE. - Roger A. Dashner, MS, PhD (Clinical Anatomist and CEO, Advanced Anatomical Services) Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Histology and Embryology fills a void in available board prep materials in its combination of histology and embryology. Consistently organized sections cover everything from microstructures of basic tissue and body systems to the development of all major body systems. Key Highlights Nearly 600 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions and detailed explanations, classified by organ system and difficulty level Questions begin with a clinical vignette and approximately 20% are image-based, mirroring the USMLE-format The only resource containing correct proportions of light and electron micrographs for histology, consistent with USMLE® testing standards This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for board examinations.
Clinical Anatomy: a Case Study Approach
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A UNIQUE TEXT THAT BRIDGES THE GAP BETWEEN BASIC AND CLINICAL ANATOMY Filled with 50 cases that consider 130 possible diagnoses, and more than 250 illustrations, this concise, highly accessible book is a must for medical students and professionals preparing for their courses, boards, and practice. With each chapter, you will gain insight into thefundamentals of human anatomy and--just as importantly--its relevance to actual clinical practice. Clinical Anatomy features an intuitive body region organization, which is consistent with the common instructional approach of medical gross anatomy courses.No other guide offers you the opportunity to interact with clinical conditions on a level that so closely approximates clinical practice. FEATURES A rigorous, case-based approach helps you master the basics of anatomy and apply what you have learned to real-world clinical scenarios 50 clinical cases include the patient complaint, relevant findings of the physical examination, and the signs and symptoms of related clinical problems M ore than 250 full-color ANATOMIC AL AND CLINICAL images Definitions of clinical terms presented WITH each cASE Instructive overview of the nervous system in the first chapter Logical body region organization Chapter-ending USMLE-type (clinical-vignette) review questions Helpful appendices feature a comprehensive list of clinical terms (referenced by case) and explanations of the correct answers for the review questions
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021, 2022 and 2023! Praised by faculty and students for more than two decades, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry. This best-selling text helps students quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information, with unparalleled illustrations that bring concepts to life. Like other titles in the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Review Series, this text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy.
High-Yield Q & A Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics
This full-color review offers a fast and effective way for you to prepare for regular course examinations in biochemistry and medical biochemistry, as well as medical board exams and the USMLE Step 1. A unique feature of this review is the integration of medical biochemistry with physiology, pathophysiology, pathology, and anatomy, making it perfect for today's rapidly changing medical school curriculum. Important related topics such as carbohydrate, lipid, protein metabolism, and associated disease/pathologies are incorporated into a concise, focused review of biochemistry.
High-Yield Q & A Review for USMLE Step 1 is packed with learning aids:
1,100 multiple-choice questions and thorough explanations for each answer
350 full-color illustrations
Detailed clinical boxes with high-yield information concerning diseases and disorders related to defects in the pathways being discussed
Every chapter includes: - An outline listing the major topics covered - A list of high-yield terms related to the content - Numerous explanatory figures and tables designed to increase your understanding of must know material - A checklist that recaps important and high-yield concepts
Fundamentals of Biochemistry Medical Course and Step 1 Review
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The biochemistry/USMLE® review you've been waiting for . . . clear, concise, high yield, and clinically relevant INCLUDES AN ONLINE VIDEO LECTURE FOR EVERY CHAPTER! The goal of Fundamentals of Biochemistry: Medical Course & Step 1 Review is to make biochemistry an approachable, clinically relevant subject for your first years of medical school, and, most importantly, when you prepare to take the USMLE® Step 1 examination. The authors believe that when biochemistry is put in a clinical context, learning and understanding it becomes much less complicated, as all the pieces of the "puzzle" fall into place. A SELF-CONTAINED, HIGH-YIELD GUIDE UNLIKE ANY OTHER You will find Fundamentals of Biochemistry: Medical Course & Step 1 Review to be a self-contained guide to high-yield biochemistry, with a strong focus on the topics you are most likely to see on the USMLE® Step 1 exam. You can select any chapter and find a self-contained summary of the relevant topic. The authors begin with the basics of the cell and DNA, and protein synthesis, then cover the central aspects of metabolism, and finish with nutrition and genetics. EASY-TO-ABSORB CHAPTERS ENHANCED BY COMPANION ONLINE VIDEOS The information is delivered in a simple outline format that pinpoints the high-yield information you need to know. Each chapter is also presented as a lecture, in video format, so you can review the topic in real time and add additional notes as you learn each topic or review them later.
Case Files Biochemistry 3/e
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. LEARN BIOCHEMISTRY IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE USMLE Step 1 Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Biochemistry provides 53 true-to-life cases thatillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-tounderstand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, biochemistry pearls, and USMLE-style reviewquestions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 53 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical and dental students preparing for course exams and the Boards
Biochemistry
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established first-and best resource for the essentials of biochemistry. Students rely on this text to help them quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information. For more than two decades, faculty and students have praised LIR Biochemistry's matchless illustrations that make concepts come to life. NEW! extensive revisions and updated content integrative and chapter-based cases new and updated figures new questions bonus online chapter on Blood Clotting Plus all the hallmark features you count on from Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Outline format - perfect for both concise review and foundational learning Annotated, full-color illustrations - visually explain complex biochemical processes Chapter overviews and summaries - reinforce your study time Clinical boxes - take students quickly from the classroom to the patient, associating key concepts with real-world scenarios More than 200 review questions in the book FREE with purchase! A comprehensive online exam featuring 500+ practice questions, plus fully searchable eBook
Medical Biochemistry
Brought to you in a thorough yet accessible manner, the new edition of Medical Biochemistry gives access to all of the latest information on basic and clinically focused genetic and molecular biology. Featuring a team of contributors that includes investigators involved in cutting-edge research as well as experienced clinicians, this updated medical textbook offers a unique combination of both research and practice that's ideal for today's problem-based integrated courses. Relate biochemistry to everyday practice with the help of Clinical Boxes integrated into the text, and access in-depth coverage of important topics - including recent research in biochemistry - through Advanced Concept Boxes. Test your knowledge and improve retention with Active Learning Boxes at the conclusion of each chapter, and quickly review the most common lab tests performed with convenient Clinical Test Boxes. Effectively study the most updated information in biochemistry with the help of a dynamic, full-color design. Better understand the relationship between science and clinical practice with material organized by organ rather than system. Quickly review descriptions of difficult concepts with an online glossary available at Student Consult. Additional online components include clinical images, clinical boxes, case studies, online note-taking capabilities, and 150 multiple-choice and USMLE-style questions. Gain a thorough understanding of biomarkers and their uses with brand-new information on the subject. Access today's most recent research regarding Gene Therapy, Proteomics and Recombinant DNA Techniques, Role of Kidney in Metabolism, and Neurochemistry.
Principles of Medical Biochemistry
The smart way to study! Elsevier titles with STUDENT CONSULT will help you master difficult concepts and study more efficiently in print and online! Perform rapid searches. Integrate bonus content from other disciplines. Download text to your handheld device. And a lot more. Each STUDENT CONSULT title comes with full text online, a unique image library, case studies, USMLE style questions, and online note-taking to enhance your learning experience. Half the size and weight of the usual biochemistry text. Includes clinical cases throughout the text, and a case study section at the end in order to illustrate the practical application of biochemistry concepts. Comprehensive coverage of all the topics that are typically included in medical biochemistry courses Focuses on topics that are of specific medical interest, such as plasma proteins and lipoproteins, molecular carcinogenesis, laboratory diagnostic tests, and the rapidly evolving new applications of molecular genetics. Expanded coverage of molecular genetics, genome structure, and the molecular basis of genetic disease. Discussions of gene therapy and germline gene modifications. Information on molecular carcinogenesis, apoptosis, and signaling pathways. Superb new page design with full color illustrations Online version via the STUDENT CONSULT website with USMLE test questions and integration links
Marks' Essentials of Medical Biochemistry
Based on the Second Edition of Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, Marks' Essentials of Medical Biochemistry has been streamlined to focus on only the most essential biochemical concepts important to medical students. The authors present facts and pathways to emphasize how the underlying biochemistry is related to the body's overall physiological functions. This text presents patients to the students as the biochemistry is being discussed, which strengthens the link between biochemistry and medicine and allows the student to learn about this interaction as the biochemistry is presented. Each chapter includes clinical and biochemical notes and comments, questions and answers to encourage further thinking, and suggested references for those who would like to pursue a particular topic in more depth.
Elsevier's Integrated Immunology and Microbiology
Each title in the new Integrated series focuses on the core knowledge in a specific basic science discipline, while linking that information to related concepts from other disciplines. Case-based questions at the end of each chapter enable you to gauge your mastery of the material, and a color-coded format allows you to quickly find the specific guidance you need. Bonus STUDENT CONSULT access - included with the text - allows you to conveniently access the book's content online #65533; clip content to your handheld device #65533; link to content in other STUDENT CONSULT titles #65533; and more! These concise and user-friendly references provide crucial guidance for the early years of medical training, as well as for exam preparation. Includes case-based questions at the end of each chapter Features a colour-coded format to facilitate quick reference and promote effective retention Offers access to STUDENT CONSULT! At www.studentconsult.com, you'll find the complete text and illustrations of the book online, fully searchable #65533; "Integration Links" to bonus content in other STUDENT CONSULT titles #65533; content clipping for handheld devices #65533; an interactive community center with a wealth of additional resources #65533; and much more!
Mims' Medical Microbiology
Mims' Microbiology makes it easy for you to learn the microbiology and basic immunology concepts you need to know for your courses and USMLE. Using a clinically relevant, systems-based approach, this popular medical textbook accessibly explains the microbiology of the agents that cause diseases and the diseases that affect individual organ systems. With lavish illustrations and straightforward, accessible explanations, Mims' Microbiology makes this complex subject simple to understand and remember. Learn about infections in the context of major body systems and understand why these are environments in which microbes can establish themselves, flourish, and give rise to pathologic changes. This systems-based approach to microbiology employs integrated and case-based teaching that places the "bug parade" into a clinical context. Grasp and retain vital concepts easily thanks to a user-friendly color-coded format, succinct text, key concept boxes, and dynamic illustrations. Effectively review for problem-based courses with the help of chapter introductions and "Lessons in Microbiology" text boxes that highlight the clinical relevance of the material, offer easy access to key concepts, and provide valuable review tools. Approach microbiology by body system or by pathogen through an extensively cross-referenced "Pathogen Review" section. Access the complete contents online at studentconsult.com, along with downloadable illustrations.150 multiple choice review questions... "Pathogen Parade"...and many other features to enhance learning and retention. Enhance your learning and absorb complex information in an interactive, dynamic way with Pathogen Parade - a quickly searchable online glossary of viruses, bacteria, and fungi. Deepen your understanding of epidemiology and the important role it plays in providing evidence-based identification of key risk factors for disease and targets for preventive medicine. A completely re-written chapter on this topic keeps abreast of the very latest findings.
Immunology
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Immunology offers a highly visual presentation of essential immunology material, with all the popular features of the series: over 300 full-color annotated illustrations, an outline format, chapter summaries, review questions, and case studies that link basic science to real-life clinical situations. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Immunology can be used as a review text for a short immunology course, or paired with Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology for a combined microbiology/immunology course.
Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple
Extensive updates, with a new chapter on hospital-acquired gram-negative bacteria.
Microbiology
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology, Third Edition enables rapid review and assimilation of large amounts of complex information about medical microbiology. The book has the hallmark features for which Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews volumes are so popular: an outline format, 450 full-color illustrations, end-of-chapter summaries, review questions, plus an entire section of clinical case studies with full-color illustrations. NEW TO THIS EDITION: an online testbank of 100 review questions.
Case Files: Microbiology
The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve exam scores. This series helps you to learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. "Case Files: Microbiology: Second Edition" presents 50+ clinical cases with open-ended questions which weave basic science concepts into the clinical scenario. Each case includes an extended discussion (including definitions and a pathophysiology discussion), key points, and 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions.
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Microbiology and Immunology Q&a
Ensure readiness for the USMLE® or any other high-stakes exam covering microbiology and immunology! Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Microbiology and Immunology by Melphine Harriott, Michelle Swanson-Mungerson, Samia Ragheb, and Matthew Jackson covers major topics taught in immunology and microbiology courses during the first and second year of medical school. Readers will learn how to recall, analyze, integrate, and apply microbiology and immunology knowledge to solve clinical problems. Key Highlights 550 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions classified as easy, moderate, and difficult, including detailed explanations Microbiology questions organized by organ system that cover major infectious diseases Immunology questions organized by concept including chapters on inflammation, autoimmune diseases, immunodeficiency disorders, hypersensitivity reactions, and transplant rejection and anti-tumor responses This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for the USMLE® Step 1 or COMLEX Level 1 exam. Be prepared for your board exam with the Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE® series! Das: Histology and Embryology Q&A Das and Baugh: Medical Neuroscience Q&A Fontes and McCarthy: Medical Biochemistry Q&A Hankin et al.: Clinical Anatomy Q&A Kemp and Brown: Pathology Q&A Waite and Sheakley: Medical Physiology Q&A Visit www.thieme.com/testprep to learn more about our online board review question bank.
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: a Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, Eighteenth Edition
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * NEW additional clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers * REVISED color images that depict clinically important findings
Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint
Get the most from your study time...and experience a realistic USMLE simulation! Rapid Review Pathology, by Edward F. Goljan, MD, makes it easy for you to master all of the pathology material covered on the USMLE Step 1 Exam. It combines an updated outline-format review of key concepts and hundreds of full-color images and margin notes - in print and online - PLUS more than 400 USMLE-style online questions! Rated A+ in First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2012! Access all the information you need to know quickly and easily with a user-friendly, two-color outline format that includes High-Yield Margin Notes and Key Points. Practice with our testing platform on USMLE Consult for a realistic testing experience that fully prepares you for the exam. Tailor your exam by category, subcategory, or keyword: you can include new, corrected, or all questions, and you can take the exam in test or practice mode. Review the most current information with completely updated chapters and more than 675 images. Take a timed or a practice test online with 437 USMLE-style questions and rationales for why every answer is right or wrong. Maximize your study time and boost your USMLE performance
Atlas of Histology with Functional Correlations
Master histology with idealized and actual photomicrography! This thirteenth edition of Atlas of Histology with Functional Correlations (formerly diFiore's ) provides a rich understanding of the basic histology concepts that medical and allied health students need to know. Realistic, full-color illustrations as well as actual photomicrographs of histologic structures are complemented by concise discussions of their most important functional correlations. Illustrated histology images show the idealized view, while photomicrographs provide the actual view to help students hone their skills in identifying structures. New and improved layout helps students connect the morphology of a structure with its function. Updated and expanded Functional Correlations boxes integrated throughout chapters reflect new scientific information and interpretations. NEW photomicrographs and electron micrographs provide views of microanatomy as experienced in practice. Bulleted Chapter Summaries distill the most essential knowledge for rapid review. NEW Additional Histologic Images sections round out each chapter with supplemental photomicrographs and electron micrographs. NEW Chapter Review Questions allow students to assess their comprehension of each chapter with 375 questions and answers in the book and 250 more online in an Interactive Question Bank.
Case Files Pathology, Second Edition
More than 50 clinical cases help you ace pathology courses and the USMLE The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve exam scores. This series helps you to learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files: Pathology: Second Edition presents 50+ clinical cases with open-ended questions which weave basic science concepts into the clinical scenario. Each case includes an extended discussion (including definitions and a pathophysiology discussion), key points, and 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions. The authors are experienced teachers from the University of Texas-Houston Medical School and East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine.
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology Q&a
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology is the choice of medical students... ...I am very impressed ...These answers and explanations waste no time getting right to the point and hit the high-yield points a student must know... for the USMLE® Step 1 exam. - Nicholas T. Gamboa, MS-II (Second-year medical student, University of Utah School of Medicine) These path questions really tested the concepts succinctly and directly. - Amy Leshner (Fourth-year medical student, Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine) ...The major test-prep resources do not focus on these subjects in detail. A question bank...would be beneficial to those who struggle with these as an additional resource for studying ... - Ethan Young (Fourth-year medical student, University of South Dakota, Sanford School of Medicine) Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology provides medical students studying for boards with a thorough review of pathology concepts. Co-authored by a pathologist and family practice physician, this robust test prep tool combines pathology with strong clinical correlations. Key Highlights Over 1,100 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions and detailed explanations, classified by organ system and difficulty Questions begin with a clinical vignette and approximately 20% are image-based, mirroring the USMLE®-format This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for board examinations.
Pathophysiology Review
Cases & Concepts Step 1: Pathophysiology Review helps medical students prepare for USMLE Step 1 by combining basic science topics with clinical data. Working through 88 clinical cases, the reader gains experience analyzing cases, learns classic presentations of common diseases and syndromes, and integrates basic science concepts with clinical applications. Sections cover cardiovascular, pulmonary, renal, gastrointestinal, hematology, oncology, endocrinology, rheumatology, reproduction, and neuroscience. Cases are followed by USMLE-style questions with answers and rationales. Thumbnail and Key Concept boxes highlight key facts. A companion website offers fully searchable text online.
Pharmacology
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology, Sixth Edition enables rapid review and assimilation of complex information and focuses on the essentials of medical pharmacology. Clear, sequential pictures present mechanisms of action and actually show, rather than tell, students how drugs work. This book features a signature outline format with more than 500 full-color illustrations and cross-references to other volumes in this bestselling, student-oriented series.
Pharmacology
Pharmacology, 4th Edition helps you master the "must-know" concepts in this subject and how they apply to everyday clinical problem solving and decision making. This concise yet comprehensive text clearly explains and illustrates challenging concepts and helps you retain the material - from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. Quickly reference essential information thanks to abundant tables throughout, and drug classification boxes at the beginning of each chapter. See how pharmacology applies to practice with real-world case studies. Prepare for exams with self-assessment questions at the end of each chapter. Understand complex concepts visually with the aid of superb full-color illustrations. Access the complete contents online at www.studentconsult.com, along with an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style questions, animations, and more. Learn the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications with new and updated drug information throughout. Be aware of new "off label" uses, including important FDA regulations.
Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination & Board Review, Fourteenth Edition
Score your highest on medical pharmacology courses and board exams with the world's bestselling pharmacology review book! The #1 Review Book in Pharmacology Features: * Beautiful illustrations and tables in the text * Summary of the drugs covered at the end of each chapter * Text with MCQs after each chapter, which provide a good review in itself * Two full syllabus tests at the end, with 100 MCQs in each test * Very specific checklist that ensures you don't skip learning key topics * Exposure to international curriculum and drugs * Accessible approach and easy to understand text * Short and crisp outline of Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and antiretrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Edited by the world leading figures in pharmacology and medicine, the high-yield text focuses on basic principles, autonomic drugs, cardiovascular-renal drugs, and drugs with actions on smooth muscle, central nervous system drugs, and drugs used to treat chemotherapeutic drugs, and toxicology. This authoritative resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts. Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review includes: * 1,000+ board-review type questions with detailed answers * Two 100-question exams with an answer key with detailed explanations * Lists of high-yield terms and definitions in each chapter * Skill Keeper Questions that help you understand the connections of related topics * Checklist of tasks you should be able to perform upon completion of the chapter * Summary tables that provide key information about specific drug mechanisms of action and effects, clinical uses, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and toxicities * Test-taking strategies for improving your test performance * 160 photos and illustrations--including explanatory figures and tables, and overview diagrams that visually organize drug groups and concepts
Pharmacology Flash Cards
Written by medical students at Yale University, LANGE Pharmacology Flash Cards offer concise, yet complete coverage of the subject. Each pack contains 189 cards, with each card covering a specific disease or drug with high-yield facts in bold. Every card also includes a clincal vignette.
Case Files Pharmacology, Third Edition
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. REAL-LIFE CLINICAL CASES FOR THE BASIC SCIENCES AND USMLE STEP 1 Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Pharmacology provides 56 true-to-life clinicalcases that illustrate essential concepts in pharmacology. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, pharmacology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 56 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions Master key concepts with clinical pearls Polish your approach to clinical problems and to patient care Maximize your board scores with the proven Case Files system
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Learning Pharmacology Through Clinical Cases
Learning Pharmacology through Clinical Cases by Mario Babbini and Sandeep Bansal uniquely integrates the preclinical disciplines, which is crucial for pharmacological problem solving and learning to think critically. Each case portrays a real-life scenario, promoting a bridge from foundational knowledge to its application. A series of USMLE-style questions with thorough explanations guide the reader through a comprehensive understanding of relevant basic science disciplines such as physiology, pathology, and microbiology, followed by a detailed analysis of the pharmacology. Key Features Nearly 50 case studies mirror situations seen in every-day practice In-depth coverage of drugs in the context of specific disease states and clinical situations Comprehensive cases encompass medical/family/drug history, physical examination, lab findings, diagnosis, pharmacotherapy, and follow-up One set of multiple choice questions addresses related basic science content. A second set covers topics related to the pharmacology, such as mechanism of action, adverse effects, and contraindications. This essential, highly practical resource will help medical students build problem-solving skills, assess pharmacology knowledge, and fully prepare for board examinations.
Physiology
Physiology is a comprehensive presentation of core physiologic concepts with a focus on mechanisms. Renowned physiology instructor Linda S. Costanzo covers important concepts in the field, both at the organ system and cellular levels. Easy to read and user-friendly, the revised fourth edition stresses essential and relevant content with absolute clarity and includes concise step-by-step explanations complemented by numerous tables and abundant illustrations. It provides information on the underlying principles of cellular physiology, the autonomic nervous system, and neurophysiology, as well as the cardiovascular, respiratory, renal, acid-base, gastrointestinal, endocrine, and reproductive organ systems. This book is ideal as both a textbook and as a review guide for the boards. Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles. Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text. Presents chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points. Contains boxed Clinical Physiology Cases to provide you with more clinical examples and a more thorough understanding of application. Provides questions at the end of each chapter for an extensive review of the material and to reinforce your understanding and retention. Offers a full-color design and all full-color illustrations throughout. Features access to www.studentconsult.com - where you'll find...the entire fully searchable contents online, plus high-yield student FAQs with thorough explanations; integration links to bonus content in other STUDENT CONSULT titles; and more. Features increased coverage of pathophysiology in the neurophysiology, gastrointestinal, renal, acid-base, and endocrine chapters to emphasize this important component of the USMLE exam. Incorporates further practice in solving physiology equations through the inclusion of additional problem-solving questions throughout the text.
USMLE Road Map: Physiology
USMLE Road Map: Physiology presents a concise and focused examination of the essential concepts in physiology. Through a streamlined and easy-to-follow hierarchical outline format, it guides students through the basic physiologic principles and reviews the normal and abnormal functions of the major organ systems. The outline is enhanced with an extensive and original illustration program that visually conveys the essential information and promotes retention of the material. Features such as clinical correlations and clinical problems are also included.
Physiology
PreTest is the closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it Great for course review and the USMLE Step 1!Physiology: PreTest asks the right questions so you'll know the right answers. Open it and start learning what's on the test. 500 USMLE-type questions and answers What you really need to know for exam success Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers Tested and reviewed by students who recently passed their exams STUDENT TESTED AND REVIEWED "I like the High-Yield section in the beginning of the book. It's a nice quick review yet at the same time is thorough and includes the truly high-yield things to know for boards and class." -- Sheree Perron, Third-Year Medical Student, Eastern Virginia Medical School "I found PreTest Physiology to follow fairly closely my experience with the USMLE Step 1 as far as question structure and depth of the material covered. The most basic and most commonly tested questions in physiology in each system were addressed as well as some of the finer details students still need to know." -- Daniel Marcovici, Third-Year Medical Student, Sackler School of Medicine, Tel Aviv University
Cases & Concepts Step 1: Pathophysiology Review
Cases & Concepts Step 1: Pathophysiology Review helps medical students prepare for USMLE Step 1 by combining basic science topics with clinical data. Working through 88 clinical cases, the reader gains experience analyzing cases, learns classic presentations of common diseases and syndromes, and integrates basic science concepts with clinical applications. Sections cover cardiovascular, pulmonary, renal, gastrointestinal, hematology, oncology, endocrinology, rheumatology, reproduction, and neuroscience. Cases are followed by USMLE-style questions with answers and rationales. Thumbnail and Key Concept boxes highlight key facts. A companion website offers fully searchable text online.
Physiology Cases and Problems
Physiology Cases and Problems, Fourth Edition is a collection of carefully selected patient case studies that cover the clinically relevant physiology topics that first and second year medical students need to know for physiology coursework and for the USMLE Step 1. Organized by body system, the book presents cases studies with questions and problems, followed by complete explanations and solutions including diagrams, graphs, and charts. Students may use this book alone, in small groups, or as a complement to BRS Physiology. Either way, it is intended to be a dynamic, working book that challenges its users to think more critically about physiologic principles. This book includes a number of features to help students master the principles of physiology: 62 cases organized by body system to help students integrate material Several expanded cases, including myasthenia gravis, atrioventricular conduction block, carbon monoxide poisoning, peptic ulcer disease, galactorrhea and amenorrhea, and prolactinoma 2 new cases on Chronic Renal Failure, Liver Failure and Hepatorenal Syndrome New full-color interior, tables, and illustrations Within each case, questions are arranged sequentially so that they intentionally build upon each other Question difficulty varies from basic to challenging, recognizing the progression that most students make Major equations are presented in boldface type, followed by explanations of all terms Key topics are listed at the end of each case so that students may focus their study Common Abbreviations are presented on the inside front cover, and normal values and constants are presented on the inside back cover Online access to Ebook
Case Files Physiology, Second Edition
REAL LIFE CLINICAL CASES FOR THE COURSE EXAMS AND USMLE STEP 1 "This extremely useful book reinforces the relationship between basic science and clinical medicine for students. It will help them either review or learn basic physiology as it applies to medicine, which should strengthen their diagnostic and therapeutic skills. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service You need exposure to clinical cases to pass course exams and ace the USMLE Step 1. Case Files: Physiology presents 50 real-life clinical cases illustrating essential concepts in microbiology. Each case includes and easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, physiology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. This interactive system helps you learn instead of memorize. 50 clinical cases, each with USMLE-style questions Clinical pearls highlighting key physiology concepts Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like a doctor Proven learning system based on award-winning research boosts your shelf exam score
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Physiology Q&a
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Physiology is the choice of medical students... ...The major test-prep resources do not focus on these subjects in detail. A question bank...would be beneficial to those who struggle with these as an additional resource for studying... -- Ethan Young (Fourth-year medical student, University of South Dakota, Sanford School of Medicine) ...Very well written in step 1 format, with very good explanations-which is one of the most helpful parts of a prep question set... Succinct but comprehensive in helping me to understand more about each of the other answers listed (and easy for me to see why they are wrong). -- Chris Moser (Third-year medical student, Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine) Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Physiology from Gabi Waite and Maria Sheakley transforms high-yield concepts into challenging multiple choice questions organized by body system. Readers will learn how to synthesize, integrate, and apply physiological concepts to clinical situations in a format mirroring the USMLE® exam. Key Highlights More than 750 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions on physiology and pathophysiology, categorized as easy, moderate, and difficult, with detailed explanations Questions begin with a clinical vignette and approximately 20% are image-based, mirroring the USMLE-format. Every question tagged by organ system, difficulty level, disease, and normal, abnormal or therapeutic process, enabling electronic format question sorting This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for board examinations.
Ganong's Physiology Examination and Board Review
Excel on medical physiology course exams and the USMLE® with the only study guide derived from the field's cornerstone text More than 350 Q&A with detailed answer explanations! Based on content from Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Fifth Edition, the world's leading text on human physiology, this authoritative new resource delivers a clear, concise review of the subject's fundamental concepts, backed by more than 350 Q&A with detailed answer explanations, and numerous full-color illustrations. With the goal of creating a targeted, yet comprehensive review of medical physiology for the USMLE® and coursework, the authors of this powerful new resource have streamlined the content of the Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Fifth Edition to facilitate study and learning, carefully retaining the most high-yield concepts and illustrations. The authors have skillfully reworked the self-study questions from the parent text so they are consistent with the clinical vignette style found on the USMLE®, and have also included many new questions. In addition, every question comes with a comprehensive explanation of why the correct answer is right or wrong, and why the distractors are wrong. This fosters a conceptual understanding of physiology, rather than simply reinforcing memorization. You will also find valuable study aids such as learning objectives, key terms, and end-of-chapter summaries and questions. If your study requires a succinct, well-illustrated review of medical physiology - one backed by the authority of the field's most respected textbook and enhanced by hundreds of Q&A with outstanding explanations - your search ends here.
