Library Guides: Osteopathic Medicine: Databases

Comprehensive Lists

What are Databases?

Collections of journal articles and abstracts
Access: HPD Students, Faculty, Staff
See the Library Guide for your group (Nursing, Pharmacy etc.) to see which databases are best for use in your subject area
Tutorials: select here or here or the database search tips guide

A to Z HPD Research Resources
Also includes databases related to health and medicine research, such as business, psychological, sociological as well as popular scholarly journals.
All NSU Databases
Consumer Health Resources
Consumer health Library Guide

PyschInfo

PyschInfo (Proquest) Now APA PyschINFO
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Coverage back to 1806.

Is my journal Peer-Reviewed?

Is your Article from a Peer-Reviewed Journal?
How to find out by using Ulrichsweb in 3 easy steps.

Peer-reviewed journals are also called:

scholarly
refereed

Urichs Periodical Directory

Indicates if a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed
Type full name of journal

Power Search

Create a Power Search in EBSCOhost or Ovid by searching multiple databases simultaneously.

EBSCOhost

Ovid

Exam Preparation Resources

PA Students – ACLS and ECGs PB Practice Resources

Exam Master - Dental NBDE Part 1
Exam Master - Medicine USMLE
more...less...
Practice tests for the U.S. Medical Licensing Exam Steps 1, 2, and 3; Certification Review Series; Medical Subject review Tests. Delivers feedback on user performance. Offers access to 17,000 questions, some accompanied by multimedia content, and explanations. Registration required.
Exam Master - Pharmacy
more...less...
Practice review for NAPLEX
Exam Master - Physician Assistants
Exam Master Online - Nursing NCLEX-RN
more...less...
Nursing students will love using both the test mode and study mode as they prepare for the NCLEX-RN. Our board review for the NCLEX-RN nursing examination offers detailed rationales for each question and reflects the National Council of State Boards of Nursing's latest test plan.

Statistical Databases

ABI/Inform Collection
more...less...
Business database with more than 3,840 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes all content from ABI/Inform Archive, Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry. Click here to browse Commodity Reports, Country Data Reports, SWOT, Market Research, and Industry Reports from EIU and BMI.
Demographics Now
more...less...
Presents preformatted and customizable data reports on demographic data including age, income, housing, employment, consumer expenditures, and race. Includes census data and projects data for the future.
JSTOR
more...less...
Full-text articles from scholarly journals are available (from Volume 1 to issues published 2-5 years ago) in the arts, business, humanities, literature, social sciences, general science, mathematics and statistics.
OECD iLibrary
more...less...
Full-text publications of the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development, including country studies, reports, ebooks, periodicals, working papers, and statistics databases. They cover economics, business, and social issues in the 30 member countries and 70 other countries. Formerly SourceOECD.
ProQuest Central
more...less...
Our largest full-text multidisciplinary database includes over 12,000 titles, with 9,000 available in full text. Content is provided in over 160 subject areas.

Test, Measurements, Assessment Instruments

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
more...less...
Information on measurement instruments in the fields of healthcare, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

Search PubMed for articles

What is PubMed?

PubMed (MEDLINE) is the National Library of Medicine database for medical research.

PubMed has a public website that does not link to HPD Library subscriptions.

Use the NSU PubMed to link to full-text articles using the Find It! button.

PubMed
more...less...
More than 30 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
more...less...
Citations and abstracts to medical literature including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, health care services and administration, biological and physical sciences, etc. Links to selected full-text articles.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
more...less...
Citations and abstracts to medical literature including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, health care services and administration, biological and physical sciences, etc. Also includes OLDMEDLINE and MEDLINE In-Process. Coverage: 1950 to present. Links to selected full-text articles.

Evidence-based Resources

Free resources:

Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

BestBETs

K4Health (Knowledge for Health)

TRIP Database

Library subscription resources:

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register)
Bibliography of controlled trials. Includes information from journals, conference proceedings and other sources not included in other databases.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials.
Cochrane Methodology Register
more...less...
A bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings taken from MEDLINE and from hand searches. It also contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
Citations and abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world. Provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane Review may not yet exist. Note: Provides the full-text of the critical review about the systematic review (original full-text systematic review is not in this database)
DoPHER: Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews
With coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide, this register currently contains details of over 2,500 reviews of health promotion and public health effectiveness.
PEDro, Physiotherapy Evidence Database
more...less...
Citations and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
UpToDate

Databases with Clinical Information and Procedures

Multiple Medical Dictionaries
NLM Gateway
PA Students – ACLS and ECGs PB Practice Resources

ACP PIER & AHFS DI Essentials
more...less...
An Evidence-based Foundation for Safe and Effective Drug Therapy - ACP (American College of Physicians) PIER: The Physicians' Information and Education Resource. Find authoritative, evidence-based guidance to improve clinical care AHFS DI Essentials is a collection of drug monographs kept current by ongoing electronic updates
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. - Also Includes 10 video Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, or OSCEs.
more...less...
Step by step visual guidance on the complete physical examination. Streaming video requires ActiveX.
doc.com
more...less...
Scoll down and Register the first time you use this resource. This version consists of 41 completed media-rich modules covering all aspects of healthcare communication skills
Doctor's Dilemma
more...less...
Interactive medical ethics program allows users to explore 10 medical cases, make decisions on complex and controversial issues, consult with various experts, and explore consequences.
Harrison's Online
more...less...
Full-text, illustrations, and expanded features from 15th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes additional references, many links to MEDLINE abstracts, and important information from emerging fields.
Mosby's Nursing Consult
more...less...
Mosby's Nursing Consult delivers an authoritative collection of nursing resources in a single, comprehensive online service.
Clinical Skills
more...less...
Online skills and procedures reference system for nurse training and education.
PsychiatryOnline
more...less...
Provides online access to major psychiatry reference material and journals, including the DSM library, psychiatric textbooks, and American Journal of Psychiatry. Book chapters are downloadable to PDAs and smartphones; see the User Guide.
Red Book Online
more...less...
Current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious disease in infants, children and adolescents. Online format designed to help you stay in step with the latest developments and clinical guidelines.
UpToDate

Searching the Web

Scientific WebPlus from ISI Web of Science
Find scientifically relevant Web content fast! Search the open Web and quickly see the most relevant content for the topics you care about, with Scientific WebPlus.

Definitions: Primary Literature, Peer-Review

Gray Literature from NY Academy of Medicine

Drug Resources databases

Free resources:

NLM Drug Info Portal

Drug Trials: Center Watch

Library subscription resources:

Clinical Pharmacology
Natural Medicines
more...less...
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.
UpToDate

Guidelines

National Guidelines Clearinghouse

Dissertations

Search Dissertations

Image databases

Access Medicine
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. - Also Includes 10 video Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, or OSCEs.
more...less...
Step by step visual guidance on the complete physical examination. Streaming video requires ActiveX.
Red Book Online
more...less...
Current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious disease in infants, children and adolescents. Online format designed to help you stay in step with the latest developments and clinical guidelines.

Journal Citation Reports

Find Journals with high impact factors in Journal Citation Reports

Find out how many times your article was cited as a reference by other authors:

Go to Web of Science
Choose Cited Citation Search

Journal Citation Reports
more...less...
Use Journal Citation Reports and explore the impact and influence of the world’s leading scholarly journals. Compare and understand the publishing activities, rising stars, and impactful groups influencing the direction of research. This product includes InCites Essential Science Indicators.
Web of Science
more...less...
Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for peer reviewed articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Tools allow citation tracking, exporting of citations, etc. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can also be searched separately.

Podcasts

Audio-Digest is a library of podcasts.

Subjects:

Anesthesiology
Emergency Medicine
Family Practice
General Surgery
Internal Medicine
Neurology
OB/GYN
Oncology
Opthalmalogy
Orthopaedics
Pediatrics
Psychiatry
Urology

Osteopathic Medicine: Databases