From the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) website:
The Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination of the United States (COMLEX-USA) is a three-level, national standardized licensure examination designed for licensure for the practice of osteopathic medicine.
Each of the COMAT Clinical subject exams consists of 120 items that must be completed within 2 hours and 30 minutes. A 5-minute tutorial is provided before each exam begins. Every examination in the COMAT series has multiple forms, and all are psychometrically equivalent in content covered, level of difficulty, and reliability, allowing COMs to administer a given COMAT subject exam multiple times per year.
First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Clerkship
The emergency medicine clerkship survival guide in the super-effective First Aid format Written by students who just completed their clerkship First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Clerkship is a comprehensive high-yield review based on the clerkship's core competencies. Written by students who just completed their clerkship and reviewed by faculty to ensure relevance and accuracy, the book covers everything students must know to do well in the ED and ace the emergency medicine shelf exam. New features include mini-cases integrated throughout to give a clinical "face" to disease discussions and 8 pages of full color images. Features Hundreds of frequently tested high-yield facts from emergency medicine in-service exams, shelf exams, and the USMLE Step 2 give you the edge on exam day Mnemonics, diagrams, and illustrations help you recall must-know concepts Insider tips for outstanding performance from students who excelled Ward Tips arm you with answers to common "pimp" questions Classifieds direct you to high-yield websites, scholarships, and extracurricular activities and publishing opportunities Typical Scenario and Exam Tip study boxes prepare you for exam questions NEW mini-cases highlight classic patient presentations and frequently tested cases The content you need to excel on the clerkship: Section I: How to Succeed in the EM Clerkship; Section II: High-Yield Facts; Resuscitation; Diagnostics; Trauma; Neurologic Emergencies; Head and Neck Emergencies; Respiratory Emergencies; Cardiovascular Emergencies; GI Emergencies; Renal and GU Emergencies; Hematologic and Oncologic Emergencies; Gynecologic Emergencies; OB Emergencies; Musculoskeletal Emergencies; Endocrine Emergencies; Dermatologic Emergencies; Procedures; Emergency Toxicology; Environmental Emergencies; Ethics, Medico-legal Issues, and EBM; Section III: Classified
First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Boards
THE INSIDER''S GUIDE TO ACING THE EMERGENCY MEDICINE BOARDS - NOW WITH FULL COLOR PHOTOS! Features: #65533; A thorough and user-friendly review of the most frequently test topics #65533; NEW! Review questions at the end of each chapter to test your knowledge #65533; NEW! Vibrant full-color photographs #65533; Insider tips and study strategies to maximize your study time and improve your performance #65533; Integrated vignette Q&As prepare you for what you will see on exam day #65533; Hundreds of high-yield tables, diagrams, and illustrations #65533; Key Facts in the margins reinforce must-know information #65533; Mnemonics make learning and memorization fast, fun, and easy #65533; Great for in-training examination preparation, certification, and as a refresher for certification
Case Files Pediatrics
Sixty high-yield pediatrics cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Pediatrics teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book. Updated to reflect the most current high-yield clerkship topics and the latest in medical management and treatment
First Aid for the Pediatric Boards
Apply the proven First Aid formula for exam success "This review is intended for residents and pediatric practitioners, but it also would be useful for medical students on pediatrics rotations. The book covers all topics in pediatrics. Genetics, nephrology, and neonatology are covered well, as is gastroenterology. It uses charts and tables for high-yield and intense studying. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service This is the new edition of the physician-to-physician, step-by-step guide to passing the pediatrics board exam. Written by veteran First Aid editor Tao Le and a team of former residents from Johns Hopkins University who recently took the exam, this book covers what to expect on the exam, how to register and succeed, and must-know high-yield facts. Features new to this edition include a full-color photo insert and mini-cases that frame clinical discussions for better retention. The summary of high-yield facts make it the ideal last minute review book. Features: Easy-to-remember summaries of the most frequently tested topics Hundreds of high-yield algorithms, clinical images, tables, and illustrations Margin notes reinforce must-know information Mnemonics and clinical pearls make learning and memorization fast, fun, and easy Mini-cases highlight commonly tested patient presentations and scenarios 12 pages of full-color images Resident-tested tips on how to register, prepare for, and ace the exam Completely revised based on reader feedback -- so you know you are studying the most up-to-date and relevant material possible A true "insider's guide" for in-service, boards, and recertification Complete coverage of all the must know topics: Introduction to the Pediatric Boards, Adolescent/Gynecology/Genital, Allergy/Immunology/Rheumatology, Cardiology, Dermatology, Emergency/Critical Care, Endocrinology, GI/Nutrition; Growth, Development, and Behavior; Hematology/Oncology, Human Genetics and Development, Infectious Diseases, Muskuloskeletal, Neonatology, Neurology, Preventive Pediatrics and Ethics, Pulmonology, Renal/Urinary Tract
First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship
The pediatrics clerkship survival guide written by students who aced the clerkship. This powerful review for the pediatrics clerkship provides medical students taking required rotations with a single, concise, high-yield resource for excelling on the boards and wards. Hundreds of high-yield facts--written by students and based on the clerkship's core competencies--review everything students need to know for the clerkship. Margin notes highlight common exam and "pimp" questions to really help students shine. New to this edition, mini-cases are integrated throughout to give a clinical "face" to disease discussions. A section of "classifieds" include scholarship and award opportunities. A new color insert contains 4 pages of full color images to amplify the text. Features High-yield yet comprehensive review for the pediatrics clerkship based on the clerkship's core competencies Written by students who just completed the clerkship NEW: Integrated mini-cases add clinical relevance and prepare students for questions they will see on the shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2 CK Exam tips and wards tips in the margins help students shine Edited by a pediatrician and reviewed by top faculty to ensure relevance and accuracy The content you need to excel on the pediatric clerkship: Section I: How to Succeed in the Pediatrics Clerkship; Section II: High-Yield Facts, Gestation and Birth, Prematurity, Growth and Development, Nutrition, Health Supervision and Prevention of Injury and Illness in the Well Child, Congenital Malformations and Chromosomal, Anomalies, Metabolic Disease, Immunologic Disease, ID, GI Disease, Respiratory Disease, Cardiovascular Disease, Renal, Gynecologic, and Urinary Disease, Hematologic Disease, Endocrine Disease, Neurologic Disease, ENT, Musculoskeletal Disease, Dermatology, Psychiatry, Section III: Awards and Opportunities, Color Image Section
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury. Includes Pearls for Practitioners at the end of each section, as well as updated immunization schedules and an expanded discussion of trauma-informed care. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Blueprints Psychiatry
More than just a Board review for USMLE Steps 2 and 3, Blueprints Psychiatry, Fourth Edition can help you during clerkship rotations and subinternship. This popular Blueprints book has been refined and updated while keeping the concise, organized style and clinical high-yield content of previous editions. Features include USMLE-style questions and answers with full explanations; Key Points in every section; and a color-enhanced design that increases the usefulness of figures and tables. This edition has more questions and answers and greater coverage of pediatric and geriatric disorders. Each chapter ends with evidence-based references (journals) for students to do additional reading/research.
First Aid for the Psychiatry Boards
The Insider's Guide to Acing the Psychiatry Boards Written by Physicians Who Passed! Apply the proven First Aid formula for Psychiatry Board success! "A classic review in virtually every sense, this book consists of brief chapters packed with vital psychiatric and neurological information targeting the clinical knowledge criteria outlined by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) for their board-certification examination. Using abbreviated and high yield chapters, this book presents the most up-to-date and useful information on psychiatric and neurologic concepts related to the ABPN examination. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service First Aid for the Psychiatry Boards is an "insider's guide" to passing the Psychiatry Boards, in-training exams, and recertification. Based on feedback from recent test-takers, this review offers high-yield information, mnemonics, and visual aids -- along with mini-cases for oral board success.The content is written by recent test-takers so you know you are studying the most current and relevant material possible. Now you can get real answers to real board questions! Features: Hundreds of high-yield facts, mnemonics, clinical images, and summary tables help you ace the boards and in-service exams Covers must-know psychiatry and neurology topics in one complete volume Written by recent, successful test-takers and reviewed by top faculty so you know you're studying the most relevant, up-to-date material possible Integrated mini-cases review frequently tested scenarios and classic patient presentations Great for in-service and board exams and the perfect refresher before recertification Insider Coverage of All the Must-Know Topics: Guide to the ABPN Examination, Psychiatry Topics Disorders of Childhood Onset, Unipolar Depressive Disorders, Bipolar Disorder, Primary Psychotic Disorders, Substance Abuse and Dependence, Anxiety Disorders, Personality Disorders, Eating Disorders, Somatoform Disorders, Sleep and Sleep Disorders, Delirium and Dementia, Sexuality and Sexual Disorders, Neurology Topics Neuroanatomy and Clinical Correlates,Stroke and Critical Care, Neurochemistry and Neuropharmacology, Neuroimmunology, Neurodegenerative Disorders, Headache and Pain, Neuro-oncology, Neuro-ophthalomology and Neuro-otology, Neurological Infections, Neuromuscular Disease, Pediatric Neurology and Neurogenetics, Seizures and Epilepsy Visit FirstAidfortheBoards.com
First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship
The #1-selling psychiatry clerkship book provides just what you need to deliver a strong performance on the psychiatry clerkship and earn honors on the shelf exam. Completely revised to reflect new DSM-5 criteria, First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship: Fourth Edition is your high-yield insider's guide to the psychiatry rotation, and gives you the core information you need to impress on the wards and earn honors on the clerkship exam. Peppered with mnemonics, ward tips, exam tips, and integrated mini-cases, the fourth edition of this best-selling book focuses on helping you hone in on, and remember, the most important concepts for the clerkship and the exam.
Case Files Psychiatry
Sixty high-yield psychiatry cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Psychiatry teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book, andNEW CASES highlighting DSM-V diagnostic entities.
Psychiatry Board Review
Market: Psychiatry Residents seeking certification in psychiatry (1,200 per year) Recertifying Psychiatrists (750 per year); recertification is required every ten years. Residents preparing for yearly in-service examinations (4,800 per year) Unique "flashcards in a book" format allows test-takers to quickly evaluate their knowledge of the content, and complements studying with a partner. The format complements other review material and works well in conjunction with larger course books
Family Medicine
The closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it "PreTest Family Medicine" is the best question-and-answer review for family medicine questions on the USMLE Step 2 and shelf exams. You will find 500 board-format questions, complete with explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been student-tested and reviewed to ensure they truly reflect the exam experience. This high-yield resource is written by an Assistant Professor of Family Medicine who has won excellence in teaching awards every year for the past five years and truly targets what you really need to know.
Case Files Family Medicine, Fifth Edition
REAL-LIFE CASES FOR THE FAMILY MEDICINE CLERKSHIP You need exposure to high-yield cases to excel in the family medicine clerkship and on the shelf exam. Case Files#65533; Family Medicine presents 60 real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in family medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, definitions of key terms, and USMLE-style review questions. With this system, you'll learn in the context of real patients, rather than merely memorize facts. #65533; 60 cases with USMLE-style questions help you master core competencies to excel in the clerkship and ace the shelf exams #65533; Clinical pearls highlight key points #65533; Primer teaches you how to approach clinical problems #65533; Proven learning system maximizes your exam scores
First Aid for the Family Medicine Boards
THE INSIDER'S GUIDE TO ACING THE FAMILY MEDICINEBOARDS--WRITTEN BY PHYSICIANS WHO PASSED Apply the proven First Aid formula for exam success! Features: A complete one-stop review of the most frequently tested topics NEW full-color design NEW integrated vignette Q&As prepare you for what you will see on exam day Insider tips and study strategies for outstanding performance Hundreds of high-yield tables, diagrams, and illustrations Key facts in the margins reinforce must-know information Mnemonics make learning and memorization fast, fun, and easy Great as a refresher for recertification
Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine Self-Assessment and Board Review
Nothing prepares you for exam success like Harrison's! VIBRANT FULL-COLOR PRESENTATION INCLUDES COLOR ATLAS -- 500 ALL-NEW QUESTIONS! Now you can add the unmatched authority of Harrison's to your board review or test preparation. Based on the content of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition, this rigorous study aid is essential for Internal Medicine Board certification or recertification/maintenance of certification, or as a refresher for any internal medicine examination. Reflecting the accuracy, currency, and wide scope of Harrison's, this complete review of internal medicine delivers more than 1,000 extremely challenging review questions, many of which utilize realistic patient scenarios, including radiographic and pathologic images. Each question is accompanied by explanations for correct and incorrect answers. These explanations -- which are derived from and cross-referenced to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition - are one of the most effective ways to learn and teach internal medicine. They are designed to bolster your understanding of pathophysiology, epidemiology, differential diagnosis, clinical decision making, and therapeutics. The format of the book has also been enhanced, allowing for a more effective use of color images throughout. Readers will appreciate the convenience of having color images next to their citations in the text. A GREAT WAY TO LEARN INTERNAL MEDICINE: * Coverage spans the entire spectrum of internal medicine * Each topic is covered in proportion to its level of importance on the Internal Medicine Examination Blueprint * Approximately 500 NEW, never-before-published Q&As (more than 60% of the questions are NEW!) * Includes full-color atlas * Content follows the organization of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition - making it perfect for side-by-side study * Beautiful full-color presentation
Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review
The 11th edition of Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review is fully revised to reflect the latest information necessary to prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine Certification and Maintenance of Certification examinations. Published in an all-inclusive and easy-to-use volume,the book provides a wide array of concise chapters that review focused subjects within each specialty, followed by a series of questions and answers at the end of each section. With this new formatting, readers can study by fitting review into their busy schedules. This authoritative resource provides a succinct review of allergy, cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology and hepatology, general internal medicine, hematology, infectious diseases, nephrology, neurology, oncology, psychiatry, pulmonology, and rheumatology. This book is a necessary resource foranyone studying for board examinations and is an important addition for those looking to include a reference on internal medicine to their medical library.
Current Essentials of Medicine
The perfect quick reference on the wards and in the clinic The famous "one disease per page" design CURRENT Essentials of Medicine is a practical, point-of-care pocket handbook that offers "nutshell" information on the diagnosis and treatment of more than 500 medical disorders seen in both primary care and hospital settings. Perfect as a quick reference on the wards or in a busy clinic, this is THE ONLY pocket guide to offer disease essentials in a one-disease-per-page bulleted format. Practical pearls, for which the authors are well known, are offered for almost all conditions. Features To-the-point information on the diagnosis and treatment of more than 500 of the most common diseases seen in clinical practice Convenient one-disease-per page presentation Bulleted data for each disease covering Essentials of Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, Pearl, and Reference Encompasses both ambulatory and inpatient medicine Includes internal medicine, plus specialties such as obstetrics/gynecology, surgery, and pediatrics Updated clinical manifestations, diagnostic tests, and treatment considerations throughout
First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship
First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship is a high-yield review of the clerkship's core competencies presented in the trusted First Aid format. You will find hundreds of recently-tested topics from shelf exams and the USMLE Step 2 CK along with mnemonics, typical scenario boxes, insider tips, margin notes to enhance exam and wards performance, a "classifieds" section with scholarship and award opportunities, and NEW mini-cases.
Step-Up to Medicine, 5e by 
Fast Facts for Patient Care
For nearly 25 years, Ferri's concise, pocket-sized resource has served as the go-to reference for practical, clinical information among students, residents, and other medical professionals. Formerly known as Practical Guide to the Care of the Medical Patient, this volume continues to provide a fast, effective, and efficient way to identify the important clinical, laboratory, and diagnostic imaging information you need to get through your internal medicine clerkship or residency. "...informative and detailed ...useful for those planning an elective or clinical work in the USA...". Reviewed by: Jacob F de Wolff, on behalf of British Journal of Hospital Medicine Date: October 2014 Benefit from the expert guidance of Dr. Fred Ferri, a leading teacher, clinician, and author. Confidently manage patients with the latest clinical information, drug therapies, and lab tests. Apply the latest knowledge and techniques with this updated and streamlined title, which still stays true to the Ferri name. Quickly find important information with content organized into three major sections: Section I, titled "Surviving the Wards," contains information on charting, laboratory evaluation and formulary; Section II provides the differential diagnosis of common signs and symptoms likely to be encountered in the acute care setting; Section III has been completely revised and subdivided into 11 specialty specific diseases and disorders. Carry just the sections you need, add personalized materials, and keep everything together and safe with an improved ring binder and design. Access the full text and procedural videos online at Expert Consult. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued. Registration and use of the web site is subject to the terms of the non-transferable, limited license under which access to the site and its content is granted by Elsevier. Access to the site by individuals is limited to the first retail purchaser and may not be transferred to another party by resale, lending or other means.
First Aid for the Wards
THE ULTIMATE PRIMER FOR THE CORE CLERKSHIPS, NOW IN FULL COLOR! Everything you need to know to score strong clerkship evaluations Preparation for every core rotation: medicine, surgery, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, neurology, psychiatry, and emergency medicine Answers to commonly asked "pimp" questions Hundreds of full-color illustrations clarify essential concepts and improve retention Advice on presenting cases to attendings How-to guides for common procedures High-yield facts on the diagnosis and treatment of common diseases Sample patient notes, clipboard and note-card patient templates Updated student ratings of popular clinical handbooks, review books, reference texts, and electronic products A STUDENT-TO-STUDENT GUIDE TO THE FUNDAMENTALS OF SURVIVING THE WARDS--DON'T START THE CLINICAL YEARS WITHOUT READING THIS BOOK! APPLY THE PROVEN FIRST AID FORMULA FOR CLERKSHIP SUCCESS!
Kumar and Clark's Cases in Clinical Medicine
2014 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Medicine category! More than 200 cases
NMS Medicine
NMS Medicine, Seventh Edition is the ideal reference and review text for medical students in the internal medicine clerkship. The book provides medical students with a comprehensive and meticulously organized review of internal medicine and USMLE-style questions and case studies to reinforce key topics and concepts. Features include 500 USMLE-style questions in vignette format for self-study and assessment, a comprehensive exam, and a convenient outline format.
First Aid for the Obstetrics and Gynecology Clerkship
Proven advice for the Obstetrics & Gynecology Clerkship -- from exam veterans This student to student guide is the only Obstetrics & Gynecology Clerkship and shelf-exam review with insider information on real test questions from students who excelled in the clerkship. * Detailed how-to-succeed and what-to-study guidance * Insider tips from students who've been there
Williams Gynecology
The only gynecology resource that combines a full-color text and a procedural atlas--revised and updated Part medical text, part surgical atlas, Williams Gynecology is written by the renowned team of ob-gyn clinicians at Dallas' Parkland Hospital who are responsible for the landmark Williams Obstetrics. The new edition of Williams Gynecology maintains the consistent tone, leading-edge clinical insights, and quality illustrations of the successful first edition, while expanding and refreshing its content to keep pace with the most recent developments in this dynamic field. The many important topics covered in Williams Gynecology are evidence-based, yet the book is specifically designed as a practical quick-reference guide, aided throughout by helpful teaching points. Reflecting the latest clinical perspectives and research, the second edition features outstanding new coverage of minimally invasive procedures, robotics, and gynecologic anatomy. Features Two resources in one--full-color medical text and surgical atlas--conveniently surveys the entire spectrum of gynecologic disease, including general gynecology, reproductive endocrinology and infertility, urogynecology, and gynecologic oncology Atlas of gynecologic surgery contains 450 figures that illustrate operative techniques Unique consistent text design for an efficient approach to diagnosis and treatment Strong procedure orientation covers a vast array of surgical operations, which are illustrated in detail Evidence-based discussion of disease evaluation reinforces and supports the clinical relevance of the book's diagnostic and treatment methods Distinguished authorship from the same Parkland Hospital-based team which edited Williams Obstetrics--the leading reference in obstetrics for more than a century Newly illustrated gynecologic anatomy chapter created with the surgeon in mind to emphasize critical anatomy for successful surgery New coverage of minimally invasive procedures and robotics, the latest procedures in gynecologic oncology, and in-vitro fertilization Numerous illustrations, photographs, tables, and treatment algorithms
Rudolphs Pediatrics Self-Assessment and Board Review
Add the authority of Rudolph's Pediatrics to your Pediatric Board Examination review! Rudolph's Pediatrics Self-Assessment and Board Review is a fast, efficient, and engaging way for you to incorporate the contents of Rudolph's Pediatrics into your board preparation. This powerful study guidedelivers more than 1,500 questions that focus on epidemiology, pathophysiology, presenting symptoms,clinical decision making, therapeutics, and prognosis of different pediatric disorders. Concise answer explanations illustrate key points and include references to pertinent sections in Rudolph's Pediatrics for more in-depth coverage of the topic. You'll find everything you need in one comprehensive review: questions, referenced answers, full-color illustrations, and the expertise of the field's leading text. FEATURES More than 1,500 multiple-choice questions with fully explained answers referenced to Rudolph's Pediatrics, Twenty-Second Edition An emphasis on important clinical issues An organization that simulates Rudolph's Pediatrics to facilitate side-by-side study Numerous full-color images to test your visual diagnostic skills Designed to help you quickly assess your knowledgeand remediate areas of weakness Valuable for certification/recertification or as a clinical refresher
First Aid for the Orthopaedic Boards
THE INSIDER'S GUIDE TO ACING THE OITE and ORTHOPAEDIC BOARDS First Aid for the#65533; Orthopaedic Boards is a concise, up-to-date review of frequently-tested, must-know topics for the in-service exam (OITE) and the orthopaedic boards. High-yield facts and numerous illustrations make this review perfect for early board preparation as well as last-minute review before the exam. Written by successful test-takers from Duke University's Orthopaedic Surgery Program Completely updated based on resident feedback to include the latest topics and techniques High-yield information, mnemonics, illustrations, and clinical images Tells you what to expect and how to prepare for exam day Great for early board preparation and last-minute review 30 pages of all new material
Orthopedic Secrets
Quickly reference the answers you need to the most important clinical questions in orthopedics with Orthopedic Secrets. Fully updated throughout, this classic medical reference book covers the entire range of essential topics in orthopedics, organized by subspecialty, for rapid access to the knowledge you need for success both in practice and on board and recertification exams. Zero in on key orthopedic information with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors. Enhance your reference power with a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful websites. Review essential material efficiently with a "Top 100 Secrets" chapter, perfect for last-minute study or self-assessment. Keep it close. A pocket-sized design makes this title easy to fit in your lab coat pocket! Take a fresh, updated approach to orthopedics with new editors and authors from the world-class orthopedic program at the University of Pennsylvania. Focus on the details most relevant to your needs through a new case-based approach that's perfect for student or resident reference/review, or for any practitioner looking for a broad overview of the field.
Current Essentials Orthopedics
CURRENT Essentials: Orthopedics -- the ultimate at-a-glance bedside guide "Nutshell" information on the diagnosis and treatment of the 200 most common orthopedic diseases and disorders One disorder per page, with bulleted lists for easy access Covers all relevant procedures, from adult reconstructive surgery to foot and ankle surgery ICD9-CM codes for each topic, allowing you to code and classify morbidity data after making the diagnosis Included in each topic-- --Essentials of Diagnosis --Differential Diagnosis --Treatment --Pearl --Reference Handy tabs that give you point-of-care answers in an instant
Blueprints Orthopedics
Designed as a quick read for both students on an orthopedics rotation and others who want to know more about the specialty, Blueprints Orthopedics covers the essentials of orthopedics that every student will need to know. Pocket-sized and practical, this book covers the most common conditions students are likely to encounter. The focus is on the essential content students need to know during a rotation, allowing for a fast, easy read. Blueprints Orthopedics is organized anatomically for quick, easy-to-use reference. Each chapter begins with a concise overview of high-yield surgical and functional anatomy, followed by review of the physical examination, diagnostic evaluation, and treatment of common orthopedic diseases and disorders. Fifty multiple-choice review questions are included to help students test their understanding of the subject. The book also features valuable appendices on career and residency opportunities, a handy reference list of commonly prescribed medications, a glossary of key words, terms, and tests, and suggested additional readings of current and classic evidence-based references. Blueprints Orthopedics is perfect for medical students. Physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and related health professionals will also find the book valuable.
Case Files Surgery
SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care.Case Files#65533;: Surgery provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in surgery. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE#65533;-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files#65533;, you''ll learn instead of memorize. #65533; Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions #65533; Master key concepts with clinical pearls #65533; Cement your knowledge with 25 new integrated challenge questions #65533; Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and to patient care #65533; Perfect for medical students and physician assistant students
First Aid for the Surgery Clerkship, Third Edition
THE COMPLETE GUIDE TO EXCELLING ON THE SURGERY CLERKSHIP AND IMPRESSING ON THE WARDS - NOW IN FULL COLOR! Detailed what-to-study and what-you-must-know advice from clerkship veterans prepares you for success! * Completely updated content with emphasis on what you must know to earn honors on the shelf exam and standout during rounds * Score-boosting opening section devoted to maximizing your performance on the Surgery Clerkship * Frequently tested high-yield facts and mnemonics maximize your study time * "Ward Tips" prepare you for common "pimp" questions * Integrated flashcards offer a fun, fast way to review
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches is your quick reference to the key anatomical landmarks and operative techniques needed to best perform general surgical operative procedures! This one-of-a-kind resource combines the unmatched surgical anatomy illustrations of Frank H. Netter, MD with endoscopic, laparoscopic, and radiologic images - integrated with expert descriptions of each operative procedure - to provide a clear overview of the exposures, incision sites, surgically relevant landmarks, structures, fascial planes, and common anatomical variants and operative methods that are critical to your success in the operating room. Vividly visualize the surgical anatomy you need to know through the uniquely detailed, memorable artwork of Dr. Netter, Carlos Machado, MD, and other anatomy illustrators working in the Netter tradition. View surgical anatomy from a clinical perspective through photographs and endoscopic, laparoscopic, and radiologic images that capture important landmarks and anatomy and are integrated into an expert description of each operative procedure. Access the complete contents online for quick look-ups, including videos of relevant surgical dissections to help you review approaches to common operations.
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets
The new edition of this leading volume in the Secrets Series#65533; offers the very latest overview of surgical practice. A two-color page layout, question-and-answer approach, and a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" in surgery gives you the perfect concise board review or handy clinical reference, while updated coverage throughout equips you with all of the most current and essential knowledge in the field. Valuable pearls, tips, and memory aids make this the perfect resource for a fast surgical review or reference. Uses bulleted lists, tables, short answers, and a highly detailed index to expedite reference. Includes pearls, tips, and memory aids, making it perfect as a handy surgical review for board exams or clinical reference. Covers all of today's most common surgical procedures and techniques. Presents a "Controversies" section in many chapters that highlights the pros and cons of selected procedures and approaches. Features a compact trim size for enhanced portability. Features revisions throughout to provide you with an up-to-date overview of today's surgical care and practice. Includes new chapters on mechanical ventilation, bariatric surgery, adrenal incidentaloma, mechanical circulatory support, and professionalism, to keep you current.
Board Review in Preventive Medicine and Public Health
Board Review in Preventive Medicine and Public Health prepares physicians for their initial and recertification board exams in the related specialties of preventive, occupational and aerospace medicine. Formatted in a question and answer based style that imitates material on specialty exams, each question is linked to a detailed answer. The book contains over 640 question and answer sets covering areas such as general public health, health management, health law, community health, infectious disease, clinical preventive medicine, occupational medicine, aerospace medicine, environmental medicine, correctional (prison) medicine, emergency preparedness, epidemiology and biostatistics. The book is an essential board preparation for physicians with a background in the fields of preventive medicine, occupational medicine, and aerospace medicine. It is also useful for medical students, public health students and those wishing to gain an understanding of the key points in these fields. Provides a question based format that imitates board exams in preventive, occupational and aerospace medicine Written by a specialist with board certification with the goal of elucidating the format, content and reasoning behind the board certification exam Enhances the reader's understanding of material with clear explanations of answers
COMAT Clinical was developed at the request of COM Deans for osteopathically distinctive clinical discipline exams that correspond to clinical learning experiences typically provided in COM clerkships, clinical rotations, and courses. Each of the COMAT clinical subjects integrates OPP and OMM content into the discipline blueprint. Released in 2011, COMAT has been used by COMs to demonstrate compliance with COCA accreditation standards regarding curricula, specifically standards 6.4 and 6.6 (OPP in each year of the curriculum).
Emergency Medicine - The Emergency Medicine examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accordance with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Emergency Medicine that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student. The exam blueprint below contains the Emergency Medicine topics covered in two dimensions: Dimension 1 – Patient Presentation and Dimension 2 – Physician Tasks.
Family Medicine - The Family Medicine examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accord with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Family Medicine that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student.The exam blueprint below contains the Family Medicine topics covered in two dimensions: Dimension 1 – Patient Presentation and Dimension 2 – Physician Tasks.
Internal Medicine - The Internal Medicine examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accord with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Internal Medicine that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student. The exam blueprint below contains the Internal Medicine topics covered in two dimensions: Dimension 1 – Patient Presentation and Dimension 2 – Physician Tasks.
Obstetrics & Gynecology - The Obstetrics/Gynecology examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accord with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Obstetrics/Gynecology that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student. The exam blueprint below contains the Obstetrics/Gynecology topics covered in two dimensions: Dimension 1 – Patient Presentation and Dimension 2 – Physician Tasks.
Osteopathic Principles and Practice - The Osteopathic Principles and Practice examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accord with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Osteopathic Principles and Practice that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student. The exam blueprint below contains Osteopathic Principles and Practice topics related to concept & philosophy, diagnosis, and treatment methods.
Pediatrics - The Pediatrics examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accord with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Pediatrics that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student. The exam blueprint below contains the Pediatrics topics covered in two dimensions: Dimension 1 – Patient Presentation and Dimension 2 – Physician Tasks.
Psychiatry - The Psychiatry examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accord with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Psychiatry that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student. The exam blueprint below contains the Psychiatry topics covered in two dimensions: Dimension 1 – Patient Presentation and Dimension 2 – Physician Tasks.
Surgery - The Surgery examination is designed for end-of-course or end-of-clinical rotation/clerkship assessment for students enrolled at a college of osteopathic medicine (COM). Individual COMs may also administer the examination at other times in accord with their curriculum goals and mission. This examination emphasizes core knowledge and elements of osteopathic principles and practice in the discipline of Surgery that are essential for the predoctoral osteopathic medical student. The exam blueprint below contains Surgery topics covered in Dimension 1 – Patient Presentation.
