History

Oral history is the collection and study of interviews with people who experienced or observed past events. An oral history may be a sound recording, video recording, or a transcription. Oral histories are objective and provide personal narrations and recollections of the past. 

• Cuban Heritage Collection Digital Records
  • Explore digital collections including oral histories, manuscripts, photographs, and more related to Cuban heritage. Access is provided by the University of Miami Digital Collections.
• Digital Collections of The National World War II Museum
  • Oral histories and photographs from veterans and civilians. Access provided by the National World War II Museum. 
• Presidential Speeches and Oral Histories
  • Explore famous presidential speeches, oral histories, and more. Access is provided by the Miller Center, a non-partisan affiliate of the University of Virginia.
• Rutgers Oral History Archives
  • Free oral histories and transcriptions related to New Jersey residents who served during times of conflict
• U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum's Oral History Archive
  • Testimonies and interviews by individuals who experienced the Holocaust, including Jews, Roma, political prisoners, and more. Access provided by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
• Survivors Testimonies
  • Free digital collections of interviews and testimonies by individuals who experienced the Holocaust. Access provided by the Yad Vashem Center for Holocaust Research. 
• Voces Oral History Project
  • Oral histories from Latinos and Latinas veterans and civilians from World War II to the present.
• Veteran's History Project
  • Personal accounts from American war veterans. Interviews date from World War I to the present. Access is provided by the Library of Congress.